We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HOTEL CORTEZ AZUL

Hostel | Avenue 5, between Calle 2 and 4, Alajuela, Costa Rica .

81.7% Overall Rating

80 out of 90 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/03/2014)

Justine Zimiles thinks…

"Really nice backyard with garden. Cool mosaic mirrors. Nice location. Helpful staff. Provided fruit with breakfast (though was gone quickly)"

Read all HOTEL CORTEZ AZUL reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Alajuela?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Alajuela

Hotel Eskalima
24.98 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo and HOstel Boutique
19.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Tago
16.66 USD

Hotel 92.6% 35 reviews
Hotel Cala Inn B&B
10.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Maleku Hostel
17.05 USD

Hostel 87.9% 88 reviews
Villa Pacande
16.00 USD

Hotel 83.3% 19 reviews
Hotel Pacande
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 18 reviews
Hotel II Millenium
26.33 USD

Hotel 78.6% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

80 out of 90 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HOTEL CORTEZ AZUL'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
76.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 59 of 71 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Justine Zimiles

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2014

Liked: Really nice backyard with garden. Cool mosaic mirrors. Nice location. Helpful staff. Provided fruit with breakfast (though was gone quickly)

Disliked: We had double room that had no window. It was very hot in our room as there was no fan and no air coming in; we had to sleep with our door open. No hot water. I had to ask to get more toilet paper. Tiny pillows. Saw ants in breakfast cereal. Noisy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rob Maas

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 January 2014 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel and staff

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Cortez Azul has everything you can ask for in a hostel and has a plus of a backyard little garden and a beautiful view from the terrace.

Disliked: I wasn't very lucky with the room since it was a room withouth a window.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe place, always guarded entrance. Nice kitchen and garden site.

Disliked: Sometimes and some rooms very noisy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2013

Liked: The staff are very friendly and eager to help you with anything. It's pretty close to the bus station, just a few minutes walk (however, get directions before arriving by bus because it can be kind of confusing, or take a taxi). Nice outdoor space and terrace in the backyard. Kitchen for use of guests. Communal room near the front of the property. Good security.

Disliked: We disliked very much the private double room with en-suite that we were assigned. It is room number 2, right near the front of the property. Hope (or better yet, don't even book it) that you don't get room number 2. This room looks kind of like an additional room that was put together afterwards. The walls don't go up to the ceiling, so near the ceiling there is painted cardboard that finishes off the wall. Needless to say, this does not soundproof at all and I don't think we could have possibly stayed in a louder room (and we're not talking typical hostel loud, but you can hear EVERYTHING loud and the street in the front isn't exactly quiet). The room itself isn't bad, but it needs a good cleaning ( dust pouring off the picture frame hung right above your head and dust covering the fan). The bathroom is where we had the biggest problem. This is an outdoor space that was covered up and tiled and made into a bathroom ( it looks once again, like an after thought). You walk right out of your room and into an elevated flower bed, which hurts like crazy when you walk into it. The worst part was that the "private bathroom" can be completely viewed by a window in the other actually private room ( number 1). The window is fairly high and covered with draperies (but on the inside of the other room). All it takes is one taller person ( or determined person) to stand on the bed and look right into your "private bathroom". I was in the middle of a shower when I discovered this, by looking up and seeing the drapes suddenly close shut, and spent the rest of my shower (as I was covered with soap at the time) huddled up against the wall so hopefully the people in the adjacent room, could not see me. Now my husband and I both wanted to give this place a chance because the owner was so nice and the location and security were good, but we would not stay here again. If you are going to book here, do not book a room with a "private bathroom".

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were sent to another property whih was verry nice but out of town a ways

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and friendly, speaking some English. The backyard kitchen and patio were nice to sit in and to visit with other travellers from around the world. Computer access was much appreciated. Location is close to needed amenities--post office,grocery store,bus station,cafes,etc. The front bedroom was spacious and, in spite of no windows, the fan was adequate to keep down heat and cool the room for sleeping. Duna, the resident dog.

Disliked: I wasn't aware that payment was to be made, on arrival, and in cash for all nites stayed.. The front room received some street noise and from upstairs clients, especially in early morning, on the stairs. The room could have used a good cleaning--floors,fan. Room was not cleaned for the 3 nights I stayed. Would have liked some wall hooks for hanging up clothes,etc. Kitchen cleanliness is o.k., depending on the clients. Very basic breakfast. No warm water.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

adrienne Otto otto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

27 February 2012 adrienne Otto would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool hostel. Excellent staff and location. I'll be back!

Disliked: adrienne Otto left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Manager was very friendly and helpful in directing my friend to a eating place with vegetarian dishes. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. The decoration and setup of the hostel was very nice, artistic and a welcome change to all the hostels and cabanas I stayed in at the same price range.

Disliked: No complaints, the city itself is hard to navigate since there are no street signs so get good directions or a driver who knows where it's at.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012

Liked: The hostel is very clean compared to Costa Rican standarts. The rooms are nicely decorated and quite spacious for dormrooms. The dog Luna is the first dog we've met in Costa Rica that was kept clean and is a joy to play with. The eating area is a great place to get to know other people and chat about their travels.

Disliked: There is only one bathroom for the whole floor. Think eight women wanting to shower and get ready at the same time. If somebody occupies the shower the others will have to wait to use the toilet! Could lead to major problems! The kitchen is nice but the food we bought one day was eaten the other day by the owner! (us watching) Though the place is safe with it's gear there were handymen working while we stayed there and we were not informed, that our room would be painted. So we left our valuables in the room and were missing 50000 colones when we got back. Though the owner offered to help us he did not do anything to help us get our money back!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kerstin Döllner

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Kerstin would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff and also a safe place to stay close to the airport and lots of daytrips around San José area. Well equipped kitchen and rooms. Thank you very much!

Disliked: Everything very good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline McGee

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

09 July 2011 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: THE LOCATION IS VERY CLOSE TO THE AIRPORT AND VERY WELL SITUATED IN ALAJUELA, NEAR SHOPS AND ATTRACTIONS. EVERYONE IS NICE AND VERY HELPFUL.

Disliked: HAVING TO LEAVE.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

JAN BOEKEN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011

Liked: very friendly

Disliked: too expensive forwhat it was

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very characterful, handy to town centre, very helpful owner.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: hot water = cold water

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really near from the airport, only 5 minnuts!

Disliked: The was nobody in the hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to everything: shops , banks, restaurants. It much better than staying in San Jose. I felt safer.

Disliked: no comments

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great backyard, very friendly and helpful staff (got up at 4am with a smile to help call me a taxi), cool art

Disliked: no computer for internet (that I found)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. nice art, friendly folks, great feel to the place.

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great! Wonderful artwork and sculptures, it seemed like a gallery!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location, and Jose was extremely friendly and helpfull. Great rooms, very spacious and very clean. Definatly will recommend.

Disliked: .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

28 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cortez azul is a good basic place to stay. there is a kitchen with refrigerator and the common areas are nice for meeting people. the rooms are small. the room we had does not have windows for fresh air but the fan worked. the room was a comfortable temperature for sleeping.

Disliked: see above

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Sleckman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that it was so clean and had such a nice atmosphere. It was staying in a bed and breakfast home.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. It didn't have extra amenities like a pool or internet but there is an internet cafe a few blocks away that is very cheap and I don't care for chorine pools anyway.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The artwork

Disliked: It was quite shabby

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming! I'm not sure that I found much charm in the town around the hostel, but the hostel itself was lovely, and the owner was extremely helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.