HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

93.0%
34 reviews Book Now 
1

In&basic Hostel Lounge

Hostel
300 m South and 75 m west of, Spoon de Los Yoses., Fátima´s church Left side., San Jose, Costa Rica 2045

31 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend In&basic Hostel Lounge

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 92%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 07 March 2014

The owner is very friendly and helpful. The environment is warm and comfortable and feels more like home than a hostel. Everything is spotless.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 27 December 2013

Clean, nice staff. It is our of the way for seeing anything in san jose but it is nice if you are just spending one night and don't want to be at a party hostel.

91.5%
136 reviews Book Now 
2

Hostel Nomadas Backpackers

Hostel
125m Norte 100m Oeste del, Scotiabank de La Sabana, San Jose, Costa Rica 8831

131 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Nomadas Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 90% Safety - 95%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 20 March 2014

Staff were very friendly and welcoming - took us to the airport rather than us needing to organise a taxi

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 February 2014

I arrived like a zombie after several delayed and cancelled flights, and was made to feel at home straight away. Gabriel couldn't do enough to help me get organised for the next leg of my trip, which was a huge relief. It was a great stopover in San Jose thanks to Nomadas - an airy and relaxed home from home :-)

89.6%
16 reviews Book Now 
3

Hostel Casa Colon

Hostel
Paseo Colon, 24th Street N, San Jose, Costa Rica 0000

15 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Casa Colon

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 86% Facilities - 87% Safety - 97%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
74.3%
Customer would recommend this property 20 July 2013

Comfortable dorm beds.....lovely lounge area, staff fine.....decent downtown location.....however....

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 24 May 2013

This is just a functional place to stop as it's close to the bus station and if you have to spend the night it will do the trick. It's a big place and clean.

89.2%
9 reviews Book Now 
4

Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel
Calle 7, 150 mts North Parque Morazán, Amon, San Jose, Costa Rica n/a

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Van Gogh

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 97% Facilities - 80% Safety - 84%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 March 2014

Beds and pillows were comfy and the location was really good. The guy was pretty helpful although in the morning when I was leaving he was busy making breakfast so was not as available.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 October 2013

The hostel is beautiful, and David was amazing! Went totally out of his way to make our stay a pleasant one. Breakfast was also great, had a lovely nights sleep.

88.6%
3 reviews Book Now 
5

Mi Casa Hostel

Hostel
Sabana Norte from the west, corner of the ICE Building, 150 meters north, San Jose, Costa Rica 506

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mi Casa Hostel

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 100% Facilities - 93% Safety - 100%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 80%
Amy lee
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
82.9%
Amy would recommend this property 03 April 2011

A nice easy transition into costa rica, we stayed here our first night, and plan to stay our last night there before heading home.

Customer review
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 18 February 2010

very nice 50's modernist property.staff very friendly, free breakfast included.nice and quiet neighborhood, close to the airport and abour 10 minutes taxi-ride to downtown

88.0%
48 reviews Book Now 
6

Aldea Hostel

Hostel
Ave. 2 Calle 28100 metros sur, de Pizza Hut de Paseo Colon, Enfrente a La Sala Garbo, San Jose, Costa Rica 10001

45 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Aldea Hostel

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 91% Facilities - 88% Safety - 91%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 87%
Peter Lazenby
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Peter would recommend this property 31 May 2013

Third time here. Colonial house. Interesting. Fun. Friendly. Relaxed. Slightly eccentric, inc the plumbing, but all works. I've always taken a private room with bathroom - all absolutely adequate. Nice mix of guests, mixed nationalities, some Costa Rican, travellers & others. 10 minute walk to centre of San Jose. Owner extremely friendly, helpful, English speaking if that matters. Pleasant staff. Bonus this time is a small attached restaurant, 'The Corner'. It's a separate business from the Hostal, but in the same building, & works with the hostal. Very simple menu but I swear the empanadas (baked in pizza dough) with salsas, & the pizzas, are amongst the best & freshest I've ever eaten. Long may that continue. Good traveller's choice.

Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 16 March 2013

Very nice hostel which has a really good connection if you plan to head to Nicaragua or other further destinations in the country - it is really close to the bus terminals. The dorm beds are comfy and the big locker is definitely a thing you cannot find everywhere. The house itself is very old and build in colonial style - really nice interieur as well. The owner has been super friendly and cared a lot.

87.8%
137 reviews Book Now 
7

Hostel Bekuo

Hostel
325 Meters Oeste Spoon Los Yoses, San Jose, Costa Rica .

124 out of 137 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Bekuo

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 88%
Daniela Heckmeier
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
100.0%
Daniela would recommend this property 12 April 2014

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, they made me really feel welcome and at home. The hostel's rabbit was also super cute. I also liked the culture and nightlife tipps. I would always come back when I'm staying in San Jose.

Margaret Erway
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Margaret would recommend this property 21 January 2014

Brian,the owner is always on site and has an excellent staff. Karen was so helpful with directions and suggestions for destinations. Gaby was helpful getting us to our next city with phone calls to obtain information. The pancake, fruit and coffee breakfast was delicious. The entire staff was so friendly, I cannot wait for two weeks to return to renew friendships and tell of our adventures, they are really interested in you as a person and your safety is of great concern. The neighborhood is very safe, and your personal belongings are safe in the hostel. We are two women in our 60's who don't need the expense or frills of a hotel. The younger crowd was very respectful and rules were without question.

87.5%
113 reviews Book Now 
8

Costa Rica Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Avenida 6 Calle 21, San Jose, Costa Rica .

111 out of 113 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Costa Rica Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 93% Facilities - 84% Safety - 92%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 88%
Barbara Little
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
65.7%
Barbara would recommend this property 23 March 2014

We chose Costa Rica Guesthouse because the tour guide we were meeting next day recommended it, AND because they offered secure auto storage while we went away for a night. I was sure I had asked for 2 beds but we were given a room with one double, apparently the only one available, and told there were none with 2, although the website says there were. Our checked bage didn't arrive in Liberia with us, so we left this address to have them brought to. They weren't there when we returned, and Carlos went far above and beyond to help us track them down. He made many phone calls and helped keep us in the right direction to recover them, staying calming and positive the whole time. He was terrific!!

Willem Polet
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Willem would recommend this property 20 March 2014

At low cost we had a very clean, large room with private bathroom and everything you need in it! Good WiFi, a Tourist Desk with good information, breakfast included and the whole day coffee and tea free. What do you want more?

87.3%
185 reviews Book Now 
9

Costa Rica Backpackers

Hostel
AVENIDA 6 CALLE 21/23, San Jose, Costa Rica .

172 out of 185 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Costa Rica Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 88% Facilities - 86% Safety - 90%
Location - 77% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 91%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 08 April 2014

The tourman Justin is really nice. The tours we did were sooo cool. Thanks a lot for all your help, Justin!!!!

Emily Meyer
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Emily would recommend this property 01 April 2014

I had such a great time at Costa Rica Backpackers!! The staff there are SUPER friendly/accomodating and were willing to help me with everything that I needed. It is a true backpackers hostel, so its really easy to meet fellow travelers here. I would describe the overall atmosphere as relaxed, friendly, and social. They have a great hangout area around the pool with lots of hammocks and lounge areas for relaxing/taking a mid-day siesta. The property is also beautiful with lots of tropical plants and even a restaurant and bar on site. (The bar runs great Happy Hour prices from 4-7!) The restaurant had super tasty local dishes and others like curry and burgers and pasta. My favorite was the thai green curry.... seriously Yummmmy! The dorm room I stayed in was only $12/night. The room was really clean and the bed was comfortable. No complaints about the rooms. The bathrooms/showers were also super clean and the shower had hot water! Actually the whole place looked really clean. It seemed like there were cleaning staff working around the clock to keep everything looking great. Overall, I had a GREAT stay at Cost Rica Backpackers. The room was good and affordable, staff were excellent, and I met a bunch of really cool people there. I will defintiely stay there again the next time I am in San Jose!

84.7%
41 reviews Book Now 
10

Hostel Casa Del Parque

Hostel
Calle 19, House n. 156, (Btw 1st &3rd Aven.), San Jose, Costa Rica 1000

35 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Casa Del Parque

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 92% Facilities - 79% Safety - 91%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 79%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 04 April 2014

the staff is very helpful and friendly. i love the location, close to good restaurants and parks. they allowed my dog to stay and treated her very well.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 02 January 2013

Beautiful old house, conveniently located. Helpful staff gave us good advice on transportation etc. Beside wifi, there was also a computer that could be used.

San Jose

33 Hostels from 6.80 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated San Jose hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Jose. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.