HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taganga hostels

Reviews of ocean reef guesthouse

Guesthouse | Cra4 no 17b--109, Taganga, Colombia 0

81.9% Overall Rating

16 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

"Extremely cheap. Places to chill in the garden and room had air con. All well worth the money for anyone on a budget"

Read all ocean reef guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taganga?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taganga

The Alchemist Hostel
7.19 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Villa Mary
13.51 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Kankuamu
13.51 USD

Guesthouse 70.9% 5 reviews
Hostel Nirvana Tganga
10.81 USD

Hostel 77.5% 8 reviews
La Tortuga Hostel
12.43 USD

Hostel 84.1% 46 reviews
Divanga B&B
15.67 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 13 reviews
Casa Divanga
10.81 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 14 reviews
Hostal Casa Maria
13.51 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

16 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ocean reef guesthouse'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
84.4%
Facilities
78.9%
Cleanliness
75.6%
Staff
88.9%
Value
90.0%
Safety
81.1%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 18 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely cheap. Places to chill in the garden and room had air con. All well worth the money for anyone on a budget

Disliked: Not the flashiest place on earth but depends what your looking for.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pedro N

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: great for the price

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aengus Gormley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2014

Liked: Really cheap, staff were friendly and accomodating. There is a computer connected to speakers so you can choose music at night. Plenty of hammocks for chilling out in garden. Shop at front desk.

Disliked: Rooms and bathrooms very basic. Not the most social hostel I have stayed in. No air conditioning in my dorm.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money if you are happy with a laid back and low quality accom.

Disliked: Most information was reasonably accurate, but the private room we stayed in was quite rundown and not as clean most aces we have stayed. e.g. The sheets were pretty old thatthey had holes in them. Also,there are a dozen dogs and cats roaming through the place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Dolman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The vibe here is brilliant - really chilled and relaxed. Great communal areas, outside and inside - fans everywhere to help with the heat and the mosquitos, en suite bathrooms and a kitchen. Everyone that stays here gets on together and there's a really good family atmosphere. We drank every night outside and had a great time here! The place is really 420 friendly. The owner helped us loads with advice about Tayrona, and speaks brilliant English too! We loved this place, and if we ever come back to T-gangs we will stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its clean, has air con and is on a good location.

Disliked: very quiet, not much atmosphere. Kitchen is not great

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ryan McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Aircon in the private bedroom was great as very hot in Tanganga. Shop on property was very convenient. Short walk to the beach.

Disliked: Kitchen was pretty basic with quite a few ants.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Celine Ronce

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 Celine would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpful - spanish and english could be useful - a store in the hostel -

Disliked: The shower could be better - little water.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner. Let us change a night we had booked for a later time when we decided to do the lost city tour earlier. Nice and cheap convenience store attached to get cold water and icecream. Nice to have a computer to use. Great breeze flowing through the hostel

Disliked: showers could be better

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ruth Hurley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2013 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed vibe and good value.

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is very simple and the staff is very friendly, the location is quite good

Disliked: the kitchen sometimes is not very clean, but everything else is clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a good location, just a few minutes walk from the sea front. It's great value for money, and you will struggle to find a private ensuite room for $50,000 anywhere else in Santa Marta. The staff were helpful in providing information about Tayrona Park, and also got us a taxi to take us to Santa Marta bus terminal.

Disliked: There were no drinks stocked in the hostel, and the kitchen was fairly basic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ema Hellstrom

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Ema would recommend this property

Liked: We like the owners who is very friendly and helpful! Its very clean and tidy. The price was very good during the easter holliday. We could ask them about everything and they were happy to help. They speak both english and spanish wich is very uncommon in this villiage. Its close to everything and they have a kitchen so you can cook your own meals if you like, compared to many other hostels in this villiage.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was very good!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

20 February 2012

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: It was too hot

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Leo Kogan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 Leo would recommend this property

Liked: safe, good location, inexpensive

Disliked: dorms are a little cramped, but manageable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charley Burgess

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012 Charley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and very, very helpful. I got my bag stolen and the kind manager took me to the police station to help me make a statement, and even took me to Santa Marta in the morning to buy a new camera! We left the hostel for 5 days without paying, he trusted we would come back after the Lost City trek. Can't thank Ocean Reef enough! The atmosphere is very relaxed and the location is great.

Disliked: Charley left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Laura Fabry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and owner

Disliked: Dorms are very little and hot

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. They are really there for you, with any little question you have. Our reservation was late and therefore had a conflict, but they were super accommodating. In the end, we had the dorm room to ourselves, which meant an individual fan for each of us - quite nice. Also, comparing to the other places in town, it is great value.

Disliked: The map on hostelbookers is wrong (shows santa marta, while the hostel is in taganga). This makes it really hard to find it, as it is a newer place and not many locals know about it. Essentially, ask for the football field. It is just up (away from the beach) from the spot where combis drop you off, and next to Bay View Hostel.


See all Taganga hostels