HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FT's Tamarindo

Guesthouse | Main Road, Tamarindo, Costa Rica -

81.7% Overall Rating

20 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

Hartley Lojik thinks…

"This was such a great place to stay! Right across from the beach. Ac rooms were heaven! The staff was amazing and helped us a ton and the owners were the best as well! So helpful and were open to all…"

Read all FT's Tamarindo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 0.04

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tamarindo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tamarindo

Pura Vida Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 88.9% 49 reviews
Hotel Mahayana
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 94.0% 12 reviews
Blue Trailz Surf Camp
15.34 USD

Hostel 91.0% 20 reviews
Jardin del Eden
79.10 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.4% 3 reviews
El Sabanero Ecolodge
82.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
39.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Brasilito
20.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 88.6% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

20 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FT's Tamarindo'

Atmosphere
75.8%
Location
95.0%
Facilities
70.0%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
82.5%
Value
85.0%
Safety
84.2%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hartley Lojik

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

07 April 2014 Hartley would recommend this property

Liked: This was such a great place to stay! Right across from the beach. Ac rooms were heaven! The staff was amazing and helped us a ton and the owners were the best as well! So helpful and were open to all of our questions. Fluff towels and soft sheets it was great!

Disliked: Nothing really :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Goedele Krekels

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2014 Goedele would recommend this property

Liked: The first hostel with AC on our trip to Costa Rica, was a welcome change! Especially as it was very hot those weeks (>35°C). The owners were very friendly, we had t call the rental car company but our phones weren't working, so they did it for us. Also, great shower and great restaurant!

Disliked: Goedele left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has all that you need: great hosts, food and accomodation!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Crystal Atkinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

26 February 2014 Crystal would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were great, even arranged a taxi to pick me up at 7:45am one morning so I could make it to a job interview. The room was clean, the extra bed was an unexpected bonus. The air conditioning was a godsend! The only recommendation I'd make is to address the water pressure in room 4. It's like showering with a super soaker. Other than that, I'd absolutely recommend FTs to anyone! Close to the beach, friendly, accommodating, and well priced!

Disliked: Crystal left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David ten Brink Rio

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

11 February 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: A/c, TV, this is definitely a budget room but all in all not bad

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

John Guzman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 February 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Staff could be friendlier and more informative. Coffee and breakfast in morning would be a plus.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

01 January 2013

Liked: ubication

Disliked: this place is really not like the website present: no parking, no credit card accepted, no safety box, no blinds in the window, room really dirty, access for your room: garbage place!!!!! For 5$ more at night I found a really nice place

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 December 2012

Liked: Staff was not helpful and they left us alone at the place for 2 days at XMas time. I understand it is xmas but they should have let us know at least.

Disliked: The place was not clean. We have to go through garbage odor to get to the room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Eythor Arnarson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Eythor would recommend this property

Liked: Good Value

Disliked: Eythor left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Large rooms. The air-con was a bonus. Clean and very close to the beach.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good, and the burritos are top!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Justine Craigen

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2012 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location, the food, and the staff... All around great place to stay and great value for your money!!

Disliked: Justine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Handley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 January 2012 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location, It is near everything but in a quieter part of the road. The staff are great, the food is amazing. It is quiet, depending on who your neighbours are!! but thats not the hostels fault! The rooms are clean and secure and they have a security gaurd and locked gates. Overall I am glad I stayed there. Definitely would recommend to any back packer or non fussy people who just want a clean basic cheap room.

Disliked: I have no dislikes about this Property.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price compared to other hostels (private rooms). Good location.

Disliked: Bed sheeTs appeared not to be cleaned (black hair all through bed sheet). Lock on door was to difficult tomuse as key kept getting stuck. Drain hole in sink clogged. No orientation or information provided about the hostel or Tamorindo on check-in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was ideal, right across the street from a great surf break and volleyball courts. Food was great as was the staff. Room very clean, comfortable, cool A/C and internet worked well.

Disliked: Not necessary but for long term travelers like me it is sometimes nice to have a shared kitchen to use.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: We only stayed 1 night and bar was closed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Line Hansen Alsaker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 April 2011

Liked: The location was great and the food was good

Disliked: It wasn't clean at all. There was chewing gum on our sheet and the the toilet was already full when we got there. And then it was impossible to flush it. The shower is nothing but cold, and I didn't shower for three days. I also payed more than I was supposed to, because they forgot that I had paid the deposit online.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was right across the street from the beach and it offered some of the best food in town. It was a fun place to start the night and there were always people in the restaurant. The fact that the rooms are in the back of the property and there is always someone guarding the gate when the restaurant is closed made us feel safe and we never worried about leaving our belongings in the room.

Disliked: Although the location was great for the beach it was a little bit of a walk to get to the other side of town for some of the nightlife activities. Also, there was no hot water, but we were warned before arriving that that would be the case.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was just perfect for Tamarindo. The beach is right across the street and it's easily in walking distance from everything. Rooms were nice as well. Definitely great value for the money! P.S. Never ever ever order the big ass nacho plate across the street at Joe's, the on at FT's is MUCH better!!

Disliked: KEEP IN MIND: The rooms aren't cleaned automatically by the staff so you have to ask for a clean up every time you want to.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joseph Boccardo

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

22 December 2010 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The service is great and all the staff are super nice. The rooms are extremely comfortable. The restaurant on-site is really tasty and quite cheap.

Disliked: No complaints!