HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses

Hostel | 50 mts after Selvin´s Rest, Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica -

88.0% Overall Rating

30 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/08/2013)

Nick Ricci thinks…

"Friendly folks working there. Nice little hut we stayed in had its own kitchen and shower, with really good pressure. Location was right across the street from a very good restaurant, especially for…"

Read all Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 55.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Viejo de Talamanca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca

Mar Y Sol Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Caribe
10.90 USD

Apartment 95.6% 11 reviews
La Ruka Hostel
10.90 USD

Hostel 78.9% 5 reviews
CARIBLUE BEACH & JUNGLE RESORT
33.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.8% 21 reviews
Hotel Sibu
31.79 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Se Ua Manzanillo
9.99 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Cabinas Bucus
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

30 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Renee Gunn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2014 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, cabana style rooms in the middle of the jungle

Disliked: $10 taxi ride out town, thought it was closer

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014

Liked: The manager was friendly. It was close to the beach and the jungle.

Disliked: It was not clean. Countertops in communal kitchen, cutting boards, bathroom floors and porous concrete sink countertops in bathroom impossible to clean. Fans are filthy and sometimes don't work. The place needs more and brighter lighting. Bungalow floors are uneven with spaces between planks. It needs a major overhaul. Clean towels would be nice as well as clean dish clothes--the rags were filthy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are extremely helpful and sincerely want you to have a great stay.

Disliked: Could be cleaner

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nick Ricci

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly folks working there. Nice little hut we stayed in had its own kitchen and shower, with really good pressure. Location was right across the street from a very good restaurant, especially for Caribbean food. Could have used coffee either for free or even for purchase in the morning----would have been nice. Water there is not drinkable, however. Punta Uva, however, is not really a great place, as the infrastructure is weak (internet was out both days we were here). beach is highly over-rated---much washed-up debris. medium dark brown sand, fairly thin beach area. yes, it is somewhat scenic, but not compareable to many hundreds of other places, if not thousands. I would recommend the property, though.

Disliked: could us morning coffee.....

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is really cute and it is directly across the street from Punta Uva which is a less crowded beach that is just as nice as Puerto Viejo.

Disliked: You can not drink the water, which we hadn't been told and someone in my group got really sick. Also there were no places to eat near by (a number of places were closed for vacation) so the only option was to walk a way to a grocery sote.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juan Jose Ramos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2013 Juan Jose would recommend this property

Liked: In the middle of the jungle. 25 mts from the best beach in Puerto Viejo. Amazing place

Disliked: Juan Jose left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

dana Holubarova

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 February 2013 dana would recommend this property

Liked: relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Brian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, the "open-air" design was cool

Disliked: It's a long way from Puerto Viejo! But i knew that before booking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lisa Bosma

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

07 December 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: It were nights in the jungle but you just needed 3 min. to the very beautiful beach. Es war wie eine Nacht im Baumhaus mitten im Dschungel dabei brauchte man nur 3 Minuten zum echt tollen Strand.

Disliked: Man musste 5000 colones für die schlüssel bezahlen, wenn man mit seinem Geld haushalten muss wäre es schon nett gewesen wenn man das vorher gewusst hätte.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: House was awesome, everything you'd need. Loved the location, chill part of town a bit away from the crazy tourism of puerto viejo but really close to the beach, and a fun bike ride from everything.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: gorgeous place, good facilities, manager was really helpful!!

Disliked: we were confused to find out it wasnt in puerto veijo as expected but punta uva is great too, bit pricey for just a bed!!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012

Liked: Very close to the beach

Disliked: Hostel staff was friendly, but very badly organized, giving us misleading information about buses timeschedule and opening hours of places to visit nearby. We were unable to book any tour there and left this place after three days haven't seen anything. Rooms were not cleaned during our stay. We had open air bathroom and we had to clean our shower from animals' excrement every day. The roof was leaking during the rain and raindrops were falling on my face when I was having a sleep in my bed. They had few problems with electricity and hot water during our stay. Bikes we decided to rent from the hostel were in very bad condition.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simon pesant-lacombe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2012 simon would recommend this property

Liked: really nice hostel minute away from the caribbean beach! safe if you have car, clean, could be a bit expensive for some people who travel cheap but worth all the money i spent!!!!!!!! mucho gusto

Disliked: ...........

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Kennedy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very nice, rustic hostel on the edge of the jungle, with a beautiful beach over the road approximately 100m away. It is completely open which gives it a authentic feel. The mother & daughter who run the hostel are very helpful & friendly, and also speak very good English!

Disliked: Alan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mohammed elsayegh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 mohammed would recommend this property

Liked: natural - clean - friendly

Disliked: after 10 PM you will have to take a taxi 10 dollar each way to buy just a bottle of water. everything shuts down so early!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a nice place! Great character, right inside the jungle and the most beautiful and clean beaches are a 30 second walk away. I recommend taking the Manzanillo tour with Sergio. It was really cheap and we saw so much (kayak, snorkeling and a hike). Amanda was so nice too. I really wish I could{ve stayed there longer. Next time I´m staying in punta uva the entire time.

Disliked: No computer to use (but it did have free wifi)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Wheeler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Great chilled out hostel that is a nice alternative to the Puerto Viejo scene. Amanda is very helpful and friendly. Very comfortable and within a few minutes walk of beautiful Punta Uva beach.

Disliked: Joe left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's secluded and peaceful location in the jungle but close to the beautiful beaches of Punta Uva.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Krug

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2012 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Great atmosphere, caribbean style houses, big communal area, kitchen is fully equipped, staff is veery friendly.

Disliked: Dennis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannes De Caluwe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2012 Hannes would recommend this property

Liked: I love that it's really open, the staff is really friendly, the bike is perfect to get around, the location is beautiful, the hostel even has its own guitar to jam on!

Disliked: it's too perfect, any hostel after this one you will dislike hehe

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Raybin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 March 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The property is in the middle of the jungle in Punta Uva potentially one of the most beautiful lush places I have been in the world. The staff is great and extremely helpful. They have bike rentals available so you can ride into Manzanillo or Porto Viejo. They are truly passionate about people enjoying their time and if you are looking for a very mellow place to recharge your batteries I wouldn't recommend anywhere else on the Caribbean side.

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Amy Duffield

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 March 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: It was next to the most beautiful beach and the owner was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: It was too open, the mosquito net did not fit around the bed and the window was wide open for any insects to fly in. Outdoor bathrooms.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Courtney Basanovic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012

Liked: This hostel has a great feel about it - eclectic vibe with hammocks everywhere and a nice collection of relics. The staff are super friendly and always around to chat to and help organise things for you.

Disliked: Unfortunately what let it down was the cleanliness, in particular the kitchen and rooms. Also it is open air so there are ALOT of bugs and it is unavoidable even with the nets around the beds. The water tanks ran out of water a couple of times during our stay but were fixed within a couple of hours. Be aware that the hostel is very far out from town so unless you want to cook all your own meals you must pay $10 each way for a cab or ride 7km in to town this takes about half an hour.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were super friendly & helpful. The hostel itself is really beautiful & in such a nice quiet location.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Maria was extremely helpful in planning my excursions in the area. It was easy to rent bikes to go into town and to book tours right in the hostel. She gave great advice on restaurants and bus schedules. I also liked the location because it was very quiet/peaceful and a two minute walk to the Punta Uva beach. Even though the bedrooms were open air, we didn't have any issues with mosquitos.

Disliked: Not much to say here.