We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Nika Dubrovnik

Apartment | Nalješkoviceva 7, Dubrovnik, Croatia 20 000

64.3% Overall Rating

37 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/08/2013)

Thomas Smith thinks…

"nothing. loved being threatened by the property owner (who we weren't meant to be staying with but they had overbooked, resulting in us having to move) that she would call the police because i was…"

Read all Nika Dubrovnik reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 33.65

What's Included

  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dubrovnik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dubrovnik

Villa Flora
83.39 USD

Hostel 84.8% 95 reviews
Dubrovnik Old Town Anne rooms
29.69 USD

Apartment 91.0% 48 reviews
Rooms Vicelic
44.90 USD

Apartment 90.4% 109 reviews
Old Town Hostel
50.47 USD

Hostel 89.3% 4 reviews
Apartments Saraca
38.49 USD

Hostel 82.3% 86 reviews
Apartment Mila
25.23 USD

Apartment 75.1% 11 reviews
Blago Apartment
55.52 USD

Apartment 93.1% 7 reviews
Hostel & Rooms Ana - Old Town Dubrovnik
37.01 USD

Hostel 92.1% 80 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.3%

Overall Rating

37 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nika Dubrovnik'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
57.6%
Value
56.8%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 47 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap, and a good spot in the old town.

Disliked: We were placed in a different apartment than booked, but in the same house, so it was no trouble really. Other than that, the furnishings were quite desolate, but it's cheap enough to forgive that.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Thomas Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2013

Liked: nothing. loved being threatened by the property owner (who we weren't meant to be staying with but they had overbooked, resulting in us having to move) that she would call the police because i was outside having a cigarette by myself at 11pm. Really inviting!!!

Disliked: I've been travelling and staying/working in hostels the whole time and these people are just plain and simply liars. They were unprofessional. Told us they had overbooked (even though we booked 3 months beforehand) so we had to go to a completely different property which was nothing like the website suggested. The property owner threatened to call the police on me because i was outside having a cigarette at 11pm making absolutely no noise whatsoever and i was completely sober. there was no use of kitchen facilities. When we questioned the owner about why we had to move her reason, and I quote was "We have 10 Japs staying in my house. You don't want to be anywhere near here, trust me". Absolutely appauling and unprofessional.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good placement with regards to the old town of Dubrovnik. Large room.

Disliked: Room could be cleaner, and there was a smell in the room for the entire stay. Easily hear people walking/talking in the street outside the room!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

21 August 2012

Liked: It is located in an absolutely beautiful narrow street in the Old Town with lush plants on the side of the steps. The upstairs shared bathroom double we had a lovely view overlooking the street. The location is also very good, as it is just a stair walk down to the main street and not far from Banje Beach.

Disliked: On our arrival the staff told oss that they had over booked so we had to be moved to a different place. In compensation for this we were promised to be moved to the apartment with private bathroom for the remaining nights free of charge. After noticing other guests using what we thought was our own private bathroom, we realized that no such compensation had been given us. Confronting the staff about the inhonesty left no results. Included in the price of the room there is supposed to be towels. Our room had no towels on arrival, and we received two tiny ones only after having to ask three times. No towels were provided in the shared bathroom. The remote control for the aircontioner in our room was lost, so it was only possible to have it off or on one temperature. What is called a kitchen has a very low standard, and therefore it might not be worthy to be considered as such. It contains for instance no cutting board or kettle. The few knives were inadequate and dirty. The fridge left our food frozen rock solid. All in all a bad value.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012

Liked: Not much... Location was excellent but aside from that steer clear!

Disliked: The shower didnt work. The aircon didnt work. Our room was overbooked and we had to move apartments twice in our four day stay. The house was constantly unlocked and anyone could have entered and taken our belongings? I had the father of nika enter my room on several occasions without knocking! Ive stayed at some pretty dodgy places in the last since months i have had backpacking but this takes the cake, you have been warned!!!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012

Liked: Está en el centro histórico de Dubrovnik a 5minutos de todo lo importante, bien comunicado con la parada de bus del aeropuerto y cerca de la playa

Disliked: No tiene Aire acondicionado en las habitaciones, sólo en la sala de estar y al 2ª día no funcionaba....Además la dueña pasa bastante del hostal, estuvimos 1 hora esperando fuera hasta que tuvimos que llamarla por teléfono y mandó a su padre porque se había ido de fiesta el día anterior....su padre no quería saber nada, sólo nos abrió la habitación y a la dueña la vimos el último día y de milagro, ni siquiera se molestó en venir a cobrar....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely spacious room, fantastic location

Disliked: nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011

Liked: Pros: - air conditioning - tv - kitchen access

Disliked: Cons: - BATHROOM IS SHARED WITH THE UPSTAIRS BEDROOM. It is not a private bathroom. There is a separate bathroom downstairs but we found that people from the other room like to use that one too. - WE FOUND OUT THAT THE OWNERS WENT LOOKING INTO OUR ROOM WHILE WE WERE GONE... we know this because the door was locked only once (when we locked it twice), our air con was turned off with 35+ degree heat outside and the window was left open.. Nothing was missing. - the room is not located on the address disclosed. That is only for service address. - The building is located about 200 steep steps up hill from the main street. When you're carrying heavy luggage this is something to consider.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011

Liked: Nothing at all. It was well located but still it doesn't overcome all the other diadvantages.

Disliked: Old, lazy room. No light nor hot water in the bathroom. The price was extremely expensive, To stay in a place like that it should be free!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ismar kulenovic

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: The owner was not there and we had made reservations. We then had to find lodging elsewhere since the owner wasn't even there, and we specifically listed when we would arrive. I paid for a reservation and showed up to an empty house, luckily the neighbors were home and offered lodging.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, in the heart of the old town. Had a washing machine and fully equiped kitchen. Nika and her sister were both friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The bed was actually a fold out couch. Was quite small and for my boyfriend who is 6ft 2", he did not fit in it. The sign on the door is very small and we would have walked straight past (and up a whole lot of stairs) if it wasnt for Nika's sister sitting out the front who just happened to ask us what we were looking for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Un lugar encantador para alojarse en Dubrovnik. Situado en pleno casco antiguo a 2 minutos de la calle principal, aunque hay que subir muchas escaleras para llegar a el. Nuestro alojamiento era una casa de dos plantas. En la planta baja teniamos el dormitorio: una cama de matrimonio, un armario grande, una plancha, una mesa de plancha, una aspiradora, wifi. En la planta superior, la cocina, con una mesa para comer, y el baño. Es un placer alojarse en pleno casco antiguo de Dubrovnik.

Disliked: El unico inconveniente es que, debido a la distribucion de la ciudad, hay que subir muchas escaleras para llegar, lo cual, cargado de equipaje es muy pesado, pero merece la pena.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, in the center of the old town of Dubrovnik, in a nice apartment with everything you might need for a stay (short or long)

Disliked: The price are a bit high but it's Dubrovnik. If you are looking for a hostel full of young people, it's not the right place. It's a calm place to stay

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

14 August 2011

Liked: Location. In the heart of Dubrovnik old town.

Disliked: The place is really old and a major refurbishment is needed. The floor makes noises as you step on it, the bathroom ventilation machine sounded like an airplane! I also found a few spider nets around the room. Besides it all, it was the most expensive place we stayed around Croatia!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was provided. The hosts were wonderful people. The room we had was huge. Location is brilliant.

Disliked: Could not fault this place at all

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011

Liked: Centrally located in historical old town.

Disliked: No air conditioning despite property description stating otherwise;, no proper curtains which was weird given that the building across the way could see right in!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, right in the centre of the old town. Room was basic but all you needed for a good nights sleep.

Disliked: Room could have done with air conditioning. We stayed late June and the nights were already pretty warm. Don't know how good I would sleep during the heated nights of July and August without it. Owner was lovely, however not around. We had to call her to check in and only saw her once during our stay so was not readily available for assistance.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elodie Letard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Elodie would recommend this property

Liked: location, welcoming

Disliked: humidity

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location right inside the old city walls. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Sofa bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krzysztof Waclawski

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Romantic getaway

26 September 2010 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: It's the best location you could actually imagine! It's within the actual old city - step out of your door and your'e there! Washing machine would be nice addition. Kettle would come in handy too. Think about replacing the bed Nika, hehe! There was one really funny situation when some drunk chap missed his door (easy to get cofused) and he wanted to come in to our place. Luckily he soon realised he was wrong - but lock your door people. The room was actually very humid - but that's the beauty of few hundred year's old building I suppose. Nika is very nice young person and she'll give you few tips on Dubrovnik too. Cheers!

Disliked: Krzysztof left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jim Ranger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2010 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, and friendly staff.

Disliked: We had to change rooms from the 1st to the 2nd night of our stay, and although our second room was massive and had a kitchen and bigger bathroom, we had to sleep on a sofabed which wasn't at all comfortable (thankfully, this was just for one night). And I could have done without the schlep up seriously steep steps with my bags, but there we are.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is incredible. Good value too.

Disliked: Really hard to actually get in touch with Nica.. she was NEVER around. Only person that was spoke poor English so sorting out registration, payment etc was a hassle.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeanette Mellinger

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

13 September 2010 Jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: This was a wonderful property to stay in! Simply walking to it from Pile Gate convinced me that Dubrovnik is one of the most beautiful cities I've been to. And to have one's own little apartment there? Priceless. Sure, no place to stay in Dubrovnik is near priceless in a literal sense, but this was a fantastic deal for a comfortable place right off the Stradun, warm hosts (Nika's father was waiting for us outside, and I only hope it wasn't for too long; Nika came to say "hello" the next day), and even had a handy kitchen for pretending as though we really lived in this stunning town. Great place to call "home," even if just for two days.

Disliked: Jeanette left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic and the bathroom was excellent (although no lock on the door).Nika's wife spoke good English and was extremely helpful. She personally went to a pharmacy for me and paid for the medicines.

Disliked: I found it a little too expensive in comparison to the private accommodation, especially as some homestays have equivalent facilities and location for much less. We booked on this website for the following night, but when we turned up the room had been double booked and we had to spend a night at his parent's house, which was not as well located and had no kitchen. The kitchen had a hob, oven and fridge freezer and a good supply of pans...but no sharp knives/wooden spoons/spatulas making it difficult to cook.