HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taganga hostels

Reviews of Hostel Tropical Maison Taganga

Hostel | Calle 14 No 3-06, Taganga, Colombia 000000

86.1% Overall Rating

28 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2013)

Dick ter Burg thinks…

"It's a homestay and the owner, Jean, is a wonderfull man. He can give you the best advice you can imagine and he makes your stay in Taganga special."

Read all Hostel Tropical Maison Taganga reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taganga?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taganga

Casa Divanga
10.60 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 14 reviews
Divanga B&B
15.38 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 13 reviews
ocean reef guesthouse
5.30 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 18 reviews
The Alchemist Hostel
7.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Kankuamu
13.26 USD

Guesthouse 70.9% 5 reviews
Hostel Villa Mary
13.26 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
La Tortuga Hostel
12.20 USD

Hostel 82.6% 48 reviews
Hostel Nirvana Tganga
10.60 USD

Hostel 77.5% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

28 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Tropical Maison Taganga'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dick ter Burg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2013 Dick would recommend this property

Liked: It's a homestay and the owner, Jean, is a wonderfull man. He can give you the best advice you can imagine and he makes your stay in Taganga special.

Disliked: Dick left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More like a homestay than a hostel, but nice and quiet at night. Guy that runs the place is almost always around, so keeps an eye on things.

Disliked: House doesn't have the greatest air flow, so it's pretty warm at night. The cats are great as they keep the bugs away, but one of them did decide to pee on one of our bags...which isn't great.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

11 February 2013

Liked: It was quiet which was good, and apart from the owner we had the place to ourselves, access to a fridge and kitchen if we had wanted

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Tregellas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: This is really much more of a homestay. Jean invites you into his home with open arms. He's very friendly and like to chat if you do, but he'll also leave you to yourself if you prefer. Be warned that is not for 24 hour party people. Rather it's a great spot for people who want to access all of the wonderful countryside and activities this area without getting involved with the more full on seafront.

Disliked: Only problem is that air flow around the house isn't great, perhaps because of the super tight insect netting on the windows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karl Krauss

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 January 2013 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Jean.

Disliked: Nothing, but beach wasn't very inviting.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Live music, excellent language skills, great stories, very helpful and friendly. Nice cute cats that keep away the bugs. Good comunal facilities. Very homely.

Disliked: Not very clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Rollo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: John is a fantastic host and taganga is a great town, definitely come here and stay with John. This is not a party hostel though so you can get some good sleep and have a good chat with a top bloke when in your periodic home.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

oded fossfeld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 oded would recommend this property

Liked: Fully equipped kitchen Clean and comfortble rooms John, the owner, makes you feel at home, and is an excellent storyteller! We could leave our bags while going to Tyrona park. This is NOT a party hostel.

Disliked: oded left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

clare osborn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 clare would recommend this property

Liked: We booked 3 nights and stayed 5 we would have stayed longer if we had time. Its more of a home than a hostel, cosy and clean with only 2 bedrooms for travellers and Jean's room. Both rooms have ensuite, we stayed in both they both have loads of space to put or hang your stuff and are spotlessly clean. The kitchen is well equipped and its nice to find a fridge with lots of space in it. There is a mango tree and lime tree in the garden which you can help yourself to and its in a great central location but still nice and quiet at night. But by far the highlight of staying here is the owner Jean, a French American in his later years in life who really has opened up his house for some company I think. Jean has tonnes of awesome stories to tell and is one of the nicest most genuine people you will ever meet. If you do stay here make sure you spend some time with him as it will be fascinating. He's even got a piano in the living room if you fancy tickling the ivories.

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say about Tropical Masion or Jean. If you are looking for a party hostel then this isnt the hostel for you but if you like to meet interesting people and fancy a touch of homeliness then this place is the best.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Flavell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The host is very entertaining and genuine man who has effectively opened up his house for some company. The fully equip kitchen is awsome and the place is always clean, supermarket across the road, a few roads from the beach but nice and quiet at night as the beach is busy after dark. Totally reccomend for the price you can't go wrong!

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: John is a friendly owner, there are only two rooms in the hostel. It's more a home-stay. The place is quit en there are no sounds from the bars at the beach. Only 2 blocks walking from the beach, good garden to relax under the mango and lime trees (great for the cuba libres!) If you like cats, there are three cats.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Gamble

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 March 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We (my boyfriend and I) LOVED it here! Jean made us feel so welcome from the offset and his stories are nothing short of incredible! The double room we had was nice and clean and we slept like logs in there - with coffee redu every morning when we woke up! - and despite all showers in taganga being 'cold', the tank here is on the roof so heats up all day to a nice temperature. The garden is a nice chillout zone with hammocks and mango trees - perfect for lazy days! We also headed to Tayrona park while we were there and were able to leave our bags - however after a terrible night's sleep in a hammock (dont stay at Cabo san juan!) we came back praying that Jean had a room for us - thankfully he did so we ended up booking for 2 nights and staying for almost a wk! Taganga is a nice place but staying with Jean was definately the icing and cherry on the cake!

Disliked: That we had to leave!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jean is interesting to talk to. Good WiFi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were very happy with this hostel. It's a quiet but charming small hostel. John, the owner, is such a friendly person. We only stayed one night but we could leave all our luggage for free for two more nights while we were in PN Tayrona and in PN Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta. In fact, our luggage was there more than we were :-). We were sad having to leave this place because of our busy schedule, we would have liked to spend some more time with John and his stories. He can give nice insights into Colombian society :-).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kari Borowiecki

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2012 Kari would recommend this property

Liked: John, the owner, is a very sweet man who gave us advice on the area, made us coffee every morning, shared interesting stories with us, and made us feel right at home. It was truly a pleasure to meet him. We stayed 4 nights there. John also let us store our bags there while we went to Park Tayrona which was great as we did a lot of hiking there. The rooms are basic and clean with a lot of space to put your things (closet, drawers, hooks, etc.), the kitchen has everything you need for cooking (although I can't say that Taganga minimarkets have much to offer if you like to cook anything other than very basic stuff, you are better off doing your shopping at Exito in Santa Marta before heading to Taganga. Also, the one ATM machine in Taganga doesn't accept all cards, so get your money in Santa Marta too). Tropical Maison is a short walk to the beach and a very good value compared to the other hostels in town. We like John the most, it felt more like we were staying at a friend of a friend's house or an uncle's place... not a hostel.

Disliked: Kari left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: John is really friendly and the location is perfect;just a small walk to the center and the beach.

Disliked: The bathroom could be cleaner...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owner is a really awesome nice company, very clean and comfy

Disliked: -

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Shabby, not very clean, no internet, no breakfast, very expensive

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Chris Frampton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: John the owner is a fabulously eccentric older gentleman who really made us feel welcome in his home and had plenty of funny stories to tell.

Disliked: A couple of dead cockroaches in the shower when we arrived but he wasn't expecting us so can't complain too much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Gwillim

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 April 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: We had an absolutely amazing time with John and the other guests in his house. John (he used John with me, Jean with the French i think) is a great guy and wanted to make sure we enjoyed every part of our stay. He completely opened his house to us, we had a BBQ with him and the other guests, and overall had a great time. Highly recommended for Taganga.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cameron McLean

22 May 2010 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: This place is a converted home so is small - not a place for parties, however John the owner is one of the most interesting people you will meet and we spent a number of nights tlaking with him until the wee hours. We BBQd in his back yard, were close to the beach and local buses and he has a great kitchen - all you need. We'd recommend this place to anyone looking to relax in a home away from home.

Disliked: Cameron left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tyler Sharp

22 May 2010 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: A very friendly and quaint place to stay in Taganga, Jean is most accommodating and entertaining. He's very willing to make your stay as enjoyable as he can, including letting you pick delicious limes off of the tree out back to make cuba libres every night and telling one of his many interesting life stories! A great value for the money and a excellent place to chill out, relax and meet a few other travelers. And it's just off the main stretch in town by 3 or 4 blocks, so it avoids the crowds and noise at night. A big thumbs up!!

Disliked: Tyler left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Painter

10 May 2010 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Jean, is a lovely man, an artist, musician and storyteller who will entertain anyone and everyone who stays here. The hostel is very close to the centre of the town but not directly in the bar and disco area so you'll mostly sleep well. WiFi, kitchen and lovely garden give you plenty of facilities for a relaxing stay.

Disliked: Anthony left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and quiet hostel in the middle of Taranga. Jean, the owner tells funny stories about his life. Me and my friend had a really good time here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had the pleasure of staying in the hostel first for 3 nights and then we came back for 8 more because we liked the place so much. Jean is quite simply one of the most interesting, kind and charismatic people we have met on our long travels. We enjoyed many lovely evenings together sharing travel stories. This is a perfect place to stay for those wanting a very restful, relaxed stay in a homely environment.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Taganga hostels