HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Costa Rica Love

Hostel | San Vicente de Santo Domingo, San Jose, Costa Rica 0

84.0% Overall Rating

47 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

Amy Wirsig thinks…

"This was my husband and I's first stop in Costa Rica; we stayed a few nights here to plan out our next destinations. The hostel is basic but for us, it was very nice for the price. We enjoyed the…"

Read all Costa Rica Love reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please read the property profile carefully for exact explanation of the address and the location.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Jose

Hotel Europa
21.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostel Toruma
13.00 USD

Hostel 76.0% 12 reviews
Gaudy's Backpacker
13.00 USD

Hostel 80.0% 49 reviews
Hotel Vesuvio
16.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Santo Tomas
25.15 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Mi Casa Hostel
12.26 USD

Hostel 88.6% 3 reviews
Hotel Capital
15.00 USD

Hotel 56.4% 12 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
12.72 USD

Hostel 88.1% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

47 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Costa Rica Love'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 52 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amy Wirsig

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: This was my husband and I's first stop in Costa Rica; we stayed a few nights here to plan out our next destinations. The hostel is basic but for us, it was very nice for the price. We enjoyed the quiet neighborhood, feeling safe walking around the area. There are several sodas and a bakery just a few blocks away, a track/baseball field, basketball court down the block (even Zumba classes being held over the weekend), grocery store across the street and a larger supermarket a few blocks away (owned by Wal-Mart) - All easy to walk to. The included breakfast is just a couple pancakes and coffee/tea - some may not like this but for me is great (I love pancakes!). This place is not near the city center but it is a cheap bus ride away. Manfred was always helpful with directions/recommendations. We took advantage of the airport pick-up offered and he took us on a short 1/2 day tour to a "secret" river; the water was super cold but it was nice to see and fun to swim.

Disliked: Would have liked to have a window that opens in the room but was able to enjoy the weather on the terrace instead.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014

Liked: Double room turned out to be whole Appartement, coffee

Disliked: Weird /no atmosphere, breakfast is a joke (2tiny pancakes), only interested in making money (laundry etc super overpriced), directions wrong!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daria Mai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Daria would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, cheap

Disliked: not very clean, far from city center

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Stewart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

08 January 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, safe and nice restaurant just round the corner. The owner is a total legend, will definitely go back. Had a great local tour for $6, would recommend to everyone to do.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you are in San Jose for 2 or 3 days (and that's more enough for most), then this hostel is excellent value for money. OK, it's not flash by any means, but it has everything you need, and is a cosy friendly place. The bus fare from downtown is just 320 colones, so it's distance from the centre isn't really a problem (unless you are quickly passing through for just one night).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julie lefebvre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2013 julie would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff, they are amazing, friendly and helpful. The facilities are very eco friendly and in general it's clean ! The services available (airport pick up - Bus terminal pick up, and tours) are great and the prices are very descent!

Disliked: Nothing really, a bit far away from San Jose but this is definitely addressed, with the Pick up service that the hostel gives.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mathilde Igland

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013 Mathilde would recommend this property

Liked: Costa Rica Love had a wonderful, relaxing atmosphere. The staff was super friendly, and we felt very welcome at their hostel. A big plus for free breakfast, even if the stay were almost for free (compared to a lot of other hostels). It was a small hostel, but the people and the atmosphere did our stay very nice.

Disliked: Mathilde left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Toews

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Egg Stimson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Tom Egg would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel and good breakfast, great couple running the place. Really helped us out when we had problems with a car hire company. Hostel is in a safe location but not in the centre. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: All good.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andreanne Robert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 September 2013 Andreanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing, really helpful.

Disliked: Not much to do around the hostel.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price.

Disliked: Location. Bathroom clean.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Familiar and welcoming atmosphere, you feel like at home

Disliked: position of the rooms, no opening windows in the dorms

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were very cheap and also spacious and comfortable ( we had the private room). Location is outside the city centre but we didn't go in to the city anyway as there's not much to see and it doesn't seem particularly safe. The hostel offers buckets of tours and so make it very easy to see the surrounding country. We went on a day trip with the owner Manfred which was brilliant mainly down to Manfred himself. The price was very reasonable considering it was only myself and my girlfriend on the tour being driven around from 6am to 7pm. This also meant we were able to have leeway in if we wanted more or less time in certain places. Manfred was so knowledgable and clearly passionate about his job and about Costa Rica and was a wonderful guide for the day. We really enjoyed hanging out with him and would have definitely done a few more tours with him if we had had more time. Free coffee all day was also a nice bonus.

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best rate and good service, cheap tours

Disliked: all is ok

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

terrie griffith

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

09 March 2013 terrie would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is very friendly. The location is wonderful as it is close to various bus lines. Pancakes and coffee are provided. The place is in a safe neighborhood. There could be some upgrading done on the facility but there is value for your money here. It is a hostel and the services are only basic.

Disliked: Not cleaned everyday.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Bremner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money! Very helpfull and awesome staff. Felt like I was just over at friends place. Much Love for Costa Rica Love Hostel!

Disliked: Quiet time after 10, although pretty lenient, movies and social noise are out early.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: exelent hostel!! is the best rate in costa rica , clean and since i arrived they help me organize diferent tours with them that i recommend them too, they show me monkeys,snakes,birds,sloths,caimans and many animals more

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

José Luis Hernandez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2012 José Luis would recommend this property

Liked: personal amable y cortes.

Disliked: José Luis left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price is much cheaper than in the rest of hostels in san jose. the owners are very nice and helpfull.

Disliked: it hard to find the hostel, its also a little bit far from the city centre but its easy to get around once you know how

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012

Liked: The stuff was friendly and helpful all the time. We really enjoyed the welcome coctails. The location is silent, with a supermarket near.

Disliked: There was only 1 toilet attached to the bathroom for the whole hostel. The dorm has no windows and really bad air at night, when there are 8 people sleeping. It is too far from the city and all transfers are expensive.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2012

Liked: It was a nice cozy place, with no one around so you could actually have the place all to yourself.

Disliked: The customer services was not up to what they stated on their site, they were very rude and all about the money, it was far away from the city, very far in another city actually 7 km away from costa rica or the main streets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE RATES, TOURS, CHEAP SHUTTLES ...FULL RECOMENDED

Disliked: ALL GOOD

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Abby Nathanson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Abby would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were great!

Disliked: It's far from the city.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great host, very accommodating.

Disliked: Kind of far out of the way.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

11 October 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Costa Rica love was amazing!! While we were on the coast, we were robbed of everything. The owners helped us so much from letting us use their phone, helping us getting to the US Embassy, and so much more. They were incredible!! The hostel is extremely clean and very cozy! The area was safe, we didn't leave more than once, but we didn't have any problems! Definitely stay here while in San Jose!!

Disliked: Nothing