HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Bekuo San Jose San Jose Hostel

325 meters west of Restaurant Spoon, Los Yoses, San Jose, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 91%

Staff 93%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 30.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 91%

Staff 93%

Value 94%

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Quiet

Disliked: No lockers

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: Very clean and comfortable

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good Location, Friendly enough staff

Disliked: Needs lockersOnly 2 bathrooms for all guestsBathrooms + kitchen needs an upgrade The hostel needs to get rid of the dirty old racist expat retirees living in the hostel

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Safe

Disliked: A bit far from downtown.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great staff, great atmosphere! I am really happy that I've stayed there.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely hostel to start a trip or finish it. Clean, calm, fresh and friendly. Brian is a true host and awesome bloke. Facilities are great, all staff nice and helpful. Safe area, super music choices, free pool table, opportunity to both go out for a party or chill out, and even a bloomin rabbit!

Disliked: Nowt.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This was my second time to Bekuo, and, well the morning was beautiful...I was able to walk around the city some, but then it began to rain really hard. I made it back to the hostel bummed out because I didn't want to stay inside. However, I think I enjoyed being in the hostel even more than my morning walk. The hostel is clean…the kitchen even has juicer. Most important was the staff, they made the rainy day, fun. Mario was great, and went above and beyond to help me with the rest of my plans. I actually decided to stay another night. After the rain, hang out in the garden. Tranquis the bunny will become your best friend.

Disliked: Not a dislike, but they don't have lockers. They have a safe room where they can lock everything up (they also have a safe for important items). Not a dislike because I felt comfortable leaving my things out here, and I'm generally not like that.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Staff is very friendly and helpful! Big and comfortable matresses‚ lovely common areas‚ well equiped kitchen

Disliked: No lockers! Everything else was great!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: It has an inviting outdoor cheerful appearance. Has both a ramp and stairs for easy entrance. Irene and Gaby and Noellia were very helpful with answering questions about tours and how to get places. There is a bbq area, so that got used a lot. Very easy to talk with other travelers, and there is a pet bunny in the grassy backyard with trees, flowers, and wildlife.

Disliked: the doors hindges could use a bit of household oil.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The atmosphere in this hostel is very good, very clean kitchen, the staff can help you with everything - perfekt! Even if it is not the best location: you can reach the City Center within minutes by bus (very cheap) and there s a big mall just around the corner.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability