We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Hostel | Opposite the Soccer field, in Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 0000

75.5% Overall Rating

90 out of 98 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/01/2015)

"Location is great. Busses to Manuel antonio NP and San Jose depart in front of the hostel. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Staff is in general friendly and helpful."

Read all Backpackers Manuel Antonio reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Manuel Antonio?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Manuel Antonio

Pura Vida Mini Hostel - Manuel Antonio
8.00 USD

Hostel 78.8% 7 reviews
Hotel Villas Lirio
108.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Sol y Mar Backpackers
12.00 USD

Hostel 67.2% 26 reviews
Hotel Villa Teca
67.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostel Vista Serena
11.50 USD

Hostel 91.7% 112 reviews
Hotel La Colina
23.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Mandarina
53.68 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hostel Plinio
13.00 USD

Hostel 80.5% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.5%

Overall Rating

90 out of 98 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers Manuel Antonio'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
80.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 81 of 91 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2015

Liked: That we were able to get refound

Disliked: The room was disgusting, it was full of mosquitos. The door handle was loose

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Reem Matloob

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 March 2015

Liked: The price

Disliked: The location, the rooms, the breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. Busses to Manuel antonio NP and San Jose depart in front of the hostel. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Staff is in general friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast is very limited (two slices of melon and one small pancake). Hostel advertises free calls (of 10mins) to foreign countries but they were not able to make it work in our case.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

allison farnham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2014 allison would recommend this property

Liked: Super short walk to 2 different super markets and the bus stops right in front of the hostel.

Disliked: Dorms are very crowded, not many bathrooms, kitchen gets really overcrowded at busy times, wifi only works in reception area, breakfast is weak

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. clean and affordable

Disliked: it's pretty perfect as a backpack hotel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

28 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, mid-way between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. Grocery stores right across the street. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast was quite minimal, consisting of pancakes and tea/coffee, with no fruits. Quite loud at night, with noise from the main road.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Mortensen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: I could not have been any more excited to be in Manuel Antonio and arriving to this hostel increased my excitement that much more! They had an incredible restaurant affiliated with them right above and you even got a discount; the food was amazing! The owner of the hostel welcomed and made us feel very invited and helped us with our questions, made sure we had everything we needed, and kindly showed us to our room. We stayed in an 8 person dorm and it was very spacious, super clean, breakfast is included, TONS of fans, comfortable beds, had lockers, and the whole shabang! I really enjoyed how everything was outside at the hostel; sitting area, kitchen, etc. (and there weren’t bugs, score). The property was very large and even had a pool with an incredible view of the ocean! We only stayed a night at this hostel but we would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone coming to Manuel Antonio. It is a bit far from town but it was a perfect workout/walk into town for us and when we got lazy we just paid the 70 cent bus fare back to the hostel. Overall, great stay!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie McDonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The guys working on the reception desk are fantastic! The location is really good and the rooms are nice and clean. I really liked this hostel.

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice & clean place, friendly staff and good atmosphere! Well located in Manuel Antonio, very close to the supermarket

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, pool with a view, pool bar, lots of outdoors space with hammocks and swings. Great price for everything that is included!

Disliked: We didn't get breakfast one morning - it just wasn't there, nor was there anyone at reception to call us a cab to get to our flight.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2013

Liked: It's in a good location in that it's pretty close to the beach.

Disliked: It's not clean. The sheets were really, really gross.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

JENNIFER DORAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012

Liked: It had a pool, with a nice view of the ocean. Free breakfast is included.

Disliked: Unfortunately staff weren't particularly friendly when I compete them with staff at all the other places I've stayed at on this trip. There was nothing superior about our 'superior private room' - it was as basic as a backpackers room gets. The sheets felt waxy and were practically yellow. Please note that this backpackers is not in the centre of Manuel Antonio - it's a 3km / half hour walk to the town / beach. Although, there are frequent busses that run you in for half a dollar.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good atmosphere, cool and helpful staff and great idea with the pancakes for breakfast

Disliked: Music sometimes too loud, and speakers are very close to dorms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is almost exactly between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, the bus stop is right in front of the hostel and it is a very clean and convienient place to stay, I met some really great amigos at this hostel highly recommended!

Disliked: Do not expect anything special in regards to the pancakes and coffee they offer, both are limited in taste and availability.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful, the computers offered free wifi.

Disliked: For the amount that my boyfriend and I paid for a private room we were unimpressed. The bathroom was beside our room but it smelt like sewage, and the shower would stop working mid-shower, or it was start sparking... not exactly a comforting feeling. We had "ac" in our room which didn't really work, and there was never any breakfast even though breakfast was supposed to be included. We also had the bedroom right beside reception which was extremely loud if you wanted to sleep in, and there was a table right outside our window where people would like to sit and smoke, making our room smell like stale cigarettes. There are better places to stay in manuel antonia that are cheaper and closer to the beach, don't waste your money here.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel, with a handy bus stop right outside which takes you to the beach and national park every 20 minutes. Free wifi, pancakes for breakfast and a pool- whats not to like!

Disliked: there's no bar, but this means you can bring your own alcohol, which is cheaper- so actually this isn't a bad thing at all!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Trevor Barton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to book, Bus station was right there as well as a store and resturants. They were very friendly.

Disliked: The rooms were really hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really affordable, fiendly environment, they are flexible with clients leaving us with a great feeling, the location is just in the middle of Quepos (the head town) and Manuel Antonio (the beach) which makes it really good to move around. I would definitely recommend this place if an economic place needed.

Disliked: Breakfast is free, yes that's true, you have to prepare your own pancakes by yourself, it is ok, however I was expecting some sort of service as the way it was advertised I ended up buying my own breakfast, but again it is fine because there is a supermarket, bakery, cafés and restaurants really close, with just 5 bucks you can get a very good breakfast. Other thing is that they should make the room #4 (right next to the computers) a little more private, people using the computers can see inside the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norwin Balitán

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Norwin would recommend this property

Liked: It is really affordable, fiendly environment, they are flexible with clients leaving us with a great feeling, the location is just in the middle of Quepos (the head town) and Manuel Antonio (the beach) which makes it really good to move around. I would definitely recommend this place if an economic place needed.

Disliked: Breakfast is free, yes that's true, you have to prepare your own pancakes by yourself, it is ok, however I was expecting some sort of service as the way it was advertised I ended up buying my own breakfast, but again it is fine because there is a supermarket, bakery, cafés and restaurants really close, with just 5 bucks you can get a very good breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andris Reinholds

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Andris would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good swiming pool, free WI-FI

Disliked: Andris left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eline Bongers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Eline would recommend this property

Liked: Nice view, nice breackfast and open kitchen with views on the jungle!

Disliked: Smelly pool, could not swim in it

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Malgorzata Szajwaj

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: It wasn't very clean. You had to make your own bed sheets and take them down again by check-out. The pool was located far away from the main area, was very small and didn't look very clean either. The dishes in the kitchen were not clean and there was no soap to wash them with. We had to ask the staff and they were not very friendly about it. You can find nicer hostels in the area for cheaper price.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Elyse Semelman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2012 Elyse would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, and neat perks like one international phonecall a day. Close to grocery store and several restaurants. Hot showers!

Disliked: Elyse left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zoltan albrecht

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 February 2012 zoltan would recommend this property

Liked: Very very good everything.

Disliked: Only I don't like Costa Rica,,,very very expensíve. Where we are living in middle of Europe is more cheaper! This hostel is very good,location,clean,friendly!I think the best choise in Manuel Antonio.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice pool and view

Disliked: There is no oil, salt and pepper provided in the kitchen