HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rooms Matea

Guesthouse | Od Gaja 3, Dubrovnik, Croatia 20000

95.4% Overall Rating

99 out of 99 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/07/2014)

Lucy Gingell thinks…

"Extremely friendly owners who went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Great location and price and excellent room."

Read all Rooms Matea reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dubrovnik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dubrovnik

Apartment Radulovic
16.55 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Maria Di Apartment
16.55 USD

Apartment 97.1% 29 reviews
Apartment Pavlito
14.07 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Guesthouse Fabris
14.07 USD

Guesthouse 96.8% 9 reviews
LUCE APARTMENTS & ROOM
25.66 USD

Guesthouse 91.3% 38 reviews
MARIJA GUESTHOUSE
28.14 USD

Apartment 91.7% 31 reviews
Neda Guesthouse
23.17 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 227 reviews
Apartments Milic
31.63 USD

Apartment 96.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.4%

Overall Rating

99 out of 99 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rooms Matea'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 92 of 97 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Gingell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly owners who went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Great location and price and excellent room.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

trevor allen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly hosts who explained all about Dubrovnik had a glass of wine with them made us feel all at home.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sven and Sanka were very good hosts.

Disliked: I thought there was a private bathroom but we shared with one other room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sian armstrong

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 June 2013 sian would recommend this property

Liked: The best place we stayed on out recent holiday! Owners very helpful, obliging and friendly. A very comfortable room with all facilities provided and a nice homely atmosphere. We send you our best wishes for the holiday season and thank you for your kind hospitality. UK couple S & A.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adil Hamid

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Adil would recommend this property

Liked: My husband and I stayed here for a short break quite some time ago - the host was very friendly, he picked us up from the airport, gave us helpful tips on what to do around the area and made sure we had everything during our short trip. We were both very pleased with our stay in Rooms Matea.

Disliked: Adil left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sven and Stanka are fantastic hosts - very informative, helpful, generous and friendly. We took them up on all their tips for restaurants, sites, ferries, airport transfer, and were delighted with everything. The beds were extremely comfortable too! Hope I can go again some day...

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Anderton

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Sven and Stanka were very friendly and helpful with everything from dropping us off to the bus station for the airport and giving us advice on where to go during our stay. They even welcomed us to hang out with them during the evening, so I had a great time watching the football (Euros) with Sven. The accommodation was also excellent, good facilities and very clean, and my girlfriend really appreciated the air conditioning in our room.

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Volker Schaller

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Volker would recommend this property

Liked: In general the rooms Matea are very nice, but the best thing about this place is the staff. I've been travelling quite a lot, but never, really never, I have met a staff that is that friendly, helpful and open-minded. Not only that the owner of the place picked us up at the station, he also invited us for a couple of cold drinks together with his family. The chat with him taught us more about the history and the current situation of Croatia/Yugoslavia than many a history book. Moreover, we got some real(!) insider tips about were to go in Dobrovnik. And yes, besides that, the place is very clean, well furnished and has a great location and atmosphere.

Disliked: Volker left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikhail Totmakov

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

01 September 2012 Mikhail would recommend this property

Liked: It was located in a quiet residential neighborhood. Nice, clean room, although a bit on the small side. Sven, the owner, is a cool guy! He was extremely helpful, picked us up at the bus station and dropped us off at the end of our stay, explained everything. He got a bit upset after we'd lost the keys. Well, who wouldn't be?)) Sorry we didn't meet your son so he could brush up on his Russian)) Privet from Moscow.

Disliked: It was a good place for its value

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, everything was clean and the location is pretty good - it is only 10 minutes walk to the old town. What we also liked was that they prepare some dishes and a fridge in the room you can use to make your own breakfast. All in all we had a good stay and were satisfied with everything.

Disliked: ---

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts were extremely friendly and accomodating, providing us excellent recommendations on restaurants to eat in and avoid, attractions to prioritise for the time we were in Dubrovnic. Their interest in people appeared genuine. They were happy to drink and chat with us and even gave us a free lift to the bus station at the end of our stay. The rooms were a good size, clean and offered a lovely view over the old town and sea. The shared bathroom was cleaned daily and is only shared with one other room, so this was not a problem. There was also wifi, a washing machine and room to line dry clothes.

Disliked: Rooms Matea is only a 5 minute walk to the Old Town but there are a lot of stairs to climb on the return journey.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Duda

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Sven and his wife Stanka were incredibly nice and accommodating. They were very nice.

Disliked: It was a littler farther from the town than i expected.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Grant

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 August 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly and helpful hosts; gave good recommendations and picked and dropped us off at the bus station. The room was spotless, and there was a cute little balcony that you can use. One of the best places we stayed.

Disliked: It's quite a walk up hill in the heat but beautiful to have the view.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liz Heywood

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2012 Liz would recommend this property

Liked: This above appraisal table does not justice to Sven and Stanka who were excellent hosts.The warmth, friendliness and helpfulness was exceptional and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with them. All facilities, room comfort with air conditioning and cleanliness was very good and we would highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the main attractions is the helpful and friendly staff. From the start the hosts picked us up from the bus station and explained the best places to eat and drink to get value for money. Recommended day trips and things to do in the city.

Disliked: The rooms we were staying in was slightly smaller than we expected but we did not spend much time there so it did not matter to us.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teician Golder

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 Teician would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, so helpful. there home is lovely as well & is a short walk into the old town. Lovely view from the rooms, would def recommend.

Disliked: Teician left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sven and his family were very nice abd friendly. 15 min walk to old town. Clean

Disliked: nothing everything was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah James

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay here!!!! Would reccomend these rooms to everyone! Sven and Sanka were so lovely and made us feel very welcome. The rooms are spotlessly clean with modern furnishings and all the facilities you need. We would deffinately stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hosts, lovely place

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. The room and the bathroom were very nice and clean. Beautiful ocean view over the city. 10 min walk to the city center (a lot of stairs).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hospitality was great. they didn't open their home to us. they opened their family to us. I enjoyed of my stay there.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Slevin

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed every moment of our stay at Rooms Matea. Sven and Stanka were fantastic hosts. They provided us with lots of information on Dubrovnik and recommended some wonderful places to see and things to do. They were extremely warm and friendly. The location of Rooms Matea is perfect. It is very close to the Old Town and we felt very safe walking around the area. The room was clean, spacious and had all the amenities we needed. We loved everything about our stay in Rooms Matea.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sebastien Vanneste

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 sebastien would recommend this property

Liked: The room is clean, well accomodated and well equipped. The staff is very nice and helpful. They are willing to help us and give us advices. The bathroom is also clean, modern. The situation is not very favorable but not far from the old city district, it is a good compromised between price and anf distance to old town. It takes 10 min. to go down, 15 min. to go back to the hostel.

Disliked: There are two rooms for one bathroom. It is good if people does not stay too much in it, worse when the bathroom/toilets is blocked 2 hours in the morning when 2 girls prepared themselves :). There is no breakfast provided but a kettle and a fridge are there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. We were welcomed very warmly by our hosts Stanka and Sven. They also recommended what to do in the city and around. From our nice and very clean room we had a great sea view. We also liked the little terrace for having breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly, welcoming and informative hosts and a lovely property

Disliked: Nothing