HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

Mi Casa Hostel 92%

Mi Casa Hostel

Hostel
150 mts North from the west corner of I.C.Es b, Sabana Norte
Atmosphere
88%
Cleanliness
96%
Facilities
88%
Location
88%
Safety
100%
Staff
100%
Value
92%

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mi Casa Hostel

01 Jan 2016 86%
Alone Family Holiday

Very quiet - great if you want to get sleep. Booked the taxi to the airport for me. Recommended.

would recommend this property

28 Dec 2015 100%
Alone

People amazing! Very well located! The place is really so good!

would recommend this property

Read all Mi Casa Hostel reviews

Hostel Shakti 90%

Hostel Shakti

Hostel
San Jose Centro, calle 13, avenida 8 -10., It is on the top floor of the restaurant Shakti. F
Atmosphere
88%
Cleanliness
93%
Facilities
88%
Location
81%
Safety
92%
Staff
93%
Value
93%

23 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Shakti

09 May 2015 91%
With friends / other travellers Backpacking / gap year

Very nice staff. Great rooms, TV, free breakfast, welcome drinks, clean, spacious.

would recommend this property

06 Jan 2015 100%
With my spouse / partner Backpacking / gap year Relaxation / spa Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

A very nice and clean hostel with absolut nice and helpfull staff. Big room with all we need plus a kitchen with free coffee and tee. Great place to stay in San Jose!

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel Shakti reviews

Hostel Casa Colon 89%

Hostel Casa Colon

Hostel
Paseo Colon, 24th Street N, Next to Mercedes Tower
Atmosphere
87%
Cleanliness
93%
Facilities
85%
Location
93%
Safety
94%
Staff
84%
Value
87%

22 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Casa Colon

30 Dec 2015 91%
With friends / other travellers Visiting friends or family

LocationInteresting building

would recommend this property

01 May 2015 80%
Alone Backpacking / gap year

Very good location, I picked it because I was leaving early to the bus station

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel Casa Colon reviews

Hostel 1110 83%

Hostel 1110

Hostel
Ave. 14 St. 11 #1110, 500 mts. East from clinica Biblica Right hand yell
Atmosphere
84%
Cleanliness
79%
Facilities
81%
Location
89%
Safety
83%
Staff
88%
Value
80%

15 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel 1110

03 Oct 2015 100%
With my spouse / partner Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

big and spacious, cheap

would recommend this property

08 Aug 2015 97%
With friends / other travellers Backpacking / gap year

Nice Place with cute garden and Sofas outside. Very clean and just a few minutes away from the bus station.

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel 1110 reviews

Gaudys Backpackers Hostel 84%

Gaudys Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor
Atmosphere
83%
Cleanliness
84%
Facilities
81%
Location
78%
Safety
89%
Staff
86%
Value
85%

16 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Gaudys Backpackers Hostel

17 Feb 2015 97%
With friends / other travellers Backpacking / gap year

Quiet neighbourhood, walking distance to the main attractions, clean rooms and super helpful staff.

would recommend this property

25 Jul 2014 71%
With friends / other travellers Beach / sunbathing Visiting friends or family

This place had a lot of hidden charm that you don't realize until you walk around inside.

would recommend this property

Read all Gaudys Backpackers Hostel reviews

Hostel Van Gogh 87%

Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel
7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown
Atmosphere
87%
Cleanliness
92%
Facilities
79%
Location
85%
Safety
86%
Staff
95%
Value
88%

17 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Van Gogh

05 Oct 2015 83%
Alone Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

It looks nicer than the average hostel and has character. The main staff was very helpful with good travel suggestions.

would recommend this property

30 Jul 2015 69%
Alone Backpacking / gap year

Friendly stuff. Well located.

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel Van Gogh reviews

Casa Yoses Hostel 80%

Casa Yoses Hostel

Hostel
8th Ave 41 St, 250 west from Spoon in Los Yoses
Atmosphere
80%
Cleanliness
73%
Facilities
77%
Location
83%
Safety
87%
Staff
87%
Value
80%

5 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Casa Yoses Hostel

30 Mar 2013 89%

The staff was very helpful and understanding. The girls at the front desk where great, and the night guy too, he was super cool.

would recommend this property

01 Oct 2012 43%
With friends / other travellers Sightseeing & culture

good wi-fi signal; gated hostel

Read all Casa Yoses Hostel reviews

In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse 86%

In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse

Hostel
Avenida 4,100 metros oeste Escuela de la Roosevelt, San Pedro
Atmosphere
83%
Cleanliness
80%
Facilities
83%
Location
87%
Safety
94%
Staff
88%
Value
91%

22 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse

22 Jan 2015 91%
Alone Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

The staff are very helpful and friendly. The location is awesome, near the university and therefore a little cheaper and downtown is only a 25 min walk away.

would recommend this property

17 Jul 2014 83%
Alone Sightseeing & culture

The staff are awesome and helpful. The location is good and close to the busses and restaurants. The included breakfast is better ahan most. Good value for the money.

would recommend this property

Read all In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated San Jose hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Jose. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to San Jose

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to San Jose. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!