We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Vista Serena

Hostel | 150 mts north of Escuela de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica .

91.4% Overall Rating

104 out of 111 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2015)

"Very nice location for sunset, About 15 min by bus to manuel antonio national park"

Read all Hostel Vista Serena reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Manuel Antonio?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Manuel Antonio

Hotel Villa Teca
67.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Sol y Mar Backpackers
12.00 USD

Hostel 67.2% 26 reviews
Hotel Mandarina
53.68 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Pura Vida Mini Hostel - Manuel Antonio
8.00 USD

Hostel 78.8% 7 reviews
Backpackers Manuel Antonio
12.00 USD

Hostel 78.3% 97 reviews
Hotel Villas Lirio
108.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
beachpacker
12.10 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Natural Pacific Suites
27.50 USD

Hotel 97.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

104 out of 111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Vista Serena'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 89 of 98 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location for sunset, About 15 min by bus to manuel antonio national park

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Miriam Schneider

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2015 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: I booked the 10 bed dorm - note: it is NOT a 10 bed dorm it is a 18 bed dorm (apparently the owner has told this hostelbookers a few times but it´s not been changed yet) so just be aware of this when you get there. I was able to change into a 4 bed dorm, with fan and a/c which was really nice and felt super safe just next to the reception. The bathroom is superclean as well which I loved. Kitchen is well staffed with all you need. The view really is incredible

Disliked: For some reason I though this was closer to Manuel Antonio. You have to hop onto a bus (every 20min) to get there though. Still nicer than staying in Quepos I figured. Also the next ATM is about a 20min walk down the road - but e.g. in Manuel Antonio town itself there are none at all that I could find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dusanka Skrbic

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2015 Dusanka would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Amazing view, big apartment, kind and helpful staff,....

Disliked: Dusanka left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vincent Robichaud

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2015 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: Sun set view is awsome

Disliked: Lots of Ants in the bathroom

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

xiaoxin gu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 xiaoxin would recommend this property

Liked: great view!!! free breakfast.... quiet....

Disliked: the big dorm room is a bit far away from common area.... cold shower..... very basic room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very relaxed and the staff was helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gijs Overgoor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2015 Gijs would recommend this property

Liked: The view and the people, both amazing

Disliked: Super warm rooms and no lockers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rochelle Roberts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 Rochelle would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing view!! Friendly staff, good location on the main road, 10mins bus to Manuel Antonio. Breakfast is included!

Disliked: No wifi in the room, sandy floor and bathroom was not super clean (not terrible but not spotless).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, good view at the garden, nice location(5 minutes by walk from bus stop, 10 minutes for supermarket).

Disliked: Bedroom was not spacious but no problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cristina Gallinas Suazo

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

28 November 2013 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: It was very nice environment with amazing views.

Disliked: I don't wanna say anything bad

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Venus

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel...the stuff is super friendly and helpful...definitely recommended!

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view of the ocean and the lush vegetation are really incredible! The porch overlooking the view is also really comfortable. It's conveniently located to restaurants, super markets, and bus stops. They also had hot water which wasn't expected since many hostels that I've stayed at in Costa Rica don't have hot water.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Eichhorn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 October 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing view from the terasse

Disliked: Denise left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wunderschöne Aussicht vom Hostel. Die Privaten Zimmer sind wie ein kleines Appartment mit Küche und Fernseher.

Disliked: Das Frühstück bestand nur aus Toast und Kaffe. Für den Preis hätte ich mehr erwartet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my wife got lucky here, vista serena was actually double booked so we were transfered to Lumo Linda which was everything you could ask for and more! We practically had the apartment to ourselves so cooked dinner a few times in the fully equipped kitchen. Great views, lots of space in double rooms, great location.

Disliked: Nothing much really

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jean-Paul Meijnen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Jean-Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is beautifully located in the hills between uepos and Manuel Antonio national park, offering stunning sunsets when the sun sets in the Pacific. The on site restaurant provides very tasteful food for a good price.

Disliked: The reception could be more informative on how the hostel works. There's a lock on the refrigerator for the cool drinks and you have to find the receptionist to ask for a drink: didn't know that. Breakfast is not included, but they do provide coffee, toast and jelly: didn't know that. I advise the staff to provide this info when guests arrive at the property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel has an amazing view of the ocean and you can chill out in a hammock and watch the sunsets. There were people of all ages there, not only twenty year olds.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julie Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: The view! Amazing. Staff was also available most of the time and very helpful and nice. Mini restaurant in the reception building - good food such as tacos, burritos and nachos - and a full restaurant on the property. Ice cream, pop and beer is also available in the common area. There is also a handy store on the property. Fairly new I was told.

Disliked: I stayed in the 16 bed dorm - it could use some work. Had an ant problem and most of the lights didn't work. The mattress above me had noticable mold. The lockers had doors that had been bent open at some point. They need fixing or replacing. The shower in the main dorm also needs to be fixed up. BUT, it was $11.50/night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place. The view from the balcony has to be seen to be believed!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2012

Liked: Nice atmosphere and felt safe and secure. It was also clean, and the staff were helpful.

Disliked: Really the biggest issue is the location. There are other hostels closer to the park and the beach, and even hostels closer to the bus stop that takes you to these places. It would have been much nicer to be in walking distance from the park and beach.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view is absolutely serene and the morning breakfast was great too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the hammock porch overlooking the ocean. In the evenings everyone gathers out there to eat, maybe drink some beers from the bar, listen to great, chill music, and get to know each other. Everyone including the staff were incredibly friendly and laid-back. This is my favorite hostel I've ever stayed at, even though I had to share a room. I also liked having free calls to the U.S.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: when i checked in They did not tell me that the shower in my dorm doesn't work. i had to go to the main building to shower or down the stairs to a shower without the possibility to lock it. So the conditions with showers were awfull. The atmosphere were great. you can have some beer for a good price at the hotel bar and meet great people. but the hostel is situated far from the beach as well as from bars or clubs. but that is not that a big problem, because you have to walk just a few minutes to get to the busstation.

Disliked: when i checked in They did not tell me that the shower in my dorm doesn't work. i had to go to the main building to shower or down the stairs to a shower without the possibility to lock it. So the conditions with showers were awfull.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tolle Aussicht, nette Leute, freies Internet

Disliked: Gab nur eine Dusche im Zimmer für 12 Leute!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

chloe maurouxx

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 chloe would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing! Especially the American girl (can't remember her name) who was sitting with us, very friendly and helpful. The view was also very good!

Disliked: chloe left no negative feedback.