We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Monteverde, Costa Rica

99.0%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Historias Lodge Monteverde

Guesthouse
Cerro Plano, Monteverde, Costa Rica 60109

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Historias Lodge Monteverde

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Bruce Thomson
With my spouse / partner
Relaxation/spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Bruce would recommend this property 04 March 2015

Historias was just what we wanted. We felt closer to Costa Rica by staying there. The rooms were more than adequate for our needs. The staff was pleasant and especially Alba was VERY helpful arranging local activities. Great value for us. Bruce & Peggy

Claire Mohr
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Claire would recommend this property 04 December 2010

The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. They went out of their way to help us organise activities and transport. They were also good for advice on which companies to use. The rooms were a great size with an enormous bathroom. Very comfy beds. More than we could have asked for!

97.5%
16 reviews Book Now 
2

Cabinas Eddy

Hostel
Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica 0

15 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cabinas Eddy

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 100% Facilities - 97% Safety - 96%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 100%
Reem Matloob
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Reem would recommend this property 17 March 2015

The owners of this hostel are very nice and helpfull. I wish them only the best of luck with their hostel.

Rochelle Roberts
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Rochelle would recommend this property 08 January 2015

Super clean, beautiful looking inside with all the wood panelling, the owner is super friendly and really helpful, pointing out all the good things to do in the area. The room was really nice (we had a private with bathroom), with towels provided. Wifi was strong throughout the building. Breakfast looked delicious but we didn't get a chance to have any because we had to rush out the door each morning for our busy schedule!! Out of 50 hostels I've stayed in this would have to be the best for cleanliness and in the top 10 for most helpful! I would definitely recommend staying here- fantastic value for money!

92.7%
49 reviews Book Now 
3

Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast

Guesthouse
Santa Elena Monteverde, Monteverde, Costa Rica 506

41 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 96%
Nancy Bent
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Nancy would recommend this property 08 July 2015

Great accessibility to Santa Elena! Desk staff (Jose Ventana) extremely helpful and willing to book tours not only for us but for family members at a different hotel.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 03 June 2014

Wonderfully helpful staff. Good facilities. The kitchen/dining area is great for meeting new people over coffee or board games, plus it has huge windows with a view of the mountains, just perfect. Right next to two cheap but delicious sodas.

91.9%
42 reviews Book Now 
4

Hostel Cabinas El Pueblo Monteverde

Hostel
2 min walk from Santa Elena, 50m South West Supermarket, 100m from Bar amigos, Monteverde, Costa Rica .

41 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Cabinas El Pueblo Monteverde

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 97% Facilities - 92% Safety - 90%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 92%
Yannick Rome
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Yannick would recommend this property 29 January 2015

Le patron freddy nous a super bien accuilli, on se sent comme a la maison apres 5 minutes en plus il est situer juste au centre ville franchement parfait

Nicholas Lamothe
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Romantic getaway
97.1%
Nicholas would recommend this property 09 August 2014

Fredy, the innkeep is very sweet, he would occasionally knock on our door to offer to see animals that were around the hostel or free activities to do during down times. It was SUPER clean, they pick up every day. The free morning breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hostel. Not the place to party because you are fined if you make noise after 10 but its the best place to kick back and relax after activities.

90.4%
16 reviews Book Now 
5

Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Guesthouse
Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica .

14 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 95% Facilities - 83% Safety - 88%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 93%
Whitney Curtis
With my spouse / partner
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Whitney would recommend this property 29 July 2014

We loved the hospitality at Rustic. Jose is so warm and friendly and went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. When we realized we needed cash for our shuttle to Manuel Antonio before we left he personally drove me to the ATM. He was full of advice and activity suggestions and always had a warm smile on his face. The hotel is very quaint and peaceful. The breakfast is simple (eggs, fruit and toast) and delicious - very fresh ingredients. I told them I couldn't eat bread (I'm gluten free) and one day he even included plantains with my breakfast - it was very sweet. Overall, the experience was lovely and in a great location, we walked into town everyday :)

yvonne carroll
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
yvonne would recommend this property 13 May 2014

it was slightly out of town, so it was quiet. the manager was very helpful in arranging tours and giving advice. the rooms were comfortable and clean.

90.2%
121 reviews Book Now 
6

Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel

Hostel
Santa Elena, Opposite El mundo Los insectos, Monteverde, Costa Rica 119

113 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 95%
Elaine Byrne
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Elaine would recommend this property 26 March 2015

Big room which was cleaned daily. Big breakfast which included eggs, toast, fruit, cereal and tea/coffee. Helpful staff who booked tours and transfers. Quiet at night. Great value for money.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Relaxation/spa
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 05 January 2015

Our first room smelled disgusting because of the mould at the walls. Anyway, the staff offered us a different room for the next day, which was really nice. Good staff!!! Location is good and breakfast is okay (especially for the price)

87.1%
6 reviews Book Now 
7

Cabinas Tina's Casitas

Hostel
300m sw of the Supermarket, Monteverde, Costa Rica .

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cabinas Tina's Casitas

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 90% Facilities - 80% Safety - 86%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 90%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 15 August 2012

Great location, Friendly staff, Everyone knows them, Great rooms. Thank you Cabinas Tinas!

Bob Rohde
100.0%
Bob would recommend this property 24 September 2009

The accomodations are as good as you would find in a 5 star hotel at bargain basement prices. The staff are extremely helpful in booking all activities and travel arrangements. The hostel is close to town and the soda next door is as good as any that you would find in the rest of Costa Rica.

87.1%
135 reviews Book Now 
8

Cabinas Vista Al Golfo

Hostel
300m southeast of La Espera, Supermarket, Monteverde, Costa Rica .

130 out of 135 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cabinas Vista Al Golfo

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 91% Facilities - 86% Safety - 87%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 86%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 30 June 2015

Friendly staff. Only a few minutes walk from the shops etc but in a quieter location. Providing breakfast was a nice touch.

Madeline Simon
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Madeline would recommend this property 19 May 2015

Great hostel, it has a lovely view and a nice patio outside. There is a kitchen that you can use and a nice little lounge area.

86.9%
19 reviews Book Now 
9

Monteverde Sloth Backpackers

5 star Hotel
We are located after or down, the supermarket,(Supercompro), 100 mtrs Church Street direct, Monteverde, Costa Rica -506 2645 5793

17 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Monteverde Sloth Backpackers

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 85% Facilities - 86% Safety - 89%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 87%
Franceska Alexander
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Franceska would recommend this property 21 June 2015

Sloth Backpackers is really clean and well presented. Tvs in some rooms, as well as free unlimited coffee, tea, and wifi. Also serves a free breakfast (reasonable for amount you pay for room). HOT water, which is an amenity and hard to find in Costa Rica. Two nights and no bugs. Overall, great stay.

Elliot Webb
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Elliot would recommend this property 16 February 2015

Yorle was super helpful with helping me figure out my travel plans. The breakfast they offer is really good! The kitchen is good.

85.4%
10 reviews Book Now 
10

Hotel Jardines de Monteverde

3 star Hotel
Santa Elena De Monteverde,, Puntarenas, Monteverde, Costa Rica .

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Jardines de Monteverde

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 94% Facilities - 70% Safety - 90%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 80%
jyothi nadarajan
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
77.1%
jyothi would recommend this property 05 March 2013

We were offered the larger suite upstairs with balcony at a reasonable price. The larger suite upstairs was beautiful and spacious. The view was great if you ignore the large pylon. There is a hammock available on the balcony and seating to sit and enjoy a beautiful sunset.

Customer review
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 04 August 2009

Great Value,great location, really lovely garden, beautiful view. The staff was very helpful. I would recommend it to friends and family.

Monteverde

18 Hostels from 10.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Monteverde hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Monteverde. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.