HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castle Tam Hostel

Hostel | Cien metros oeste Escuela de, la Franklin Roosevelt, San Pedro San Jose, Costa Rica 2050

81.4% Overall Rating

19 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

"The staff are awesome and helpful. The location is good and close to the busses and restaurants. The included breakfast is better ahan most. Good value for the money."

Read all Castle Tam Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Jose

Casa Yoses Hostal
11.00 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 41 reviews
In&basic Hostel Lounge
11.80 USD

Hostel 91.7% 35 reviews
Hostel Bekuo
10.00 USD

Hostel 86.4% 139 reviews
Hostal Latina
19.97 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Stolas Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 83.7% 7 reviews
Hostel Pangea
11.00 USD

Hostel 81.1% 70 reviews
Angels Hotel Guest House
18.70 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Costa Rica Backpackers
12.00 USD

Hostel 87.7% 187 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

19 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castle Tam Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are awesome and helpful. The location is good and close to the busses and restaurants. The included breakfast is better ahan most. Good value for the money.

Disliked: Front door lock is a pain to use.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karl Fischmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: Some of the staff are really nice, others not... The atmosphere can be good or not existent depending on who is staying there.

Disliked: The staff and their friends tend to hang out separately from the guests which is a bit wierd. There seem to be an awful lot of rules posted around de everywhere, especially with regards to food storage in the tiny fridges!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Crystal Atkinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Crystal would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is centrally located for those interested in the San Pedro area. We have stayed here twice and both times the staff have been very friendly and helpful. Served us a great breakfast, too!

Disliked: The first time we stayed the bathrooms were a bit dirty. This time everything seems to be fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Bass

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

07 April 2014 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: It's location near the UCR San Pedro district (and Mall) is great! If you walk towards campus, they have very nice street art on the walls. At night, near this same artwork, there are lots of clubs and places to eat. Also, the staff are very helpful, particularly Evan :)

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roslyn Johns

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Roslyn would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. I met really interesting and fun people. Close to local buses and groceries. Lots of materials including bus schedules. Three fridges so lots of places to keep food. Good system for identifying food. The management tries to keep the floors cleaned.

Disliked: Roslyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the San Pedro university district. The property was secure and I felt safe there. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. Great value.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

10 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: First good experience in Costa Rica was coming here!! Its in a safe area, and close the all the good bars San Pedro. The staff was super helpful and showed me where important stuff on the map was, and the owner took me down the main street to show me where convenience, grocery stores as well as the ATM with $$ dollars and Colones. I met a lot of interesting people from around the world. And it was nice to be able to walk around at night and feeling safe. Right by the bus stop and 2 big malls. Also they cooked me breakfast in the morning and had a blender and other things such as a rice cooker, to use. i slept good it was pretty quite at night, but there were still people walkin around.

Disliked: at first i had a little trouble with my key and the lock... but thats about it

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 July 2013

Liked: Safe, convenient location, feels like an old longer-stay student house.

Disliked: Worn-down. Bathroom not clean, holes in ceiling and floor. The staff did not leave professional impression.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly and helpful. Especially, the owner, Jonathan.

Disliked: The only bad part (and it is a small one) is that the hostel is across town from the bus stops and about 35 minutes by car from the airport. This is offset, however, by the fact that San Pedro is a cool area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrea Gonzalez-Karlsson

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 June 2013 Adrea would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and visitors are very friendly. This hostel is close to the University and therefore attracts many long term people and is a great place to stay while taking a course at the University or if just passing through for a night.

Disliked: Adrea left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Gonzalez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2013 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and nice atmosphere of this hostel. It is conveniently located in San Pedro, within the heart of bustling San Jose. It is near nightlife and shopping.

Disliked: I did not have any complaints. I needed to stay one night in San Jose to catch an early flight in the morning. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They helped me get to the airport on time and even recommended what to do while in San Jose.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Page

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 June 2013 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just outside the city center. Being close to the University of Costa Rica gives the barrio of San Pedro the feel of a small collage town. There is a great night life scene with a variety of watering holes to choose from. Castle Tam is very spacious with 2 kitchens and plenty of patio space for relaxing outdoors. The friendly staff is a real plus for everyone staying in the Castle.

Disliked: There is a very nicely painted sign outside announcing you have arrived at Castle Tam. The lights on this sign are not functioning, so if you arrive after dark, it might be a little hard to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Minshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2013 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, there was a good mix of backpackers, long term folks and knowledgeable staff to get advice on where to go in the city, the country and the region. The hostel was nice and quiet, but a group of folks went out on the town after a few drinks at the hostel. The design of the hostel was really cool with a lot of murals on the wall.

Disliked: Not enough bikini models

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jeff Bergquist

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located near cheap transport. Comfortable safe place at a very good price. Helpful english speaking staff.

Disliked: People that stay in hostels are often slobs who leave the common areas messy. Typical for hostels of this type.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe place a little bit away from the noise but you need to get a bus (50 cents)or taxi (6 US) to go to San Jose (center of the city) to connect you to other places.

Disliked: The rooms need serious fixing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent experience, close to vibrant university area and many food choices, knowledgeable staff, several gyms in area, great great great!

Disliked: n/a

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2012

Liked: Nothing really to like.

Disliked: This hostel is not in San Jose. It is located in a suburb of San Jose very far from the downtown area where bus stations are located. Any money saved from the price of a room is lost on high cost taxi rides.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Skinner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how the beds had curtains around them

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Sauer

Alone

Partying / nightlife

23 April 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: good, easy going staff, very open and willing to chill and swap stories with the lodgers

Disliked: the water pressure was a bit low in some of the bathrooms

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Amy Goldberg

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

06 December 2011

Liked: Some of the rooms are large with high ceilings. The rate fit my budget. The neighborhood was a bit shady late night but overall safety of the facility was good.

Disliked: The staff was woefully disorganized. My last day in C.R. they offered to arrange a day trip (a major purpose of my travel)- then neglected to follow through--or even communicate as much. No one could tell me anything until it was too late to make other plans. I was pissed to come so far (and at great expense) only to fail because of staff error. Another example: laundry service. It took a full day and most of the next...except they delivered the WRONG laundry and it took still more hours to straighten out. I was only in C.R. four days; way too much of it was wasted dealing with their incompetence. If you understand the limits of what you're buying, the place isn't horrible. The overall vibe wasn't awful; for my tastes it wasn't great either.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nantaa Masham

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011 Nantaa would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly atmosphere, helpful staff and it´s also well located. if you are looking for a clean and safe place to stay in san jose castle tam is probably what you´re looking for.

Disliked: nothing***

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011

Liked: They gave me my own keys.

Disliked: Filthy kitchen and shower. The private room they booked for me was improvised, looking like a storage room and a bad joke.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2011

Liked: wifi, tv in private room, cheap, big private room with spacious bathroom, clean kitchen

Disliked: we had a private bathroom could have been a hair salon. hair everywhere. towels and linen.... don't take a close look. it could be a good hostel if they would clean the place!