HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Alajuela, Costa Rica

92.6%
35 reviews Book Now 
1

Hotel Casa Tago

Hotel
Del Antiguo Seguro, Social 75 mts al Este, Alajuela, Costa Rica -

35 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Casa Tago

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 97% Facilities - 88% Safety - 95%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 91%
Michelle Vo
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa, Romantic getaway
85.7%
Michelle would recommend this property 10 July 2013

we arrived super late night and the place was locked down by a gate, but there was a guy manning the reg desk. carlos it may have been? really nice.. wifi actually worked too!! we stayed in the 2 person room which looked much like a hotel room. everything seemed really clean. we basically knocked out and was out the very next morning. woke up to breakfast (lady who makes it was very attentive and nice).

Elizabeth Sobol
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway
100.0%
Elizabeth would recommend this property 08 August 2012

The Owners were absolutly wonderful! They spoke very good english, were very professional and extremely helpful. We stayed here at the begining of our costa rica trip and at the end we were supposed to stay at a different hostel. The shuttle driver could not find it and was very shall we say difficult and he just pulled up to Casa Tago and dumped us. So once again the owners were wonderful, they looked up our hostel and gave us detailed directions on how to get there. We were so thankful for them! But anyway..Casa Tago is in a nice area of town with tons of shopping and good restaurants. It is a convenient 10 min from the airport which cost us $6. We had a private room with ensuite bathroom, it was comfortable, clean and had a great view of the mountains. They also made and served a wonderful breakfast of coffee, homemade juice, eggs, bread with butter & jam and fuit. yummy! So stay here & you will be very happy!

89.8%
18 reviews Book Now 
2

Hotel Pacande

Guesthouse
From the central park of Alajuela, 200 mts North 50 West. 5 minutes of the Airport., Alajuela, Costa Rica .

18 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Pacande

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 97% Facilities - 78% Safety - 88%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 19 July 2010

Large clean rooms, hot showers, helpful staff. Good location for the airport. Good value for money

Customer review
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 23 March 2010

Hotel Pacande is a great place to stay in Alajuela! We were only minutes from the downtown area, so we were able to walk almost everywhere. It's safe and secure, you need to ask them to unlock to the door to let you in and out. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean. And the back part of the hotel was gorgeous! I would definitely stay there again.

87.9%
88 reviews Book Now 
3

Maleku Hostel

Hostel
50 mts Oeste del Hospital, nuevo de Alajuela corner house, SJO Airport, Alajuela, Costa Rica --

83 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Maleku Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 88% Facilities - 86% Safety - 89%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 27 March 2014

Stuff was very friendly and helpful. everything was clean and looked nice. In the TV-corner it was easy to meet new people. For entrance it is necessary to ring the bell, so not everyone was able to enter.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 26 March 2014

Really helpful and nice staff, we felt very welcome and easily got all the informations we needed.

85.7%
32 reviews Book Now 
4

Hotel Mi Tierra

2 star Hotel
2nd Avenue,between streets 3&5, Alajuela center, Alajuela, Costa Rica 20101

25 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Mi Tierra

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 93% Facilities - 78% Safety - 90%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 80%
edward wightwick
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
edward would recommend this property 14 April 2013

The location is useful for the airport. The room was great and the breakfast very good. The manager was extremely helpful and accommodating. There was free coffee and a good communal kitchen. I would rate this Hostel as outstanding value for money.

Kathleen Ruding
With my spouse / partner
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Kathleen would recommend this property 04 March 2013

location,location, location This was my third time staying at Mi Tierra. It is very comfortable,clean and friendly. The breakfast is awesome.....

83.3%
19 reviews Book Now 
5

Villa Pacande

Hotel
From the central park of Alajuela, 2 kms. North towards the Póas volcano. 10 minutes of the Airport., Alajuela, Costa Rica .

17 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Villa Pacande

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 94% Facilities - 80% Safety - 90%
Location - 72% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 80%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 January 2014

very quiet surrounded by nature, with a beautiful garden & terrasse to relax, but still close enough to the airport. the owners are very helpful & the breakfast is dlicious & plenty.

Cecil John Barnett
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday
74.3%
Cecil John would recommend this property 14 November 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. They go the extra mile. Beds are comfortable and room clean.

81.7%
90 reviews Book Now 
6

HOTEL CORTEZ AZUL

Hostel
Avenue 5,, between Calle 2 and 4, Alajuela, Costa Rica .

80 out of 90 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HOTEL CORTEZ AZUL

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 87% Facilities - 71% Safety - 88%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 76%
Justine Zimiles
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
65.7%
04 March 2014

Really nice backyard with garden. Cool mosaic mirrors. Nice location. Helpful staff. Provided fruit with breakfast (though was gone quickly)

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 20 June 2013

Hotel Cortez Azul has everything you can ask for in a hostel and has a plus of a backyard little garden and a beautiful view from the terrace.

80.5%
39 reviews Book Now 
7

Arilapa Bed and Breakfast

Guesthouse
Imas 2, Alajuela, Costa Rica .

35 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Arilapa Bed and Breakfast

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 91% Facilities - 72% Safety - 72%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 76%
Customer review
Alone
Family Holiday
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2011

The owners are very quirky and were very kind to provide me with some food the evening I arrived as there is nowhere to get any food within walking distance of Arilapa.

Susan Gorman
85.7%
Susan would recommend this property 10 March 2010

The hotel is located in a large verdant garden of large trees, flowering bushes, green lawn above a rushing stream. Muy tranquilo! There are lots of places to just sit and read or watch birds. People are friendly and helpful.

78.3%
34 reviews Book Now 
8

Alajuela BACKPACKERS Boutique Hostel

Hostel
Alajuela 2miles from airport, 4th avenue 4th street, left side of National Monument, Alajuela, Costa Rica 6824 1000 SAN JOSE

27 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Alajuela BACKPACKERS Boutique Hostel

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 78% Facilities - 73% Safety - 84%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 76%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 July 2014

Closeby airport, supermarket and bakery, friendly and helpful staff, nicely decorated

AMANDA CURTIS
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Visiting friends or family
97.1%
AMANDA would recommend this property 07 March 2014

great roof top restaurant with a view. Good fast food Helpful staff and clean rooms. very close to San Jose airport a great place for a stop over.

77.1%
3 reviews Book Now 
9

Hotel II Millenium

Hotel
Alajuela 600 metres from the, international airport, Alajuela, Costa Rica .

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel II Millenium

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 86% Facilities - 66% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 60%
Tomas Marzy
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Tomas would recommend this property 04 December 2013

I took this room for one night. Its close to the airport. Maybe it could be cheaper, but it is safe and clean. I would recommend this place.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 11 November 2011

This was the perfect place to stay when we needed a hotel near the airport on arrival and just before heading home. It is just minutes from the airport and is clean and comfortable - the ideal budget place if you want to steer clear of expensive and dull big chain hotels near the airport. The owners were lovely and very helpful. We'd recommend it and would be happy to stay there again ourselves.

Alajuela

15 Hostels from 10.94 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Alajuela hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Alajuela. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.