HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sleeping Indian Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Costado Oeste del Correo, La Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna, Costa Rica -

85.1% Overall Rating

12 out of 14 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/12/2012)

Samantha McNeilly thinks…

"We had a great time at the Sleeping Indian! Gerald and Pete were very friendly and always ready to help with reservations and advice. It's in a great location, close to some really great restaurants…"

Read all Sleeping Indian Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.47

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Fortuna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Fortuna

Hotel Arenal Bromelias
30.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Arenal Hostel Resort
13.95 USD

Hostel 88.8% 29 reviews
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
11.62 USD

Hostel 90.4% 19 reviews
La Choza Inn
10.00 USD

Hostel 84.8% 77 reviews
Hotel Fortuna
34.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 10 reviews
Hotel Carlos Lodge
29.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HOSTEL ECOLOGICAL
8.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Las Colinas Arenal Hotel
40.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

12 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sleeping Indian Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
85.7%
Location
92.9%
Facilities
77.1%
Cleanliness
85.7%
Staff
85.7%
Value
80.0%
Safety
88.6%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 14 reviews
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2013

Liked: Centrally located.

Disliked: We couldn't help feeling like we were funding the new gringo owner's vacation for him. He bragged to a friend in front of us about the commissions he was getting for activities we had asked him earlier about. We know this kind of thing happens, but he should at least not be so obvious about it. His food recommendation was for the most touristy spot in town and a little overpriced. He had a hissy fit when we hung something on a lamp and stormed into our room to remove it, claiming it was "highly valuable."

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well equipped kitchen, clean, helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, owner is helpfull and available

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpfull owner, great communal room.

Disliked: Make sure you don't get the windowless room with an air mattress.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were exceptionally helpful

Disliked: Could do with a bit of maintentaince

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha McNeilly

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time at the Sleeping Indian! Gerald and Pete were very friendly and always ready to help with reservations and advice. It's in a great location, close to some really great restaurants and shops, located on a fairly quiet street.

Disliked: The room was well kept, but the lighting wasn't great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Kwan

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: As a single female traveler (taking a side trip from a business trip), I chose the Sleeping Indian for its value and because of the extraordinary reviews I read about the kind, welcoming, and exceedingly helpful host/owner, Gerald, on various sites (airbnb, hostelworld, hostelbookers, etc.). Even after reading these reviews, Gerald surpassed my expectations on every level. Gerald or his mother ("Mama") is at the guesthouse at all times--Mama does not speak much English so have some key phrases (or good gesturing skills) handy. Gerald speaks perfect English and was immensely helpful in planning my activities. He made calls to tour companies and got better prices than advertised for me and another guest at the house. He went above and beyond to find me a way to kayak in the lake (which was difficult because I was solo and it was low season). He accompanied me and another guest on a hike up Cerro Chato when an official tour was not available. He even took us to the public hot springs at night with a flashlight. He is extremely knowledgeable about the country, the flora, and the animals of Costa Rica and it is clear that he is passionate about them. He is not just doing a job and running a hostel; he is enjoying what he does and welcoming you into his home--country and house. I truly felt at home sitting on the couch at night with a cup of tea. The accommodations were simple and basic but clean and comfortable. No AC but there was a large fan--it got hot during the daytime but was cool and comfortable at night when I slept. (And I'm a hot sleeper!) My bed and pillow were comfortable, and I found that I had enough shelving/tables to put my stuff. (I hung wet clothes outside on the clothesline to dry.) Mama offered me coffee every morning, and the kitchen facilities were available to use. (Try water with chan seeds! Very refreshing and good for your digestive system.) I always felt safe and that my stuff was safe. The town was safe to walk at night, and the guest house is gated with a heavy duty lock.

Disliked: Some ants and mosquitoes, but those are everywhere in La Fortuna. Be careful of getting water in the bathroom when you shower--the shower door had some crevices when I was taking too long of a shower. Otherwise, no complaints. Everything I possibly needed was available, and Gerald made every effort to provide anything else I asked for!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is a great and very helpful person. All his recommendations were great. The place is great value for money, safe and close to everywhere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2011

Liked: Location was good and was economically priced but as the saying goes you get what you pay for,

Disliked: The room really hot and stuffy only fan for air circulation as windows in room do not ope and matresses really lumpy and bad we looked under sheet and the mattress was really nasty after we found ticks in our covers most likely from the owners dog that hangs around the hostel. The loud street noise made it impossible to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Brown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2011 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay with lovely people. We were made very welcome and enjoyed our time there.

Disliked: nothing