HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Faro Beach Hostel Manuel Antonio Hostel

Carretera hacia el Parque, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 63%

Location 94%

Safety 69%

Staff 66%

Value 60%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Manuel Antonio?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 63%

Location 94%

Safety 69%

Staff 66%

Value 60%

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: close to the beach, very inexpensive

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Property is very close to Manuel Antonio park and Playa Espadilla.

Disliked: Property looks old and cleanliness seem to be an issue. For the same price - if there is another hostel - one can consider the other hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The swimming pool was a great advantage and the location is awesome. It's close to everything one needs! National parc, beach, supermarkets, etc.

Disliked: The rooms were small and functional, however, pretty is something else.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location near the national park and also near the beach was great.

Disliked: The matresses were children models, so they were so worn out (of course when adults sleep on them), that I used 4 (!!!) and still you felt the wood under you (I weight 65 kg). I dont expect luxurious matresses in a hostel, but at least adult models should be standard.I booked a girls dorm and due to catastrophal organisation I had to move the room as I wanted to sleep, because they put a mixed group in my room (instead of puting them in another room, there were plenty empty, they insisted that I had to move). The next evening they repeated it and also put another mixed group in my room, again right before I wanted to go to bed. I protested to move again and with a pissed look at their face they reorganized it.There were so many rooms empty and it wasnt complicated but they still managed to ignore what you booked. If you cant manage to organize female or male dorms, then dont offer it. Its that simple.Plus: You just have WIFI Signal in front of their reception and not at the dorms or the chill out area. That was quiet uncomfortable, but at least they had Wifi.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Swimming pool and location

Disliked: Noisy, dirty, un private , wristbands mean nothing- locals in and out of property, naked people in pool at all hours and the fridge was a horror scene. Just very unkept for the price ...

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location

Disliked: It was very dirty. Even the mattresses were dirty and the sheets were to small. The door to the doorm was always open and unlock during the night. Anyone could get in and out. I felt far from safe and secure.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location to national park

Disliked: Security, atmosphere, cleanliness

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff… They were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. Some of the nicest staff I ever met.

Disliked: The restrooms were clogged and not cleaned at some times.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating


10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There pool a common areas are really good. You can see the cinema from the pool.

Disliked: There is too much hot inside the rooms. I couldnt sleep weel because of this.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The swimming pool, plus it is close to the beach

Disliked: Late check-in, and the room (reminded me more of a military dorm) was not even ready yet

Check Availability