HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Backpackers Manuel Antonio Manuel Antonio Hostel

Across the Soccer field in Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 72%

Location 78%

Safety 81%

Staff 81%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 10.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Manuel Antonio?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 72%

Location 78%

Safety 81%

Staff 81%

Value 78%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: That we were able to get refound

Disliked: The room was disgusting, it was full of mosquitos. The door handle was loose

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The price

Disliked: The location, the rooms, the breakfast

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location is great. Busses to Manuel antonio NP and San Jose depart in front of the hostel. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Staff is in general friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast is very limited (two slices of melon and one small pancake).Hostel advertises free calls (of 10mins) to foreign countries but they were not able to make it work in our case.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Super short walk to 2 different super markets and the bus stops right in front of the hostel.

Disliked: Dorms are very crowded, not many bathrooms, kitchen gets really overcrowded at busy times, wifi only works in reception area, breakfast is weak

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location, mid-way between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. Grocery stores right across the street. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast was quite minimal, consisting of pancakes and tea/coffee, with no fruits. Quite loud at night, with noise from the main road.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location. clean and affordable

Disliked: it's pretty perfect as a backpack hotel

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I could not have been any more excited to be in Manuel Antonio and arriving to this hostel increased my excitement that much more! They had an incredible restaurant affiliated with them right above and you even got a discount; the food was amazing! The owner of the hostel welcomed and made us feel very invited and helped us with our questions, made sure we had everything we needed, and kindly showed us to our room. We stayed in an 8 person dorm and it was very spacious, super clean, breakfast is included, TONS of fans, comfortable beds, had lockers, and the whole shabang! I really enjoyed how everything was outside at the hostel; sitting area, kitchen, etc. (and there weren’t bugs, score). The property was very large and even had a pool with an incredible view of the ocean! We only stayed a night at this hostel but we would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone coming to Manuel Antonio. It is a bit far from town but it was a perfect workout/walk into town for us and when we got lazy we just paid the 70 cent bus fare back to the hostel. Overall, great stay!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The guys working on the reception desk are fantastic! The location is really good and the rooms are nice and clean. I really liked this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice & clean place, friendly staff and good atmosphere! Well located in Manuel Antonio, very close to the supermarket

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great atmosphere, pool with a view, pool bar, lots of outdoors space with hammocks and swings. Great price for everything that is included!

Disliked: We didn't get breakfast one morning - it just wasn't there, nor was there anyone at reception to call us a cab to get to our flight.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability