HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse San Jose Hostel

Avenida 4,100 metros oeste Escuela de la Roosevelt, San Pedro, San Jose, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 84%

Location 89%

Safety 96%

Staff 90%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 30.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 84%

Location 89%

Safety 96%

Staff 90%

Value 94%

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: In the wind hostel is run by Josie, french canadian. The hostel is located just outside of San Jose near the university in San Pedro. Its a safe neighbourhood, with a few bars. Nightstore and bus stop close by. A trip to downtown takes about 10 minuten and costs from 330 colones (bus) to 2500 (uber)/3500 (cab). Ask voor plaza Roosevelt. Laidback attitude.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Very mellow vibe. Helpful, friendly staff. The young woman working the desk helpfully extended my stay when I needed some eye care done. Good breakfast. Surprisingly quiet. If you get a room on the street: the noise does die down pretty early. (I had no problem zonking out.) Overall, a pleasant place to stay. Nothing fancy, but I'll take a friendly, low key place any day over a fancier one with a bad 'tude. Big kitchens. Comfy beds.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff are very helpful and friendly. The location is awesome, near the university and therefore a little cheaper and downtown is only a 25 min walk away.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff are awesome and helpful. The location is good and close to the busses and restaurants. The included breakfast is better ahan most. Good value for the money.

Disliked: Front door lock is a pain to use.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Some of the staff are really nice, others not... The atmosphere can be good or not existent depending on who is staying there.

Disliked: The staff and their friends tend to hang out separately from the guests which is a bit wierd. There seem to be an awful lot of rules posted around de everywhere, especially with regards to food storage in the tiny fridges!!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Hostel is centrally located for those interested in the San Pedro area. We have stayed here twice and both times the staff have been very friendly and helpful. Served us a great breakfast, too!

Disliked: The first time we stayed the bathrooms were a bit dirty. This time everything seems to be fine.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It's location near the UCR San Pedro district (and Mall) is great! If you walk towards campus, they have very nice street art on the walls. At night, near this same artwork, there are lots of clubs and places to eat. Also, the staff are very helpful, particularly Evan :)

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place to stay. I met really interesting and fun people. Close to local buses and groceries. Lots of materials including bus schedules. Three fridges so lots of places to keep food. Good system for identifying food. The management tries to keep the floors cleaned.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: First good experience in Costa Rica was coming here!! Its in a safe area, and close the all the good bars San Pedro. The staff was super helpful and showed me where important stuff on the map was, and the owner took me down the main street to show me where convenience, grocery stores as well as the ATM with $$ dollars and Colones. I met a lot of interesting people from around the world. And it was nice to be able to walk around at night and feeling safe. Right by the bus stop and 2 big malls. Also they cooked me breakfast in the morning and had a blender and other things such as a rice cooker, to use. i slept good it was pretty quite at night, but there were still people walkin around.

Disliked: at first i had a little trouble with my key and the lock... but thats about it

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location in the San Pedro university district. The property was secure and I felt safe there. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. Great value.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability