HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Maleku Hostel Alajuela

Hostel

50 mts oeste del Hospital Nuevo Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 87%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Important Information

we don't accept credit card payment.
We DON’T offer Airport pick up. We Offer Free transfer Hostel TO the airport From 5am to 5pm one every hour.

You must tell us your arrival time. We are not responsible on keeping your reservation after the time you stated

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Alajuela?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 87%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

Showing 11-16 of 16 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean..helpful with travel destinations..nice family run hostel

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Best place to stay for location close to Airport and public bus station to la fortuna for example.

Disliked: Maybe a little expensive but the location is worth it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I felt extremely safe at Maleku hostel. It felt like I was staying with friends or family because the atmosphere was so friendly. The employees were very nice.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A good place to crash the night before my airport departure. Close to big, modern supermarket. Accessible by bus from center of San Jose. Excellent hot water shower.

Disliked: Important that the window be left open in the dorm as practically every cubic inch of the room is full when 5 or 6 sleeping in it. Bring something to cover your eyes if having light turned on bothers you. I liked the breakfast except for the soda crackers but I see there is no outlet near table for a toaster.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Close to the airport.

Disliked: Breakfast was coffee and a packet of biscuits or crackers.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: The layout and openness of the property was great. Everyone was friendly, everything was relaxed. Its very close to the supermarket. VERY close. Right next door. and the free shuttle was great.

Disliked: The dorm was a bit cramped, with 6 in a room.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Maleku Hostel is very clean..quiet at night..close to a good Supermarket and other shops..The staff is very friendly and helpful for travel information.

Disliked: Nothing..I have stayed there many times.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Easy, cheap and great!

Disliked: That transfer to the hostel isn't included.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a short bus ride from the Airport and fairly easy to find (with the help of a local telling me when to get off the bus and which was to walk).

Disliked: There's a supermarket near by but only maybe one cafe/restaurant around 4 blocks away. It's not in an area with lots of businesses. Supermarket is open til 10pm I think and they have a small cafeteria where I grabbed dinner. Free shuttle (only offered to the airport) is nice, just arrange that with the front desk the night before. And tipping the driver would be nice, out of the whole shuttle, I was the only one who did.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Quiet. Well equipped kitchen. Nice staff.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability