HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel

Guesthouse

Arenal Volcano, El Castillo, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 88%

Location 91%

Safety 94%

Staff 100%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Café
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.85USD

Important Information

Minimum stay 3 days

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to El Castillo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 88%

Location 91%

Safety 94%

Staff 100%

Value 89%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff was very very friendly!!!!

Disliked: I didn´t like that there is no kitchen.. Not even a fridge to use... I´m sure it was standing somewhere.. and we just didn´t read it.. but.. you can cook at night with a chef, who is explaining everything.. but the worth of the food you get doesn´t fit, to what you pay.. breakfast as well.. 2 slices of toast with one spoon or marmelade plus 5 little pieces of fruit for 3,80 dollars... ???

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: After a very long trip the staff were warm and welcoming. The views are amazing. The walk to the farm was spectacular. The food was delicious and well worth the cost.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the location in the National Park, away from the touristy La Fortuna. Staff, food and rooms are just incredible and absolutely worth the money.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: My girlfriend and I stayed here on our trip after reading about it in Lonely Planet, and we are IN LOVE. The lush mountain top surroundings, the sweet little finca (farm) on the hill above the hostel, the delicious three-course dinners and home-cooked meals. . . it was a delight in every way. The people who run the hostel are native English speakers, and from the moment we arrived they made us feel completely relaxed and at home. Each night, we sat and watched the fireflies frolic above the outdoor pool, while Laguna Arenal glittered serenely in the distance.

Disliked: Absolutely NOTHING.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the staff are really nice. good view.

Disliked: we reserved a private double bedroom, and we got a dormitary room (not very clean one) that one of the bank beds has on the lower level a double bed, this is not a double bedroom, i'm not 10 year old. on our reservation it's was described as a garden view room, well..., we did get 2 alcatraz style windows, one viewed the parking space and the other was blocked by a bank bed of course. the ensuite that we had was useable only on the day time, cause on the evening it was conquered by the flies from the forest outside, the hostel did put a screen on the windows, but flies thought it was really ridiculous that they didn't blocked the gap between the roof and the side walls and passed through there.El Castillo itself is found on another side of the arenal which has no lava anymore. it's very remote (40 minutes by jeep to la fortuna) which meens that when you come here you rely on the hostel services , which in this hostel doesn't give you breakfest for free, dinner is 12$ fixed(not include drinks), drive to la fortuna 6$ on hotel shuttle schedule, which add to a very expensive place after all. we stayed 1 night and run away the next day to la fortuna and we found at the same price, hotel(not hostel) with bigger and cleaner rooms , with outside jacuzi and a pool(real pool, not micro Boutique pool) and a great view of the arenal.if you looking for social life you will get it here, but also being in prison will get you some friends too.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff at Essence was wonderful! They were so helpful in helping us organize excursions and in showing us around. They even helped us organize the rest of our trip in Costa Rica. The food is absolutely phenomenal! It was a great idea having everyone get together to cook. I definitely recommend Essence to anyone who wants a some time away from busy city life.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: staff and food and owner who was great

Disliked: the room

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was fantastic with a great view of the volcano & surrounding countryside in El Castillo. The staff were very friendly & helpful & pointed us in the direction of some free hot springs & a free waterfall (a bit of a walk away). The idea of getting people to help out with the evening (vegetarian) meal is great & helps the guests get to know each other. Also the prices for anything extra you wanted were quite fair. And finally they had a pool surrounded by a community area where you could all chill out & relax & their collection/courier service to and from town for $6 is good value for money.

Disliked: Some of the rooms are quite small & there aren't currently enough toilets & bathrooms for the number of people that are staying there. The only other negative points were that the hot tub wasn't working (but they did have a pool, so you can't really complain!) & the one other thing (that can't be helped by the hostel but I thought I'd include it as info for others), is that the volcano hasn't had any activity apart from smoking for about 8 months+ now & the locals believe that it may be going into a dormant state. So don't expect too much on the lava flow front. However on the whole, I'd definitely recommend the hostel based on the location & the staff.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The view was spectacular with a cute pool overlooking the lake and volcano. The staff was amazing, going above and beyond to help us with details on our trip and offer trip advice. Also, the food was amazing to participate in and delicious to eat, my boyfriend didn't even notice until the meal was over that there was no meat, since it was so good.

Disliked: The rooms and facilities were dilapidated and looked rather unmaintained, a little bit more upkeep on the floors, walls, and ceilings would go a long way.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The views were incredible, and there are so many amenities it feels like your staying at a resort. the staff is friendly and super helpful. The food is amazing. A really unique experience!

Disliked: Its pretty far from the center of La Fortuna, you need a car, taxi or shuttle to get there. Its about a half hour trip to most places.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability