We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

91.7%
35 reviews Book Now 
1

In&basic Hostel Lounge

Hostel
300 m South and 75 m west of, Spoon de Los Yoses., Fátima´s church Left side., San Jose, Costa Rica 2045

32 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend In&basic Hostel Lounge

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 95% Facilities - 91% Safety - 95%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 91%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
Customer would recommend this property 08 June 2014

Comfortable couches in the lounge room. Great if you just want to lay around reading. Staff helpful with bus times ect.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 07 March 2014

The owner is very friendly and helpful. The environment is warm and comfortable and feels more like home than a hostel. Everything is spotless.

91.3%
145 reviews Book Now 
2

Hostel Nomadas Backpackers

Hostel
125m Norte 100m Oeste del, Scotiabank de La Sabana, San Jose, Costa Rica 8831

140 out of 145 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Nomadas Backpackers

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 97% Facilities - 88% Safety - 98%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 93%
Irene Ly
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Irene would recommend this property 17 June 2014

I liked that the hostel felt like a home. It is ran by a family who lived upstairs from the hostel area. The place was clean, safe and not hard to find. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly, giving up tips on the area, marking them out on the map he gave us. We were there for a quick overnight stay before leaving for La Fortnuna the next day in which the owner helped us book our ride there. Not a place to party but a great one for those needing a break in between to relax and chill.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 18 May 2014

Small and family owned so family leaves right next to dorm rooms which keeps a low key atmosphere and without any party. So perfect for someone who wants quiet. Coffee in the morning was great eventhough the breakfast was very basic (toast and juice). They provide towel which is very nice so don't have to carry wet towel later. Close to San Jose stadium and about a good 35mn walk to downtown. I was surprised that downtown was full of fast food (mc do, subway, pizza hut...) worse than in the States. Very disappointed with the city. Skip this stop if you don't have a great reason to go there and enjoy time in other nicer places! They have a bus schedule printed which is helpful. Cheapest to go there from airport is taking bus $2 ( red and white) right outside the airport but on the street so few yards away. Taxi would be about $20-25. ( see directions on their site) Be ready to be approached by a lot of taxi as you exit ( some non official taxi that I would avoid).

89.9%
21 reviews Book Now 
3

Hostel Shakti

Hostel
avenida 8,calle 13, San Jose, Costa Rica, San Jose, Costa Rica 506

20 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Shakti

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 93% Facilities - 87% Safety - 91%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 93%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 15 January 2015

1) Good location: rather near the center. Within pleasurable walking distances of most main "attractions". 2) Friendly and clean environnement, which includes free Wi-Fi, free breakfast (i.e. casado = rice and beans and etc.), kitchen space (with fridge) and a small living room. Also, there's the Restaurante Shakti attached to it (which was closed when I stayed over). 3) Charming and colorful rooms (albeit a tad outdated) which gives of a homely atmosphere to the whole place.

Thomas Unverdorben
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Thomas would recommend this property 09 January 2015

A very nice and clean hostel with absolut nice and helpfull staff. Big room with all we need plus a kitchen with free coffee and tee. Great place to stay in San Jose!

89.5%
117 reviews Book Now 
4

Costa Rica Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Avenida 6 Calle 21, San Jose, Costa Rica .

115 out of 117 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Costa Rica Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 95% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 90%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 June 2014

Really good little place to stay. Hot showers, good breakfast, 24 hour reception and a comfortable bed. I was in the dorm but slept beautifully! A little bit of home comforts and peace and quiet for a smelly backpacker!

Barbara Little
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
65.7%
Barbara would recommend this property 23 March 2014

We chose Costa Rica Guesthouse because the tour guide we were meeting next day recommended it, AND because they offered secure auto storage while we went away for a night. I was sure I had asked for 2 beds but we were given a room with one double, apparently the only one available, and told there were none with 2, although the website says there were. Our checked bage didn't arrive in Liberia with us, so we left this address to have them brought to. They weren't there when we returned, and Carlos went far above and beyond to help us track them down. He made many phone calls and helped keep us in the right direction to recover them, staying calming and positive the whole time. He was terrific!!

89.2%
17 reviews Book Now 
5

Hostel Casa Colon

Hostel
Paseo Colon, 24th Street N, San Jose, Costa Rica 0000

16 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Casa Colon

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 84% Facilities - 85% Safety - 95%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
74.3%
Customer would recommend this property 20 July 2013

Comfortable dorm beds.....lovely lounge area, staff fine.....decent downtown location.....however....

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 24 May 2013

This is just a functional place to stop as it's close to the bus station and if you have to spend the night it will do the trick. It's a big place and clean.

89.0%
13 reviews Book Now 
6

Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel
Calle 7, 150 mts North Parque Morazán, Amon, San Jose, Costa Rica n/a

13 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Van Gogh

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 95% Facilities - 81% Safety - 86%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 28 April 2014

This hostel is in a good location, about a 15 minute walk from where the bus drops you off, 10 minutes walk to downtown area. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. Hot showers, computers and TV to use, pool table as well. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 March 2014

Beds and pillows were comfy and the location was really good. The guy was pretty helpful although in the morning when I was leaving he was busy making breakfast so was not as available.

88.6%
3 reviews Book Now 
7

Mi Casa Hostel

Hostel
Sabana Norte from the west, corner of the ICE Building, 150 meters north, San Jose, Costa Rica 506

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mi Casa Hostel

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 100% Facilities - 93% Safety - 100%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 80%
Amy lee
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
82.9%
Amy would recommend this property 03 April 2011

A nice easy transition into costa rica, we stayed here our first night, and plan to stay our last night there before heading home.

Customer review
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 18 February 2010

very nice 50's modernist property.staff very friendly, free breakfast included.nice and quiet neighborhood, close to the airport and abour 10 minutes taxi-ride to downtown

87.9%
142 reviews Book Now 
8

Hostel Bekuo

Hostel
325 Meters Oeste Spoon Los Yoses, San Jose, Costa Rica .

129 out of 142 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Bekuo

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 90% Facilities - 85% Safety - 91%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 88%
Niles Burken
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Niles would recommend this property 20 November 2014

I didn't want to leave…the staff was so incredible, the free breakfast was so edible, and the quality mattresses were soooooo bedable. I stayed here on my first stop through San Jose, and made sure to come back my next time through. The staff help organize evening events, but respect the quiet hours, and Brian made free sangria before he and Gaby taught a salsa lesson. The common areas are huge with a nice layout, and the place just has a great overall vibe.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 16 September 2014

Really friendly and helpful staff. Excellent common areas. Felt safe and decent location. Overall nice atmosphere.

87.4%
50 reviews Book Now 
9

Aldea Hostel

Hostel
Ave. 2 Calle 28100 metros sur, de Pizza Hut de Paseo Colon, Enfrente a La Sala Garbo, San Jose, Costa Rica 10001

47 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Aldea Hostel

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 91% Facilities - 86% Safety - 89%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 01 January 2015

Well run hostel near the bus stations. The rooms might be a bit noisy while the rush hour. But OK.

Peter Lazenby
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Peter would recommend this property 31 May 2013

Third time here. Colonial house. Interesting. Fun. Friendly. Relaxed. Slightly eccentric, inc the plumbing, but all works. I've always taken a private room with bathroom - all absolutely adequate. Nice mix of guests, mixed nationalities, some Costa Rican, travellers & others. 10 minute walk to centre of San Jose. Owner extremely friendly, helpful, English speaking if that matters. Pleasant staff. Bonus this time is a small attached restaurant, 'The Corner'. It's a separate business from the Hostal, but in the same building, & works with the hostal. Very simple menu but I swear the empanadas (baked in pizza dough) with salsas, & the pizzas, are amongst the best & freshest I've ever eaten. Long may that continue. Good traveller's choice.

86.6%
190 reviews Book Now 
10

Costa Rica Backpackers

Hostel
AVENIDA 6 CALLE 21/23, San Jose, Costa Rica .

176 out of 190 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Costa Rica Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 88% Facilities - 85% Safety - 91%
Location - 78% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 89%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
57.1%
14 January 2015

some staff is rude, location is ok, rooms are very basics but the rest is ok... there are other hostels near by, better go there...

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 08 April 2014

The tourman Justin is really nice. The tours we did were sooo cool. Thanks a lot for all your help, Justin!!!!

San Jose

34 Hostels from 6.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated San Jose hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Jose. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.