HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

Mi Casa Hostel 92%

1. Mi Casa Hostel

Hostel
150 mts North from the west corner of I.C.Es b, Sabana Norte

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 88%

Location 88%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 92%

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mi Casa Hostel

01 Jan 2016 86%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Family Holiday

Very quiet - great if you want to get sleep. Booked the taxi to the airport for me. Recommended.

would recommend this property

28 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone

People amazing! Very well located! The place is really so good!

would recommend this property

Read all Mi Casa Hostel reviews
In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse 90%

2. In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse

Hostel
Avenida 4,100 metros oeste Escuela de la Roosevelt, San Pedro

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 86%

Location 89%

Safety 98%

Staff 92%

Value 95%

29 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse

22 Dec 2016 77%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 31-40

People running this property were very helpful. Approximate 25 min walk to downtown. Several restaurants within walking distance

would recommend this property

24 May 2016 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

In the wind hostel is run by Josie, french canadian. The hostel is located just outside of San Jose near the university in San Pedro. Its a safe neighbourhood, with a few bars. Nightstore and bus stop close by. A trip to downtown takes about 10 minuten and costs from 330 colones (bus) to 2500 (uber)/3500 (cab). Ask voor plaza Roosevelt. Laidback attitude.

would recommend this property

Read all In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse reviews
Hostel Bekuo San Jose 89%

3. Hostel Bekuo San Jose

Hostel
325 meters west of Restaurant Spoon, Los Yoses

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 87%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 92%

Value 94%

79 out of 90 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Bekuo San Jose

05 Nov 2016 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Great staff, very welcoming.

would recommend this property

20 Aug 2016 71%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture Work / volunteering
Age Range: 31-40

Great value for money

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel Bekuo San Jose reviews
Hostel Shakti 89%

4. Hostel Shakti

Hostel
San Jose Centro, calle 13, avenida 8 -10., It is on the top floor of the restaurant Shakti. F

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 78%

Safety 92%

Staff 93%

Value 91%

23 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Shakti

08 Nov 2016 77%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 41+

Clean facilities. Kind staff. Provided a welcome lemon beverage upon arrival and offered us soup.

09 May 2015 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Very nice staff. Great rooms, TV, free breakfast, welcome drinks, clean, spacious.

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel Shakti reviews
Hostel Casa Colon 88%

5. Hostel Casa Colon

Hostel
Paseo Colon, 24th Street N, Next to Mercedes Tower

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 83%

Location 91%

Safety 92%

Staff 83%

Value 86%

23 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Casa Colon

19 Sep 2016 66%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Work / volunteering
Age Range: 25-30

The beds were nice and the staff were very helpful and friendly. They gave me and my friend a map of where all the bus stations were and high-lighted where we needed to go.

would recommend this property

30 Dec 2015 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Visiting friends or family

LocationInteresting building

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel Casa Colon reviews
Hostel Casa del Parque 88%

6. Hostel Casa del Parque

Hostel
Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 81%

Location 92%

Safety 96%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

39 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Casa del Parque

02 Sep 2016 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 25-30

Roger was a great host, and gave us really good tips and advice on restaurants and the excursions. The place was nice, clean, and had a lot of character.

would recommend this property

29 Sep 2015 80%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

It's a very peaceful place with a lovely garden to hang out in. Has a very gorgeous resident German shepherd. Easy walk to anywhere in San Jose.

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel Casa del Parque reviews
Costa Rica Guesthouse 87%

7. Costa Rica Guesthouse

Hostel
Avenida 6 Calle 21, de la esquina noreste de la corte suprema,100 metr

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 83%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 90%

47 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Costa Rica Guesthouse

31 Dec 2015 86%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

This hostel was a great place to relax for a quiet stay. I was impressed with the cleanliness and safety. It is fairly centrally located and a easy walk to Mercado Central. The room was nice and felt very comfortable.

would recommend this property

11 Aug 2015 91%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Nice bathroomsBeautiful floorsInterior green space

would recommend this property

Read all Costa Rica Guesthouse reviews
Costa Rica Backpackers 87%

8. Costa Rica Backpackers

Hostel
Avenida 6, calle 21/25

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 86%

Location 80%

Safety 91%

Staff 89%

Value 91%

49 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Costa Rica Backpackers

12 Jan 2017 74%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Good place to meet people, decent location

would recommend this property

23 May 2016 80%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Beach / sunbathing Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 18-24

I liked the outsidearea very much. The kitchen was clean

would recommend this property

Read all Costa Rica Backpackers reviews
Hostel Nomadas Backpackers 86%

9. Hostel Nomadas Backpackers

Hostel
100 N 125 W from Sabana Scotiabank

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 82%

Location 77%

Safety 98%

Staff 94%

Value 86%

101 out of 109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Nomadas Backpackers

05 Jun 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 18-24

Great location, decor charming staff and the wonderfully friendly resident dig Pinto. Highly recommend it and will he returning once i pass back through san jose.

would recommend this property

15 Jan 2016 77%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

The owner runs a tight ship, but everything is very clean and comfortable.

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel Nomadas Backpackers reviews
Aldea Hostel San Jose 86%

10. Aldea Hostel San Jose

Hostel
Calle 28 y Av.Segunda, frente a Sala Garbo, Casa E

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 83%

Location 84%

Safety 89%

Staff 90%

Value 85%

39 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Aldea Hostel San Jose

03 Nov 2016 89%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Nice, clean, good location.

would recommend this property

12 Aug 2016 86%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Family Holiday
Age Range: 41+

Clean, helpful staff. Bar and pizza restaurant attached which was great.

would recommend this property

Read all Aldea Hostel San Jose reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated San Jose hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Jose. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to San Jose

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to San Jose. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!