HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dubrovnik Backpackers Club

Hostel | Mostarska 2d, Babin kuk, Dubrovnik, Croatia 20000

89.8% Overall Rating

667 out of 706 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

"The family who run the hostel are very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast on offer is hearty. The hostel is in a good location and easy to find. The beds are comfy and a towel is provided which is very useful. The…"

Read all Dubrovnik Backpackers Club reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Non arrivals and non confirmed bookings are charged.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dubrovnik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dubrovnik

Milena Apartments
36.35 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartment Old sailor
34.96 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mobile Homes Solitudo
57.90 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Anna Guesthouse
39.20 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 219 reviews
Guesthouse Mary
42.38 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bakoc-Dubrovnik
31.78 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Begovic Boarding House
47.67 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 144 reviews
Apartments Kusalo
39.05 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

667 out of 706 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dubrovnik Backpackers Club'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 577 of 582 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family who run the hostel are very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast on offer is hearty. The hostel is in a good location and easy to find. The beds are comfy and a towel is provided which is very useful. The owners offer trips and airport transfers, and always there to help.

Disliked: The hostel has a problem with overbooking. On the first night they asked us to stay in a an apartment near the hostel, they had set up a double bed in the kitchen of the apartment , and expected us to share a bed, when we had booked a four bed dorm. They said the main hostel was full. When we complained they happily moved us the next day. We also noticed they had set up beds in the laundry area of the hostel, they had obviously overbooked. The owners also offered us breakfast but failed to mention it was not included in the price. We only realised it cost extra when we saw a small notice in the common room. The owners offered us am airport transfer, but when it actually came to the day it was apparent they ciyld not do it, and had overbooked. They called on a friend to take us.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly family run :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Humphries

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 June 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location near lovely beaches. Then view from the hostel is quite amazing. The sort of people who stayed there were all lovely and the way the hostel was set out made it a sociable but not party place. The family were friendly and the hostel was lovely and clean.

Disliked: I booked a female only dorm, which was the only reason I originally booked it as this wasn't an option anywhere else. However after the first night we were ntold that males were coming in our dorms. Which I thought was entirely wrong. Also the family did not bother to let me know this it was other people staying there who informed of this change. However after protesting the family did accommodate us in a different female only dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Sun Chang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2014

Liked: Beautiful beaches nearby

Disliked: Joe Sun left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

doreen hudson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 doreen would recommend this property

Liked: Easy going which created a friendly atmosphere. The family work hard to make the stay relaxing but do not intefer or pressure the traveller. Any problem resolved instantly. I booked a 4 bed female dorm but was put in an 8 bed with 3 other females, next day males were being put in room but any issues were resolved immediately and myself and another girl transferred with minimum effort. Being picked up at bus station and dropped off on departing made my transfer so easy. The family really are accommodating in every respect.

Disliked: Because I am an older traveller it was a pain having to mount many stairs to access breakfast and hence fantastic views but being fair this did not affect the younger ones! Put it down to having to be a grumpy old person. The place is basic yet good!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stevie Greenshields

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Stevie would recommend this property

Liked: Great welcome! Coffee and rakija. =D the family is very friendly and always around, ready to help. The bathrooms are especially spacious! The movie/projector room is a great place to watch something or just chill out. Kitchen was basic but had oil and stuff to use which I appreciated. Last but not least, the breakfast is EXCELLENT value, coffee, tea, juice, as much French toast as you can eat, fried eggs and cereal if you like, plus a variety of organic spreads, all in the company of fellow guests and friendly hosts.

Disliked: Although I'd arranged pickup from the ferry, we somehow managed to miss each other, so I followed the hostel's directions, but I'm not sure they're right! The number 3 bus went up the hill behind Dubrovnik instead of straight to the city to intersect with the number 6. So maybe have a map with you just in case! Yes, the hostel is a bit far from the old town, and the buses aren't cheap, but at least they're frequent.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irene Tang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and genuine hospitality, getting to sample home-cooked traditional Croatian food, free pick up from bus station, plugs for every bed and a towel for your stay.

Disliked: Secure lockers are not in the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great breakfast, fantastic stay!

Disliked: Early curfew.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt really homely, with a great atmosphere to match. Addressed by name by the owner on arrival for example! Highly recommend

Disliked: Bit far out, but easy bus ride in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Keating

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were overwhelmingly welcoming. I felt at home here. From the ferry pick up, and welcome drink, it was a pleasure to stay and I wanted to stay longer. Breakfast is excellent value and all homemade, eat as much as you want and more...Milka definitely makes sure you don't go hungry! If you are in need of a homely and comfortable place...stay here! One of the best hostels I've stayed at in Europe. Would love to go back.

Disliked: It's not in the old town, but the bus is nearby, direct and easy to catch. The breakfast view of the harbour is lovely and the warm welcome is worth the distance!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHANG-MIN LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 CHANG-MIN would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is really nice...i stayed at 6 dorms..room was nice and comfy there was a shower room in the room. location is little far away from old city..but does not really matter..(takes 10-15mins by bus or you can walk if you like walking) breakfast just 20 kuna but really nice...bread,toast,coffee,juice,cerial,cake etc..before go out..have a breakfast.. also host and staff are really nice nice... i highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Minami Coirin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Minami would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely wonderful hostel! I was travelling alone for the first time and the lovely Perkovic family could not have made me feel at home. They picked me up at the airport after my late flight (for an additional fee as the airport is a good 1.5 hours away). The mom cooks an amazing all you can eat breakfast every morning and loves everyone who comes to stay! I also went on the boat trip planned by the hostel and had the best time. Amazing cave diving, snorkeling, and delicious island lunch! I could not recommend this hostel highly enough! It was so easy to meet everyone else staying there with their downstairs common area and is close to the bus stop that can take you straight into Old Town! I will definitely be staying here when I return to Dubrovnik and would recommend this hostel to any one of my friends!

Disliked: Minami left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had an exceptional experience staying at DBC. It's always a unique experience to stay at a family hostel. The family is amazing and very helpful in getting the most out of Dubrovnik. I planned to stay for 3 nights and ended up staying for almost 2 weeks total. Enough said.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying here was like staying at home with a family. The owners are very much involved and go out of there way to help you with anything you may need. Other travellers staying there friendly. The breakfast on offer very good value for money and home made!

Disliked: The place was not very clean, my bathroom in the room and the kitchen, people didn't seem to do there own dishes.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice, helpful and friendly staff and atmosphere. great breakfast (french toast) for 20kn. panorama view tour that they hosted was great value for money. toilets in common areas made things easy when the bathroom in the room was occupied.

Disliked: need ventilation in room. everything (bed, pillow, linen, clothes, etc) was damp, and smelled awful when people smoked on the terrace: the only window in the room I stayed in was a little one above the door, which was facing the terrace where people hung out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gavin Cox

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 October 2013 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxing family atmosphere.

Disliked: the long walk up some very steep steps to reach the property.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elton Sint Jago

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Elton would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very friendly and helpful staff!!!!

Disliked: nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Always ready to help. Good breakfast for reasonable price. They offer different tours.

Disliked: Location is not that good. A bit expensive, but I have to say all hostels in Dubrovnik are in that price range.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff we amazing! Good common area and clean facilities.

Disliked: Have to take 10min bus to city centre.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i felt very welcome at my arrival, the whole family makes you feel like you're at home. the description made me find the place quite easily, it only takes you 10-15 minutes to the old city with bus nr. 6. the breakfast cooked by milka was awesome, also it was easy to meet people either there or at the common area inside (living room) or outside (terrace) the place. only a few minutes to cocacabana beach.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities and family run, who are lovely and look after you very well.

Disliked: The outdoor area is great but the property is in a residential area so it needs to close at 10pm. It's a 10-15 min bus ride to the old town. Easy to do but you're not central. Great views on offer though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Whitney Burnand

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2013 Whitney would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous family run hostel. Great for solo travellers, I made quite a few friends here! They have excursions everyday which are well worth it!! Milka's breakfast every morning with French toast is super yummy! Staying at this hostel totally made my time in Dubrovnik the best!!

Disliked: It's a little far from the old town, you have to take a bus but the bus stop is jst down the street. But super close to the promenade with lots of restaurants, a super market and spots to swim.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ricky Etheridge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2013 Ricky would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at this Hostel was one of the highlights of our time in Croatia. We were welcomed into the house and made to feel really welcome with honey brandy and homemade cake on offer. The 25 kuna breakfast was another great touch which allowed guests to meet and share experiences. Loved our stay here.

Disliked: Ricky left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yasmin Georgiadis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Yasmin would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing family running the hostel... Was in a 4 bed - decent sized room with air con, ensuite and very clean! About 10-15min bus from old town and 10mim walk to best beach in Dubrovnik. I actually cancelled accom in old town to stay here longer. Breakfast is a must and so cheap as well. Would definitely recommend

Disliked: Lockers are very small and are in a storage room, not bedroom - didnt use them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meaghan Li

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Meaghan would recommend this property

Liked: I had an amazing stay at DBC. The breakfast buffet was amazing value or a range of delicious home-cooked food. Every member of the family (and staff) was welcoming, friendly, and genuine and they all made a lasting impression on me. The atmosphere was fantastic; every night, all the travelers would cook and hang out downstairs; half would go out and the other half preferred to stay in. I felt very safe there and didn't worry about my belongings at all. I would also HIGHLY recommend going on one of the day-trips they offer; for around 35 euro we went scuba-diving and spent the day on a secluded beach island. The guide is a wonderful character and it was a great opportunity to bond with other travelers!

Disliked: The location isn't perfect but it's a short bus ride away from the Old City. Buses run from around 5AM - 3AM so going out at night wasn't an issue at all. The hostel is minutes away from supermarkets, an ATM, pharmacy, restaurants/bakeries, and Copacabana Beach.