We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Maleku Hostel

Hostel | 50 mts Oeste del Hospital, nuevo de Alajuela corner house, SJO Airport Alajuela, Costa Rica --

87.9% Overall Rating

83 out of 88 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/03/2014)

"Stuff was very friendly and helpful. everything was clean and looked nice. In the TV-corner it was easy to meet new people. For entrance it is necessary to ring the bell, so not everyone was able to enter."

Read all Maleku Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

we don't accept credit card payment. We DON’T offer Airport pick up. We Offer Free transfer Hostel TO the airport From 5am to 5pm one every hour. You must tell us your arrival time. We are not responsible on keeping your reservation after the time you stated

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Alajuela?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Alajuela

Hotel Casa Tago
16.66 USD

Hotel 92.6% 35 reviews
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo and HOstel Boutique
19.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Eskalima
26.98 USD

Hotel 75.2% 3 reviews
HOTEL CORTEZ AZUL
12.50 USD

Hostel 81.7% 90 reviews
Hotel Cala Inn B&B
10.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel II Millenium
26.33 USD

Hotel 78.6% 4 reviews
Villa Pacande
16.00 USD

Hotel 84.9% 21 reviews
Hotel Pacande
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

83 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maleku Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 68 of 77 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very friendly, I forgot to book my shuttle to the airport the night before and they were still very accomodating the next morning (they booked and paid for a taxi to return me to the airport for free). Very clean. It was a very quiet hostel. Very close to the airport.

Disliked: Nothing, I would stay there again.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirk Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2011 Kirk would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location with very friendly and helpfull staff. Relatively quiet area with free transportation to the nearby airport (5 minutes away). Clean, free breakfast and internet.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: see above

Disliked: see above

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Dietz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome Hostel! Totally recommandable...everything was perfect, especially the staff!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to finish out a trip in Costa Rica. Quiet and secure.

Disliked: I had ants in my bed. I moved beds and I think (?) I was fine though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximety to airport

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: CHeap and clean and friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Not very many bathrooms, very noisy street

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Watkins

Alone

Family Holiday

26 March 2011 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: All of the above plus convenience to the airport. The free shuttle to the airport.

Disliked: A bit small but that was okay. Some very noisy car alarms going off on the street at night - not the Hostel's fault!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALLEN D. CREW

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2011 ALLEN D. would recommend this property

Liked: The Maleku Hostel is the best Hostel I have ever stayed at..it is clean,safe,friendly and quiet at night..so when I stayed there and had to get up in the morning to travel somewhere I was well rested. It is near a large supermarket, shopping mall and close to the center of the city.

Disliked: Nothing...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stian Oddbjornsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2010 Stian would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay!

Disliked: Stian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Casey Greeley

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2010 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: It was cozy, safe and generally quite. It was pretty clean compared to other hostels I stayed at in Costa Rica. They are very adament about having quiet hours after 11pm.

Disliked: Although they really tried to keep it quiet, the roads were noisy, and people arrived at odd times from the airport. I was woken at 2am when two people arrived from the airport. Like the website warns, be careful with the taxi drivers, they tried to talk me out of staying there even though I had a reservation.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay especially if flying out of San Jose, their free shuttle does not begin until 5am though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Petersson

06 April 2010 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good service and good rate!

Disliked: Tomas left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was really close to the bus station. hot showers!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clost to the airport, great access to downtown. Quite a noisy street though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALLEN CREW

14 January 2010 ALLEN would recommend this property

Liked: homey pleasant

Disliked: ALLEN left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joshua Bickle

15 December 2009 joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Super close to the airport and a big supermarket, Maleku is a great hostel that is run by a local family, and they are very helpful, well knowledged in the area, and super friendly!

Disliked: joshua left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amber Blevens

12 May 2009 Amber would recommend this property

Liked: this was my 2nd stay and the place is one of the best , after 3 weeks the beds and sheets are heaven!!!!! my only thing is they lost my first booking for May 1st to the 2nd and we got ther at 930pm and we had to fine another place late at night ,it all worked out just fine so all was well it the perfect location we travel to costa rica 2 times a year and this will now be are spot to arrive and leave from! thanks so much! Amber and Mike Blevens everyone should end or start there stay here!!!!!

Disliked: Amber left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bianca gill

04 May 2009 bianca would recommend this property

Liked: the chilled out atmosphre

Disliked: bianca left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very clean. Linens and towels were clean, blankets were also available.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fairly good location. close to the airport of SJO. english speaking (some) staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sterling Deck

06 February 2009 Sterling would recommend this property

Liked: Close to airport

Disliked: Sterling left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free airport transfers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dan Walters

08 December 2008 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: right next to the airport, free transfer to the airport included

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Palmer

27 November 2008 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: It's only a few minutes from the airport and they off a free drop off facility - even though a cab would only be a couple of pounds. Also gave suggestions of where to eat and free breakfast.

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.