HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Hostel | Arenal Volcano Area, La Fortuna, Costa Rica 4417-75

88.9% Overall Rating

60 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2013)

Michael Fielding thinks…

"Miguel and Carmen are the owners and staff. They do an excellent job of keeping the property clean pretty and both are very welcoming and kind."

Read all Cerro Chato Eco Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 50.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Fortuna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Fortuna

HOSTEL ECOLOGICAL
8.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Carlos Lodge
29.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
11.62 USD

Hostel 90.4% 19 reviews
Las Colinas Arenal Hotel
40.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Arenal Hostel Resort
13.95 USD

Hostel 88.8% 29 reviews
Hotel Arenal Bromelias
30.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Sleeping Indian Guesthouse
15.65 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 14 reviews
Hotel Fortuna
34.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

60 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cerro Chato Eco Lodge'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 55 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Fielding

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Miguel and Carmen are the owners and staff. They do an excellent job of keeping the property clean pretty and both are very welcoming and kind.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Carmen and Miguel, the owners, were wonderful. The grounds were clean, well landscaped and pleasant. It was close to the La Fortuna Catarata (waterfall) - so we hiked there - fantastic place.

Disliked: We were under the impression that breakfast came with the room, but it was $4 each.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janis Dubinskis

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Janis would recommend this property

Liked: I deffinetly suggest this place if you are loking for a place to stay near to Arenal vulcano. The owner Miguel is a fantastic man.

Disliked: Janis left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keith Farmer

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2012 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Miguel was so friendly and helpful. He had many stories which kept us thtoughly entertained! We enjoyed the gardens which encouraged lots of birds. We saw a pair of Toucans outside of our room in a Pomerack tree grooming each other. The dawn chorus included the howls of howler monkeys!

Disliked: The location is not ideal for anyone without a car. It was a long walk into La Fortuna. We had a car!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was AMAZING, very kind and very helpful. The breakfast was really good.

Disliked: There were a lot of bugs...bring repellant.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cute little private cabins. super close to the waterfall. nice grounds and pool.

Disliked: open windows that can't be closed. got a little loud. would have been worse if we had loud neighbors. fortunately that wasn't the case.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gregory D Neff

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

18 July 2011 Gregory D would recommend this property

Liked: The simplicity of the location- quiet, calm, peaceful. The owner, Miguel, is delightful and helpful. His wife Carmen is sweet and kind and a great cook. We appreciated this quiet location and good bargain. We had a shared bath/shower with another room, but it worked out great.

Disliked: I was asked to be out of my room by 10 on my checkout day because other clients were coming, but I think that when you pay for the night, you should be able to have your room til 11 at least. It wasn't terrible, but I still think that's reasonable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very quaint place with a beautiful garden, little pool, cute cabins, nice bathroom, ceiling fan, etc. It looks very well cared for. Not dumpy like many hostels I've seen. The owner was very helpful with a variety of questions.

Disliked: The worst was the 2 cockroaches that came to visit our room. But I suppose thats what you could expect staying in the rain-forest. It was also a longer walk from La Fortuna than I expected, walking there with heavy backpacks in the hot sun (the only sunny day we were there) was a bit much but doable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alyssa Evans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2011 Alyssa would recommend this property

Liked: Miguel and his family were wonderful hosts at Cerro Chato, the breakfast was the absolute best we had in Costa Rica, and the cabins were cute and cozy, perfect for our stay. Plus the ceiling fan was high-powered and really kept the room cool, which we were so grateful for. We would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Really nothing bad to say. It would have been nice if it was a tiny bit closer to La Fortuna, but we knew it wasn't directly in town. Plus it made the place prettier to be out of the town.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jean-Philippe Gendron

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Jean-Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere... Staff really fun and helpfull great view of the arenal volcano

Disliked: Nothing seriously

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Miguel and his wife are very friendly and helpful; the grounds are very pretty

Disliked: Nothing got dry (but that's going to be true probably anywhere you stay in the rain forest); there was just one bed in the room and nowhere to hang anything up really; it was a very minimal cabin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rube Geyer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 Rube would recommend this property

Liked: It is set in a nice garden, waking up to the birds in the morning! very peaceful. The owner and his wife is ABSOLUTELY AWSOME! So very helpful and friendly. I forgot my passport at another hotel and Miguel sorted everything out for me and called all the respective people. Best experience ever! The property is also not in the busy town of Fortuna and only 3 minutes by taxi for 2 dollars which is perfect.

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

colette Moroz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 colette would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, simple, and peaceful!

Disliked: All was great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice gardens, and natural settings. Helpful owners, and cute lodges.

Disliked: A bit of a walk to town, but not such a bad thing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janine Hoffmeister

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2010 Janine would recommend this property

Liked: Miguel was super friendly and his wife was lovely too.

Disliked: Nothing. It is budget accomodation but excellent value for money.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amy Elvidge

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

26 August 2010 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are nice little pritvate huts with a private bathroom with a very good shower. It is a nice quiet place out of the way of the noise of town. It has nice gardens with lots of butterflies and frogs at night! Miguel was very helpful and spoke good English. They have Wifi but no computers but you can walk to an internet cafe and supermarket in la fortuna 15mins away.

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frances Clouter

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2010 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: Cerro Chate Eco Lodge was such a friendly place to stay and Miguel and his family were very welcoming and so helpful. The accomodation was clean and you had everything you needed and the pool was an added bonus. The location was great and there was a good variety of tours avaliable. I loved it here and would definately go back.

Disliked: Frances left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Karane Williams

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

02 July 2010 Karane would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the individual cabinas. We originally paid for a shared cabina, when we arrived we were upgraded to a private cabina, at no extra charge. It was awesome to have our own space and it was a really cute little room with a private bathroom/shower.

Disliked: The internet area was out in the open...with bugs and other creatures flying around..I would have liked that it be inside with computers; luckily we brought our own!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kerstin Kuhl

28 April 2010 Kerstin would recommend this property

Liked: The accomodation was one of the best stays we had during our Costa Rica vacation! Miguel was very helpful and gave us all kind of tipps. The breakfast was the best we had!!! we just loved the Gallo Pinto here. The room was very clean and pretty. We will return for sure when we come to Costa Rica again!

Disliked: Kerstin left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

DAVID DUCLAUX

03 February 2010 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: nice room well located on the way to Cerro Chato

Disliked: DAVID left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

30 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Miguel was extremely helpful and responsive as was Carmen his wife and cook for meals onsite. The main issue I had was the location being on a typically bad Costa Rican road a good way from town and stores. The property is very nicely maintained and attractive. It is a better choice for people with their own car.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Tran

02 January 2010 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the staff is friendly. The only complaint I have was the water. A pipe broke down the road so we didn´t have water during our stay. Overall a great deal for your money.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 December 2009

Liked: Miguel is so friendly and a great host. You can also hike to the Fortuna Waterfall in about 45 minutes from here which was cool. It is about a 3 dollar taxi ride into La Fortuna town. The bed we had was not that great, so we didn´t get a great sleep. If plan on going to the hot springs at Tabacon, you´ll pay a premium here, and if you are a couple, you may find it more worthwhile booking a room at the luxurious Tabacon resort for the night and using their hot springs for free. But, if you are planning to go to any of the other hot springs, Miguel will hook you up good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gordana Tasner

19 August 2009 Gordana would recommend this property

Liked: It has very nice garden and pool and the nature arround is great, but you need to take taxi to La Fortuna, not too far. No AC in room only ventilator.Breakfast is not included and it is not wort the money you paid. Menager is helfull.

Disliked: Gordana left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Miguel is extremely helpful and generous with information on the surrounding area. His wife's breakfast was fantastic. The location is a bit of a walk from town, but if you're looking for rustic qualities this is a great choice. You get your own cabina on beautifully manicured grounds (pool, included) and the view of Arenal is lovely. Take some time to speak with Miguel, if you have the chance.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.