We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Arenal Backpackers Resort

Hostel | P.O. Box: 6824, 350 mtrs West to the Church, La Fortuna, Costa Rica 1000

96.8% Overall Rating

145 out of 161 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2014)

Wenna Hicks thinks…

"Amazing atmosphere, good entertainment in the wvening! Comfy beds and a great pool!"

Read all Arenal Backpackers Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Fortuna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Fortuna

Lands in Love Hotel and Resort
47.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Jardines Arenal
23.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.5% 11 reviews
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
85.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Las Colinas Arenal Hotel
21.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sleeping Indian Guesthouse
22.28 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 14 reviews
Hotel Arenal Bromelias
30.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Villa Fortuna
0.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
La Choza Inn
9.95 USD

Hostel 85.6% 79 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.8%

Overall Rating

145 out of 161 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arenal Backpackers Resort'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
97.6%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 128 of 132 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really clean and stylish hostal! Nice pool and everythings seems really new.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wenna Hicks

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2014 Wenna would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere, good entertainment in the wvening! Comfy beds and a great pool!

Disliked: Food is expensive and they don't take card...that's all I could complain about. Great happy hour though!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kamila sepolowicz

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2014 kamila would recommend this property

Liked: Amazin place with best facilities ever.one of the best places i ever stayed at.big swimming pool, toys to keep u busy. Volcano view.close to centre.

Disliked: It says in the descrition they have a kitchen but they dont.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, the pool makes it look like a hotel, and we can go almost everywhere Walking.

Disliked: Loud music playing until 11pm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret Erway

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2014 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: Pool to sit and relax near. Evenings were quiet.

Disliked: Nothing wrong.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place.

Disliked: Work/hammering late at night (1:30am) and early morning.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really clean and the staff are really helpful and know their stuff about the area and tours on offer.

Disliked: This is a party hostel and music is blaring until 11 at night right outside your dorm. They even put it on loud in the low season when theres only 5 peole out in the pool area. You can't even talk at the reception without yelling. So dont stay here if you're looking for a place to get good rest between getting up early to do the amazing hikes and tours in the surrounds of La Fortuna. I'd also probably recommend going for something cheaper if you're kust backpacking through for a few nights.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - the pool (although I was unlucky and couldn't enjoy it due to an ongoing bachelor party with annoying drunk guys) - the music they were playing - the entire hostal looks pretty and quite new

Disliked: - arrogance of staff - missing common room/ kitchen for those that travel on their own

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Giarratana

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: I really have no complaints about this place. The staff was super friendly and helpful after I had asked a million questions and it was spotless. I thought I was in the wrong place when I walked in and saw it was like a resort. Beautiful! I do usually prefer a more homey type hostel, so if that is what you are looking for, this is not the place. But, it was a great place to spend a couple days.

Disliked: Ellen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing. The pool is clean and beautiful, the food is good, the shower is hot, and the beds were clean. They have secure parking, and helped us with the excursions we wanted to go on. And everyone at the front spoke perfect English. Best hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

30 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is awesome. Nice pool, clean, has proper hot showers, a great bar with a bargain Happy hour from 6-9 pm and good food. It's brilliant!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

amanda hartshorn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 December 2012 amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very nice and beautiful. The staff was super helpful and friendly and once you check out, they allow you to leave your bags so if you're not leaving right away. They keep the bad behind the desk but there is always someone there. I even left my passport, camera, sunglasses, and other valuables in my bag and felt totally safe leaving it and there were no issues.

Disliked: 8 people in a room can be kind of a lot if your room is full. Never know, sometimes there may only be 5-6. Bunk beds are metal and kinda squeaky but not too big of an issue. There's a bar across the street called Rockos and it can be kind of loud at night. Overall, nice place and I'd stay again

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities and location. The staff are really helpful and have a great knowledge of the area.

Disliked: There is no guest kitchen - as a backpacker it is really important, especially when you're in Costa Rica where everything is just that bit more expensive!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome pool, bar with great drinks and food. Also great having lockers in the rooms.

Disliked: Only thing: there were no outlets in the dorms besides the bathroom. This makes it difficult to charge things like phone and camera.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Sherman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pool, hammock circle, good staff, great fellow travelers

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Sherman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pool, hammock circle, great staff and cool guests

Disliked: honestly, nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth Haisfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2012 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: Pool, very safe, great staff, discounts on activities, music in common area

Disliked: Kind of couply and no nightlife while I was there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Like a resort, absolutely beautiful! Clean and comfortable, and lots of fun!

Disliked: Windows in rooms were left open all day which could be a security issue although our stuff was safe for the 3 nights we stayed there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeremiah gordiano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 May 2012 jeremiah would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pool. Clean rooms.

Disliked: No kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Rothschild

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic place with fantastic staff. Alan, Freddi, you guys were awesome

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Christie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: swimming pool!! and the swim up bar, awesome :) makes you feel like your staying in a hotel resort! the hammocks are pretty good too!

Disliked: nothing, loved it! even extended my stay..which most people seemed to be doing, so that speaks for itself!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Pool was very clean and fun. Staff was super helpful in booking tours and with any questions we had.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katelyn Stukenberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

26 March 2012 Katelyn would recommend this property

Liked: The guys that work there are pretty good looking ;) and the rooms are clean.

Disliked: The beds made a lot of noise when you move