We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vila Vala

Apartment | Stonska 12, Dubrovnik, Croatia 20000

84.3% Overall Rating

27 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/06/2014)

"The property is only a small walk from the beach and the town. Beautiful terrace with great views and comfortable and safe place to stay."

Read all Vila Vala reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dubrovnik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dubrovnik

Brigita Rooms
25.66 USD

Apartment 84.8% 46 reviews
Vila Micika - Dubrovnik
12.65 USD

Hostel 80.6% 116 reviews
Guesthouse Mary
29.80 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Begovic Boarding House
18.21 USD

Guesthouse 86.3% 145 reviews
Anna Guesthouse
18.21 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 220 reviews
Bakoc-Dubrovnik
26.48 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartment Old sailor
12.58 USD

Apartment 94.3% 3 reviews
Milena Apartments
30.36 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

27 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vila Vala'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 29 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is only a small walk from the beach and the town. Beautiful terrace with great views and comfortable and safe place to stay.

Disliked: There was no safety deposit box.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joshua Swartzentruber

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Three of us stayed at Vila Vala in the Studio apartment and it was everything we could ever have needed for three days in Dubrovnik. Kitchen with everything except an oven but there is plenty you can do with the stove top, it ws very clean, really charming, and although it was a 25ish minute walk to Old Town it is still in a beautiful area with it own charm away from the bus tours that collide at Old Town. Go to Mamma Mia Pizza down the pedestrian walkway, get a jumbo pizza, and never look back.

Disliked: Water temp could get a little moody, but really that's just the way it goes with three people all showering in a row. So... just don't be last.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Wozniak

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very good located in quiet part of Dubrovnik with a very good communication with main tourist attractions. The hosts are very helpful. The apartment is clear and good equipped. If I came to Dubrovnik once more, I would stay at Vila Vala again.

Disliked: Michal left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, convenience to supermarket, beaches and buses to Old Town

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, just a few steps of an area full of restaurants, bars and the beach. The woman is very nice. Very good place for this price.

Disliked: The long stairs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kirill Baranov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2012 Kirill would recommend this property

Liked: A nice guest-house with everything needed in it, located very close to the beach.

Disliked: The hostess does not speak good English, so for those who completely don't understand Croatian it's a difficulty. Also, there was not a single sign of this very guest-house so it was difficult to find. Quite far from the city center but bus service is well-developed in the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy and beautiful apartment with a balcony to relax. Owners are helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

Disliked: None

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011

Liked: the view from the balcony was great!

Disliked: the fifties-character ;-) and the bathtub without shower curtain

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yim Ling Fung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Yim Ling would recommend this property

Liked: It has a short distance to supermarket, restaurants and the beach. It is really convenient. The owners are very nice although the land lady doesnt speak very good English, she smiles and helps us. I appreciate the free pick up of them from the main bus stop. Also it has a super good garden with nice plants and views.

Disliked: It's a bit far away from the main bus stop and people must rely on the free pick up from the owner.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vila Vala fulfilled all our expectations. The owner was friendly and helpful: on the first day he picked us up from the bus station free of charge and he also gave us a ride to the airport on the last day (for a fee). We didn't see him a lot during our stay but he told us we could ask informarion for him if needed. Vila Vala has only 3 apartments so it was a peaceful place to stay. We spent 9 nights at Vila Vala. We got larger room than we'd booked for the first 5 days and were then moved to a smaller room. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Especially the kitchen was good-facilitated and we were able to cook our own breakfast and dinner. We had also our own terrace with a table and chairs. We didn't spend much time at the apartment but it offered everything we could've asked for that price. We travelled at the end of April and were very lucky with the weather (sunny and over 20 degrees every day). We would higly recommend travelling to Dubrovnik on April. The Old Town wasn't crowded but not empty either so the athmosphere was good and we were able to enjoy the tourist attractions without a huge mass of other people. The prices are also lower on spring before the biggest tourist season. Lapad, the part of the city where our accommodation was situated, has a large variety of cafés, and some restaurants also, but all in all it was quite quiet during our visit. Local people were spending their days at the caf'es and beaches but it seemed that everything has been build just for the tourists and when the season hadn't started yet the place was somehow empty. We usually walked from Lapad to Old Town, which took about 30-40 minutes. The bus system seemed to work very well but walking was a nice way to enjoy the beautiful Croatian views. Of course some days we felt that it was hard to carry all the things we would need during the day with us but all in all we agreed that the location of the accommodation was very good for us. So if you are an active person and like walking we would recommend that you choose your place to stay from Lapad. Dubrovnik is a nice and beautiful city and we enjoyed it a lot. :) We recommend to make a trip to Mostar and the island Lokrum if you're staying for a week or so.

Disliked: There were any problems with this apartment so there was nothing we would have been disliked! :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family that runs the place are very helpful. The location is good in that it is quiet and near some beautiful scenery, but a bit far out of town. A nearby bus is good for getting into the Old City, though. It was comfortable enough and the kitchen was well equipped.

Disliked: It's surrounded by trees, so there were a lot of birds chirping in the middle of the night. Not a big deal, but if you're a light sleeper you might notice.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location: okacomodation: okfamily freandly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is so nice and take us to the accomodations from bus station even we went to wrong bus station.there are no check out time limit(maybe no one reservation on the othe day?not sure) we check out around 5pm. the house is a apartment and it is cute!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Chadwick

12 October 2009 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value. Hard to find without being collected from the airport. Good and helpful service.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janice Felstead

12 October 2009 Janice would recommend this property

Liked: Big fluffy towels, crisp clean sheets. A well equiped kitchen. Novak drove us both to and from the feryy, which was wonderful.Our appartment was private, and quite. We stayed 5 nights, and would stay there again.Janice , Australia

Disliked: Janice left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in the studio flat as a solo traveller so for the price; a really good option for basic accomodation. Location is it's best point, with Lapad Beach, bars, restaurants, supermarket, bus stop, internet cafe etc all within 5 minutes walk (down the steps). Your host Novak is always happy to help too and the airport pick-up takes the hassle out of first arriving in a new city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Valori

23 September 2009 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place to stay, our room had a balcony with a great view of Lapad (which is a beautiful green area of the city). Service was fantastic. Beach was just a few minutes away, the centre about 10 minutes away by bus or half an hour's walk. Very much recommended.

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Scandrett

23 September 2009 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Our host was not staying on property, so contact with him required a call on the mobile. This being said, he was highly responsive and eager to look after our needs. Location is perfect for a relaxing holiday. You're situated in the middle of the hotel district and just up the stairs from restaurants, markets, supermarket, cafes, information, and most importantly beaches. Bus from old town is also with the above and only takes about 10 minutes.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

11 September 2009

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Scott

19 June 2009 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: This was amazing for budget accomodation - I can't recommend it enough. The room, though basic, was very clean and there was a fully equiped kitchen, good airconditioning and a tv. The landlords were very friendly and helpful, especially as they arranged for us to be picked up from the airport for a very good price.

Disliked: Gemma left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the price is o.k.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.