HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Danica Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Radnicka 33, Dubrovnik, Croatia 20000

98.9% Overall Rating

399 out of 400 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/04/2014)

david mulholland thinks…

"The view was superb ,the room was excellent ,the location is good but the best thing is the owner Danica she was brilliant with advice about the adrea and sent us to the cave bar in hotel more in…"

Read all Danica Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 33.90
  • Breakfast USD 9.07

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dubrovnik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dubrovnik

Ivo Guesthouse
23.22 USD

Guesthouse 95.3% 219 reviews
Nina
17.22 USD

Guesthouse 83.4% 93 reviews
Nicky Guesthouse
19.94 USD

Guesthouse 82.7% 134 reviews
Guesthouse Ana
22.66 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Rooms Niko
39.89 USD

Apartment 88.9% 32 reviews
Danijela Rooms
21.76 USD

Guesthouse 83.7% 44 reviews
Guest House Radic
18.13 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 48 reviews
Guesthouse S&L
36.26 USD

Guesthouse 97.3% 231 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.9%

Overall Rating

399 out of 400 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Danica Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
100.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
100.0%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 345 of 358 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david mulholland

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 April 2014 david would recommend this property

Liked: The view was superb ,the room was excellent ,the location is good but the best thing is the owner Danica she was brilliant with advice about the adrea and sent us to the cave bar in hotel more in Lapad which is the most unique we have ever been in ! Don't miss it . Danica also gave us soup and salad on our arrival and a french salad on the day we left and charged for neither and it was as fresh as could be from her garden . A great place to stay we will be back !

Disliked: We didn't stay long enough

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host Danica was the best part of our stay. She went above and beyond our expectations in making her guesthouse feel like a home away from home. She even cooked us lunch upon our arrival.! Hvala!

Disliked: In order to walk to the bus stop from the guesthouse, you must walk along a curvy road without sidewalks and cars rushing by at full speed. Did not feel safe - especially at night... Had to use iphone flashlights to light our path back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located on the hill and thus have very good views to the sea/islands. Very much kind and friendly satff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was our first day in Dubrovnik, Croatia! We had one night to stay there. How it was possible in one day to discover it all: endless blue sky, dark blue sea, and a beautiful country. Danka, the owner of the apartment where we stayed made it all possible. She has a big, warm heart. She is beautiful, caring, and very thoughtful! At her house you feel as you got back to home. And her coffee and grappa are amazing! And, O God! You should see what a view opens from the balcony! Clean, cozy, welcome house! It is really a happiness to meet such people, and fell in love with them and their country! Thank you, Danka!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeff Nordstrom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Dancia was amazing!!! She greeted us at the door and instantly had coffee on and different treats and fruit that she hand picked from her garden for us while we were relaxing on her patio. The views from the house are amazing. She helped us with everything, bus times/tickets, recommendations for restuarants, sites to see and how to get there. She has one of the best hosts you could have. She makes you feel at home. She even woke up at 4am to make us coffee and a small breakfast as we were flying out that morning and she couldn't just let us leave without saying good bye. A must stay!!!

Disliked: Jeff left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Armour

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Danica was amazing, very accommodating and helpful. Cooked dinner for us one of the nights which we ate on her balcony overlooking the harbour.

Disliked: The only slight fault is the stairs from the marina but it's worth it for the views and danica is more than happy to pick you up / drop you off when you have luggage and there's a nearby bus stop to get to old town

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming and extremely helpful host and amazing views

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derrick Wales

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Derrick would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic view over harbour, excellent hostess, great room.

Disliked: Derrick left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John West

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed in Danica Guesthouse for one night (we were travelling elsewhere in Croatia), but we could have easily stayed for more and would have been very happy to do so. The guesthouse is in an excellent location for both Dubrovnik sight-seeing (that is if you do not want to stay in the old town itself) and onward travel (very close to the main bus station and main ferry port). Marija, the host, was super – she collected us from the airport for a very competitive price, giving us a local’s tour of Dubrovnik on the way home. Her house was lovely and clean – very homely and welcoming. Marija made us some pasta and homemade lemonade as soon as we arrived, which was a terrific start to our holiday. The balcony view is super. The old town of Dubrovnik is easily located from the guesthouse in about 20 minutes – a short walk down some steps onto the main road besides the port and a bus (1A, 1B or 3) takes you there for only 12 kuna. We would definitely return and I would whole-heartedly recommend Danica Guesthouse.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly friendly, would love to stay again.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was amazing. Danica herself makes it a pleasure to stay here and the service and level of friendliness is second to none, will be recommending to everyone.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike here.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Danka is AMAZING! Such a sweetheart! She will take care of you and make sure you see the best of Dubrovnik (she explains the city to you and gives you good resto and attractions recommendations) - Place is clean, you get your own bathroom - Danka offers coffee and bread with spread every morning - The terrace overlooks the whole port, it is the most beautiful view I have ever seen THANK YOU Danka, you made our trip to Croatia the best :)

Disliked: - It does cost about 25 Euros to get from the airport to her place- but make sure you contact her and she can pick you up rather than taking a taxi for that price. - You must take a city bus from her place pretty much anywhere but the ride is cheap and fast and you only have to take one bus to the city, or one to the beach

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fang-hua Wu

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 July 2013 Fang-hua would recommend this property

Liked: I love Danka. She is a great person full of hospitality. Danka is the best host I've ever met. The view nearby their guest house is wonderful.

Disliked: Fang-hua left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: czysto,schludnie,nadzwyczaj gościnnie,wspaniałe widoki

Disliked: gospodyni niezwykle miła,gościnna,pomocna. czyściutko,elegancko

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we had such a positive experience at Danica's guesthouse, she is a generous, warm and caring lady who really made us feel at home. The breakfast was delicious the views from her house incredible and the rooms spotlessly clean. It's not as close to the old Town as some places, but the bus is within walking distance of her house and you could prob walk all the way into Town within 20-30 mins. I highly recommend staying here!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Sczesniok

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 May 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Danica (the owner) is a kind hearted lady and can never do enough to make you feel welcome and at home. I can not recommend Danica's guesthouse enough. This is my second stay and I will keep on returning as I have made a good friend.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike. Honestly...........

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Marija, the proprietor, was a wonderful, warm, welcoming, helpful person. Her home was like a home. I felt safe, and the bedroom and bathroom were incredibly clean. The view from her place is fantastic. I would recommend her place to other travellers for sure.

Disliked: Location was not within walking distance of old Dubrovnik.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Gall

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2012 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: What a wonderful welcome to Croatia! Danica is such a friendly, genuine and welcoming host and she really went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our time in Dubrovnik. She gave us a lift from the airport at night, and because we arrived late she gave us dinner on the balcony and wine so we could relax straight away. She provided us with all the information we needed on sites in the Dubrovnik area and how to get around. She even went to the bus station for us and picked up our bus tickets when we were moving on. I couldn't recommend this place more highly!

Disliked: Angela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Hudson

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

24 September 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: We can’t compliment Danica’s Guesthouse enough. From the very first moment we stepped inside we were treated with amazing warmth and generosity. The owner Danica really goes out of her way to make guests feel right at home, and considering the fact that the guesthouse is actually her home, this makes you feel really welcome. The rooms are spotless and comfortable, and the view from the balcony is great. Danica also spends time giving her guests valuable advice about the city, including the best places to eat (make sure you follow her advice!). It’s clear that she wants guests to have the best possible time in Dubrovnik, and we really appreciated the steps she took to do this. I would like to point out in the slightly negative post below (62.9%), that it is plainly obvious that the guesthouse is actually Danica’s home. She wants you to feel comfortable in her house and this what makes it special. There is no ‘common area’ (it’s actually her own lounge, which she always invites you into anyway) and using someone else’s (personal) kitchen without asking is just outright disrespectful.

Disliked: Nothing! Danica's is great value, a great place to stay, great views and a great host - we would definitely go back and see our ‘Croatian mother’ Danica!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pawel Bugajski

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

15 September 2012 Pawel would recommend this property

Liked: Danica is a lovely person that seems to guess what you as a traveller may want. I was attracted by good reviews and they are no exaggeration. Perfect view from the room that you will remember.

Disliked: I liked everything. You travel to town by public transport but you are given full info and it is extremely easy. And owner is always willing to give you a lift.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the cleanest place I have stayed in the Balkans. Great view. Cute place. Danica sits down and tells everyone a lot about the city and dropped us off to the station when we were leaving. Breakfast is decent.

Disliked: The location isnt great, though there is a good view, it would have been more convenient to be in old town especially for going out at night (the buses stop right as the nightlife starts). They are apparently supposed to pick the people up from the station but we never heard anything from them about this and there were no directions so we had to google directions and walk up half a million stairs with our suitcases. Also, I would highly recommend not using the kitchen. We were yelled at multiple times for this misunderstanding even though it is not marked and is part of the common area, so we thought it would be okay. Dont make the same mistake.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ann gregory

As a family with children

Family Holiday

03 September 2012 ann would recommend this property

Liked: Danika made this holiday for us, she is a genuine, wonderful lady! Her care and hospitality is truely unique. I would ALWAYS recommend this accomodation to any of my family and friends travelling to Dubrovnik, and would hope to go again sometime.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly host, impeccably clean, lift provided from bus stop, 10minutes from the city centre by bus, amazing views of the sea (including sunset) from the roof terrace. Decent price too!

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Danka the host was very welcoming and extremely helpful, she gave us useful info about the bus services, day trips and where to eat near to the guesthouse. She went over and above what we expected. The guesthouse is located nearer to the harbour then the old town so is good if you want to visit any of the local islands. It is about a 15-20min bus ride to the old town. The room had a shared bathroom but this was not a problem and we never had to wait for the bathroom. There are many steps down to the harbour but you can catch a bus or take a taxi back up to the guesthouse easily. Very reasonable transfers to the airport and pciked us up from the bus station for free. We would stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leigh McGee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Leigh would recommend this property

Liked: The welcome we received was fantastic, you could not ask for a more attentive host, it felt like a home from home, nothing was a bother, the room was lovely and clean and the views are magnificent. It was lovely and quiet and safe at night.

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect.