We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cabinas ICaco

Hostel | Tortuguero, Tortuguero, Costa Rica 1020

92.8% Overall Rating

42 out of 46 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/01/2014)

Nina Donner thinks…

"My 46-year-old sister and I (33) LOVED our stay here. Marta, the main landlady/hostess is super friendly. tried to fulfill every wish we had. The towels and bed-linen is all slightly moist because of…"

Read all Cabinas ICaco reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tortuguero?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

42 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cabinas ICaco'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's directly at the beach and I like the colourful buildung

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matej Lukin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2014 Matej would recommend this property

Liked: Hammocks, good food, location

Disliked: All arangements (night turtle tour, transfer to cahuita) turned out to be unofficial but worked very well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people. great rooms, great location

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Donner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2014 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: My 46-year-old sister and I (33) LOVED our stay here. Marta, the main landlady/hostess is super friendly. tried to fulfill every wish we had. The towels and bed-linen is all slightly moist because of the Caribbean humidity, but the hostel staff does everything to keep the rooms as clean as possible. We received fresh sheets, fresh towels (with beautiful designs), and a freshly swept floor every day, the food was great, and the location is a good as it gets, right next to Tortugero National Park. ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND FOR THE LOW- TO MEDIUM-BUDGET TRAVELER :). We felt entirely safe during our stay, like joining a new family.

Disliked: Nothing, really, just be prepared for the moist/humid climate (slightly moist towels/sheets/clothes all the time)...the hostel is a hostel, not a 4-star hotel, meaning the rooms aren't "sealed and air-conditioned".

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tobias Leupold

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, directly at the beach. The rooms are nice including a clean and good bathroom.

Disliked: It is not meant for solo travelers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, especially with arranging tours and providing information. Although we had initially booked a more expensive room (as the cheaper ones were already booked up, and we had wanted to stay here because of excellent reviews from other travellers), they offered to move us to a smaller and cheaper room the second day of our stay which was greatly appreciated. The property was extremely safe, and definitely the nicest place we saw in Tortuguero.

Disliked: A bit pricey for value, but other than that everything was excellent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Proulx

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: everything, the location is awesome, right in town, by the ocean.. nothing bad to say about this place at all

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spotlessly clean and a great breakfast included.

Disliked: Rooms could use AC- it was HOT when we stayed and the fan didn't seem to help much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel/hotel right on the beach. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is fabulous. Lying in a hammock and listening to the caribbean waves roaring, you would almost think you're in paradise.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cecilie Clausen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2012 Cecilie would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place directly on the beach. A couple hundred meters away from the local houses. Which makes it a bit private, but still close to everything. The receptionist spoke good english and was very friendly and helpful. There is a guide company working with hotel offering tours as soon as you got there. They oicked us up from the boat and showed us to the hotel. Very good value for money with this hotel!

Disliked: Cecilie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Bad mattress

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Susan Sluiter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: People who run the place are lovely, polite and super helpful with anything u need! Speak decent english too which is a plus. Always felt safe, nice clean place!

Disliked: It's a little further from the boat dock than some other places but that made it bit quieter I think and island is tiny so not too much of a drama.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is a great guy, full of beans and his waiter who carries all the baggage around is relaly chatty. He met us on arrival and carried everything for us to the hostel, then cooked us scrambled eggs with toast and fruit for breakfast. Really attentive, they helped with all our enquiries and organised our turtle tour for us for when we wanted it. room was amazing for what we paid for it, nice ensuite bathroom which had a power shower and two double bed, nicely painted and cool. would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and chilled atmosphere; located directly at the beach; good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Venn hardy

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012 Venn would recommend this property

Liked: Nice ocean views, included breakfast was fantastic. Rooms were very clean and well- maintained.

Disliked: The hostel is in a quiet area. It gets very dark at night, so make sure you take a torch so you can find your way back after the turtle tours.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Hilliar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this hostel! Nicest hostel we stayed in 3 months of travelling south america. Its right on the beach and had a lovely area with hammocks to relax in. the rooms are lovely and all have a private bathroom , we even had flowers on our bed every day and towels folded into shapes of swans! The breakfast was great, pancakes and eggs. The staff were really friendly. We did the night turtle tour and were lucky enough to see a leatherback turtle lay eggs. Had a great time and will definately be back!

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lydia Stadler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 October 2011 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast, staff, host, location

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly hosts, very close to the ocean - we had a nice view from the first floor.

Disliked: nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Barbulescu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2011 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

julia herzog

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2010 julia would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very helpful and the price was great.

Disliked: julia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

javier calomarde caselles

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2010 javier would recommend this property

Liked: Sobre todo me gusto la amabilidad de sus empleados y duenos.Ah y sus magnificos desayunos,,,

Disliked: Creo que todo esta bastante bien,quizas la cocina se podria mejorar, pero se ve que sus propietarios estan haciendo un gran esfuerzo para que los turistas esten cada vez mas comodos.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff with great recommendations for tours.

Disliked: Breakfast seemed a little pricey for what we got, but food in Tortuguero is generally a bit expensive, so it wasn't really more than we would have paid elsewhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Heath

03 June 2010 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Callixto and Maybel were the best hosts and nicest people I've ever had the pleasure of meeting. They went far above and beyond our expectations and helped us immensely with anything we needed. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had ensuites. Great breakfast too! The hostel was also right on the beach, in the lovely Tortuguero. I would definitely recommend the Canal tours - and Turtle tours when in high season. All in all a great getaway, thanks to the hosts Maybel and Callixto!

Disliked: Dylan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kaitlin de Graaf

05 April 2010 Kaitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great! So close to beach. Quick laundry service. Super friendly staff. Internet cuts out but is more reliable than the other hotels I've been at in CR.

Disliked: Kaitlin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff! Breakfast on the veranda!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.