HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Hostel | Opposite the Soccer field, in Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 0000

81.6% Overall Rating

87 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/12/2013)

"Good location, mid-way between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. Grocery stores right across the street. Staff were friendly and helpful."

Read all Backpackers Manuel Antonio reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Manuel Antonio?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Manuel Antonio

Pura Vida Mini Hostel - Manuel Antonio
8.00 USD

Hostel 87.1% 4 reviews
Hotel Villas Lirio
108.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Sol y Mar Backpackers
12.00 USD

Hostel 69.4% 25 reviews
FlorticaHostel
10.90 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Villa Teca
65.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostel Vista Serena
11.50 USD

Hostel 88.8% 100 reviews
Hotel La Colina
36.73 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Mandarina
53.68 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

87 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers Manuel Antonio'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. clean and affordable

Disliked: it's pretty perfect as a backpack hotel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

28 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, mid-way between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. Grocery stores right across the street. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast was quite minimal, consisting of pancakes and tea/coffee, with no fruits. Quite loud at night, with noise from the main road.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Mortensen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: I could not have been any more excited to be in Manuel Antonio and arriving to this hostel increased my excitement that much more! They had an incredible restaurant affiliated with them right above and you even got a discount; the food was amazing! The owner of the hostel welcomed and made us feel very invited and helped us with our questions, made sure we had everything we needed, and kindly showed us to our room. We stayed in an 8 person dorm and it was very spacious, super clean, breakfast is included, TONS of fans, comfortable beds, had lockers, and the whole shabang! I really enjoyed how everything was outside at the hostel; sitting area, kitchen, etc. (and there weren’t bugs, score). The property was very large and even had a pool with an incredible view of the ocean! We only stayed a night at this hostel but we would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone coming to Manuel Antonio. It is a bit far from town but it was a perfect workout/walk into town for us and when we got lazy we just paid the 70 cent bus fare back to the hostel. Overall, great stay!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie McDonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The guys working on the reception desk are fantastic! The location is really good and the rooms are nice and clean. I really liked this hostel.

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice & clean place, friendly staff and good atmosphere! Well located in Manuel Antonio, very close to the supermarket

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, pool with a view, pool bar, lots of outdoors space with hammocks and swings. Great price for everything that is included!

Disliked: We didn't get breakfast one morning - it just wasn't there, nor was there anyone at reception to call us a cab to get to our flight.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2013

Liked: It's in a good location in that it's pretty close to the beach.

Disliked: It's not clean. The sheets were really, really gross.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

JENNIFER DORAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012

Liked: It had a pool, with a nice view of the ocean. Free breakfast is included.

Disliked: Unfortunately staff weren't particularly friendly when I compete them with staff at all the other places I've stayed at on this trip. There was nothing superior about our 'superior private room' - it was as basic as a backpackers room gets. The sheets felt waxy and were practically yellow. Please note that this backpackers is not in the centre of Manuel Antonio - it's a 3km / half hour walk to the town / beach. Although, there are frequent busses that run you in for half a dollar.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good atmosphere, cool and helpful staff and great idea with the pancakes for breakfast

Disliked: Music sometimes too loud, and speakers are very close to dorms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is almost exactly between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, the bus stop is right in front of the hostel and it is a very clean and convienient place to stay, I met some really great amigos at this hostel highly recommended!

Disliked: Do not expect anything special in regards to the pancakes and coffee they offer, both are limited in taste and availability.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful, the computers offered free wifi.

Disliked: For the amount that my boyfriend and I paid for a private room we were unimpressed. The bathroom was beside our room but it smelt like sewage, and the shower would stop working mid-shower, or it was start sparking... not exactly a comforting feeling. We had "ac" in our room which didn't really work, and there was never any breakfast even though breakfast was supposed to be included. We also had the bedroom right beside reception which was extremely loud if you wanted to sleep in, and there was a table right outside our window where people would like to sit and smoke, making our room smell like stale cigarettes. There are better places to stay in manuel antonia that are cheaper and closer to the beach, don't waste your money here.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel, with a handy bus stop right outside which takes you to the beach and national park every 20 minutes. Free wifi, pancakes for breakfast and a pool- whats not to like!

Disliked: there's no bar, but this means you can bring your own alcohol, which is cheaper- so actually this isn't a bad thing at all!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Trevor Barton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to book, Bus station was right there as well as a store and resturants. They were very friendly.

Disliked: The rooms were really hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really affordable, fiendly environment, they are flexible with clients leaving us with a great feeling, the location is just in the middle of Quepos (the head town) and Manuel Antonio (the beach) which makes it really good to move around. I would definitely recommend this place if an economic place needed.

Disliked: Breakfast is free, yes that's true, you have to prepare your own pancakes by yourself, it is ok, however I was expecting some sort of service as the way it was advertised I ended up buying my own breakfast, but again it is fine because there is a supermarket, bakery, cafés and restaurants really close, with just 5 bucks you can get a very good breakfast. Other thing is that they should make the room #4 (right next to the computers) a little more private, people using the computers can see inside the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norwin Balitán

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Norwin would recommend this property

Liked: It is really affordable, fiendly environment, they are flexible with clients leaving us with a great feeling, the location is just in the middle of Quepos (the head town) and Manuel Antonio (the beach) which makes it really good to move around. I would definitely recommend this place if an economic place needed.

Disliked: Breakfast is free, yes that's true, you have to prepare your own pancakes by yourself, it is ok, however I was expecting some sort of service as the way it was advertised I ended up buying my own breakfast, but again it is fine because there is a supermarket, bakery, cafés and restaurants really close, with just 5 bucks you can get a very good breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andris Reinholds

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Andris would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good swiming pool, free WI-FI

Disliked: Andris left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eline Bongers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Eline would recommend this property

Liked: Nice view, nice breackfast and open kitchen with views on the jungle!

Disliked: Smelly pool, could not swim in it

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Malgorzata Szajwaj

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: It wasn't very clean. You had to make your own bed sheets and take them down again by check-out. The pool was located far away from the main area, was very small and didn't look very clean either. The dishes in the kitchen were not clean and there was no soap to wash them with. We had to ask the staff and they were not very friendly about it. You can find nicer hostels in the area for cheaper price.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Elyse Semelman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2012 Elyse would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, and neat perks like one international phonecall a day. Close to grocery store and several restaurants. Hot showers!

Disliked: Elyse left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zoltan albrecht

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 February 2012 zoltan would recommend this property

Liked: Very very good everything.

Disliked: Only I don't like Costa Rica,,,very very expensíve. Where we are living in middle of Europe is more cheaper! This hostel is very good,location,clean,friendly!I think the best choise in Manuel Antonio.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice pool and view

Disliked: There is no oil, salt and pepper provided in the kitchen

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Kitchen area with a fantastic view!!

Disliked: too many beds in the dorm, only 2 showers

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pancakes! And the views...plus comfy bed.

Disliked: Was quite quiet but might have just been the time we stayed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, great location (in the middle of Quepos and MA, but buses come by every 20 mins for 50cents USD ride, very convenient)

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Bhabha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.