HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ivo Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Majkovska 17, Dubrovnik, Croatia 20000

95.3% Overall Rating

218 out of 219 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/08/2013)

Sarah Caunt thinks…

"Zeljka is a fantastic host , she is so warm and welcoming and will go out of her way to help you, catering for all requirements. We were staying at another hostel nearer the old town and she picked…"

Read all Ivo Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.79

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dubrovnik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dubrovnik

Danica Guesthouse
32.63 USD

Guesthouse 97.4% 399 reviews
Nicky Guesthouse
30.82 USD

Guesthouse 82.7% 134 reviews
Nina
17.22 USD

Guesthouse 83.4% 93 reviews
Guesthouse Ana
22.66 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Apartment Marija Dubrovnik
20.85 USD

Apartment 93.9% 14 reviews
Rooms Kiko
36.26 USD

Guesthouse 79.2% 65 reviews
Guest House Radic
18.13 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 46 reviews
Apartment Lejla
32.63 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.3%

Overall Rating

218 out of 219 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ivo Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
97.6%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 198 of 206 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Caunt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Zeljka is a fantastic host , she is so warm and welcoming and will go out of her way to help you, catering for all requirements. We were staying at another hostel nearer the old town and she picked us up from there on the day of our check in at Ivo Guesthouse. She also arranged airport transfer for a very reasonable price, far cheaper than getting a taxi. The guesthouse is spacious and very clean with a well equipped kitchen offering complementary breakfast, tea and coffee. The double rooms have aircon and a balcony with an incredible view of Port Gruz, and the terrace area is great to sit and enjoy a meal watching the sunset. There is also a supermarket about 5 minutes away which was very handy.

Disliked: It was perhaps a little far from the old town, but it wasn't a problem at all as the bus stop is so close, with buses every 30 minutes, and Zeljka explains which bus you need and which stops.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was very clean and the staff were extremely helpful. The room also had an incredible view of the harbour.

Disliked: The location isn't ideal as it is right at the top of a steep hill, however, there is a bus stop just round the corner which goes to all major tourist attractions so it is not difficult to find your way around.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hwee Hwee Tan

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2013 Hwee Hwee would recommend this property

Liked: Zeljka is warm and helpful. The apartment is cosy, with shared facilities (kitchen, TV and living room) among room guests. The single room is a tad small, but commensurates with the price.

Disliked: No air-conditioning could be an issue during the hot summer months. For someone who is used to the tropical weather in Singapore, this is not a big problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money, large clean & comfortable rooms (we stayed in the double), and fantastic views. Zeljka is extremely helpful and very welcoming, picked us up from the bus station free of charge, and took the time to explain everything, show us maps and bus timetables etc. And gave us doughnuts and icecream!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hospitality you can ask for. We were blown away by the service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was so friendly, she picked us up from the bus station and was happy to help if we had any questions. The view from the guesthouse is amazing - across the bay and to a peninsula. There was a big kitchen with everything we needed to cook, and the rooms were very nice.

Disliked: The location - it was quite far from the old town - a 45 minute walk or a 15 minute bus ride. Not a massive deal for the price/views/comfort of the guesthouse, but it meant we could just wander into town. We couldn't find any shops/restaurants nearby - the nearest were about a 10 minute walk down a very steep hill (good exercise at least!).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trevor Kemp

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and peaceful location outside the hustle and bustle of the town.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very nice and friendly... Is willing to do anything for eg drive you anywhere and pick you up... Very very helpful... She also made coffee In the morning and I was greeted with cold apple juice and ice cream Sunday on arrival... Overa very nice place to stay and great value for money not o mention fantastic views.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bruno micallef

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

06 June 2013 bruno would recommend this property

Liked: it s new and comfortable

Disliked: the location but there s some bus if we want

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary May

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous views.,complementary breakfast, very helpful landlady who also offered lifts and organized transport, use of kitchen, dining room and lounge and balcony which felt like you had a full home to relax in.Couldn,t believe our luck in choosing such a place.and such a nice landlady.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing view of Dubrovnik! Super clean. Very comfy bed and pillow. Very welcoming, friendly, and helpful hosts. Free cereal, milk, toast, jam, coffee. Free shampoo and shower gel. Full access to kitchen with full appliances, dishes, etc. Huge lounge area with TV and DVD player and large table and chairs. Bus stop only a block away. You have to stay here!

Disliked: Not one thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay, everything was clean and tidy. Communal kitchen is great with oven and full gas stove. Zeljka, the host was amazing. We had so much laundry after already traveling around for a couple of weeks and she arranged for it all to be washed, dried and folded. Really made us feel at home in Dubrovnik with lots of advice and took us to the bus station on our final day. The climb up to the property is really not too bad, it's quite a nice 30 minute walk to old town, or the bus is really handy.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHINHYE BYEOB

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 SHINHYE would recommend this property

Liked: So friendly master and nice accommodation!! If I come to dubrovnik, I would like to stay again! Very clean, quiet, comfortable! I strongly recommend this hostel:D

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Pearson

Alone

City break

21 September 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and quaint guesthouse with an amazing view of the port! It was clean and well-kept and had hot water, a kitchen and even provided coffee and toast. The owner was also very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

Disliked: It was a bit far of a walk from the Stari Grad but if you want a quiet night away from the tourists to relax, this is the perfect guesthouse!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreia Esteves

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Andreia would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! The owner is the kindest person ever! She received us with juice and ice cream, gave us a map of the city and explained to us all the places to see, the beaches, the restaurants, the museums, the best place to eat ice cream, the timetable os the bus... everything!! She even took us by car to city center one night, and left us some amazing cakes for breakfast - which is included, by the way! The house is perfect, totally new, has a wonderful kitchen, everything is clean! You really feel like home! The location...ok, it's not city center, but you have a bus just across the street twice an hour, and the place has the most wonderful, so it's worth it!

Disliked: Nothing! And we even decided to stay for one extra night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Nowak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: This was the perfect place to stay if you had to be at the port in the morning. The host was there to greet me when I arrived and she was lovely. She had fresh fruit and juice waiting, took me to the supermarket to get groceries so I could cook and took me to the port in the morning. The single room is perfect for just one person, the place was clean, the kitchen was clean and I got a peaceful night's sleep right before a sailing trip. Bus stop is right down the road too so you can get in and out of the old city by bus very easily.

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly clean accommodation. Excellent view over the port. Very good English-speaking hostess - very nice and attentive person.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time there. The owner was really friendly and nice. The place has a nice terasse with beautiful view on the bay. I would recommend this accomodation for sure.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tami Yoo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Tami would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely value for money: clean, free breakfast, hair drier, fan(single room) or air conditioner...above all, Hostess Zeljka was super nice. She will welcome you with welcome drink, tell you about good restaurants and beaches, places to visit. if you arrive Dubrovnik by plane, you'd better ask a pick up service: it'll will save much time and effort.

Disliked: it's not walking distance from old town: you should take no.3 bus and it will take 15 minites to old town. No.3 bus stops once or twice an hour, so you should check the bus schedule. but once you know about the bus schedule, the location does not matter.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Zeljka is a lovely and helpful host, the appartment is spacious and fully equipped, the view from the balcony is amazing!

Disliked: The distance to the old city (however the bus stop is really close to the guesthouse).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view, really nice staff. Nice and clean rooms.

Disliked: A bit far away from the old town. But both buses and helpful staff that can sometimes drop you off nearby the centre.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was so friendly and helpful, she picked us up from the station and dropped us off again when we left. The place was really lovely, and our balcony and terrace really made the stay special.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the old town but this was not a problem, we were really near the bus stop.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Keeley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: We were so welcomed as soon as we arrived, it felt like home. Its was very clean and comfortable. Staff were so helpful. Location was so so, once you got the buses figured it wasn't so bad :)

Disliked: Louise left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andres ramirez jimeno

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

12 August 2012 andres would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of the hostel was super nice the whole time, recommended us everything we should visit, gave us a map and a timetable w/ the buses. She welcomed us with juice and cookies and she even left things for breakfast to make us feel more conf.

Disliked: andres left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andres ramirez

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

11 August 2012 andres would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fantastic. The landlady recieved us with lemonade and cookies. She gave us all the info we needed about the city, handed us a map and a bus timetable, everything clearly explained. She even gave us milk, coffee and toasts to enjoy a nice breakfast. There were CABLE TV and AIRCON too. I would deffo go again there. We enjoyed 4 fantastic days.

Disliked: Everything was just perfect