HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Fresh* Sheets Hostel Dubrovnik Old Town

Hostel | Svetog Simuna 15, Dubrovnik, Croatia 20000

86.3% Overall Rating

216 out of 240 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/09/2013)

"Friendly staff, nice rooms (we were in a room outside the hostel itself; I can't speak for dorms within the hostel), good breakfast. We got a welcome shot when we arrived, and they provided maps and recommendations of…"

Read all Fresh* Sheets Hostel Dubrovnik Old Town reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that we only accept cash payments. We do not accept any sort of card payments at the moment.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dubrovnik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dubrovnik

DUBROVNIK SWEET HOUSE
45.93 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Old Town Accomodations
38.57 USD

Guesthouse 88.0% 139 reviews
Rooms Old Town
52.22 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartment Placeta Old Town
59.16 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Blago Apartment
57.85 USD

Apartment 93.1% 7 reviews
Roko House
61.36 USD

Apartment 90.8% 9 reviews
Apartments Saraca
44.19 USD

Hostel 82.3% 86 reviews
Stairhouse Chic Apartment - Old Town
33.31 USD

Apartment 96.9% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

216 out of 240 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fresh* Sheets Hostel Dubrovnik Old Town'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 208 of 215 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wei-Yun Mak

Alone

City break

07 October 2013 Wei-Yun would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel looks nice.

Disliked: Upon arrival, I was informed a recent large group booking had taken preference over me. Therefore I was moved out of the hostel into a twin room with another random, in a private residence elsewhere in Dubrovnik. Slightly better location but no facilities and no social opportunities.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice rooms (we were in a room outside the hostel itself; I can't speak for dorms within the hostel), good breakfast. We got a welcome shot when we arrived, and they provided maps and recommendations of things to do and places to eat in Dubrovnik.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wayne Batson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Wayne would recommend this property

Liked: staff were awesome

Disliked: Wayne left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ocatoin is excellent, staff very helpful, private rooms are a good alternative

Disliked: overpriced. when booking through internet you receive a confirmation in your own currency; however, when it comes to payment on site, it is converted into Kuna, and I had to pay more than I had on my booking confirmation if I use the normal exchange rate. I feel this is cheating... should be clearly indicated that the price you book is not the price you pay. Breakfast could be improved..... (maybe a small investment in better coffee...???)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Groves

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Got upgraded when we got there to a seperate building (b&b) away from the dorms. Good friendly and helpful staff. Nice sitting area and good breakfast!

Disliked: Only problem is church bells going off every hour and early in the morning next to the b&b.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013

Liked: Very clean interior with nice communal room.

Disliked: We were very excited about staying at Fresh Sheets Dubrovnik as we had heard great things and it was the top pick in most guide books we had researched. However, on arrival at the Hostel, we discovered there had been a mix up with the booking and they didn't have a room available for us. We had booked to stay in one of the rooms in local apartments that they offer but there seemed to be a serious lack of communication between the hostel and the lady who owned the room - in this case anyway. After about an hour of faffing and stressful phone conversations, 3 of us had to squeeze into a room with 2 single beds. They spoke to us in a very unprofessional and patronising manner and did not make us feel welcome so we were very disappointed overall.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A quite place close to the wall

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, clean

Disliked: you need to climb a lot of stairs to get the hostel, not practical for people traveling with large luggage.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: every staff was soooooo kind and nice .

Disliked: nothing .. just if you carry luggage it can be a little bit hard because you have to go up stairs.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and atmosphere. It was so easy to meet new people there. Location.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is right inside Dubrovnik Old Town so it is great for sightseeing and going out at night. It's a bit of a hike from the main gate so I would recommend staying only if you are travelling with a backpack. There are large storage lockers in the rooms that your entire bag will fit into.

Disliked: The luggage storage area for after you checked out was just a pile of bags in the common room and no one from reception was really watching them.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent, helpful staff Maria and Fraser. Good social feeling in the common area.

Disliked: The price is high. One of the workers with dark hair was grumpy and very rude upon check in. I had made a mistake and booked the wrong nights on Hostel Bookers and she made me go on the internet and re book. Then when I asked for a map she threw one on the table for me.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012

Liked: welcome drinks

Disliked: Although we booked a double room at the hostel we were actually given a room in a neighbours house. We booked the hostel as we wanted a hostel atmosphere but did not get this as we were in a private residence. Very poor food preparation area observed at the hostel The room we were given only had Muslin nets over windows and was directly overlooked by another property - therefore no privacy at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

YOLANDA PEDREÑO LOPEZ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 YOLANDA would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the real Dubrovnik

Disliked: the stairs you have to use to get there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean, vraiment agréable et très moderne ! Un shot de bienvenue et un open petit déj qui donne envie de revenir

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

federico curcio

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 federico would recommend this property

Liked: location: city centre of dubrovnik

Disliked: the price

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Ross

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 August 2012 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel! The staff were AMAZING! I witnessed them helping stuck travellers find rooms on numerous occassions, always willing to answer questions etc. Rooms were spacious, beds were big too, comfy and not noisy, did not even notice my bunk buddy! Bathroom was clean and shower was large...amazing after a week on a boat!

Disliked: Nothing, it was awesome!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Giles SMITH

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Giles would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Poor vaule for money compared to local offered appartment outside old town

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Barron

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: We booked to stay in a double room initially for 2 nights at Fresh Sheets, as part of a 6night stay in croatia. The staff were so helpful that they organised us a place to stay in the island of Mljet for 2 nights, and we came back for the final 2nights to the hostel- at first they had no availability but really helped us out by contacting a local guy who has really nice apartments- a 2 minute walk away for the same price!! The location is perfect- if you stay in Dubrovnik definitely stay IN the Old Town as you have everything on your doorstep!! Beautiful city.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike?!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tegan Sayers-Hohaus

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Tegan would recommend this property

Liked: the owner was so friendly and the location was great!

Disliked: no fan or aircon!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fresh Sheets is right in the middle of the most beautiful part of Dubrovnik. You can't find a better location! More importantly, the people that work there and that stay there are incredible. The staff planned fun events for everyone and introduced us travelers to other native Croatians. The other travelers were open, friendly, and excited to meet people. I have never stayed at such a wonderful hostel.

Disliked: No complaints!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Anderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: People were really friendly and helpful, recommended some great places to see and places to eat. Accommodation was clean and in a brilliant location. Fraser did an amazing tour to Lokrum Island, was great fun and would definitely recommend it! Spent the evening in drinking in a "secret location", was amazing fun with great company.

Disliked: Staying with the neighbours as we booked a double room - they were lovely, but 123 steps from the hostel. At least we worked off the gelato though, and in Dubrovnik you have to be prepared for steps!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were incredible, location was amazing. loved the organized activities for the hostel. Really great experience, wish I could have extended my stay.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Hahn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is AMAZING! Maria, Fraser, Kat, and Ivana...you guys ROCK! Each one of them makes you feel right at home and is willing to help in any way they can to make your stay the best it could possibly be. While I was there, I also got to go on a couple of Fraser's tours. He took a group of us on a hike up the mountain one day and over to Lokrum another day; he's really knowledgeable about Dubrovnik and made seeing the sights a lot of fun...yay for Lokrum cliff jumping in the rain! :) The atmosphere of the hostel, the cleanliness, the full breakfast, and really everything else about this hostel made it my favorite yet. I can't say enough good things. I stayed here for a week and can't wait to go back. Thanks for everything! And please hug Max the dog for me! :)

Disliked: Cristina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabela Aguiar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Isabela would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is really good, the Breakfast is amazing, the girls of the staff are also amazing. Definitely recommend!

Disliked: Isabela left no negative feedback.