HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bokun Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Obala Stjepana Radica 7, Dubrovnik, Croatia 20000

84.2% Overall Rating

218 out of 227 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/10/2013)

"A beautiful garden and atmosphere of a family home. Right next to the main harbour and within 10 minutes walking distance of the bus station and port. Although about a 30 minute walk to the old City of Dubrovnik, there…"

Read all Bokun Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 36.26
  • Breakfast USD 9.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dubrovnik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dubrovnik

Nikolina rooms
16.59 USD

Apartment 91.0% 133 reviews
GuestHouse Maria
16.59 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 125 reviews
Guest House Radic
18.13 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 46 reviews
Guesthouse Soko - Apartment Mara
43.51 USD

Guesthouse 93.5% 7 reviews
Guesthouse S&L
36.26 USD

Guesthouse 97.3% 231 reviews
Danijela Rooms
21.76 USD

Guesthouse 83.7% 44 reviews
Villa Amfora Dubrovnik
48.05 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 46 reviews
Apartments & Rooms Ljuba
24.88 USD

Apartment 88.0% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

218 out of 227 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bokun Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 186 of 192 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful garden and atmosphere of a family home. Right next to the main harbour and within 10 minutes walking distance of the bus station and port. Although about a 30 minute walk to the old City of Dubrovnik, there were regular buses close by for 15 Kuna. The room which we had was a twin which included a TV. A fridge was also provided by the shared bathroom. Really nice people who own Bokun guesthouse and I would stay there again.

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kartini Saddington

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2013 Kartini would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were well sized (the bed was huge) and the bathrooms clean. The gardens surrounding the Guesthouse are beautiful and it is very well situated for people arriving from the ferry or bus station.

Disliked: The wifi is only accessible from the common room, which I found confusing considering that the Guesthouse only offers private rooms and therefore appeals to people who want privacy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love the garden and Toni was very helpful

Disliked: A little far from old town

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

geoffrey edge

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

01 May 2013 geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent stay. The guest house is well situated for the port and international bus station where the airport bus terminates.The guest house is really interesting with wonderul gardens and a peaceful setting. Toni is very helpful and is pleased to give local information.

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Hugo Alejandro Ballesteros Tijerina

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 April 2013

Liked: Nice garden and pet ( a black dog ).

Disliked: We booked a private room for three nights but we only stayed one, we had to find other place to stay. Why?. This "guesthouse" is a BIG lie 1. No pick up service from bus station. 2. No internet wi fi. 3. The "staff" is only one person (with good intentions) but he does not speaks english even doesnt knows what kitchen means. 4. No kitchen. 5. No info about the city or city maps. 6. No guided tour offered. 7. No laundry service offered. 8. No breakfast offered we asked but the "staff" is not able to understand any word. 9. No welcome drink or traditional snack. I have 6 years travelling and this "guesthouse" is the worst place where i ve been stayed.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful owner. located inm a garden setting. Close to the harbor. Two miles from the "old town" and city walls. 1000 meters to bus stop for bus (BUS #1a, 1b, 3) which terminates at entrance to city walls. "Farmers market 1000 meters, restaurants nearby.

Disliked: Very small quarters

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We intially had trouble finding the guest house with instructions on website but got better instructions from the owners and when followed literally we found it. We immediately felt at ease with the genuine advice and warm welcome we recieved. The rooms are clean and quiet set in a beautiful garden courtyard and the old town is 10 mins in the bus.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Authentic

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jacquie Du Toit

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Jacquie would recommend this property

Liked: Locality to ferry and busses excellent. Good outside ambience and lovely garden.

Disliked: No utensils or kettle in bedroom, communal fridge, total reliance on owner for use of his personal utensils etc -not always there. Not all tourist information provided was accurate, current or willingly provided.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The shaded terrace area was very nice to relax in after being out in the hot sun ... it is very peaceful.spot, which feels nicely cut off from the streets because of the walled garden, which is full of fruit trees,vines and beautiful flowers. ...The apartment itself was spotlessly clean, and the aircon worked beautifully ensuring a pleasant sleep on a comfortable bed. Toni (the owner) I found to be helpful and friendly on every occasion that I asked for his advice ... I recommend a chat with him if you are unsure about anything at all -- he is a very nice man who is easy and pleasant to talk with. The location was (for me) great too ... only 30 yards from the waterfront of Gruz bay, within easy reach of the ferry,and the main bus station, with many shops, restaurants and cafes nearby ... It is only a 5 minute bus ride from Gruz into Dubrovnik, and the buses run regularly until after midnight..

Disliked: Nothing at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shanahan Mooney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 Shanahan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location right next to the port and bus station. Nice 20 minute walk to the old town or 2 minute walk to the bus stop. Close to a supermaket, restraunts, cafes, bars and fast food Tony the owner is so friendly and helpful and the property is exactly as described.The resident dog is also fantastic!

Disliked: nuffin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and friendly ,helpful staff. The garden area was very restful.

Disliked: My only comment was that the directions to get there from the bus terminal could have been a little clearer -- we were advised to look for a Bokun guesthouse sign at the traffic lights ,and go left . In fact,there were three sets of traffic lights !

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very pleasant family atmosphere...very relaxed and easy.

Disliked: Nothing..all was good..... except maybe it was quite a long walk to both the Old Town and the beach.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Filip Lozic

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 September 2011 Filip would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, very clean rooms and very homelike. I enjoyed my stay very much. Praises for the home made peach jam you get for breakfast if you order it. Great place to stay.

Disliked: there was nothing to dislike

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 September 2011

Liked: The lady at the new place was helpful.

Disliked: Shunted off to another place.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location if you are leaving from the port. A bit of a walk to the town but there is a bus that drops you right outside the door. has air con too which was amazing and the people that run it were really friendly!!!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Benjamin Lisneuf

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, lovely garden!

Disliked: No wifi, would have been nice to have a map or some information about the city. Also the room was quite small.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely, tranquill setting within a large walled garden with adundant fruit and flowers. Decent, comfortable and clean room - ours shared a well-sized bathroom with one other room. A friendly owner who is very approachable (although be prepared that he is not always around and other family members don't speak any English). The location for us was perfect - in the very pleasant and tranquil Gruz harbour area, in short walking distance of bus station, ferry port, 2 large supermarkets, a bakery (good for breakfast) and a market. A half hour walk/5-10 min bus ride to the old town.

Disliked: The decor of the rooms is a little dated and faded, and our room wasn't cleaned/towels changed during our 3 night stay, but I would expect both at this price point - overall the accommodation is a bargain.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hosts and lovely surroundings. Close to the main bus station and ferry docks.

Disliked: It's not too close to the Old City, but the walk to it is very nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here two nights... and we really enjoyd our stay.our rooms were clean, and ad everything we needed included. It was a family owned accomadation which gave it a home feeling. The garden surrounding the house was absolutley gogeous. When leavin we asked if they had availabilty in 6 days so we could return... they checked into it and unfortunately had none but were very helpful and offered .. not even offered but promised they would find us another place. one suggestion we do have is if you plan to go into the city (it is a 15-20 minute walk) to do the walk rather then the bus if youre up for it. Not only was the bus crowed with people but the walk was absolutley gorgeous along the coast. we had a wonderful stay here and would recommend it to people of all ages and situatons.

Disliked: there was nothing really.. a bit further out of the old town but we enjoyed that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Stew

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 August 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Like an Oasis of calm in the centre of Dubrovnic

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was easy to get to

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good if you want to be close to ferry and bus terminal. Good bus communications to city center (old town).

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location. We arrived from the islands and needed one night in DBV before our flight. The airport bus is about 12 minute walk from this property. Gruz Harbour is a very busy place, you walk through the gate of this property into paradise. The gardens are fabulous, hard to believe you are in the centre of Gruz. Rooms were very comfortable, towels provided and aircon. Showers hot and spotless. We would return again to this home.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MAN KEI WAN

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 MAN KEI would recommend this property

Liked: I like the garden - spacious where is nice to have breakfast ..

Disliked: there is kitchen but it is not supposed to open to the guests -