We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in La Fortuna, Costa Rica

98.6%
4 reviews Book Now 
1

Pura Vida Guesthouse Hostel

Guesthouse
Arenal Volcano National Park, El Castillo, La Fortuna, Costa Rica N/A

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Pura Vida Guesthouse Hostel

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 95% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 100%
Steven Rockett
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation/spa
94.3%
Steven would recommend this property 12 August 2013

Basic but clean & more than adequate. However, the host, Mikey completely made the stay. His sole purpose was to ensure we had the best experience, which he delivered and more. Such a great, friendly and warm host. Can't speak highly enough.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 01 December 2012

Had an awesome time at this little gem of a guesthouse-hostel. The owner was very welcoming and knowledgable about the area. Onsite spa services were fabulous and economical. Robin was very helpful in booking area tours. It was a great value and I had a great time.

95.9%
167 reviews Book Now 
2

Arenal Backpackers Resort

Hostel
P.O. Box: 6824, 350 mtrs West to the Church, La Fortuna, Costa Rica 1000

151 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Arenal Backpackers Resort

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 95% Safety - 97%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 96%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 09 January 2015

the pool and slacklines were really cool. It was nice that it was really really secure and they provide free parking. Happy hour was alright, decent prices considering how expensive La Fortuna is. Dorms were really clean.

Wenna Hicks
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Wenna would recommend this property 08 June 2014

Amazing atmosphere, good entertainment in the wvening! Comfy beds and a great pool!

91.3%
40 reviews Book Now 
3

Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel

Hotel
El Castillo, La Fortuna, Costa Rica 1000

35 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 99% Facilities - 88% Safety - 93%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 88%
Courtney Mcguire
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Courtney would recommend this property 05 January 2013

After a very long trip the staff were warm and welcoming. The views are amazing. The walk to the farm was spectacular. The food was delicious and well worth the cost.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 15 November 2012

I liked the location in the National Park, away from the touristy La Fortuna. Staff, food and rooms are just incredible and absolutely worth the money.

90.0%
24 reviews Book Now 
4

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Hostel
100mts north from Popular Park, La Fortuna, Costa Rica N/A

22 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 95% Facilities - 85% Safety - 90%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 86%
Laura honickberg
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Laura would recommend this property 04 February 2015

The staff here are absolutely fantastic, the best I've come across on this trip, they were incredibly helpful and caring. The location is great, it has a lovely bar and nice hot water showers and the sister place down the road has a little pool. I liked everything about this place but especially the staff.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 21 January 2014

amazing staff, amazing garden, a ferfect stay! one of the most beautiful hostels i've seen ;)

89.1%
10 reviews Book Now 
5

Hotel Fortuna

3 star Hotel
One block south, of the gas station, La Fortuna San Carlos Costa R, La Fortuna, Costa Rica .

10 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Fortuna

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 92%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 19 June 2011

This a hotel not a hostel so you get treated as such. It was nice and clean, the staff were extremely friendly, not only helping when needed but sitting down and suffering through our bad spanish for a chat. The cable tv was a highlight after so long on the road.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 01 April 2011

It's great value for money, but if you're lookíng for a place to find new friends or party you might consider booking a hostel instead. I wanted a good nights sleep in a comfy bed and a clean private bathroom and found just what I needed for a low cost. The wifi in my room was very slow, but there are computers downstairs in the lobby and perhaps it's faster down there (I never gave it a try because I didn't consider it much of a problem).

88.9%
67 reviews Book Now 
6

Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Hostel
Arenal Volcano Area, La Fortuna, Costa Rica 4417-75

60 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 92% Facilities - 85% Safety - 89%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 87%
Michael Fielding
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Michael would recommend this property 26 February 2013

Miguel and Carmen are the owners and staff. They do an excellent job of keeping the property clean pretty and both are very welcoming and kind.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 11 April 2012

Carmen and Miguel, the owners, were wonderful. The grounds were clean, well landscaped and pleasant. It was close to the La Fortuna Catarata (waterfall) - so we hiked there - fantastic place.

88.1%
35 reviews Book Now 
7

Arenal Hostel Resort

Hostel
100 m al Oeste, de la Plaza de La Fortuna, La Fortuna, Costa Rica .

33 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Arenal Hostel Resort

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 84% Facilities - 83% Safety - 94%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 85%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 27 July 2014

We had an amazing time! The staff were so helpful and friendly, the facilities were very clean, and it has a very central location which made it easy to get around town. The hostel is also absolutely beautiful; it's tempting just to stay there for the whole visit! I absolutely would recommend it to anyone traveling to Arenal.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Romantic getaway
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 30 May 2014

Staff was amazingly helpful and took care of planning tours, transportation, etc.

85.1%
15 reviews Book Now 
8

Sleeping Indian Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Costado Oeste del Correo, La Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna, Costa Rica -

13 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sleeping Indian Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 86% Facilities - 77% Safety - 88%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 80%
John Andru
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
John would recommend this property 13 January 2015

Smaller hostel, less guests allowed for more meaningful interaction good location friendly staff

Samantha McNeilly
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Samantha would recommend this property 04 December 2012

We had a great time at the Sleeping Indian! Gerald and Pete were very friendly and always ready to help with reservations and advice. It's in a great location, close to some really great restaurants and shops, located on a fairly quiet street.

84.9%
83 reviews Book Now 
9

La Choza Inn

Hostel
Side northwest of the Park, 300 meters West, La Fortuna, Costa Rica .

75 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend La Choza Inn

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 86% Facilities - 84% Safety - 89%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 84%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 23 February 2015

People at the hostel were friendly and helpful in booking excursions and transport to other areas of the country.

Darren Elsden
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Darren would recommend this property 25 February 2014

This place is perfect! One of the best hostels we've ever stayed at (and we've stayed at A LOT). Great kitchen fully stocked, a big machine with instant cold and hot water, big dining area. Rooms were quite big and amazingly clean all the time, the staff never seem to stop cleaning all day. Staff are very friendly and love to have a laugh. Location is great, 2 minute walk from centre of town, but on a dead end street so its very quite at night. We stayed here for 4 nights and wanted to stay longer just for the hostel.

84.4%
15 reviews Book Now 
10

Hostel Posada Inn

Hostel
250 meters east of Central, Park Main Street., La Fortuna, Costa Rica 506

12 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Posada Inn

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 89% Facilities - 78% Safety - 90%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 78%
Richard Lodge
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Richard would recommend this property 16 October 2012

Carmen was an excellent host and made our stay comfortable. Breakfast was great.

Alexander Guibelalde
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Alexander would recommend this property 01 June 2012

Carmen is amazing. She helped us with everything we needed. This a budget place with simple rooms.

La Fortuna

23 Hostels from 9.16 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated La Fortuna hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in La Fortuna. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.