We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Faro Beach Hostel

Hostel | Carretera hacia el Parque, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica -

71.8% Overall Rating

38 out of 54 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

"The staff… They were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. Some of the nicest staff I ever met."

Read all El Faro Beach Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Manuel Antonio?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Manuel Antonio

Hotel La Colina
36.73 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Villas Lirio
108.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Backpackers Manuel Antonio
12.00 USD

Hostel 81.6% 93 reviews
Pura Vida Mini Hostel - Manuel Antonio
15.00 USD

Hostel 87.1% 4 reviews
FlorticaHostel
10.90 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sol y Mar Backpackers
12.00 USD

Hostel 69.4% 25 reviews
Hotel Villa Teca
80.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostel Vista Serena
11.50 USD

Hostel 88.7% 101 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.8%

Overall Rating

38 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Faro Beach Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
68.0%
Value
68.0%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 54 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014

Liked: Location to national park

Disliked: Security, atmosphere, cleanliness

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff… They were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. Some of the nicest staff I ever met.

Disliked: The restrooms were clogged and not cleaned at some times.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jesús Barrio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2014 Jesús would recommend this property

Liked: There pool a common areas are really good. You can see the cinema from the pool.

Disliked: There is too much hot inside the rooms. I couldnt sleep weel because of this.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lena Felber

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2014 Lena would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, they had an openair cinema at night which was really cool!

Disliked: Really simple rooms but for a few days you don't need more.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Camilla Pelliccia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014

Liked: The swimming pool, plus it is close to the beach

Disliked: Late check-in, and the room (reminded me more of a military dorm) was not even ready yet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Second trip to stay here, great location off the noisy main road, attractive pool area with hammocks, tables, chairs, 10 minute walk to beach , office is right next to the National Park ticket office. Great early morning wildlife watching looking up into the trees surrounding the back of the property- lots of colorful birds and occasional monkeys in huge tree in the distance, while drinking the free coffee. Air conditioning worked well in the very basic but clean room with clean sheets on old foam double bed mattress, usefull tall shelving unit. The twin rooms have regular matresses. Great helpful freindly staff, free outdoor movies nightly. Sad for the howler monkeys -- each time when there was a large boom went off The Hunger Games the howlers over in the National Park would roar in protest. Good electrcal outlet for charging. We had a discrepancy between price we reserved on Hostelbookers and the price actually being charged, but management gave us the Hostelbookers price and then updated Hostelbookers page. AC room now $45 instead of $35. There may be other $45 AC rooms around Manuel Antonio but this still place still gives access to all the other benefits of staying here so we will be back for a third stay next year.

Disliked: Locals from San Jose (?) partying by the pool on weekends very loudly, kids loud, ignoring pool rules running jumping etc. But during the week all is tranquillo. . Double Rooms with AC have walls that allow ALL sounds to pass between neighbors so if you are a light sleeper bring your ear plugs.. There were plumbing problems in shared bathrooms that took some time to fix but finally were. As in other places observed in Costa Rica they use a too small waste line size imho.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014

Liked: ........

Disliked: I stayed at a single room,the room without a window and very small.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 March 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Very noisy during the night, It was very difficult to sleep. Its very hot inside the bedrooms, completele impossible to stay indise during the day. Very expensive comparable to the services offered.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location of the Hostel is excellence. It is just a 2 Minute Walk from the Beach und directly next to the national park. The hostel has a open kitchen, which is nice.

Disliked: Smoking is prohibited which is totally fine but it should be the same rule for everBody!! It was very annoying to be the only person to be sent off the property whilst the staff was smoking there all the time! Furthermore, they weren't very friendly concerning this topic

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Gillian Clutton

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2014

Liked: There is a pool, movies playing outside every night, and great location. After a mistake with out booking we were put in a "luxury apartment" that was very nice and had a comfortable bed.

Disliked: A mistake was made with our booking, but I received email confirmation that it was taken care of. When we arrived, the receptionist didn't have a room available for our second night and would not deal with the problem professionally. They tried several times to charge me more than the price on Hostelbookers. The beds in the dorms and private rooms are VERY uncomfortable, and have a communal bathroom even with the private room. The staff seemed incompetent every time we dealt with them, and I did not receive any sincere apology- rather they wanted to know if I was impressed with the luxury apartment. The apartment has a killer view, however construction workers started above us at 6am. Not a great place to stay unless you don't mind a piece of foam for a mattress.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Can't be closer to the park, private room clean, showers and toilets clean

Disliked: Very thin walls, bar plays loud music all day long

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rob Maas

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 January 2014 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: location and pool

Disliked: the 'bar' If you have a bar DO something with it, the bar is dead, make some promotions, light some candles or do some food deals with the also dead restaurant infront. the kitchen 2 burners for +/- 120 persons?

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 January 2014

Liked: Very close to Manuel Antonio park

Disliked: Rooms are actually containers - if you don't have air conditioners in the room it is impossible to stay between 8am-8pm. The walls are made of thins sheets of wood over metal - not ideal in a tropical climate. Also during high season this place is popular among local tourists - expect hordes of kids taking over the pool and latin music blasting 24/7

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the park, friendly staff

Disliked: room smelled strongly of smoke, even though there are no smoking signs all over the property, beds weren't super comfortable, very open air and able to hear absolutely everything from all of the other rooms, and construction on the property work me up very early each morning, around 5:30am.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: movies at night.. pool

Disliked: bed was really hard..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Tetley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: unbeatable location to the national park, the rooms are secure and have a storage unit. big pool and fast wifi

Disliked: no real atmousphere to the place (maybe as I stayed duribg rainy season). hardest matresses imaginable. paper thin walls!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No comment to do, this place is perfect for travellers and families!

Disliked: nothing? !

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jiarui wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 jiarui would recommend this property

Liked: The place to stay in Manuel Antonio! 2 min walk from the National Park, and 5 min to main streets. Really nice atmosphere, and I met a lot interesting ppl around the world. They also have movie played every night right next to the swimming pool. Just Awesome!

Disliked: maybe a little bit of expensive. 12 bucks per night in a 12 ppl room but I dont mind that much.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

dana Holubarova

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the booked room was full ,the staff told us we have booked it for another daz, finallz after arguments we received other two rooms, we had to apply for already payed breakfast, because the staf told us that we have to pay it because it was not included in the price . After showing them the booking condition in our e mail, they apologized and gave it to us.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

01 January 2013

Liked: The location is prime for the national park (which you must enter to get to the best beaches in the area). However, there are so many taxis and regular local buses in the area it really wouldn't be inconvenient to stay further away from the park even if you don't have a car.

Disliked: The rooms get ridiculously hot during the day because the walls are just metal sheets on the exterior with dry wall on the interior. The interior walls do not go all the way up to the metal roof which means you can hear everything going on in about 2 or 3 rooms each way. The floors are concrete that have unfortunately been painted red. This is unfortunate because the paint rubs off onto your feet and shoes. Frankly the construction is a bit makeshift, there's a walk downstairs and across the courtyard for the restrooms which isn't a big deal, except that its uncovered and the rain sort of floods the walkway. I'd only recommend this place if your looking for a facility that's a step above camping. I didn't feel like it was particularly safe, since its wide open and anyone can walk into the pool area/bathrooms. It's cool that they offer movies, but 2 out of 3 nights it wasn't working properly. Wifi is certainly a plus though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location right next to the national park, had all the facilities you would need in a hostel.

Disliked: The wi fi was poor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassandra Grimm

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2012 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: There's a restaurant and bar if you don't want to leave, but lots of restaurants nearby. It's extremely close to Manuel Antonio National Park and our stay was hassle-free with lots of cool people to meet.

Disliked: There wasn't always hot water in the showers. However, it was usually pretty hot outside so a cold shower was refreshing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ted Dahlstrom

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

24 August 2012 Ted would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great! A pool at a hostel is always a bonus, but it was even better because the staff was so friendly. The food was good and it was a great value, just like the room. For $13, you can't go wrong by staying here. And being so close to the park and the beach makes the stay even better. i would definitely return.

Disliked: I wish the wifi was a little better. It cut in and out a lot. And the food was not exceptional, but it was definitely good for the price. From what I read online, the place used to be a lot worse, so I will give them a break while they work out the kinks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: felt compelled to write a review after reading some of the past ones which granted are old, but almost dissuaded me from staying here...but the pictures and location won me over...glad i trusted my gut. they must have made some big changes or something because this place was awesome -- big enough so you could have your own space but plenty of room and common areas to meet others. i stayed in a dorm and it wasn't full due to it being low season so had no trouble sleeping or with noise. the key thing it was so clean, have been in a lot of other hostels in central america that struggled with this, so it was a nice breath of fresh air. literally this place is next door to the park so was perfect for getting an early start. lots of memories, am actually traveling down to panama with some friends i made here. the food in the restaurant was actually really good too and well priced, usually like to cook on my own but it was nice to have a big breakfast before the park.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

THOMAS HOVINGTON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

29 March 2012

Liked: proximity of beach and the park.

Disliked: Mattresses and pillow are mouldy. Information from the staff for activity or other destination is really bad.