We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Nomadas Backpackers

Hostel | 125m Norte 100m Oeste del, Scotiabank de La Sabana, San Jose, Costa Rica 8831

91.2% Overall Rating

137 out of 142 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/06/2014)

Irene Ly thinks…

"I liked that the hostel felt like a home. It is ran by a family who lived upstairs from the hostel area. The place was clean, safe and not hard to find. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly,…"

Read all Hostel Nomadas Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Customers who cancel within 30 days will be charged 50% of the booking. A no show will incur a charge of the first nights stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Jose

Mi Casa Hostel
12.26 USD

Hostel 88.6% 3 reviews
Galileo Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 76.2% 41 reviews
Gaudy's Backpacker
13.00 USD

Hostel 80.0% 49 reviews
Hostel Casa Colon
17.00 USD

Hostel 89.2% 17 reviews
Aldea Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 88.0% 48 reviews
Posada el Quijote Country Inn
42.50 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hotel Capital
15.00 USD

Hotel 56.4% 12 reviews
Hotel Santo Tomas
25.15 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

137 out of 142 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Nomadas Backpackers'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 118 of 138 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irene Ly

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the hostel felt like a home. It is ran by a family who lived upstairs from the hostel area. The place was clean, safe and not hard to find. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly, giving up tips on the area, marking them out on the map he gave us. We were there for a quick overnight stay before leaving for La Fortnuna the next day in which the owner helped us book our ride there. Not a place to party but a great one for those needing a break in between to relax and chill.

Disliked: The bathroom facilities were outside of the main building. I disliked the idea of having to leave the building walk through the dark backyard to a separate building to use the toilet at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maximilian Freiermuth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Maximilian would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff!

Disliked: It can be hard to get in after 11pm...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small and family owned so family leaves right next to dorm rooms which keeps a low key atmosphere and without any party. So perfect for someone who wants quiet. Coffee in the morning was great eventhough the breakfast was very basic (toast and juice). They provide towel which is very nice so don't have to carry wet towel later. Close to San Jose stadium and about a good 35mn walk to downtown. I was surprised that downtown was full of fast food (mc do, subway, pizza hut...) worse than in the States. Very disappointed with the city. Skip this stop if you don't have a great reason to go there and enjoy time in other nicer places! They have a bus schedule printed which is helpful. Cheapest to go there from airport is taking bus $2 ( red and white) right outside the airport but on the street so few yards away. Taxi would be about $20-25. ( see directions on their site) Be ready to be approached by a lot of taxi as you exit ( some non official taxi that I would avoid).

Disliked: Shower didn't work inside so had to use outside shoer facility. Hostel is not the easiest to find ...many of the houses have same black gates!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It feels safe & secure.

Disliked: Have to disturb owners to get in. Dorms only available.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and welcoming - took us to the airport rather than us needing to organise a taxi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived like a zombie after several delayed and cancelled flights, and was made to feel at home straight away. Gabriel couldn't do enough to help me get organised for the next leg of my trip, which was a huge relief. It was a great stopover in San Jose thanks to Nomadas - an airy and relaxed home from home :-)

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

thomas deverson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2014 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay in San Jose. Super safe area and easy walk into central area. Really quite residential area, no street noise, close to shops. Staying here changed my opinion of San Jose for the positive. Run by a husband and wife who are so friendly and knowledgable and just hungout and chatted. The most hospitable backpackers I have stayed at!

Disliked: thomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and super helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charlotte rogers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful husband-wife team. Nice, clean and quiet place.

Disliked: charlotte left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014

Liked: Owner Gabriel really help me in all my trip around costa rica and was really nice!!!

Disliked: No 24h reception like it said on the site, but close at 11pm. there are 3 showers, 2 cold and one 'not cold'... for the whole hostel...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very safe and calm

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul mcquade

Alone

Business / conference

03 August 2013 paul would recommend this property

Liked: good mattress, hot water & clean bath room, kitchen good

Disliked: paul left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Workman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, Gabriel and Magdelena are wonderful hosts. Felt so at home here, in a very nice area of San Jose. Will be coming back soon.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gabriel and Magdalena were the most lovely people! Always happy to help, offer advice, or just have a conversation. The rooms were cool, clean and comfortable and the bathrooms were clean too. The kitchen facilities were fine and the added security of the gate out the front was comforting.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a family run hostel and I had a great time there. The hostel is not far from the central bus station; it was a $4 cab ride. Shops and restaurants are about a 15 minutes walk from the hostel. There is a lovely park where I went running some days that is practically across the street. I heard a story later from someone that had gotten mugged there but I felt entirely safe there during the day. The hostel is a 30 minute walk or a 15 minute bus ride to the downtown area where the bigger attractions of San Jose are. There is a art museum that is closer to the hostel that is free on Sundays. The couple that runs the place speak both English and Spanish and are very helpful and friendly. Kitchen, wifi and tv room were useful. Stayed in a dorm room that was clean and satisfactory. Same with the bathroom. Would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: The gate was a little inconvenient but no biggy. I understand it's for safety purposes.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family that runs this place is extremely nice and helpful. My friend and I shared a private room for two. We enjoyed the hammocks on the porch and the board games. There was also Wifi, a computer to use and a collection of helpful Costa Rica guidebooks. Great value for the price!

Disliked: San José was definitely not our favorite place to visit in Costa Rica, but we did feel safe at the hostel itself. There was only cold water for showers, but we'd still recommend the place for short stays!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are so welcoming and helpful. the place has a very homely feel, we had a lovely stay!! We were going to Colombia after and being Colombians, they gave us many recommendations and advice for the trip, extremely helpful!!! They also offer a service to drive you to the airport which was great for us

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shane Higgins

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2013 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome! The amenities were great, the room was clean and private, the atmosphere was great, HUGE book exchange. Can't fault it!

Disliked: Nothing, this place was the best!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALLEN D. CREW

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2013 ALLEN D. would recommend this property

Liked: Nomadas Hostel is a clean quiet Hostel..and is in a good area of San Jose C.R. There are Supermarkets nearby..and buses run regularly downtown..There is also a large park that has a large pond,

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Very bad directions made it difficult to find. Owners obsessed with switching off as many lights as possible. They literally asked me 3 times if they could switch off the lights in the main room while I was watching tv or using my phone in the evening. Having paid $30 for the night I didn't want to sit in the dark. One of the owners literally followed me to my room switching off lights I'd only just switched on. It didn't seem to occur to them I might be collecting something from my room. If they have issues with people using the lighting they've provided perhaps they should install energy saving lights. There was no lock on my door so I didn't feel my things were safe. Also no hot water in the en suite shower. The property is gated so you need to ring the bell for entry which is a bit inconvenient. Quiet hostel. No real atmosphere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013

Liked: Very friendly and helpful owners. A good kitchen. Quiet safe-feeling neighbourhood.

Disliked: Depends on how close you want to be to downtown. Room was next to kitchen with a window out to the terrace where people stood to smoke. It was just bunk beds, although comfortable matresses.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathias Hentrich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012 Mathias would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, especially the atmosphere! I traveled two years around the globe and stayed in more than 300 hostels - this one is in my Top 3!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDABLE!!

Disliked: Mathias left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Toby Dawson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Toby would recommend this property

Liked: Gabriel and his wife are very friendly and helpful, feels like a home away from home

Disliked: Toby left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Cookson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: lovely owner, friendly, ready to give maps and info on san jose. good location, very easy from airport and quick cheap bus to down town, much nicer and safer than staying downtown

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.