HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Blue Trailz Surf Camp

Hostel | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica 51301

91.0% Overall Rating

20 out of 20 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/02/2012)

Elyse Semelman thinks…

"We had such an amazing time at Blue Trailz! The owners and operators were fantastic and really contributed to the pleasure of our stay. It had a perfect beach town atmosphere. The main open area was…"

Read all Blue Trailz Surf Camp reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tamarindo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tamarindo

Hotel Mahayana
16.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 94.0% 12 reviews
Jardin del Eden
79.10 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.4% 3 reviews
FT's Tamarindo
14.27 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 24 reviews
Pura Vida Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 88.9% 49 reviews
El Sabanero Ecolodge
82.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
39.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Brasilito
20.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 88.6% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

20 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Trailz Surf Camp'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
97.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
91.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
91.0%
Safety
90.0%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 19 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, great people and great times.

Disliked: If you have an issue just tell the staff and they are very helpfull

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect surfcamp

Disliked: cleanles

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elyse Semelman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2012 Elyse would recommend this property

Liked: We had such an amazing time at Blue Trailz! The owners and operators were fantastic and really contributed to the pleasure of our stay. It had a perfect beach town atmosphere. The main open area was perfect for gathering before a night out, and the location is a stones throw from the beach. We were sad to leave!

Disliked: Only that we couldn´t stay longer.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Location is ideal and the price is right especially considering there are hot showers too. The owner Koen is a great guy, picked us up at the airport and was more than willing to help with any of our questions.

Disliked: Its smaller and doesnt really have much more than a bed to sleep in and a kitchen, but thats all we needed and the beach is literally seconds away.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katherine Matthews

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely friendly hostel, right on the beach.

Disliked: The Mattresses are a bit thin making the beds hard to sleep on. A minor complaint though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: security gaurd every night was a nice way of knowing you were safe, the staff is very friendly and the hostel is so small that you get to know everyone staying there and of course everyone loves hot showers!!!

Disliked: no hammocks, at least while i was there

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best, staff were very nice and helpful, and the dorms look nice.

Disliked: The toilet in the room didn't work on the second day

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Hoekstra

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2011 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the other people staying at the hostel and whilst I realise the point is for residents to be constantly changing I feel like this is the type of place that usually has a fantastic vibe. They have a great set-up and really go the extra mile to make sure you're having a great time in Tamarindo.

Disliked: The beds were classic hostel "banana beds" that weren't the greatest quality. Ideally a hostel would have a better kitchen as many hostel-goers are on tight budgets and would rather cook for themselves than eat out all the time.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel with really friendly and helpful staff. I was travelling alone and found it a very easy to settle in and make friends here. I booked for a night and stayed almost a week and didnt want to leave. The location is perfect, opposite the beach and very close to great restaurants and night life.

Disliked: nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Instead of feeling like I was just sharing a room with a bunch of strangers, it felt more like we were all home. I really liked that an effort was always made to have activities to do as a group, if you were interested, or to provide you with whatever information you might need to make your stay better. As a solo female traveler, the guard always on duty during evening hours and the enclosed facility made it so much easier to relax and enjoy. The hostel is truly right the street from the beach. There is a market right across the street, as well as another just down the road. One of the pharmacies is also about a two minute walk away. This hostel is also located within walking distances from all the nightlife activities/locations but is not in a loud area.

Disliked: There was absolutely no hot water and hadn't been for some time, judging by the disconnected heater. This ranged from endurable to fine because I was there during hot, balmy days; but if it were any cooler or for those moments when you just need a hot shower to feel clean, it was a little frustrating. The water temperature wasn't frigid, just fairly cool. Additionally, the prices charged per night were not the prices advertised on this or any similar site, nor even the prices advertised outside the hostel. You should expect to pay a few dollars more per night (~$15/night) for the dorm rate. I don't think these discrepancies should alter the decision to stay here - it's a great place - I just think a little awareness is fair.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel! I totally enjoyed my stay here. It was a great location on the main street of town and the beach is right across the street. I loved the kitchens in each so I didn't have to share a fridge with a bunch of people like other hostels. The rooms are clean and the place felt really safe. I enjoyed renting surfboards and taking lessons from them also. And the AC in the room is wonderful on those hot days. I booked one night and ended up staying five days!

Disliked: The only thing I wanted here was a TV as it was rainy season and I got bored sometimes but I got to read lots instead.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephan Palowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

13 September 2010 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: I came through Tamarindo to break up my travels through-out central america, and decided to stay at Blue Trailz Hostel. After spending one night here, I quickly decided I will be spending at least a week.I looked around town to see what the other accomodations were about, and by far Blue Trailz was the closest hostel to the beach, great selection of surf boards for hire and to buy, and the shop is awesome; even has a sand floor. To top this place off, the owners Steve and Emily are actively buidling up the location, and are currently putting a yoga stage in the common area of the hostel. This place is going to be the one place stop, that has everything the traveller wants and needs. The rooms are clean, and the maid Marta cleans like crazy every-day. The private rooms upstairs, have a full kitchen, while the dorm rooms are fully equipped with everything except a stove (soon to be coming). All and all, i rate this place a 10/10, and I don`t want to leave. Great ambiance and all the people that are staying here are great.

Disliked: The fact that i have to leave at some point

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Hanna

02 April 2010 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: My stay at Blue Trailz was my first ever hostel experience. As a solo traveler, it was an awesome way to meet people, organize activities and just hang out. I was lucky to meet some awesome people on my stay. Also, the staff at Blue Trailz was continuously helpful and friendly to all. I did not take lessons through the shop, but loved the added bonus of discounted surf board and gear rentals. The workers in the shop are all locals, so they were able to give tips on more secluded surf breaks. The location of the hostel is top notch. You can literally get up in the morning and walk (or crawl, depending on the night before) to the beach. There was a very nice cleaning lady who kept everything tidy, and security out front to monitor who came and went after normal daytime hours. Steve and Emily, the owners of both the shop and hostel, are such friendly, warm people. This place has a lot of potential, and I'm looking forward to seeing what developments are made in the future. I'd definitely recommend this location for anyone considering staying in Tamarindo.

Disliked: Angela left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice little place...would come back...the only draw back was the staff which where rather stingy on general info and help of any kind....pura vida!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and 50m from the surf...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.