HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Choza Inn

Hostel | Side northwest of the Park, 300 meters West, La Fortuna, Costa Rica .

85.6% Overall Rating

71 out of 79 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2014)

Darren Elsden thinks…

"This place is perfect! One of the best hostels we've ever stayed at (and we've stayed at A LOT). Great kitchen fully stocked, a big machine with instant cold and hot water, big dining area. Rooms…"

Read all La Choza Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Fortuna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Fortuna

Hotel Carlos Lodge
29.97 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HOSTEL ECOLOGICAL
9.08 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
9.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 19 reviews
Las Colinas Arenal Hotel
40.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Central Loft
37.62 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Arenal Bromelias
32.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Arenal Hostel Resort
14.00 USD

Hostel 88.9% 34 reviews
Sleeping Indian Guesthouse
17.35 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

71 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Choza Inn'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 52 of 57 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well situated,friendly and clean

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2014

Liked: Nette mitarbeiter, sehr sauber, gutes Frühstück

Disliked: unhöflicher Manager

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darren Elsden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: This place is perfect! One of the best hostels we've ever stayed at (and we've stayed at A LOT). Great kitchen fully stocked, a big machine with instant cold and hot water, big dining area. Rooms were quite big and amazingly clean all the time, the staff never seem to stop cleaning all day. Staff are very friendly and love to have a laugh. Location is great, 2 minute walk from centre of town, but on a dead end street so its very quite at night. We stayed here for 4 nights and wanted to stay longer just for the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing, they really know how to run a great Hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tiffany Zoet

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2014 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice garden, good breakfast.

Disliked: The wifi was available, but it was impossible to connect, i think they purposely give the wrong access codep. Also, the person at reception will only accept cash.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here for two nights. The hostel is super clean, the cleanest on our trip so far. We stayed here an NYE and the family that owns the hostel had a party and let us drink and eat with them for free. The location is super quiet and super relaxing, not the typical party backpacker atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Denise Verdouw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2012

Liked: Friendly staff and nice to have breakfast included. They were very helpfull in organising some things.

Disliked: Their response on not having my reservation was odd (asking me for the booking number and how much I was supposed to pay). It wasn´t really a hostel, more like a hotel with some dorms. Therefore it didn´t really attract likeminded travellers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was only 7 dollars a night so you cannot beat that. We got our own private room and it was super close to everything! I would stay here again.

Disliked: It doesn't have a hostel atmosphere. The guests keep to themselves, so don't expect to meet new people.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Clayton Weir

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012

Liked: the tour company was helpful in correcting mistakes made with 2 of our tours booked with them close to town good view of the volcano

Disliked: was charged too much for the hot springs tour - don't book with eagle tours there was no boat on our 'jeep boat jeep' we had a 6am departure and they wouldn't give us breakfast roof leaked in the rain

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Whitney Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2012 Whitney would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay at La Choza. Our rooms had fans which was a huge plus. The breakfast was also great. We did find the sheets to be a bit dirty, or perhaps just old and very warn in. However for the price we paid it was worth it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The walls were also very thin which could have been hard to sleep in the hostel was packed. We were there in low season so not many people were there at the time.

Disliked: Whitney left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, friendly staff

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff. breakfast included. free internet and wifi and great value for money! Thanks.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are big and clean and the people at the reception are friendly and very helpful with all your concerns. They organised a trip for us and gave us tipps for the local buses to the volcano. The hostel lies in a quiet side road in 1-minute-walking-distance to the main road. We liked the breakfast and the beautiful towel- and paper-decorations on the bed and in the bathroom.

Disliked: The kitchen wasn't so well equipped and you sometimes had the feeling that you are in the private kitchen of the family that worked and lived there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is small and cute. It has all the necessary services and is relatively clean. Very cheap and exactly what we needed!

Disliked: A little off the main strip as far as location but we liked that!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Eagle Tour staff are excellent - really knowledgable and helpful. Everything they organised for me happened exactly as agreed and the tour guide I had for my one day combination tour was excellent (Juan Carlo)! It was a real bonus having Eagle Tours on site as I was only in La Fortuna for 48 hours so it was really helpful that I didn't have to spend half that time trudging round town to sort out what to do, transport, guide etc.

Disliked: Room and shower could have been a bit cleaner and security of room wasn't ideal (ground floor room with louvered windows which didn't shut properly, plus the glass in the second window was cracked all the way across so would have been easy to break in).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, close to bus station, clean place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kate Nickels

21 June 2010 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: we got a rooms with bunks and a cute balcony with some chairs, was nice to sit outside and relax. Right in the middle of town. Great kitchen facilities etc. Cheap and comfortable. Free internet, only 1 computer tho and a television.

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good size kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value with lots of amenities; Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, convenient to have the tour operators on location. The room was listed as having air conditioning, but upon arrival we were notified that AC would be $10 extra per night (fortunately we didn't need it). Also, the bathroom door did not have a latch, which was kind of strange. Otherwise very acceptable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Daniel Blazek

16 March 2010

Liked: Pretty good location and price. However lack of hot water and muddy road were turn-offs.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price. The dorms were a bit dodgy. Not super clean but what can you expect for $7. Some of the staff are friendly and very helpful, it just depends on which staff person you are speaking with. This is a fairly budget hostel.The INTERNET at the hostel doesn´t work.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very professional.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. Good deals on local tours thru the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jacob Dagger

08 June 2009 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms were disgusting, but the double rooms were nice. If you are looking for a dorm, it's simple--don't stay here. If you want a double with a private bath, it's great. The kitchen is well-stocked but absolutely filthy.

Disliked: Jacob left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Sander

02 May 2009 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, convinent location, with helpful staff with things to do in the area

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.