HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cocoon Hostel

Hostel | Josipa Kosora 40, Dubrovnik, Croatia 20 000

81.9% Overall Rating

7 out of 9 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/01/2014)

James Welsby thinks…

"I felt privileged to be there. Friendly staff, they even let me use some of their milk when i ran out ;). Excellent facilities, supermarket nearby, excellent Wi-Fi, good kitchen, comfy beds. I ended…"

Read all Cocoon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dubrovnik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dubrovnik

Villa Music
23.55 USD

Hostel 93.6% 80 reviews
Rooms Olga
23.55 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 33 reviews
Guesthouse Soko - Apartment Mara
43.47 USD

Guesthouse 93.5% 7 reviews
Orka apartments
34.42 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartment Miranda
30.38 USD

Apartment 93.4% 22 reviews
Bokun Guesthouse
27.61 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 227 reviews
Marija
13.47 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Dubrovnik Apartments Kovacec
12.68 USD

Apartment 96.0% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

7 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cocoon Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.3%
Location
60.0%
Facilities
88.9%
Cleanliness
88.9%
Staff
86.7%
Value
86.7%
Safety
88.9%
Refine your results Showing 8 of 9 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Welsby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: I felt privileged to be there. Friendly staff, they even let me use some of their milk when i ran out ;). Excellent facilities, supermarket nearby, excellent Wi-Fi, good kitchen, comfy beds. I ended up staying there for about 10 days. You will enjoy your stay here. I like to experience the central and surrounding areas of places, so If you like a pleasant 20 minute walk to the Old Town, with a section overlooking the Adriatic sea... this place might be ideal :)

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Stofer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice staff and great facilities.

Disliked: Far from the old town (but a nice 30 minute walk). No real common room to hang out in -- more like a hotel than a hostel. If you're traveling alone, you're unlikely to meet fellow travellers here.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013

Liked: Awesome place, feels like new. Staff Incredible.

Disliked: It is a fair way from the old town, a good 20 mins walk. You can get the bus though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nadia Odlum

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: A little far from the centre, but good for the price, and its a pretty easy/scenic walk or a short bus ride. Clean, friendly, comfortable and safe.

Disliked: Not a great common area for meeting people etc. Was hard o find, be sure to mark it carefully on your map before you come.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Travis Povey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good bathrooms and spacious dorms with ample room in the lockers. Fast, free WiFi, near to a small market and ATM. Staff were relatively helpful and friendly. The common room and kitchen, whilst not stocked greatly, are nice, and it opens onto a balcony with a decent view.

Disliked: Location is the main one. 30 minutes to old town, 20 to nearest beach, and 30 minutes to bus station, by foot. The directions given by the hostel are ambiguous, and recommend walking from the station, I would not. Take #7 bus from main station, leaves 40 past every hour, and get off at the 2nd stop on Iva Vojnovica, just past Lero hotel. Keep walking same direction, then left into Jossiper Kosora, right next to a big parking lot and bank. Cross the street and bear right into a side street, and you'll see the green cocoon hostel sign. Get a map from the info desk at the bus station first.

The property's response is...

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

kevin Whitehead

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013

Liked: Did not see the inside.

Disliked: See above

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DONG WOO SEO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 DONG WOO would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities were really good and new. I stayed in Feb., it was low season, so I was the only guest. I could use the whole building. I could rest really well.

Disliked: Far from the city center. It takes 30~40 min. to go to city center by walk. It was low season when I stay this hostel and location is far from city center, so it was hard to find supermarkets or restaurants near the hostel.(Even though there was 1 market near the hostel, they close at 8 o'clock.)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Completely safe and secure. Ultra clean. Staff very helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...