We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Arenal Hostel Resort

Hostel | 100 m al Oeste, de la Plaza de La Fortuna, La Fortuna, Costa Rica .

88.9% Overall Rating

32 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

"We had an amazing time! The staff were so helpful and friendly, the facilities were very clean, and it has a very central location which made it easy to get around town. The hostel is also absolutely beautiful; it's…"

Read all Arenal Hostel Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Fortuna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Fortuna

Hotel Central Loft
37.62 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Arenal Bromelias
32.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Sleeping Indian Guesthouse
22.28 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 14 reviews
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
10.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 19 reviews
Hotel Carlos Lodge
29.97 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HOSTEL ECOLOGICAL
9.08 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Fortuna
29.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 10 reviews
La Choza Inn
9.00 USD

Hostel 85.6% 79 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

32 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arenal Hostel Resort'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 34 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurianne Cyr-Tetreault

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2014 Laurianne would recommend this property

Liked: staff and bar

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had an amazing time! The staff were so helpful and friendly, the facilities were very clean, and it has a very central location which made it easy to get around town. The hostel is also absolutely beautiful; it's tempting just to stay there for the whole visit! I absolutely would recommend it to anyone traveling to Arenal.

Disliked: The hour water only lasted long enough for 1.5 showers back to back, so the second person had to shower cold for half of it. Considering the heat of Costa Rica though, it was sometimes refreshing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was amazingly helpful and took care of planning tours, transportation, etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessie Lin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Jessie would recommend this property

Liked: The place was extremely clean and great service. They undivided attention we received was awesome.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the company of the people staying there and the staff was extremely helpful finding things to do and booking transportation to other destinations. It was nice to have a kitchen where you could store and prepare your own food. The bean dip was amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cheuk Pan Fung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Cheuk Pan would recommend this property

Liked: The Location is close to everything and very close to the bus stop, so it's very easy to find it. Great highspeed wifi, the staff are friendly.

Disliked: there should be more sockets around all the beds. I was sleeping in the middle, the sockets are too far for me to charge my phone or laptop.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything besides the music

Disliked: Hostel music was too noisy after 9pm, sometimes it continued past 11pm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Murray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean, spacious, tours easily organised, easy to meet othet travellets.

Disliked: No hot water!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, nice room.

Disliked: No hot water in the shower. The door to the bathroom is like a saloon door. Service was not proactive at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The layout is great and perfect for soializing and meeting other travellers, or for laying out in a hammock or rocking in a rocking chair solo. The host Jesse is informative and friendly. The hostel can help you arrange tours and they offer a few free ones of their own. We were more than impressed by our stay and made many new friends from around the world. I highly reccommend Arenal Hostel Resort.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location but bar next door is loud.

Disliked: Staff more interested in selling tours, food and drinks than helping with the problems of our accommodations. Prices were MUCH higher at the hostel and on hostelworld. Not sure why there is a $14 difference for double room online and at the hostel. Very loud until 10 pm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noamaan Nadeem

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2013 Noamaan would recommend this property

Liked: its a resort. get it.

Disliked: Noamaan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

edward wightwick

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2013 edward would recommend this property

Liked: The room was large, clean and ensuite. There was a well stocked bar and the security was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful and the cafe produced good food with a wide variety of choice. The Hostel was convenient for all the local sightseeing activities.

Disliked: before we unpacked we were being enthusiastically being encouraged to take up tours organised by the Hostel representative.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristie Jeffrey

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Kristie would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent central location. This was really a great place to stay

Disliked: Kristie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a nice pool and common space outside. It is right downtown and if was high season would probably have a good enviroment going on.

Disliked: They try to sell you everything for more than necessary and its a bit tiring when the whole town is already like that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SARA BARNARD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 SARA would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere! Outdoor bar right next to the pool and very chill. They had a BBQ the night I stayed and it was really fun

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Domingo

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 December 2012 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and guests made our Xmas visit great. Couldn't have asked for a better place in La Fortuna. I would highly recommend this hostel for anyone

Disliked: Adrian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like an upscale resort right in the center of town!! Absolutely wonderful atmosphere. Staff are great.

Disliked: Can be a bit noisy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice garden with hammocks and swimmingpool, and some shadow to cool down Clean Nice staff

Disliked: Cleanliness in and state of the kitchen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xenia von Bünau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Xenia would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed the stay at the hostal

Disliked: the staff had described us the way to rio celeste and did not mentioned, that there will be no busses on sundays from the place, where we had to change the bus.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sarah Huxtable

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The pool, comfy beds, nice and chilled out atmosphere.

Disliked: As soon as we arrived a female member of staff would not leave us alone, and was desperately trying to get us to book up trips, even when we were clearly tired and wanting to just sort our stuff out. We were told that they had a new rule from the day we arrived that breakfast would be included but the price would be an extra $3. We weren't happy with this especially then the breakfast was a horrible bit of rubbery Toast and black coffee. We had to ask for milk. When we argued that the $3 was too much and we didn't want breakfast the next morning due to checking out early the same pushy female with too much attitude told us it was tough. Had to speak to someone else who agreed to let us pay the $10 agreed on my hostel bookers confirmation. I think they are trying to be greedy money grabbers!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was right in the heart of La Fortuna. Very close to many shops. and tour companies. Has a great view of the Arenal Volcano and really close (by taxi) to several hot springs. Banks are just around the corner.

Disliked: There was hot water but not powerful enough. No security lock box.