HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Vista Serena

Hostel | 150 mts north of Escuela de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica .

89.0% Overall Rating

92 out of 99 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/10/2013)

"The view of the ocean and the lush vegetation are really incredible! The porch overlooking the view is also really comfortable. It's conveniently located to restaurants, super markets, and bus stops. They also had hot…"

Read all Hostel Vista Serena reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Manuel Antonio?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Manuel Antonio

Hotel Villa Teca
60.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Sol y Mar Backpackers
12.00 USD

Hostel 69.4% 25 reviews
FlorticaHostel
10.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Mandarina
53.68 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Pura Vida Mini Hostel - Manuel Antonio
11.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpackers Manuel Antonio
12.00 USD

Hostel 81.6% 93 reviews
Hotel Villas Lirio
108.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel La Colina
36.73 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

92 out of 99 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Vista Serena'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 80 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cristina Gallinas Suazo

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

28 November 2013 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: It was very nice environment with amazing views.

Disliked: I don't wanna say anything bad

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Venus

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel...the stuff is super friendly and helpful...definitely recommended!

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view of the ocean and the lush vegetation are really incredible! The porch overlooking the view is also really comfortable. It's conveniently located to restaurants, super markets, and bus stops. They also had hot water which wasn't expected since many hostels that I've stayed at in Costa Rica don't have hot water.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Eichhorn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 October 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing view from the terasse

Disliked: Denise left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wunderschöne Aussicht vom Hostel. Die Privaten Zimmer sind wie ein kleines Appartment mit Küche und Fernseher.

Disliked: Das Frühstück bestand nur aus Toast und Kaffe. Für den Preis hätte ich mehr erwartet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my wife got lucky here, vista serena was actually double booked so we were transfered to Lumo Linda which was everything you could ask for and more! We practically had the apartment to ourselves so cooked dinner a few times in the fully equipped kitchen. Great views, lots of space in double rooms, great location.

Disliked: Nothing much really

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jean-Paul Meijnen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Jean-Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is beautifully located in the hills between uepos and Manuel Antonio national park, offering stunning sunsets when the sun sets in the Pacific. The on site restaurant provides very tasteful food for a good price.

Disliked: The reception could be more informative on how the hostel works. There's a lock on the refrigerator for the cool drinks and you have to find the receptionist to ask for a drink: didn't know that. Breakfast is not included, but they do provide coffee, toast and jelly: didn't know that. I advise the staff to provide this info when guests arrive at the property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel has an amazing view of the ocean and you can chill out in a hammock and watch the sunsets. There were people of all ages there, not only twenty year olds.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julie Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: The view! Amazing. Staff was also available most of the time and very helpful and nice. Mini restaurant in the reception building - good food such as tacos, burritos and nachos - and a full restaurant on the property. Ice cream, pop and beer is also available in the common area. There is also a handy store on the property. Fairly new I was told.

Disliked: I stayed in the 16 bed dorm - it could use some work. Had an ant problem and most of the lights didn't work. The mattress above me had noticable mold. The lockers had doors that had been bent open at some point. They need fixing or replacing. The shower in the main dorm also needs to be fixed up. BUT, it was $11.50/night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place. The view from the balcony has to be seen to be believed!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2012

Liked: Nice atmosphere and felt safe and secure. It was also clean, and the staff were helpful.

Disliked: Really the biggest issue is the location. There are other hostels closer to the park and the beach, and even hostels closer to the bus stop that takes you to these places. It would have been much nicer to be in walking distance from the park and beach.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view is absolutely serene and the morning breakfast was great too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the hammock porch overlooking the ocean. In the evenings everyone gathers out there to eat, maybe drink some beers from the bar, listen to great, chill music, and get to know each other. Everyone including the staff were incredibly friendly and laid-back. This is my favorite hostel I've ever stayed at, even though I had to share a room. I also liked having free calls to the U.S.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: when i checked in They did not tell me that the shower in my dorm doesn't work. i had to go to the main building to shower or down the stairs to a shower without the possibility to lock it. So the conditions with showers were awfull. The atmosphere were great. you can have some beer for a good price at the hotel bar and meet great people. but the hostel is situated far from the beach as well as from bars or clubs. but that is not that a big problem, because you have to walk just a few minutes to get to the busstation.

Disliked: when i checked in They did not tell me that the shower in my dorm doesn't work. i had to go to the main building to shower or down the stairs to a shower without the possibility to lock it. So the conditions with showers were awfull.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tolle Aussicht, nette Leute, freies Internet

Disliked: Gab nur eine Dusche im Zimmer für 12 Leute!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

chloe maurouxx

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 chloe would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing! Especially the American girl (can't remember her name) who was sitting with us, very friendly and helpful. The view was also very good!

Disliked: chloe left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conrad was so helpful and informative. Great vibe and great views

Disliked: a big hill up to the bus stop, not fun with a backpack

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gareth Crory

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: --the VIEW---!!

Disliked: ----THIRTEEN in the dorm---!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Hermon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2012 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful. Food very good value

Disliked: a little noisy from the drinking games of some of the guests

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, beautiful view

Disliked: Didn't like that we did not have a key to allow us to lock our room (We were only 2 people in a 4 person shared room)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: bit far from the beach

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful view, as the name describes.

Disliked: The ants in my bed.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An outstanding view, supportive staff. A great place to get to know lots of people. Excellent food and tours available.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and chill.

Disliked: The dorms are not super clean and the shower was not working. I recommend staying in the four-bed dorm rooms that are located in the main building.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome view. Full kitchen available for guests. Conrad or other staff member always available. 2 computers in reception area are equipped for Skype. Property offers free calls to the US. Near bus stop to get to Manuel Antonio National Park. Great price!

Disliked: Only cold water in the dorm room bathroom. I think the electric water heater on the shower head was broken; probably a temporary situation. There are other showers on site that likely have hot water. It´s a little away from the park, but really isn´t a problem since it´s near a bus stop.