HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse Guesthouse

Left of the Post Office, 2nd Floor, La Fortuna, Costado oeste del Correo, planta alta La Fortuna, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 77%

Location 93%

Safety 88%

Staff 87%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 2,500.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Fortuna?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 77%

Location 93%

Safety 88%

Staff 87%

Value 80%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Smaller hostel, less guests allowed for more meaningful interactiongood locationfriendly staff

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Centrally located.

Disliked: We couldn't help feeling like we were funding the new gringo owner's vacation for him. He bragged to a friend in front of us about the commissions he was getting for activities we had asked him earlier about. We know this kind of thing happens, but he should at least not be so obvious about it. His food recommendation was for the most touristy spot in town and a little overpriced. He had a hissy fit when we hung something on a lamp and stormed into our room to remove it, claiming it was "highly valuable."

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: well equipped kitchen, clean, helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Clean, owner is helpfull and available

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: helpfull owner, great communal room.

Disliked: Make sure you don't get the windowless room with an air mattress.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were exceptionally helpful

Disliked: Could do with a bit of maintentaince

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We had a great time at the Sleeping Indian! Gerald and Pete were very friendly and always ready to help with reservations and advice. It's in a great location, close to some really great restaurants and shops, located on a fairly quiet street.

Disliked: The room was well kept, but the lighting wasn't great.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: As a single female traveler (taking a side trip from a business trip), I chose the Sleeping Indian for its value and because of the extraordinary reviews I read about the kind, welcoming, and exceedingly helpful host/owner, Gerald, on various sites (airbnb, hostelworld, hostelbookers, etc.). Even after reading these reviews, Gerald surpassed my expectations on every level. Gerald or his mother ("Mama") is at the guesthouse at all times--Mama does not speak much English so have some key phrases (or good gesturing skills) handy. Gerald speaks perfect English and was immensely helpful in planning my activities. He made calls to tour companies and got better prices than advertised for me and another guest at the house. He went above and beyond to find me a way to kayak in the lake (which was difficult because I was solo and it was low season). He accompanied me and another guest on a hike up Cerro Chato when an official tour was not available. He even took us to the public hot springs at night with a flashlight. He is extremely knowledgeable about the country, the flora, and the animals of Costa Rica and it is clear that he is passionate about them. He is not just doing a job and running a hostel; he is enjoying what he does and welcoming you into his home--country and house. I truly felt at home sitting on the couch at night with a cup of tea.The accommodations were simple and basic but clean and comfortable. No AC but there was a large fan--it got hot during the daytime but was cool and comfortable at night when I slept. (And I'm a hot sleeper!) My bed and pillow were comfortable, and I found that I had enough shelving/tables to put my stuff. (I hung wet clothes outside on the clothesline to dry.) Mama offered me coffee every morning, and the kitchen facilities were available to use. (Try water with chan seeds! Very refreshing and good for your digestive system.) I always felt safe and that my stuff was safe. The town was safe to walk at night, and the guest house is gated with a heavy duty lock.

Disliked: Some ants and mosquitoes, but those are everywhere in La Fortuna. Be careful of getting water in the bathroom when you shower--the shower door had some crevices when I was taking too long of a shower.Otherwise, no complaints. Everything I possibly needed was available, and Gerald made every effort to provide anything else I asked for!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The owner is a great and very helpful person. All his recommendations were great. The place is great value for money, safe and close to everywhere.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was good and was economically priced but as the saying goes you get what you pay for,

Disliked: The room really hot and stuffy only fan for air circulation as windows in room do not ope and matresses really lumpy and bad we looked under sheet and the mattress was really nasty after we found ticks in our covers most likely from the owners dog that hangs around the hostel. The loud street noise made it impossible to sleep.

Check Availability