We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Alajuela, Costa Rica

92.7%
37 reviews Book Now 
1

Hotel Casa Tago

Hotel
Del Antiguo Seguro, Social 75 mts al Este, Alajuela, Costa Rica -

37 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Casa Tago

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 97% Facilities - 88% Safety - 95%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 92%
Anaïs Hubeaux
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Anaïs would recommend this property 13 February 2015

The staff was really kind and helpful. The room were big, confortable and very clean. The brealfast was good with bread, egg, rice and beans and fresh fruits. In the center of Alajuela and really safe.

Michelle Vo
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa, Romantic getaway
85.7%
Michelle would recommend this property 10 July 2013

we arrived super late night and the place was locked down by a gate, but there was a guy manning the reg desk. carlos it may have been? really nice.. wifi actually worked too!! we stayed in the 2 person room which looked much like a hotel room. everything seemed really clean. we basically knocked out and was out the very next morning. woke up to breakfast (lady who makes it was very attentive and nice).

87.1%
91 reviews Book Now 
2

Maleku Hostel

Hostel
50 mts Oeste del Hospital, nuevo de Alajuela corner house, SJO Airport, Alajuela, Costa Rica --

86 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Maleku Hostel

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 88% Facilities - 85% Safety - 88%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 27 March 2014

Stuff was very friendly and helpful. everything was clean and looked nice. In the TV-corner it was easy to meet new people. For entrance it is necessary to ring the bell, so not everyone was able to enter.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 26 March 2014

Really helpful and nice staff, we felt very welcome and easily got all the informations we needed.

86.4%
38 reviews Book Now 
3

Hotel Mi Tierra

2 star Hotel
2nd Avenue,between streets 3&5, Alajuela center, Alajuela, Costa Rica 20101

31 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Mi Tierra

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 94% Facilities - 78% Safety - 92%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 79%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 27 January 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff, very conveniently located, excellent value for the money.

edward wightwick
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
edward would recommend this property 14 April 2013

The location is useful for the airport. The room was great and the breakfast very good. The manager was extremely helpful and accommodating. There was free coffee and a good communal kitchen. I would rate this Hostel as outstanding value for money.

84.7%
22 reviews Book Now 
4

Villa Pacande

Hotel
From the central park of Alajuela, 2 kms. North towards the Póas volcano. 10 minutes of the Airport., Alajuela, Costa Rica .

20 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Villa Pacande

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 95% Facilities - 80% Safety - 90%
Location - 75% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 82%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 December 2014

Its off the beaten path just up the ridge from the bust city center of Alajuela. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 30 September 2014

Very friendly atmosphere, nice people, everything clean, great service also in terms of recommendations about what to do nearby. will come again soon! ;)

83.2%
43 reviews Book Now 
5

Alajuela BACKPACKERS Boutique Hostel

Hostel
Alajuela 2miles from airport, 4th avenue 4th street, left side of National Monument, Alajuela, Costa Rica 6824 1000 SAN JOSE

36 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Alajuela BACKPACKERS Boutique Hostel

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 83% Facilities - 80% Safety - 89%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 81%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 28 March 2015

The staff seemed very well organized, friendly and the whole check-in and out process was very quick and easy. It was a great set-up, the location, convenience of an on site food/ bar etc. The other very positive thing I want to mention is that they had a taxi waiting outside to drive me to the airport for a very early flight. Huge relief!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 09 January 2015

It's Close to The AirPort so it's a good stop when you arrive late and ideal if your flying out of costa rica. The bathrooms are big and The showers are hot. Buses to San Jose leave around the corner.

81.7%
90 reviews Book Now 
6

HOTEL CORTEZ AZUL

Hostel
Avenue 5,, between Calle 2 and 4, Alajuela, Costa Rica .

80 out of 90 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HOTEL CORTEZ AZUL

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 87% Facilities - 71% Safety - 88%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 76%
Justine Zimiles
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
65.7%
04 March 2014

Really nice backyard with garden. Cool mosaic mirrors. Nice location. Helpful staff. Provided fruit with breakfast (though was gone quickly)

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 20 June 2013

Hotel Cortez Azul has everything you can ask for in a hostel and has a plus of a backyard little garden and a beautiful view from the terrace.

80.5%
39 reviews Book Now 
7

Arilapa Bed and Breakfast

Guesthouse
Imas 2, Alajuela, Costa Rica .

35 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Arilapa Bed and Breakfast

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 91% Facilities - 72% Safety - 72%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 76%
Customer review
Alone
Family Holiday
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2011

The owners are very quirky and were very kind to provide me with some food the evening I arrived as there is nowhere to get any food within walking distance of Arilapa.

Susan Gorman
85.7%
Susan would recommend this property 10 March 2010

The hotel is located in a large verdant garden of large trees, flowering bushes, green lawn above a rushing stream. Muy tranquilo! There are lots of places to just sit and read or watch birds. People are friendly and helpful.

80.4%
7 reviews Book Now 
8

Hotel Cala Inn B&B

Guesthouse
Santamaria Park (West side), Alajuela, Costa Rica 506

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Cala Inn B&B

Atmosphere - 71% Staff - 88% Facilities - 60% Safety - 88%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%
Christoph augsburger
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
60.0%
Christoph would recommend this property 15 April 2015

No breakfast, no Shuttle , no cooking At kitchen, 4 Dorm is 5 dorm, extra 13% To pay , Google podition wrong Is At City , Supermarkt And Restaurant s near. Good please At tbe City But To extensive, for one Night ok

Kathleen longley
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Kathleen would recommend this property 22 January 2015

Exceptionally clean. Wonderful breakfast. Incredible value. Kitchen didn't really feel that available but could use it. No stove or anything but fridge and microwave coffee. Going all morning

78.6%
4 reviews Book Now 
9

Hotel II Millenium

Hotel
Alajuela 600 metres from the, international airport, Alajuela, Costa Rica .

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel II Millenium

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 90% Facilities - 70% Safety - 85%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 60%
Marcus King
With my spouse / partner
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
82.9%
Marcus would recommend this property 17 August 2014

Close to airport, clean. Good as a crash pad if you've got in late and are leaving in the morning.

Tomas Marzy
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Tomas would recommend this property 04 December 2013

I took this room for one night. Its close to the airport. Maybe it could be cheaper, but it is safe and clean. I would recommend this place.

77.1%
4 reviews Book Now 
10

Hotel Eskalima

Hotel
From the Central Park of, Alajuela, 1 Block North, then, 4 and a half Blocks to West, Alajuela, Costa Rica .

3 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Eskalima

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 95% Facilities - 70% Safety - 75%
Location - 70% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 75%
kateryna zaslavska
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
kateryna would recommend this property 24 December 2014

Great stuff, comfortable clean room, good location close to the restaurants and airport

Monica Mancilla
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference
100.0%
Monica would recommend this property 15 January 2011

Hotel Eskalima was a very nice experience aside from being a new hotel. The hotel was located in the city niar the airport and it was very convenient to move around. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable; they include everything from hot water to cable t.v and a phone. The attention was very good. Everyone there is friendly and willing to help out. Overall it was a good experience and definitely a good choice.

Alajuela

14 Hostels from 11.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Alajuela hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Alajuela. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.