We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hvar hostels

Reviews of Hostel Villa Zorana

Hostel | Domovinskog rata 20, Hvar, Croatia 21450

95.1% Overall Rating

116 out of 121 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/11/2014)

"The staff was super helpful and it had a great outdoor lounge space and kitchen area. They even gave me ice cream on arrival because it was hot the day I came!"

Read all Hostel Villa Zorana reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hvar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hvar

Orange Hostel
16.55 USD

Hostel 87.5% 16 reviews
Apartments Pera
21.51 USD

Apartment 97.1% 3 reviews
La Casa di Elisa
26.70 USD

Guesthouse 81.5% 26 reviews
Apartment Edi
22.02 USD

Apartment 96.9% 14 reviews
Green Lizard Hostel
18.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Villa Skansi Backpackers House
24.83 USD

Hostel 88.9% 188 reviews
Apartmani " Laura"
33.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
"The Shaka"
14.90 USD

Hostel 93.3% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

116 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Villa Zorana'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 111 of 116 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'd like to assure travellers that this is an excellent, comfortable and friendly hostel. I was greeted immediately on arrival by the warm, friendly and efficient manage. As well as a description of the hostel services, a map of the city was produced and local points of interested highlighted. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacius. I meet very nice people in the hostel and I definitelly recommend it to everyone.

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the terrace very much. It was great place to meet other travelers. People working in the hostel were very kind and did everything to help us.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Diana Sousa

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012

Liked: Near the center. 8min walk.

Disliked: The walls were so thin you can listen to everything in the other rooms, Not a good place to stay if you want to rest. Too crowded of drunk people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lyndsay Wright

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2012 Lyndsay would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, the shared kitchen was adequate, the shower was brilliant, the balcony overlookingt he marina was perfect. The staff was amazing, really helpful and friendly. They offer a free pick up service from the town and also drop you off at a beach which is 30 mins walk away

Disliked: Nothing really. the walk up the hill to the hostel only proved a pain when we had drunk far too much, . It wasnt really a problem any other time tho

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the fact that it was relatively cheap, especially compared to a lot of properties in Hvar. Within easy walking distance of the main town, and having a sea view was nice. Plus accommodation really had everything basic you would expect.

Disliked: When we booked the website described the room having an en suite with shower - the shower is actually just an attachment from the bath, so you have to do a bit of a juggling act whilst holding the head with one hand! Was good to have a fridge, but was slightly worried about the presence of electrics in the bathroom which is essentially a wet room! But to be honest, we're a young couple and we can deal with silly little inconveniences like these so long as we save money. What we hoped would balance it out was the social aspect of the hostel. But what was dissapointing was that the house we stayed in wasn't really set up for socialising. You have use of one small kitchen room and a 'terrace' which is pretty poorly kitted out. To add insult to injury there is a separate hostel in the same building who had a terrace next to ours, so you can see everyone else having a great time, complete with bar and sofas and canopies, whilst you sit on the dark Zorana terrace with no lights or anything! We were also accosted several times by the other hostel's staff whilst on the way to our kitchen for "using their facilities." This was highly irritating seeing as we'd paid to use a hostel that happened to be in the same building. The hostel owners definitely need to rethink sharing the building or at least combine the two terraces - it just doesn't make sense the way it is.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matt sayers

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

29 August 2012 matt would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Crina Barladianu

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Crina would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, free parking on the premises, beautiful view of the harbour from the balcony. The host was very helpful and he recommended some really nice beaches and good places to eat.

Disliked: Crina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just 3 minutes from the center. The host explained us everything on arrival and gave us a map and was very helpful and nice. I highly recommend it.

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very honest and friendly people run this hostel. They drove me for free to the nicest beach and to the castle. Location is great, just 5 minutes to the center. They gave me a free locker and a towel and everything.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, close to the harbour

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Crayford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: it had a view over the harbour, and was just generally a really nice place,

Disliked: the was a five minute walk up hill, but still really close to town

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Laura Grant

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

12 August 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the twin room with ensuite which on its own was quite good value for money but the hostel as a whole had a bit of a grimy feel to it. Bit of a walk from town but not a bad location.

Disliked: Staff not overly helpful or friendly.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 August 2012

Liked: Nice outside area. close to the centre, only 10 min walk

Disliked: Doors cannot be locked. Some people got their phones stolen while there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, very sociable hostel. Excellent value for money and the owner very helpful, even driving us to one of the further out beaches

Disliked: 11pm noise curfew

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, the best so far. Has a great outdoor area with kitchen and a great terrace. Bartul is the most wonderful host, so very helpful and accommodating, we could not have felt more welcoming. you should definitly stay there.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, pretty rooms and very clean. Zorana (the owner) is really nice. unfortunately she doesn't speak much english (but her son does so he can help us planning our stay in Hvar).

Disliked: There is no indoor common space and we have to be quiet after 10 PM so there is not place to hang out at night (other than the rooms and that can bother those who want to sleep). The have wifi but you can't get it from rooms or common space, you have to go outside on the stairs (almost on the street) to get it. Reception is hard to find (it's in their house actually...)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simone bortolin

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

26 July 2012 simone would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing people at the hostel. Very welcoming- they come and pick you up and drop you off at the town. Even to the beach if you like. Hostel is very clean and lovely open yet not too hot atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing!! Although you have to sit at the top steps for wifi- They are trying to fix this however

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not that easy to find the location of the villa. Moderate clealiness.. It's okay to stay at this hostel but not that comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was good, and staff were very firndly and helpful when you could find them.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patrick harrison

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 July 2012 patrick would recommend this property

Liked: The Villa is about a 10 minute walk from the harbour front with very easy to follow instructions. Great value for money, really clean, very close to the beaches and a really handy little kitchen. The highlight was sitting on the balcony at the back of the villa watching the sun set over the islands with a cold Lasko Zlatorog.

Disliked: Can't think of any negative points

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was great, wonderful balcony with view of the ocean. The bathroom had excellent water pressure!

Disliked: didn't particularly dislike anything... the guy running the hostel seemed a little spacey, but other than that everything was great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can rent scooters on site which was really fun. Room was basic but very comfortable to sleep with a good air conditioner.

Disliked: It was a short walk to town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean place! Great View. Free Wifi! We would definitely stay here again. The man who owns it is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing to add

Disliked: Although the dorm had been recently re-fitted out including the bathroom, the toilet had a bad smell for the last day and night. This was unfortunate and I expect already resolved.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice view, really nice guy (gave us each a ride back to 2hr ferry with our huge backpacks on his scooter) great to have a kitchen to use, and we had TWO balconies!

Disliked: A bit hard to was dishes, there was no sink plug or drain rack. Air conditioning was, of course, not included. Minor things, but I would overall definitely recommend this place.

The property's response is...


See all Hvar hostels