We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in San Jose, Costa Rica

91.5%
36 reviews Book Now 
1

In&basic Hostel Lounge

Hostel
300 m South and 75 m west of, Spoon de Los Yoses., Fátima´s church Left side., San Jose, Costa Rica 2045

33 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend In&basic Hostel Lounge

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 95% Facilities - 91% Safety - 95%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 91%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
Customer would recommend this property 08 June 2014

Comfortable couches in the lounge room. Great if you just want to lay around reading. Staff helpful with bus times ect.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 07 March 2014

The owner is very friendly and helpful. The environment is warm and comfortable and feels more like home than a hostel. Everything is spotless.

90.9%
5 reviews Book Now 
2

Mi Casa Hostel

Hostel
Sabana Norte from the west, corner of the ICE Building, 150 meters north, San Jose, Costa Rica 506

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mi Casa Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 100% Facilities - 92% Safety - 100%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Amy lee
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
82.9%
Amy would recommend this property 03 April 2011

A nice easy transition into costa rica, we stayed here our first night, and plan to stay our last night there before heading home.

Customer review
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 18 February 2010

very nice 50's modernist property.staff very friendly, free breakfast included.nice and quiet neighborhood, close to the airport and abour 10 minutes taxi-ride to downtown

90.1%
145 reviews Book Now 
3

Hostel Bekuo

Hostel
325 Meters Oeste Spoon Los Yoses, San Jose, Costa Rica .

132 out of 145 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Bekuo

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 91% Facilities - 89% Safety - 91%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 91%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 03 May 2015

Staff is very friendly and helpful! Big and comfortable matresses‚ lovely common areas‚ well equiped kitchen

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 10 April 2015

It has an inviting outdoor cheerful appearance. Has both a ramp and stairs for easy entrance. Irene and Gaby and Noellia were very helpful with answering questions about tours and how to get places. There is a bbq area, so that got used a lot. Very easy to talk with other travelers, and there is a pet bunny in the grassy backyard with trees, flowers, and wildlife.

90.1%
150 reviews Book Now 
4

Hostel Nomadas Backpackers

Hostel
125m Norte 100m Oeste del, Scotiabank de La Sabana, San Jose, Costa Rica 8831

145 out of 150 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Nomadas Backpackers

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 97% Facilities - 88% Safety - 98%
Location - 77% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 May 2015

Located in a quiet, safe neighbourhood with easy access to the bus stop and multiple restaurants, shops and supermarkets.

Richard Uren
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Richard would recommend this property 02 April 2015

Very very QUIET. Best night's sleep for many weeks. Excellent mattresses. Very helpful staff

89.6%
24 reviews Book Now 
5

Hostel Shakti

Hostel
avenida 8,calle 13, San Jose, Costa Rica, San Jose, Costa Rica 506

23 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Shakti

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 91%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 93%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 11 May 2015

Very nice staff. Great rooms, TV, free breakfast, welcome drinks, clean, spacious.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 15 January 2015

1) Good location: rather near the center. Within pleasurable walking distances of most main "attractions". 2) Friendly and clean environnement, which includes free Wi-Fi, free breakfast (i.e. casado = rice and beans and etc.), kitchen space (with fridge) and a small living room. Also, there's the Restaurante Shakti attached to it (which was closed when I stayed over). 3) Charming and colorful rooms (albeit a tad outdated) which gives of a homely atmosphere to the whole place.

89.5%
117 reviews Book Now 
6

Costa Rica Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Avenida 6 Calle 21, San Jose, Costa Rica .

115 out of 117 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Costa Rica Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 95% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 90%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 June 2014

Really good little place to stay. Hot showers, good breakfast, 24 hour reception and a comfortable bed. I was in the dorm but slept beautifully! A little bit of home comforts and peace and quiet for a smelly backpacker!

Barbara Little
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
65.7%
Barbara would recommend this property 23 March 2014

We chose Costa Rica Guesthouse because the tour guide we were meeting next day recommended it, AND because they offered secure auto storage while we went away for a night. I was sure I had asked for 2 beds but we were given a room with one double, apparently the only one available, and told there were none with 2, although the website says there were. Our checked bage didn't arrive in Liberia with us, so we left this address to have them brought to. They weren't there when we returned, and Carlos went far above and beyond to help us track them down. He made many phone calls and helped keep us in the right direction to recover them, staying calming and positive the whole time. He was terrific!!

89.5%
21 reviews Book Now 
7

Hostel Casa Colon

Hostel
Paseo Colon, 24th Street N, San Jose, Costa Rica 0000

20 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Casa Colon

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 84% Facilities - 85% Safety - 94%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
74.3%
Customer would recommend this property 20 July 2013

Comfortable dorm beds.....lovely lounge area, staff fine.....decent downtown location.....however....

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 24 May 2013

This is just a functional place to stop as it's close to the bus station and if you have to spend the night it will do the trick. It's a big place and clean.

89.0%
15 reviews Book Now 
8

Hostel Van Gogh

Hostel
Calle 7, 150 mts North Parque Morazán, Amon, San Jose, Costa Rica n/a

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Van Gogh

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 96% Facilities - 81% Safety - 86%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 89%
Erica McKinley
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
100.0%
Erica would recommend this property 07 April 2015

This was the best hostel I have ever stayed at, so clean and the staff was so friendly! If I'm ever back in the are I will definitely stay again!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 28 April 2014

This hostel is in a good location, about a 15 minute walk from where the bus drops you off, 10 minutes walk to downtown area. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. Hot showers, computers and TV to use, pool table as well. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful!

85.4%
54 reviews Book Now 
9

Aldea Hostel

Hostel
Ave. 2 Calle 28100 metros sur, de Pizza Hut de Paseo Colon, Enfrente a La Sala Garbo, San Jose, Costa Rica 10001

50 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Aldea Hostel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 90% Facilities - 84% Safety - 88%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 01 January 2015

Well run hostel near the bus stations. The rooms might be a bit noisy while the rush hour. But OK.

Peter Lazenby
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Peter would recommend this property 31 May 2013

Third time here. Colonial house. Interesting. Fun. Friendly. Relaxed. Slightly eccentric, inc the plumbing, but all works. I've always taken a private room with bathroom - all absolutely adequate. Nice mix of guests, mixed nationalities, some Costa Rican, travellers & others. 10 minute walk to centre of San Jose. Owner extremely friendly, helpful, English speaking if that matters. Pleasant staff. Bonus this time is a small attached restaurant, 'The Corner'. It's a separate business from the Hostal, but in the same building, & works with the hostal. Very simple menu but I swear the empanadas (baked in pizza dough) with salsas, & the pizzas, are amongst the best & freshest I've ever eaten. Long may that continue. Good traveller's choice.

85.3%
191 reviews Book Now 
10

Costa Rica Backpackers

Hostel
AVENIDA 6 CALLE 21/23, San Jose, Costa Rica .

177 out of 191 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Costa Rica Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 87% Facilities - 84% Safety - 88%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 88%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
57.1%
14 January 2015

some staff is rude, location is ok, rooms are very basics but the rest is ok... there are other hostels near by, better go there...

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 08 April 2014

The tourman Justin is really nice. The tours we did were sooo cool. Thanks a lot for all your help, Justin!!!!

San Jose

31 Hostels from 6.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated San Jose hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in San Jose. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.