We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hvar hostels

Reviews of Youth Hostel Villa Marija

Hostel | Lucije Rudan 7, Hvar, Croatia 21450

89.7% Overall Rating

224 out of 236 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/09/2014)

christian barker thinks…

"Like the terrace for chilling in the evening. Our room had equipped kitchen & separate m/f showers. Very friendly, helpful (& cute) receptionist. Daily cleaner really helped keep clean compared with…"

Read all Youth Hostel Villa Marija reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hvar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hvar

Benjak Apartments
24.83 USD

Apartment 96.8% 50 reviews
Dink's Place
16.55 USD

Hostel 95.9% 158 reviews
Hvar De Luxe Apartments
36.42 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartment Iva
41.38 USD

Apartment 88.2% 32 reviews
Apartmants Irena Hvar
16.55 USD

Apartment 96.5% 18 reviews
Apartment Mladen
16.55 USD

Apartment 60.0% 5 reviews
Villa Vera
50.32 USD

Apartment 82.6% 13 reviews
Casa Di Lavanda
33.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

224 out of 236 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Youth Hostel Villa Marija'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 209 of 223 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christian barker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2014 christian would recommend this property

Liked: Like the terrace for chilling in the evening. Our room had equipped kitchen & separate m/f showers. Very friendly, helpful (& cute) receptionist. Daily cleaner really helped keep clean compared with other hostels. Easy parking nearby. Beds & facilities very clean, well above average.

Disliked: It was near top of hill, steep climb back after every trip to town centre/beach/supermarket. At least it keeps you fit & tones your bum!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pedro Mariano Sousa Bezerra

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Pedro Mariano would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was nice, the Hostel staff organises free shots and groups to go to the bars in town.

Disliked: There wasn't enough sockets: only 3 for the entire room. One bathroom for two rooms, 8 people in total, was a problem also.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great for young people. Good atmosphere and there is a bar by the pool where the hostel organises drinks and then out to a bar so easy to meet people. Room was clean with air conditioning.

Disliked: Kitchen was small and always busy when making food. Not too much facilities ie toaster, microwave or oven.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and outdoor common area is quite nice.

Disliked: The staff come in every day and move all your posessions around andremake you bed. It really bothered me for some reason and one day i couldn't find my smaller bag and it had been placed with someone elses things under a different bed. Otherwise it's a great hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pablo Francavilla

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

18 August 2014 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is Amazing, the staff is incredible friendly. The terrace is a great place to meet people, the atmosphere is awesome. Definetly I will come back

Disliked: Pablo left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josefin Sandwall

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

14 August 2014 Josefin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice vibe! Very clean and nice staff!

Disliked: Aircon didnt work. A bit of a walk from the harbour

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff

Disliked: High price compering w what you get

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ali Foley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

08 August 2014 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel with lovely terrace and pool.

Disliked: Ali left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone goes out together so it is really easy to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and nice room, helpful staff, the common areas were great. Better than I would ever hope for!

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was that it was a long way to walk with our backpacks to the hostel..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Nathan Goodsir

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great sun terrace and the kitchen was very good and spacious for the dorm we had.

Disliked: Wifi didnt work in the dorm. It is a little far away from town. Also the curfew was taken to the extreme, i know this exists everywhere but being told to be quiet when on the phone is ridiculous. Advertised pub crawl was not a pub crawl, taken to one bar!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Schniedermeier

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2014 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hostel. Super friendly and helpful staff and fun people staying there.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

11 July 2014

Liked: I liked that the group partying on the terrace were made to leave for the town at 10.30 incase you were in your room you could sleep. The girls at the front desk were very helpful

Disliked: The bathroom I was sharing between 2 dorm rooms got very very dirty and needed to be cleaned more often. Once people came home from a night out they would all use the bathroom and it was fairly dirty to have a shower in the morning. I had little space in my room to put my bag.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are unbelievably helpful and friendly, we were there on a free sangria night as well as a free shots night, atmosphere is amazing and good vibes all round.

Disliked: Only thing I could complain about is it's a bit of a walk from the town centre, but no longer then a 10 min walk.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Gibson

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

08 July 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: It's impossible not to want to come back to this place. The staff do everything to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. They help with every part of your stay on the island, from recommending restaurants to ordering pizza deliveries and organising boat hire for you. The rooms are cleaned perfectly every day and the cleaner makes sure your clothes are neatly folded and things tidied. The hostel seems to be improving every year and the addition of a small pool puts it far ahead of any hostel I've stayed in before. However, the main thing to set it apart from other hostels is the social aspect. The terrace is busy every evening, where you are encouraged to meet other guests and then join the bar crawl in the evening. It's a great chance to meet other guests and the whole atmosphere feels friendly as a result. However, no one is forced into going out and it's still possible to have a peaceful night in. This hostel is fully worth the money.

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good communal area to eat/drink and meet people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Wight

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent - a brief 10 minute walk up hill but nothing too difficult. The owner was the most amazing woman. Every night they had something free to offer - whether it be free sangria or free burgers. I am vegetarian and she even made dinner options for me! The organized night trips were amazing and super fun. Would definitely come back here.

Disliked: We did laundry and the first load they forgot to add detergent but they re-did it for free so that was okay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like at home from the very beginning. Everything is top notch. Absolutely brilliant staff that organise the best nights out. If you want to stay that boasts great sociable atmosphere with loads of people, hotel facilities and exceptional cleanliness, then this hostel is for you. Oh, you can even get a nice relaxing massage for 50kn

Disliked: It's not the cheapest hostel, but totally worth it. There really is nothing you can complain about

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved how new everything is. Staff very attentive and the place is always beautifully clean.

Disliked: A bit more kitchen space would have been useful as it did get very crowded.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to meet other travelers, had a bunch of fun. Hostel organize daily free pub crawls with free shots. staff provided us all the details what the island has to offer. definitely book their boat trip; it was amazing. codes to enter the rooms and night security were a great addition

Disliked: noise restriction at 1030PM, the terrace will be closed and you must go inside of your room or continue the party outside the hostel - this seems to be rule for all the hostels in Hvar, not sure why

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stevie Greenshields

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Stevie would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best value hostel I've ever stayed at - although maybe it's more expensive in high season. Lockers, kitchen, pool, and especially the terrace, were great. Always staff around to help, not to mention keeping the common areas neat and tidy all day. If you're not inclined to party you can still sleep cos everyone leaves at 10:30, and socialising on the terrace is fun before that.

Disliked: Yes, it's probably the highest hostel in Hvar! But I think nearly every hostel is up a few flights of stairs... and you are that much closer to the better beaches, it's true. The 12 bed dorm is actually two rooms of 6, the first has kitchenette which is great and is quite roomy, the second was really too small, even for 5 people's things. But it had a balcony! Wifi is pretty weak, but you can manage. I thought it was strange not to get a blanket! Of course if you ask they give you one, its just the first night was cold. But overall I would definitely recommend.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Essy to meet other travellers with their communal events, clean, lockers and wifi in room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary Cant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Weather wasn't that great when we were here but it's such a awesome hostel! Great atmospher and close to town 10-15 minute walk. Staff were great, rooms and bathrooms super clean and nice! Shame about the weather but loved chilling out at the hostel!!!

Disliked: Hilary left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Roberts

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in one of the private rooms. It was spacious, ensuite and had its own stove and fridge- the private balcony overlooking the bay was also an awesome feature. Antonia, the woman who looked after the apartments deserves special praise. She was so lovely and welcoming and gave us a bottle of her husband's home made wine, which was excellent!

Disliked: Nothing really!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Hvar hostels