HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of La Tortuga Hostel Taganga Hostel

Calle 9 # 3 -116, Taganga, Colombia

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 81%

Location 74%

Safety 81%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 35,000.00USD
  • Towel 2,000.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taganga?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 81%

Location 74%

Safety 81%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

Showing 11-8 of 8 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I absolutely love this hostel! Amazing view from the roof lounge (with a bar and hammocks) and around 4 or 5, everyone hangs out up there and it's a great place to meet other people as a solo traveler. The staff was extremely nice and helpful in organizing activities and transportation and let me keep my bags there for a few days while I went to Tayrona/palomino, and even remembered my name when I returned.

Disliked: Nothing. Location was a few blocks from town but it didn't matter since the whole town is so small

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping

Liked: Every single member of staff was very friendly and the location, despite not being on the beachfront, was only a very short walk away. The view from the bar/chill-out area upstairs was great. Work is still taking place to further improve the hostel.

Disliked: Unfortunately, the 6 bed dorm was a bit of a tight squeeze which restricted airflow and that's not pleasant on hot nights. The 4 bed dorm was much more comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: La Tortuga is THE BEST hostel! I had such an amazing time here. I booked one night and ended up staying 6 days because i didnt want to leave (would stay longer if it had been possible). I have been travelling south america for 19 months now and this was basically my last stop before home and im so glad it was here. A perfect send off. All of the staff at this hostel were really helpful and so, so friendly. The colombian owners, mona and juan have clearly put so much effort into making a great atmosphere and a lovely, very clean hostel thats more like a home. The bamboo structured building is amazing and was designed and built by them which i think is really cool. It has the best views of taganga by far and the sunsets from the rooftop bar are incredible. The Bar: really tasty, strong, cheap cocktails and great happy hours that last all night and some of the best music in taganga (much better than what youll hear in the clubs). A great place to relax with a beer or cocktail, in a hammock or meet other travellers or chat with the bar staff. Juan and Mona put on a party while i was there and it was crazy! Lots of drinking, music and dancing. Also a great place to chill out as well. Its not a 'party hostel' so you do get to relax as well. I took a trip to the national park while i was there and they arranged all the buses to pick me up from the hostel and take me home the next day. Which was really helpful and the same price as if i booked it anywhere else. (Tayrona is paradise! Stay at cabo san juan beach).Also, juan is a fully qualified professional diver. He took me on a day dive (didnt have time to do the full course unfortunately) and it was too good! The dives were amazing. I have never dived before and the reefs and fish in that different world were incredible. I felt extremely safe and happy the whole time and juan was really professional but is a very fun cool guy who does all he can to make sure you have the best time possible. Highly recommended. Basically this hostel and the staff and people i met made my stay in taganga so much better than i could have expected. I made so many really good friends there and am really going to miss everyone and the whole vibe of the hostel. Very clean, loads of fun and just great times and all set up by the nicest owners who genuinely care.Go to tanganga and stay at La Tortuga. I Definitely recommend it to anyone. Oh, they also have tortoises which is awesome. Feed them some lettuce! Thanks again for everything and giving me the best ending to an incredible time in south america. x

Disliked: Leaving. Makes going home so much harder.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Mike! thanks a lot! we miss you! (indeed)

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Leaving it.

Disliked: Lack of helpful staff, lack of wifi, lack of bar opening, lack of aircon. Lack of water for sale sometimes!!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice building, quiet, chilled out

Disliked: There ia no pool. Think it had just been filled in but it was part of the reason that we chose to stay there as Taganga so HOT. Also no air con in rooms, only fans. Very hot, sweaty uncomfortable sleep. Staff not very helpful but I think that is coz thye dont speak much english so thats our problem for not being spanish speakers. Also bar is not open. You have to ask reception for drink and most the time they couldnt be bothered walking up the stairs and making us a drink and basically said no.


The property's response is

Thanks for your review!
The pool is back! as you know is a plunge pool and got broken... we have a new one now, sorry about that.
About the weather... is caribean coast and we clearly say in our profile is an eco hostel so we use fans and the breaze... but as you know is not windy all the time :(
We will check with our staff what happened when you were staying here.
Anyway thanks for comming we will work hard to be better.
Regards,
Mona

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent hostel, very clean with a decent location.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Rooftop terrace and clean. The turtles were cool as well.

Disliked: Not much atmoshere. Expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really cute houses with hammocks, fireplace and small kitchen, awesome view on the Titicaca Lake!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Anne!!!
Love your post... but La Tortuga is located in Taganga, Colombia lol... sunsets, beach, rooftop bar.... do you remember?.
Hope my post will be great as well!!!

Regards,
Mona

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Its very safe

Disliked: its more expensive

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really good helpful and friendly staff, VERY cute baby kitten, nice views from rooftop bar. Able to leave backpacks here whilst we went to Park Tayrona.

Disliked: breakfast very basic (bread+jam), no lockers but staff able to put valuables in a safe.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Good news Lucy!!! we have lockers now!! :D Thanks for your recomendation!

Check Availability