HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Costa Rica Love Hostel 2 San Jose Hostel

sobre ruta 5,tibas neon nieto, 1km norte hasta el poli y 100 metros mas al este, San Jose, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 66%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Internet café
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 16.00USD
  • Towel 1.00USD

Important Information

Please read the property profile carefully for exact explanation of the address and the location.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 66%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 88%

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The cheapest in the city.

Disliked: Location is bad, far from downtown.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheap shuttle to bus station and airport.

Disliked: The double bed was just 2 mattresses on top of each other. The noise from the kitchen really carried. Not enough bathrooms.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Owner and wife excellent people very helpful very much in knowledge

Disliked: So small dorm rooms even I book for 9 bed dorm we been put 4 bunk bed plus double size matress on the floor. With other guy in our room we put matress up whick we can move in the room until somebody come for this matress even nobody came 2 nights mattress was on the floor ok it is cheap but hey who wants to sleep on the floor 4 people looking from bunk bed:-) breakfast only small misshape pancake not a breakfast just complimentary from hostel. Not very clean 1 wc& shower for all hostel if full will be at list 17 people. Still very nice people I hope they will work and try take notice this comments and improve

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This was my husband and I's first stop in Costa Rica; we stayed a few nights here to plan out our next destinations. The hostel is basic but for us, it was very nice for the price. We enjoyed the quiet neighborhood, feeling safe walking around the area. There are several sodas and a bakery just a few blocks away, a track/baseball field, basketball court down the block (even Zumba classes being held over the weekend), grocery store across the street and a larger supermarket a few blocks away (owned by Wal-Mart) - All easy to walk to. The included breakfast is just a couple pancakes and coffee/tea - some may not like this but for me is great (I love pancakes!). This place is not near the city center but it is a cheap bus ride away. Manfred was always helpful with directions/recommendations. We took advantage of the airport pick-up offered and he took us on a short 1/2 day tour to a "secret" river; the water was super cold but it was nice to see and fun to swim.

Disliked: Would have liked to have a window that opens in the room but was able to enjoy the weather on the terrace instead.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

hello friends!

thanks to take your time for this nice review!! we really apreciate!!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Double room turned out to be whole Appartement, coffee

Disliked: Weird /no atmosphere, breakfast is a joke (2tiny pancakes), only interested in making money (laundry etc super overpriced), directions wrong!


The property's response is

thanks ! we know that our chep rates make you very happy, big room and nice right? ;) cheap tours too ;)
weird atmosphere? we have music during the day : reggue roots, tech, house, rock,salsa,merengue,dancehall, movies thast weird?sure...breakfast free: 2 normal panckeks + coffe + tee, tipiacal breakfast rice,beeans,plantain,eggs,coffe $4 we can not give you buffe for $5 per person rate!! overpriced?? jeje correction the cheapest in costa rica!! as you confirmed when you did come back

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice staff, cheap

Disliked: not very clean, far from city center

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

we clean the building every day and we are just 10-15 min from the comercial area in a very safe and clean pleace, no hommles peole,prostitution,or drugs problems

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway

Liked: Great location, safe and nice restaurant just round the corner. The owner is a total legend, will definitely go back. Had a great local tour for $6, would recommend to everyone to do.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thanks for the review, and yes we ave the only nature metropolitan local tour river +nature+sun+love

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: If you are in San Jose for 2 or 3 days (and that's more enough for most), then this hostel is excellent value for money. OK, it's not flash by any means, but it has everything you need, and is a cosy friendly place. The bus fare from downtown is just 320 colones, so it's distance from the centre isn't really a problem (unless you are quickly passing through for just one night).

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the staff, they are amazing, friendly and helpful. The facilities are very eco friendly and in general it's clean ! The services available (airport pick up - Bus terminal pick up, and tours) are great and the prices are very descent!

Disliked: Nothing really, a bit far away from San Jose but this is definitely addressed, with the Pick up service that the hostel gives.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Julie mercie beacoup!!!

we really apreciate your review!!

we really have a very nice time with you ;)

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Costa Rica Love had a wonderful, relaxing atmosphere. The staff was super friendly, and we felt very welcome at their hostel. A big plus for free breakfast, even if the stay were almost for free (compared to a lot of other hostels). It was a small hostel, but the people and the atmosphere did our stay very nice.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the review we really need good reviews as your to help more people and make more friend ;)

Check Availability