We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taganga hostels

Reviews of La Tortuga Hostel

Hostel | Calle 9 # 3-116, Taganga, Colombia 470007

82.6% Overall Rating

42 out of 48 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/03/2013)

"Nice hostel looks like a big modern bamboo hut. Bar on top of the hostel has very nice view. Dorms are clean. Staff is helpful and speaks good english."

Read all La Tortuga Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.02
  • Towel USD 0.97

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taganga?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taganga

Hostel Villa Mary
9.73 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
ocean reef guesthouse
5.84 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 18 reviews
Hostel Nirvana Tganga
9.73 USD

Hostel 81.4% 10 reviews
The Alchemist Hostel
6.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Divanga B&B
12.16 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 13 reviews
Casa Kankuamu
12.16 USD

Guesthouse 70.9% 5 reviews
Hostal Casa Maria
12.16 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Divanga
9.73 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

42 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Tortuga Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly bar staff

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

romain degoul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 February 2014 romain would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful building (bamboo), nice common area (kitchen), very friendly staff

Disliked: small room, some room and bathroom would need a renew no soap in toilets globally a correct place, but expensive compared to hostels in the area no restaurant

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beautiful view from the rooftop bar.....worth the view, indeed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel looks like a big modern bamboo hut. Bar on top of the hostel has very nice view. Dorms are clean. Staff is helpful and speaks good english.

Disliked: It is located at the end of a small street wich doesnt feel safe at all if you want to walk back late at night. Most hostels in this town have a swimming pool . La Tortuga have a small plastic one wich seemed dirty when I was there. With the heat I would have liked a proper swimming pool. Also, the hostel was very quiet at the time I was there, not so much of a party place. Nice if you want to relax.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the rooftop space with hammocks and amazing view, four-bed dorm was roomy enough, and staff really helpful.

Disliked: A proper pool would be great!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely love this hostel! Amazing view from the roof lounge (with a bar and hammocks) and around 4 or 5, everyone hangs out up there and it's a great place to meet other people as a solo traveler. The staff was extremely nice and helpful in organizing activities and transportation and let me keep my bags there for a few days while I went to Tayrona/palomino, and even remembered my name when I returned.

Disliked: Nothing. Location was a few blocks from town but it didn't matter since the whole town is so small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every single member of staff was very friendly and the location, despite not being on the beachfront, was only a very short walk away. The view from the bar/chill-out area upstairs was great. Work is still taking place to further improve the hostel.

Disliked: Unfortunately, the 6 bed dorm was a bit of a tight squeeze which restricted airflow and that's not pleasant on hot nights. The 4 bed dorm was much more comfortable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Bryant

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012

Liked: Nice building, quiet, chilled out

Disliked: There ia no pool. Think it had just been filled in but it was part of the reason that we chose to stay there as Taganga so HOT. Also no air con in rooms, only fans. Very hot, sweaty uncomfortable sleep. Staff not very helpful but I think that is coz thye dont speak much english so thats our problem for not being spanish speakers. Also bar is not open. You have to ask reception for drink and most the time they couldnt be bothered walking up the stairs and making us a drink and basically said no.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Whittington

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2012 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: La Tortuga is THE BEST hostel! I had such an amazing time here. I booked one night and ended up staying 6 days because i didnt want to leave (would stay longer if it had been possible). I have been travelling south america for 19 months now and this was basically my last stop before home and im so glad it was here. A perfect send off. All of the staff at this hostel were really helpful and so, so friendly. The colombian owners, mona and juan have clearly put so much effort into making a great atmosphere and a lovely, very clean hostel thats more like a home. The bamboo structured building is amazing and was designed and built by them which i think is really cool. It has the best views of taganga by far and the sunsets from the rooftop bar are incredible. The Bar: really tasty, strong, cheap cocktails and great happy hours that last all night and some of the best music in taganga (much better than what youll hear in the clubs). A great place to relax with a beer or cocktail, in a hammock or meet other travellers or chat with the bar staff. Juan and Mona put on a party while i was there and it was crazy! Lots of drinking, music and dancing. Also a great place to chill out as well. Its not a 'party hostel' so you do get to relax as well. I took a trip to the national park while i was there and they arranged all the buses to pick me up from the hostel and take me home the next day. Which was really helpful and the same price as if i booked it anywhere else. (Tayrona is paradise! Stay at cabo san juan beach). Also, juan is a fully qualified professional diver. He took me on a day dive (didnt have time to do the full course unfortunately) and it was too good! The dives were amazing. I have never dived before and the reefs and fish in that different world were incredible. I felt extremely safe and happy the whole time and juan was really professional but is a very fun cool guy who does all he can to make sure you have the best time possible. Highly recommended. Basically this hostel and the staff and people i met made my stay in taganga so much better than i could have expected. I made so many really good friends there and am really going to miss everyone and the whole vibe of the hostel. Very clean, loads of fun and just great times and all set up by the nicest owners who genuinely care. Go to tanganga and stay at La Tortuga. I Definitely recommend it to anyone. Oh, they also have tortoises which is awesome. Feed them some lettuce! Thanks again for everything and giving me the best ending to an incredible time in south america. x

Disliked: Leaving. Makes going home so much harder.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2012

Liked: Leaving it.

Disliked: Lack of helpful staff, lack of wifi, lack of bar opening, lack of aircon. Lack of water for sale sometimes!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eamonn Mulhall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2012 Eamonn would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, very clean with a decent location.

Disliked: Eamonn left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cute houses with hammocks, fireplace and small kitchen, awesome view on the Titicaca Lake!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Judah Ryan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

20 April 2012 Judah would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop terrace and clean. The turtles were cool as well.

Disliked: Not much atmoshere. Expensive.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rosario Donoso

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2012 Rosario would recommend this property

Liked: Its very safe

Disliked: its more expensive

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lucy Best

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Really good helpful and friendly staff, VERY cute baby kitten, nice views from rooftop bar. Able to leave backpacks here whilst we went to Park Tayrona.

Disliked: breakfast very basic (bread+jam), no lockers but staff able to put valuables in a safe.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly stuff, cheap laundry service, great great terrace on the roof

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Maciej Grygorowicz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Maciej would recommend this property

Liked: People who were speaking English.

Disliked: No breakfast. Location far from sea side.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Moore

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2011 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in, the rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable. The staff are amazing and will go out of there way to accomodate you. The building is a 5 minute stroll up from the beach and has a great top floor bar that gives an amazing view out over Tananga for some spectular sunsets. You can party here or get a good nights sleep, which ever you prefer. You can also get a discount with the Poseidon dive school if you stay at La Tortuga, just ask for Juan.

Disliked: Nothing, besideds leaving.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very good laundry service, good location in a very nicely designed building with lovely views from roof top bar. Staff friendly and very helpful. Good TV room with english channels.

Disliked: Breakfast is minimal.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011

Liked: The manager was extremely helpful with activities and organising things with locals!

Disliked: The bathrooms were a bit basic.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mona is a wonderful source of information. They have a diving instructor who you can take courses with either through Poseidon (which we did) or another dive school which was very helpful. They organised a BBQ on the Sunday night to watch Colombia play in the U20 world cup.

Disliked: The 6-bed dorm is quite cramped. Not much space for everyone's pack. Breakfast is jam, bread and coffee which is fine though not as substantial as other places we have stayed at.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hammocks with a cooling sea breeze. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Not very social and a little bit expensive compared with other hostels in Taganga. Free breakfast was just bread and jam not very exciting.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel! Lovely terrace! Good rooms with comfy beds.

Disliked: NO LOCKERS! this is quite annoying. You can leave stuff at the front desk. Not very busy when I was there... There are some cheaper options around. Booking directly through them is cheaper than through this website

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has potential to be really good-Swimming pool, big bar with friendly barman, close to centre of town and beach. Good common areas. Love the in house dog and her newborn puppies.

Disliked: Hostel was pretty quiet (but it was off season) so didn't get to meet many people. Breakfast (bread,, tea, coffee) not great. 6 bed dorm was a bit cramped and stuffy. No lockers just press at reception which staff provided access to.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were nice and clean however had a thatch roof with a space so lots of mozzies...and a mouse managed to get in the room!

Disliked: Wifi not available in rooms and the road at night up to the property is very dark and bumpy


See all Taganga hostels