HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Pura Vida Hostel

Hostel | Calle Guanacaste, Cont. Rest. Stella, Tamarindo, Costa Rica 30247

89.9% Overall Rating

45 out of 48 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Daniel Gent thinks…

"Great design so the door rooms don't need AC and they don't get hot (it's like a normal buildling but then with a huge roof above to catch the heat), very comfortable and had a great sleep there. The…"

Read all Pura Vida Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tamarindo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tamarindo

FT's Tamarindo
14.26 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 24 reviews
Hotel Mahayana
19.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 94.0% 12 reviews
Blue Trailz Surf Camp
15.34 USD

Hostel 91.0% 20 reviews
Jardin del Eden
79.10 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.4% 3 reviews
El Sabanero Ecolodge
82.52 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
39.39 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Brasilito
20.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 88.6% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

45 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pura Vida Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 39 of 48 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff!

Disliked: a lot of bugs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: character, and staff

Disliked: a few bugs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved all the plants!! And the Rancho was a great hang out. The kitchens were super clean which was awesome.

Disliked: The stove in the second kitchen was a bit wonky.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

24 April 2011

Liked: The community area had a neat set-up. The two kitchens were spacious. The hostel provided clean linens and towels.

Disliked: There was no door between the bathroom and the dormitory room. There was a curtain that functioned during the day time, but I hated to use the bathroom at night. When the light was off in the dorm room and on in the bathroom the curtain became see-through and I was very uncomfortable using the toilet or shower.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andreas Winkler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great and the staff very friendly. Great place to meet people.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: BEST HOSTEL in Costa Rica - so far from all my travels this is the best hostel I stayed at, rooms clean, social area amazing, tons of cool chilled people, really relaxing and chilled place - Miriam arranged all my shuttle bookings and suggested great places to eat. This hostel rocks! Highly recommended!

Disliked: Everything was super fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the most relaxing places I have ever been in I highly recommend this place to anyone who likes to meet people and who like to relax...very cool atmosphere here

Disliked: nothing really other than quiet hours at 11

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Gross

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The Pura Vida Hostel is a superb place to stay! It is a beautiful hostel and HUGE with two big kitchens/outdoor hangout areas. Definitely pleasing to the eye. Location is great, too. A five minute walk from the beach, but back from main drag so it's not too loud. The proprietor, Miriam, and her assistant John are WONDERFUL and were very helpful with booking tours and just making Tamarindo feel more accessible. The hostel also has a fan in every room, and an air conditioner in some =)! Seems to attract a cool crowd of people, lots of hanging out, having drinks, and socializing in the evenings. We had an amazing time at Pura Vida, highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing, our stay was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place totally rocks! Completely chilled out atmosphere, VERY CLEAN room, kitchen was better stocked then my own kitchen at home, very close to the beach; the hostel manager was very pleasant, friendly and very helpful. But the best part was to meet and hang out with really great crowd. Everyone was very friendly and chilled out. We often played cards, or ping pong or pool and just had a ball hanging out in hammocks, talking and partying some. It was without a doubt one of the best stays I had in Costa Rica. Very highly recommended!

Disliked: Not much! Everything was totally perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place rocks. Very friendly host, very efficient seevice. The patio with hamock is very relaxing and perfect for having a glass of wine or to chill out after a long day. Strongly recomend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

30 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far one of the best hostels I have stayed so far. As soon as I stepped in I got greeted with a big smile by the hostel's manager Miriam who was very helpful in giving me the information on local hot spots, surf lesson and gave me great recommendations for cheep local restaurants. I got a private room which was clean and mattress was very comfy. Really met some great people as we hang out in the rancho playing pool and ping pong, had some awesome conversations and a lot of fun and laugh. Everyone seems very happy and content. I also enjoyed very much hanging out in the rancho in the morning reading my book in the hammock and enjoying the lush green garden. Took a surf lesson with the hostel's instructor who was incredibly helpful and funny. Oh and at night Miriam cooked a community dinner for all backpackers, we split the cost and came out to be one of the cheapest and great tasting dinners by far. It was great to see everyone to come together and socialize we partied a bit and totally had awesome time. I highly recommend this place to other backpackers if they are looking for cheap, clean and fun place to stay only few minutes’ walk to the beach and the rest of the town.

Disliked: This place is totally great, no complains what so ever!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice hostel with lovely kitchens hammocks and open spaces. lovely owner who is very helpful. a bit out of town, but only 5 min walk to beach

Disliked: not very social

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a great place to get away from it all, is peaceful, relaxing set in a very nice garden setting, loved to hang out in the rancho area in my favorite hammock reading my book, at night we played cards and had great conversations with the other people from Holland. I like the fact is not in the busy town and it’s quiet and has great relaxing and chill out atmosphere. I also liked the large kitchen and the fact that even more people stayed here it was always clean and neat. I highly recommend this place if you want to meet cool people, stay clean and relax. Its only 5 min walk to busy town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a great location very close to town and beaches but yet away from all the noise and loud music from the town bars. The rooms were really clean and neat and the owner was always walking around making sure everything was taken care of. He assisted me with booking a trip to the Nature Reserve and even arranged a shuttle for the airport. I really enjoyed hanging out in their "rancho" which had nice hammocks to read in and was facing a very lovely tropical garden. I really liked my stay and for sure will recommend this place to other people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.