We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Nicky Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Dura Basariceka 23, Dubrovnik, Croatia 20000

76.3% Overall Rating

136 out of 148 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"Good location if you need to catch an early bus from a nearby bus station. If you want to stay close to the city centre - this is not a place for you. Fantastic view from the balcony. Good price for the expensive and…"

Read all Nicky Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 33.11
  • Breakfast USD 6.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dubrovnik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dubrovnik

Ivo Guesthouse
21.25 USD

Guesthouse 97.7% 248 reviews
Guesthouse Ana
23.17 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 17 reviews
Apartment Marija Dubrovnik
22.35 USD

Apartment 93.1% 22 reviews
Rooms Kiko
33.11 USD

Guesthouse 79.2% 65 reviews
Danica Guesthouse
29.80 USD

Guesthouse 97.8% 433 reviews
Rooms ARNY
13.90 USD

Guesthouse 74.2% 69 reviews
APARTMENT CIME
21.68 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Nina
14.90 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 101 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.3%

Overall Rating

136 out of 148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nicky Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
72.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 148 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014

Liked: The host is nice.

Disliked: Everything else.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014

Liked: Good location if you need to catch an early bus from a nearby bus station. If you want to stay close to the city centre - this is not a place for you. Fantastic view from the balcony. Good price for the expensive and over-rated Dubrovnik. The place is right next to a bus stop where you can catch a public bus to the city centre. Very helpful staff who advised us about the public buses and recommended where to eat in Dubrovnik. The place had a wifi and a TV.

Disliked: Not the cleanest place I've been to. Very basic accommodation, tea and coffee making facilities in a shared kitchen outside of the room. The kitchen was not very clean either. Difficult to find when you first arrive in Dubrovnik, make sure you have a good map with you and good directions. Don't take a taxi, we took one and the taxi driver dropped us off on the main road saying he can't get into the small street where the property was located and we ended up looking for the place for another 10mins. We stayed in this place only one night and it was alright, however, for a longer stay we'd rather book elsewhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spectacular view from our balcony over the harbor. This is a family home, friendly and quiet neighborhood. It is quite a walk from the old town, but down hill all the way and ride the city bus back. Close to bus station and ferry port where the cheapest eats and markets are located.

Disliked: Nothing, suited our needs perfectly.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2014

Liked: It has a nice view.

Disliked: Not cleaned.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and picked us up when we got lost, gave some good recommendation on what to do in our short visit. Lovely views from the property, and though it was a bit far from the centre there was a great and easy bus service to and from Old town.

Disliked: Long distance from the centre

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and location at up hills

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, nice quiet and clean.. Great view

Disliked: A bit far from teh old town, but buses are convienient

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natalie Cook

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Nicky is really lovely, gave us a welcoming drink and chatted to us when we first arrived. Large double room with a balcony showing off the beautiful view over the harbour. Plenty of outside space. Good air con

Disliked: 30-40min walk to the old town though there are 2 buses an hour from just outside the guesthouse.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sandra Hagoort

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Anthony is a very friendly and helpful person, who speaks good English. He told us everything we would need to know. Also he gave us a ride back to the busstation on the day of leaving. Kitchen has everything you need and the bathroom is very clean.

Disliked: It is far away from the old town. It is definitely 30-45 minutes walking, but close to the place there is a bus which departs every half an hour. It is not advisable to walk it to the hostel, because is it very high up the mountain, and you really have to climb!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jacob Powell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Nice balcony view, very friendly staff

Disliked: A long walk from the Old Town

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Faye Freeman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Faye would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay here. Anthony was very helpful and offered to collect and drop us off at the bus station. On arrival he gave us great information all about Dubrovnik and what to do. Would highly recommend this property!!!

Disliked: Faye left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2012

Liked: The family who host us was really kind and polite.

Disliked: In fact the adresse and all the services you have in the descriptions are not ensured. There are 5 houses who host in this hostel, and it can change really a lot! attention!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cliona Galvin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012 Cliona would recommend this property

Liked: The guesthouse is in a great location. Nicky himself gives an introduction to the city and advises on the best places to go. He goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and help you in any way he can. The property is very clean and all the facilities are as described on hostel bookers.

Disliked: Cliona left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth King

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: So glad I stayed here. Particularly enjoyed the views...

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esther Durdant-Hollamby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2012 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: Nicky! So friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Esther left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paola Leone

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 July 2012 Paola would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff and the seaview

Disliked: Paola left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

james brant

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: Nicky is a great guy takes you in and treats you like family. If you are travelling on a budget he can give you an idea of what to avoid so you dont get taken for a ride. If you arent travelling on a budget he can certainly show you how to have a good time. We've offered to have him stay with us next time he's in Australia. That's how nice a guy he is.

Disliked: its a bit of a walk to Grad. other than that nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly guy running it, who went out of his way to be helpful. Difficult to rate atmosphere etc. as we were only there for one night, but would definitely go back again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its probably good for younger than me

Disliked: atmosphère

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Dennis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

19 September 2011 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: Nicky was a great guy! he gaves us all the info about Dubrovnic so we knew where to go and what to do. He was always available to ask questions and was always willing to help.

Disliked: The Hill! haha but its a good work out, there are hills everywhere in Dubrovnic

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The accomdations were well worth the price. Nicky provide all kinds of information and help.

Disliked: It was great value for the ;price

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicky was amazing - he was so helpful. He gave us the lowdown on Dubrovnik from a 'local' point of view, picked up our friends from the airport and made the best coffee in Croatia.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicky goes above and beyond as a host. It's like staying with the Croatian family you never knew you had. He will pick you up from the bus station for free. You get a welcome drink (or more if you are lucky). Nicky set up the tv outside so we could watch a soccer match. This is one of my favorite Hostels ever.

Disliked: Nothing :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samuel Whiteley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Nicky is awesome. From the get go, he was out to help us in anyway possible. took us on his boat for a cruise (it cost a bit of money, but well worth it). Provided us with a map and things to see that werent all on the tourist network, in this way, we skipped away from being drawn in to paying huge amounts of money, for not really any benefit. His dog was a huge hit with my travelling companions as well. His family are all lovely and helpful, and Nicky is willing to organise almost anything for you.

Disliked: Can't really say anything wrong about this place, besides the large hill at the end of the day is a bit of a struggle. However, there is a bus to catch that saves a lot of trouble.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Reuben Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Reuben would recommend this property

Liked: Nicky is, as a prior correspondent said "the bomb". He's a hugely enthusiastic expert on the local area and the general art of partying. He's impossible not to like and I get the feeling that he is genuinely as keen for you to enjoy your stay as you are. Rooms are adequate and cheap, and we had access to a balcony with one of the most stunning views of Dubrovnik you could hope for. The overall atmosphere was a tad young for our liking - we're no longer 18 year olds out on our first backpacking trip - but if we were, Nicky Guesthouse would have been the greatest stay in history.

Disliked: Although ideal for the backpacker crowd, Nicky Guesthouse is quite a loud place, the beds are bloody awful and it could have been significantly cleaner. It's seven minutes walk to the bus station however more like 45 from it due to the ENORMOUS hill it's at the top of - take Nicky's offer of a lift or jump bus number 8! However, keep it in perspective - this is a great place to stay!