We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Bekuo

Hostel | 325 Meters Oeste Spoon Los Yoses, San Jose, Costa Rica .

90.1% Overall Rating

132 out of 145 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2015)

"It has an inviting outdoor cheerful appearance. Has both a ramp and stairs for easy entrance. Irene and Gaby and Noellia were very helpful with answering questions about tours and how to get places. There is a bbq area,…"

Read all Hostel Bekuo reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Jose

Monkey´s Tribe
13.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
In&basic Hostel Lounge
10.14 USD

Hostel 91.5% 36 reviews
Stolas Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 83.7% 7 reviews
Hostel Pangea
12.00 USD

Hostel 80.5% 74 reviews
Castle Tam Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 84.3% 27 reviews
Angels Hotel Guest House
18.99 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Costa Rica Backpackers
12.00 USD

Hostel 85.3% 191 reviews
Costa Rica Guesthouse
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.5% 117 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

132 out of 145 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Bekuo'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 124 of 131 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

10 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has an inviting outdoor cheerful appearance. Has both a ramp and stairs for easy entrance. Irene and Gaby and Noellia were very helpful with answering questions about tours and how to get places. There is a bbq area, so that got used a lot. Very easy to talk with other travelers, and there is a pet bunny in the grassy backyard with trees, flowers, and wildlife.

Disliked: the doors hindges could use a bit of household oil.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronika Morgenroth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2015 Veronika would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in this hostel is very good, very clean kitchen, the staff can help you with everything - perfekt! Even if it is not the best location: you can reach the City Center within minutes by bus (very cheap) and there s a big mall just around the corner.

Disliked: Veronika left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niles Burken

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

20 November 2014 Niles would recommend this property

Liked: I didn't want to leave…the staff was so incredible, the free breakfast was so edible, and the quality mattresses were soooooo bedable. I stayed here on my first stop through San Jose, and made sure to come back my next time through. The staff help organize evening events, but respect the quiet hours, and Brian made free sangria before he and Gaby taught a salsa lesson. The common areas are huge with a nice layout, and the place just has a great overall vibe.

Disliked: Niles left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff. Excellent common areas. Felt safe and decent location. Overall nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Room was quite basic. Variable hot water.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

roisin lynch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 roisin would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel- more like a home than a hostel. Great stopping off point in between beaches/ just before a flight. Great breakfasts and friendly staff.

Disliked: Toilet in our room needed fixing and an extra blanket in our cupboard wouldn't go astray.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a large room to myself that was clean and secure. The staff were friendly and spoke very good English which is good as my Spanish is not very good at all. Breakfast was included and it consisted of pancakes and fruit, which was very tasty.

Disliked: There was a group of americans staying at the hostel at around the same time as me and it meant that space in the kitchen was a little limited. The hostel was also a little noisy on occassion, but the staff do their best to ensure that the kitchen is not used late at night and that people are quiet after 11pm. The hostel is located in a nice area, but there is still some theft on the surrounding streets. The supermarket is only 5 minutes walk away and San José centre 20 minutes, but take only what you need when you go.out, the hostel.has a safe for valuables.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

simon jeffs

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

23 May 2014 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Safe and secure. We were only there for 2 nights but it seemed to have a good atmosphere. More for budget backpackers than a family (an observation, not a criticism).

Disliked: Location.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matej Lukin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Matej would recommend this property

Liked: Bunny, positive atmosphere, safety, store nearby.

Disliked: Long distance to intercity bus stations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Heckmeier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, they made me really feel welcome and at home. The hostel's rabbit was also super cute. I also liked the culture and nightlife tipps. I would always come back when I'm staying in San Jose.

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret Erway

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 January 2014 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: Brian,the owner is always on site and has an excellent staff. Karen was so helpful with directions and suggestions for destinations. Gaby was helpful getting us to our next city with phone calls to obtain information. The pancake, fruit and coffee breakfast was delicious. The entire staff was so friendly, I cannot wait for two weeks to return to renew friendships and tell of our adventures, they are really interested in you as a person and your safety is of great concern. The neighborhood is very safe, and your personal belongings are safe in the hostel. We are two women in our 60's who don't need the expense or frills of a hotel. The younger crowd was very respectful and rules were without question.

Disliked: A minor issue is that the female dorm bathroom could use updating.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff made you feel at home right away. Also if you need a relaxin partner there's the house bunny :) cozy and chill atmosphere plus pancakes with pictures on them for breakfast, yum

Disliked: Couldnt really get proper water pressure out of the showers during our stay but that's more like a norm in latin america I guess..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, very helpful staff, tons of common space. The emphasis seemed to be on creating a great atmosphere rather than maximizing profits - yay! The room was clean, kitchen well-equipped for a hostel, tasty breakfast. Free calls to Canada and US were extremely useful. Good suggestions for things to do in town, lots of fun things in the hostel (balance board, sand sculptures, pet rabbit...)

Disliked: The room next to the kitchen was a bit noisy at times - book early to avoid getting this one! The neighbourhood was a bit expensive for eating, groceries, drinks, but felt quite safe, and an easy walk or bus into the centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Bhabha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common areas were great and widely used. A good place to meet people. The pancake breakfast was something different. The woman who checked us in - Catherine - was lovely and extremely helpful. Our room was large and clean.

Disliked: Some pretty strange people blow through here.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013

Liked: The common areas are comfortable and the space is nice.

Disliked: Very noisy Hostel with people getting chatting and playing till late hours. Our room was just next to the kitchen which means that the next day at 7am breakfast was being served with all the noise that implies....Really a hard time to have enough sleep. Finally San Jose is not a cold city but you want to have hot water for a shower. Their hot water system does not work properly and it was a pain to shower there, in particular when you have long hair.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Silvia Paulino

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013

Liked: The atmosphere and location.

Disliked: The silence time; couldn't sleep before 10pm 1h for breakfast

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James O'Reilly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly, great staff, the owner was an awesome guy, we went out for drinks with him. The place was surprisingly safe, nothing seems to get stolen. everyone staying there was great, it was like a family.

Disliked: you couldn't make too much noise after 11pm, which is good for some but a little boring for others

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emily kraus

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 emily would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very fun place to stay, with a community atmosphere and a great staff. It's the perfect place to begin your journey through Costa Rica.

Disliked: emily left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staffs (Sweetest girl Irene! I miss youuu!), yummy breakfast, good place to meet lots of different people, good location too. I usually walked to downtown everyday. its not that far!

Disliked: HOT WATER issue :(

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Laura Curle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful. Kitchen was really good, well equipped. Safe location. Cheap dorms especially in low season. Close to buses for downtown and the San Pedro mall and supermarket.

Disliked: We actually stayed here on two separate occasions. The first time we must have stayed in a better dorm which was great but the second time. We were in a different one which wasnt so good. It wasnt that clean, a random half eaten apple on the side, room had torn up carpet, broken bed slats and soil on bathroom floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cory Logan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 October 2013 Cory would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing. I should say that I was here in low season. But the vibe is really relaxed and good. Somehow it seems like it attracts a good little crew of people. As with any place with travelers, it's always changing, but somehow here, it seems to stay mellow. I ended up staying for 10 days. The staff are the sweetest. All of them. They're always happy to help in whatever crisis. I actually stumbled upon this place trying to find a different hostel, and am so glad I found it. Immediately I was greeted by Irene. She showed me around, and I was sold. Bryan runs the place. He's a hoot. He lives nearby and drops in, and always inspires fun. Get to know this guy, you won't regret it. He's got a sense for humor, and can make anyone laugh. I've been traveling for 9 months now, and one thing that I really miss is cooking. This place has a fantastic kitchen with all of the little kitchen gadgets you could want. Most hostels are either well equipped, or have a connecting restaurant and don't offer a chance to cook at all. Here I not only got to cook, but got to swap and share meals with other people, which was a wonderful experience. It's a good place to hang out and get some work done. Sure, it's a ways from San Jose Centro, but frankly, you probably don't want to spend most of your time there. This neighborhood is near a number of other great spots, and you feel safe walking around here. There's a giant grocery store just around the corner, so whatever you're craving, it can be yours. I'm a bit conflicted about writing such a glowing review, because I don't want this gem to be too easy to find. On the other hand... I want them to be around when I come back. It's not a party hostel, though there is fun to be had, which is just the way I like it.

Disliked: There was one guest who was somewhat disrespectful, and I didn't enjoy being around her.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martine Lafontaine

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 October 2013 Martine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing, and the ambiance is really laid-back and friendly. People from all ages stay here, and everybody is happy to make conversation, without being invasive!! Good kitchen, small porch with a hammock in the sun :)), small garden in the back. Staff organizes nights out. Location is about 15 minutes from downtown, but there is a grocery store and shopping mall nearby, which is great to get supplies if you plan on going to smaller towns in CR.

Disliked: Showers can get cold-ish if you're not the 1st one in there; and this is not about the hotel, but in general, San Jose is not the most interesting city you'll ever be in, so don't plan on spending too much time here - go to the beaches!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013

Liked: Decent kitchen

Disliked: Location not good. Wifi was down when we were there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Thomas Lawrence

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good communal areas and kitchen

Disliked: Very dim private room, bathroom was brighter than the bedroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan José Ramos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Juan José would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff was amazing, they really concern about us for the very first minute. And the property is extremely beatiful, clean and full equipped.

Disliked: Juan José left no negative feedback.