HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ivo Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Majkovska 17, Dubrovnik, Croatia 20000

96.1% Overall Rating

230 out of 231 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

Stacey Rainbird thinks…

"Zeljka is a fantastic host! This is the second time I have stayed with her and I would not hesitate in going back again. She is very welcoming and accommodating, she came to pick us up from the bus…"

Read all Ivo Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dubrovnik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dubrovnik

Danica Guesthouse
35.18 USD

Guesthouse 99.1% 413 reviews
Nicky Guesthouse
19.35 USD

Guesthouse 82.7% 134 reviews
Nina
25.68 USD

Guesthouse 83.1% 97 reviews
Guesthouse Ana
28.14 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 16 reviews
Apartment Marija Dubrovnik
23.74 USD

Apartment 93.4% 19 reviews
Rooms Kiko
35.18 USD

Guesthouse 79.2% 65 reviews
Guest House Radic
33.42 USD

Guesthouse 90.9% 50 reviews
Apartment Lejla
31.66 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.1%

Overall Rating

230 out of 231 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ivo Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
99.2%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 208 of 218 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fiendly host, clean bed, barhroom and kitchen.

Disliked: quite far to walk to the old town(but it's close to the bus station)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stacey Rainbird

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Zeljka is a fantastic host! This is the second time I have stayed with her and I would not hesitate in going back again. She is very welcoming and accommodating, she came to pick us up from the bus station when we arrived. The location of the property is out of the old town however the bus is very easy and frequent to get in and zeljka explains this all to you. The apartment is super clean and tidy and there is a good selection for breakfast. The views from the apartment over Dubrovnik port are amazing! I cannot speak highly enough for my 2 stays here.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Wirth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean , comfortable, and quiet. Very easy transportation-bus #3 is across from hostel to old city, port, shopping, bus station. She will pick you up at the bus station upon arrival from airport/ship/bus! Beautiful balconies and rooftop access with the most breathtaking views of Dubrovnik! Amazing sunsets!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Greenaway

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Zejika, is a wonderful host. I felt immediately at home and she couldn't do enough for me. She went out of her way to make my saty absoltely perfect. This place is a true gem in Dubrovnik! It is a little out of the way but the views from the terrace are breathtaking and I managed to walk to and from the old town. However, this is only for those who are fit!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Gilmurray

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness, view and welcome.

Disliked: Not freshly made bedsheets/towels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siobhan File

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Zeljka was an amazing host, kindly letting us stay a day earlier than planned after we realised we stuffed up our booking. The apartment is beautiful and was very clean, with wifi, air conditioning and full kitchen and bathroom amenities. Zeljka was a very helpful host, dropping us in town and feeding us ice cream! Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others travelling through Dubrovnik.

Disliked: Siobhan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Hebert

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 George would recommend this property

Liked: Zelda was an amazing hostess! She went above and beyond to help us. We didn't know what time we would arrive because we changed our travel plans but she still waited for us at the bus stop to pick us up. She gave great advice about the city, welcomed us with cookies and juice, gave us a ride to thematic on our day of departure and even made us a light lunch before we left. She was so pleasant! The room was clean and the view was beautiful. Her place is a quick 15 min bus ride from the old city which was nice to get away from the tourists. We walked down to the city by choice one day and it took about 40 minutes. We would stay here again if we come back.

Disliked: Othing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Balcony view. Very clean and recently refurbished. Access to public transport. Extremely helpful and friendly host.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guesthouse owner is absolutely lovely nothing was too much for her during my weeks stay. I was travelling alone and she made an effort to spend time in the evenings chatting and drinking tea with me. Brilliant view over Dubrovnik. Very clean, safe and quiet. Great value, highly recommend Ivo Guesthouse.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhys Martin

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, clean & amazing views are all words I can easily use to describe Ivo Guesthouse. However, it was the host Zeljka and her helpful, thoughtful and friendly nature that really made our stay at Ivo guesthouse and Dubrovnik in general. Cannot speak highly enough of this accommodation, would thoroughly recommend.

Disliked: Rhys left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Caunt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Zeljka is a fantastic host , she is so warm and welcoming and will go out of her way to help you, catering for all requirements. We were staying at another hostel nearer the old town and she picked us up from there on the day of our check in at Ivo Guesthouse. She also arranged airport transfer for a very reasonable price, far cheaper than getting a taxi. The guesthouse is spacious and very clean with a well equipped kitchen offering complementary breakfast, tea and coffee. The double rooms have aircon and a balcony with an incredible view of Port Gruz, and the terrace area is great to sit and enjoy a meal watching the sunset. There is also a supermarket about 5 minutes away which was very handy.

Disliked: It was perhaps a little far from the old town, but it wasn't a problem at all as the bus stop is so close, with buses every 30 minutes, and Zeljka explains which bus you need and which stops.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was very clean and the staff were extremely helpful. The room also had an incredible view of the harbour.

Disliked: The location isn't ideal as it is right at the top of a steep hill, however, there is a bus stop just round the corner which goes to all major tourist attractions so it is not difficult to find your way around.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hwee Hwee Tan

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2013 Hwee Hwee would recommend this property

Liked: Zeljka is warm and helpful. The apartment is cosy, with shared facilities (kitchen, TV and living room) among room guests. The single room is a tad small, but commensurates with the price.

Disliked: No air-conditioning could be an issue during the hot summer months. For someone who is used to the tropical weather in Singapore, this is not a big problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money, large clean & comfortable rooms (we stayed in the double), and fantastic views. Zeljka is extremely helpful and very welcoming, picked us up from the bus station free of charge, and took the time to explain everything, show us maps and bus timetables etc. And gave us doughnuts and icecream!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hospitality you can ask for. We were blown away by the service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was so friendly, she picked us up from the bus station and was happy to help if we had any questions. The view from the guesthouse is amazing - across the bay and to a peninsula. There was a big kitchen with everything we needed to cook, and the rooms were very nice.

Disliked: The location - it was quite far from the old town - a 45 minute walk or a 15 minute bus ride. Not a massive deal for the price/views/comfort of the guesthouse, but it meant we could just wander into town. We couldn't find any shops/restaurants nearby - the nearest were about a 10 minute walk down a very steep hill (good exercise at least!).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trevor Kemp

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and peaceful location outside the hustle and bustle of the town.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very nice and friendly... Is willing to do anything for eg drive you anywhere and pick you up... Very very helpful... She also made coffee In the morning and I was greeted with cold apple juice and ice cream Sunday on arrival... Overa very nice place to stay and great value for money not o mention fantastic views.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bruno micallef

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

06 June 2013 bruno would recommend this property

Liked: it s new and comfortable

Disliked: the location but there s some bus if we want

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary May

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous views.,complementary breakfast, very helpful landlady who also offered lifts and organized transport, use of kitchen, dining room and lounge and balcony which felt like you had a full home to relax in.Couldn,t believe our luck in choosing such a place.and such a nice landlady.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing view of Dubrovnik! Super clean. Very comfy bed and pillow. Very welcoming, friendly, and helpful hosts. Free cereal, milk, toast, jam, coffee. Free shampoo and shower gel. Full access to kitchen with full appliances, dishes, etc. Huge lounge area with TV and DVD player and large table and chairs. Bus stop only a block away. You have to stay here!

Disliked: Not one thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay, everything was clean and tidy. Communal kitchen is great with oven and full gas stove. Zeljka, the host was amazing. We had so much laundry after already traveling around for a couple of weeks and she arranged for it all to be washed, dried and folded. Really made us feel at home in Dubrovnik with lots of advice and took us to the bus station on our final day. The climb up to the property is really not too bad, it's quite a nice 30 minute walk to old town, or the bus is really handy.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHINHYE BYEOB

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 SHINHYE would recommend this property

Liked: So friendly master and nice accommodation!! If I come to dubrovnik, I would like to stay again! Very clean, quiet, comfortable! I strongly recommend this hostel:D

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Pearson

Alone

City break

21 September 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and quaint guesthouse with an amazing view of the port! It was clean and well-kept and had hot water, a kitchen and even provided coffee and toast. The owner was also very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

Disliked: It was a bit far of a walk from the Stari Grad but if you want a quiet night away from the tourists to relax, this is the perfect guesthouse!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreia Esteves

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Andreia would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! The owner is the kindest person ever! She received us with juice and ice cream, gave us a map of the city and explained to us all the places to see, the beaches, the restaurants, the museums, the best place to eat ice cream, the timetable os the bus... everything!! She even took us by car to city center one night, and left us some amazing cakes for breakfast - which is included, by the way! The house is perfect, totally new, has a wonderful kitchen, everything is clean! You really feel like home! The location...ok, it's not city center, but you have a bus just across the street twice an hour, and the place has the most wonderful, so it's worth it!

Disliked: Nothing! And we even decided to stay for one extra night!