HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Cerro Chato Eco Lodge Guesthouse

Arenal Volcano Area, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 78%

Location 88%

Safety 86%

Staff 89%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Housekeeping
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Fortuna?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 78%

Location 88%

Safety 86%

Staff 89%

Value 86%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Miguel and Carmen are the owners and staff. They do an excellent job of keeping the property clean pretty and both are very welcoming and kind.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa

Liked: Carmen and Miguel, the owners, were wonderful. The grounds were clean, well landscaped and pleasant. It was close to the La Fortuna Catarata (waterfall) - so we hiked there - fantastic place.

Disliked: We were under the impression that breakfast came with the room, but it was $4 each.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owner, Miguel was so friendly and helpful. He had many stories which kept us thtoughly entertained! We enjoyed the gardens which encouraged lots of birds. We saw a pair of Toucans outside of our room in a Pomerack tree grooming each other. The dawn chorus included the howls of howler monkeys!

Disliked: The location is not ideal for anyone without a car. It was a long walk into La Fortuna. We had a car!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I deffinetly suggest this place if you are loking for a place to stay near to Arenal vulcano. The owner Miguel is a fantastic man.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff was AMAZING, very kind and very helpful. The breakfast was really good.

Disliked: There were a lot of bugs...bring repellant.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: cute little private cabins. super close to the waterfall. nice grounds and pool.

Disliked: open windows that can't be closed. got a little loud. would have been worse if we had loud neighbors. fortunately that wasn't the case.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The simplicity of the location- quiet, calm, peaceful. The owner, Miguel, is delightful and helpful. His wife Carmen is sweet and kind and a great cook. We appreciated this quiet location and good bargain. We had a shared bath/shower with another room, but it worked out great.

Disliked: I was asked to be out of my room by 10 on my checkout day because other clients were coming, but I think that when you pay for the night, you should be able to have your room til 11 at least. It wasn't terrible, but I still think that's reasonable.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a very quaint place with a beautiful garden, little pool, cute cabins, nice bathroom, ceiling fan, etc. It looks very well cared for. Not dumpy like many hostels I've seen. The owner was very helpful with a variety of questions.

Disliked: The worst was the 2 cockroaches that came to visit our room. But I suppose thats what you could expect staying in the rain-forest. It was also a longer walk from La Fortuna than I expected, walking there with heavy backpacks in the hot sun (the only sunny day we were there) was a bit much but doable.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability