HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dubrovnik Backpackers Club

Hostel | Mostarska 2d, Babin kuk, Dubrovnik, Croatia 20000

89.9% Overall Rating

659 out of 697 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/11/2013)

"Felt really homely, with a great atmosphere to match. Addressed by name by the owner on arrival for example! Highly recommend"

Read all Dubrovnik Backpackers Club reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Non arrivals and non confirmed bookings are charged.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dubrovnik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dubrovnik

Milena Apartments
33.15 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartment Old sailor
13.76 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mobile Homes Solitudo
29.01 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Anna Guesthouse
18.11 USD

Guesthouse 91.3% 218 reviews
Begovic Boarding House
29.88 USD

Guesthouse 83.5% 141 reviews
Apartments Kusalo
20.72 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Villa Jozefina - Dubrovnik
20.72 USD

Apartment 90.6% 110 reviews
Apartmani Sirena
29.01 USD

Apartment 90.4% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

659 out of 697 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dubrovnik Backpackers Club'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 569 of 573 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt really homely, with a great atmosphere to match. Addressed by name by the owner on arrival for example! Highly recommend

Disliked: Bit far out, but easy bus ride in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Keating

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were overwhelmingly welcoming. I felt at home here. From the ferry pick up, and welcome drink, it was a pleasure to stay and I wanted to stay longer. Breakfast is excellent value and all homemade, eat as much as you want and more...Milka definitely makes sure you don't go hungry! If you are in need of a homely and comfortable place...stay here! One of the best hostels I've stayed at in Europe. Would love to go back.

Disliked: It's not in the old town, but the bus is nearby, direct and easy to catch. The breakfast view of the harbour is lovely and the warm welcome is worth the distance!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHANG-MIN LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 CHANG-MIN would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is really nice...i stayed at 6 dorms..room was nice and comfy there was a shower room in the room. location is little far away from old city..but does not really matter..(takes 10-15mins by bus or you can walk if you like walking) breakfast just 20 kuna but really nice...bread,toast,coffee,juice,cerial,cake etc..before go out..have a breakfast.. also host and staff are really nice nice... i highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Minami Coirin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Minami would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely wonderful hostel! I was travelling alone for the first time and the lovely Perkovic family could not have made me feel at home. They picked me up at the airport after my late flight (for an additional fee as the airport is a good 1.5 hours away). The mom cooks an amazing all you can eat breakfast every morning and loves everyone who comes to stay! I also went on the boat trip planned by the hostel and had the best time. Amazing cave diving, snorkeling, and delicious island lunch! I could not recommend this hostel highly enough! It was so easy to meet everyone else staying there with their downstairs common area and is close to the bus stop that can take you straight into Old Town! I will definitely be staying here when I return to Dubrovnik and would recommend this hostel to any one of my friends!

Disliked: Minami left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had an exceptional experience staying at DBC. It's always a unique experience to stay at a family hostel. The family is amazing and very helpful in getting the most out of Dubrovnik. I planned to stay for 3 nights and ended up staying for almost 2 weeks total. Enough said.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying here was like staying at home with a family. The owners are very much involved and go out of there way to help you with anything you may need. Other travellers staying there friendly. The breakfast on offer very good value for money and home made!

Disliked: The place was not very clean, my bathroom in the room and the kitchen, people didn't seem to do there own dishes.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice, helpful and friendly staff and atmosphere. great breakfast (french toast) for 20kn. panorama view tour that they hosted was great value for money. toilets in common areas made things easy when the bathroom in the room was occupied.

Disliked: need ventilation in room. everything (bed, pillow, linen, clothes, etc) was damp, and smelled awful when people smoked on the terrace: the only window in the room I stayed in was a little one above the door, which was facing the terrace where people hung out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gavin Cox

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 October 2013 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxing family atmosphere.

Disliked: the long walk up some very steep steps to reach the property.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elton Sint Jago

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Elton would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very friendly and helpful staff!!!!

Disliked: nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Always ready to help. Good breakfast for reasonable price. They offer different tours.

Disliked: Location is not that good. A bit expensive, but I have to say all hostels in Dubrovnik are in that price range.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff we amazing! Good common area and clean facilities.

Disliked: Have to take 10min bus to city centre.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i felt very welcome at my arrival, the whole family makes you feel like you're at home. the description made me find the place quite easily, it only takes you 10-15 minutes to the old city with bus nr. 6. the breakfast cooked by milka was awesome, also it was easy to meet people either there or at the common area inside (living room) or outside (terrace) the place. only a few minutes to cocacabana beach.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities and family run, who are lovely and look after you very well.

Disliked: The outdoor area is great but the property is in a residential area so it needs to close at 10pm. It's a 10-15 min bus ride to the old town. Easy to do but you're not central. Great views on offer though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Whitney Burnand

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2013 Whitney would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous family run hostel. Great for solo travellers, I made quite a few friends here! They have excursions everyday which are well worth it!! Milka's breakfast every morning with French toast is super yummy! Staying at this hostel totally made my time in Dubrovnik the best!!

Disliked: It's a little far from the old town, you have to take a bus but the bus stop is jst down the street. But super close to the promenade with lots of restaurants, a super market and spots to swim.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ricky Etheridge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2013 Ricky would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at this Hostel was one of the highlights of our time in Croatia. We were welcomed into the house and made to feel really welcome with honey brandy and homemade cake on offer. The 25 kuna breakfast was another great touch which allowed guests to meet and share experiences. Loved our stay here.

Disliked: Ricky left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yasmin Georgiadis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Yasmin would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing family running the hostel... Was in a 4 bed - decent sized room with air con, ensuite and very clean! About 10-15min bus from old town and 10mim walk to best beach in Dubrovnik. I actually cancelled accom in old town to stay here longer. Breakfast is a must and so cheap as well. Would definitely recommend

Disliked: Lockers are very small and are in a storage room, not bedroom - didnt use them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meaghan Li

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Meaghan would recommend this property

Liked: I had an amazing stay at DBC. The breakfast buffet was amazing value or a range of delicious home-cooked food. Every member of the family (and staff) was welcoming, friendly, and genuine and they all made a lasting impression on me. The atmosphere was fantastic; every night, all the travelers would cook and hang out downstairs; half would go out and the other half preferred to stay in. I felt very safe there and didn't worry about my belongings at all. I would also HIGHLY recommend going on one of the day-trips they offer; for around 35 euro we went scuba-diving and spent the day on a secluded beach island. The guide is a wonderful character and it was a great opportunity to bond with other travelers!

Disliked: The location isn't perfect but it's a short bus ride away from the Old City. Buses run from around 5AM - 3AM so going out at night wasn't an issue at all. The hostel is minutes away from supermarkets, an ATM, pharmacy, restaurants/bakeries, and Copacabana Beach.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family who run the hostel are all ledgend.. So nice and helpful.. The breakfast is cheap and great you literally have good thrown at you it's great haha!! Good communal area, it's a bus ride from old town but its only like 5-10 mins its just the 30kuna return everytime... Oh good kitchen for guests too

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Linz Buckingham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013

Liked: Really clean, nice staff. Although far from old town the bus was really convenient and ran so often it didn't matter. It's got a really nice common area as well.

Disliked: Perhaps its just the nature of Dubrovnik but for the really high price this hostel wasn't worth it. If I'm going to pay 2-3x as much as elsewhere in Croatia is expect it to be better. I did their tour to Montenegro and came back feeling like I could have paid less on a tour from one of the agencies around town and would have had a tour guide who didn't offer so much negativity about the area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love the family run business where they get to know each guest personally. Exceedingly friendly and helpful, especially when they had to accommodate us arriving after midnight at short notice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Hynes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are amazing. Feels like you've been welcomed into the family's home.

Disliked: There's nothing to dislike!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARCUS KILGORE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 MARCUS would recommend this property

Liked: They made me feel like I had a family home, not just a bed to stay. The matriarch cooks breakfast every morning for less than $5 USD. One brother offers daily excursions to different places. It was a true break from the usual hostel atmosphere and I cannot say enough wonderful things about this place. Stay here and relax.

Disliked: The location was difficult to find on first try. Very easy afterward, though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ed Allegretti

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2013 Ed would recommend this property

Liked: They treat you like family here and I made so many friends here from around the world. Decent kitchen and common area. It's not an all night party place and you have to walk or catch a bus to get downtown but the hospitality from the family is unmatched. I travelled alone and they made me feel welcome and safe at all times and really enhanced my trip to Dubrovnik. I wish I had booked more time here.

Disliked: No dislikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Ng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - it's clean, comfortable and has all the facilities a hostel should have. What's outstanding about this place is how you're made to feel at home right away and the heartwarming hospitality of this wonderful family. The brekkie is outstanding and worth a few times what they charge for it. Great atmosphere where it's easy to meet other travellers, and there's always something going on. Location is a bit away from the Old Town, but Dubrovnik really has so much more to offer than the Old Town. The boat tour is also a memorable experience and worth every kuna. Was sad to leave, but will 100% be back!

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zohaib Shaikh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2013 Zohaib would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing at the hostel, always eager to help and very friendly. There were several tours and activities on offer, and if not, hanging out on the nearby beach was always an option. They went out of their way to help, when I left to go to the bus station, and I left my passport at the hostel, I phoned them and someone drove over immediately to return it to me. It's an amazing family run hostel - best hostel I've stayed in!

Disliked: Nothing