HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

Mi Casa Hostel 92%

1. Mi Casa Hostel

Hostel
150 mts North from the west corner of I.C.Es b, Sabana Norte

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 88%

Location 88%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 92%

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mi Casa Hostel

01 Jan 2016 86%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Family Holiday

Very quiet - great if you want to get sleep. Booked the taxi to the airport for me. Recommended.

would recommend this property

28 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone

People amazing! Very well located! The place is really so good!

would recommend this property

Read all Mi Casa Hostel reviews
In&basic Hostel Lounge 91%

2. In&basic Hostel Lounge

Hostel
200 m South and 75 m west of Spoon, Los Yoses.

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 84%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 92%

35 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend In&basic Hostel Lounge

19 Apr 2016 94%
Travel Type: With a large group / tour
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

We were a group of 7 people and the owner welcomed us very lovingly. She gave us a lot of tips about traveling in Costa Rica, organized the transport to the bus station and knows all the bus schedules by heart :) The hostel was very clean, she cleaned the showers after each use and we had a wonderful stay. The front door was locked for security reasons, which made our stay free of any worries. I definitely recommend this hostel and would stay here again any time.

would recommend this property

29 Dec 2015 97%
Travel Type: Alone

The hostel is great for a safe, clean, relaxing stay. The best part of the hostel is Paula, who will take care of everything for the travelers and make sure they have a safe trip in San Jose. She is the most helpful, considerate and knowledgeable hostel owner I had during the trip.

would recommend this property

Read all In&basic Hostel Lounge reviews
Hostel Bekuo San Jose 90%

3. Hostel Bekuo San Jose

Hostel
325 meters west of Restaurant Spoon, Los Yoses

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 91%

Staff 93%

Value 94%

76 out of 87 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Bekuo San Jose

28 Dec 2015 86%
Travel Type: Alone

Quiet

would recommend this property

17 Dec 2015 80%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers

Very clean and comfortable

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel Bekuo San Jose reviews
Hostel Shakti 90%

4. Hostel Shakti

Hostel
San Jose Centro, calle 13, avenida 8 -10., It is on the top floor of the restaurant Shakti. F

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 88%

Location 81%

Safety 92%

Staff 93%

Value 93%

23 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Shakti

09 May 2015 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Very nice staff. Great rooms, TV, free breakfast, welcome drinks, clean, spacious.

would recommend this property

06 Jan 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Relaxation / spa Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

A very nice and clean hostel with absolut nice and helpfull staff. Big room with all we need plus a kitchen with free coffee and tee. Great place to stay in San Jose!

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel Shakti reviews
Hostel Casa Colon 89%

5. Hostel Casa Colon

Hostel
Paseo Colon, 24th Street N, Next to Mercedes Tower

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 85%

Location 93%

Safety 94%

Staff 84%

Value 87%

22 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Casa Colon

30 Dec 2015 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Visiting friends or family

LocationInteresting building

would recommend this property

01 May 2015 80%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Very good location, I picked it because I was leaving early to the bus station

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel Casa Colon reviews
Hostel Casa del Parque 87%

6. Hostel Casa del Parque

Hostel
Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 81%

Location 92%

Safety 96%

Staff 90%

Value 85%

38 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Casa del Parque

29 Sep 2015 80%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

It's a very peaceful place with a lovely garden to hang out in. Has a very gorgeous resident German shepherd. Easy walk to anywhere in San Jose.

would recommend this property

03 Jun 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Beach / sunbathing Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Very nice, quiet and safe atmosphere. Friendly staff, sociable and polite crowd. Commons area w/ wifi and cable TV. Beautiful garden. The dorm is large enough to be comfortable even for the 10 people it sleeps (no bunk beds).

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel Casa del Parque reviews
Costa Rica Guesthouse 87%

7. Costa Rica Guesthouse

Hostel
Avenida 6 Calle 21, de la esquina noreste de la corte suprema,100 metr

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 82%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 90%

46 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Costa Rica Guesthouse

31 Dec 2015 86%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

This hostel was a great place to relax for a quiet stay. I was impressed with the cleanliness and safety. It is fairly centrally located and a easy walk to Mercado Central. The room was nice and felt very comfortable.

would recommend this property

11 Aug 2015 91%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Nice bathroomsBeautiful floorsInterior green space

would recommend this property

Read all Costa Rica Guesthouse reviews
Hostel Van Gogh 87%

8. Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel
7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 79%

Location 85%

Safety 86%

Staff 95%

Value 88%

17 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Van Gogh

05 Oct 2015 83%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

It looks nicer than the average hostel and has character. The main staff was very helpful with good travel suggestions.

would recommend this property

30 Jul 2015 69%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Friendly stuff. Well located.

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews
In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse 86%

9. In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse

Hostel
Avenida 4,100 metros oeste Escuela de la Roosevelt, San Pedro

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 83%

Location 87%

Safety 94%

Staff 88%

Value 91%

24 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse

22 Jan 2015 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

The staff are very helpful and friendly. The location is awesome, near the university and therefore a little cheaper and downtown is only a 25 min walk away.

would recommend this property

17 Jul 2014 83%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

The staff are awesome and helpful. The location is good and close to the busses and restaurants. The included breakfast is better ahan most. Good value for the money.

would recommend this property

Read all In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse reviews
Costa Rica Backpackers 86%

10. Costa Rica Backpackers

Hostel
Avenida 6, calle 21/25

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 86%

Location 79%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 90%

47 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Costa Rica Backpackers

25 Dec 2015 97%
Travel Type: Alone

The pool and the other backpackers were great

would recommend this property

30 Nov 2015 60%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Beach / sunbathing Partying / nightlife Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Piscina

Read all Costa Rica Backpackers reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated San Jose hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Jose. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to San Jose

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to San Jose. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!