HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Santa Marta, Colombia

95.2%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Playa del Ritmo

Hostel
Calle 74 a n° 1 - 20, front of Sierra Laguna Cond, Santa Marta, Colombia 47001

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Playa del Ritmo

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 93% Safety - 100%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 93%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Relaxation/spa
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 14 February 2014

GREAT place if you want to "get away from it all." Rented a private room with beachfront location, had a hammock outside which was great. Private beach, and restaurant on site is pretty good to serve your needs. Town is just a quick taxi ride away and the restaurant can call one for you and it's usually there within five minutes (most rides will be under 10k COP). With the cozy setting, all the guests are pretty friendly with each other and its easy to meet people. This place is a great getaway if you want to spend a couple of days being lazy and doing absolutely nothing.

Duncan Allardyce
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Duncan would recommend this property 25 January 2014

Great alternative to the city. Nice resort style beach. Bring food with you, the kitchen is good and no great foods shops nearby.

93.8%
6 reviews Book Now 
2

Masaya Hostel Santa Marta

Hostel
Calle 14 #04-80, Santa Marta Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia 000000

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Masaya Hostel Santa Marta

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 86% Facilities - 96% Safety - 100%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 96%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 05 April 2014

This is an excellent hostel on every level. Clean, safe, well-located, friendly staff, looks more like a fancy hotel than a hostel. Great atmosphere, especially on the rooftop in the evenings. Had an amazing time here.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 February 2014

I think this is one of the best hostels I have stayed at in 9 months of global travel. It's great value and feels like a real treat at the price. I'm so glad I chose this place, I've even booked myself in for another stay after Tayrona.

93.6%
72 reviews Book Now 
3

The Dreamer Hostel

Hostel
Carrera 51, 26D-161, Diagonal 32 Los Trupillos, Santa Marta, Colombia -

71 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Dreamer Hostel

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 98% Facilities - 95% Safety - 97%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 93%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 April 2014

Located right by a large grocery store and shopping plaza. Facilities at the hostel were great. All the staff are very friendly and helpful with tours and getting taxis for you. Loved our stayand wwould most definitely go again.

James Wiper
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Shopping
88.6%
James would recommend this property 29 January 2014

Nice areas to relax and served good food, by the swimming pool. The rooms were nice but quite expensive as they were quite basic, eg. no air con. The location is a bit out of the way but has everything you need if you want to relax, eat and party! The staff were excellent, my girlfriend had left her kindle on the plane and the lady at the desk did everything she could to help us retrieve it, including sitting on the phone for at least an hour, as well as helping everyone else.

93.5%
7 reviews Book Now 
4

eco hostal yuluka

Hostel
km 28 Troncal Caribe, El Trompito, Parque Tayrona, Santa Marta, Colombia n/a

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend eco hostal yuluka

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 97% Facilities - 91% Safety - 94%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 94%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa, Romantic getaway
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 November 2013

The personal attention of the staff Wonderfull room, with bath in the open air, form where you have a splendid view on the tropical wood The good food Very clean

Damien O'Reilly
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Damien would recommend this property 25 August 2012

Beautiful setting with very friendly staff. Excellent location for exploring the park. The included breakfast was very substantial and tasty.

91.8%
7 reviews Book Now 
5

Carroll's Hostel

Hostel
Calle 11 # 4-120, El Rodadero, Santa Marta, Colombia 470006

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Carroll's Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 88% Facilities - 91% Safety - 91%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 94%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 01 April 2014

Really helpful staff: especially Cesar who is so knowledgeable and willing to give advice. Really great kitchen and room with air con!

James Carroll
Alone
Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
James would recommend this property 11 March 2014

My room was fantastic. What a great value. This is the model for all hostels. They treat the guests like family.

90.3%
5 reviews Book Now 
6

Hotel Nueva granada

Hotel
Calle 12 n 3-17, Santa Marta, Colombia -

3 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Nueva granada

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 92% Facilities - 92% Safety - 92%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 84%
Joe Kearney
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
62.9%
Joe would recommend this property 28 January 2014

When we arrived we were told we had to change rooms the next day which was a little inconvenient. The place is nice, I sunbathed in the courtyard but as with nearly everywhere we stayed the staff are constantly cleaning so its impossiblee to switch off and relax with never ending sweeping, wiping and watering of plants. Some tropical birds live here and the beers in the fridge was cheap. The breakfast while plentiful is a bit bland. We were very glad to have a daily breakfast as many places dont even bother but it was very unexciting.

kai wapler
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday
94.3%
11 December 2013

Good location close to beach and city centre.Relaxed, quiet courtyard with a huge Mango tree under which you enjoy your breakfast.Friendly staff.

88.1%
32 reviews Book Now 
7

Drop Bear Hostel

Hostel
Carrera 21 con Calle 20, No 36, Santa Marta, Colombia N/A

31 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Drop Bear Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 92% Facilities - 92% Safety - 93%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 90%
Aengus Gormley
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Aengus would recommend this property 31 March 2014

Old Cartel house - make sure you do the house tour with Gabriel, the owner, on Sunday night if you stay here at the weekend. Great outside area with a big swimming pool, tables and deck chairs. Nice kitchen to cook in and large tv room/common area.

Alan Dsouza
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Alan would recommend this property 12 March 2014

Our room was huge! The attached bathroom was bigger than most dorm rooms that i've stayed in. The staff was friendly and helpful and they had a ot amenities, including a pool and a bar.

84.7%
14 reviews Book Now 
8

Hostal Candela Y Chocolate

Hostel
calle 12 # 3-01, centro historico de santa mart, Santa Marta, Colombia 47001

12 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Candela Y Chocolate

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 91% Facilities - 81% Safety - 81%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
27 November 2013

It's a lovely place with the nice relaxed atmosphere. It's very well-located right in the centre of santa marta, a few minutes away from the beach, big supermarkets and loads of restaurants and shops. The people working at the hostel are incredibly friendly and willing to help out with anything. The beds are nice and clean, breakfast is included and youbget an amazing fresh juice upon arrival. Great place and great value for money!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 30 December 2012

Good location, juice whenever you arrive, really friendly and helpful staff. They give you small maps. The beds are comfortable, linens and towels are cleaned daily. There is good value laundry service on site.

83.2%
19 reviews Book Now 
9

La Brisa Loca

Hostel
Calle 14 #3-58, Centro Historico, Santa Marta, Colombia Magdalena

17 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend La Brisa Loca

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 77% Facilities - 84% Safety - 87%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 83%
Kate Schlegel
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Kate would recommend this property 10 May 2013

I loved the location. It was near by to many banks, food, and blocks away from the local beach. I stayed here for about 4 nights and in the middle I took off for Parque Tayrona. The hostel allowed me to leave my bags in the storage room, which was awesome! I loved my first couple nights, but after coming back from the park I was exhausted and just wanted some quiet. If you are looking for some peace and quiet this is not the place for you, they play music until about 2 or 3 in the morning and there is always something going on. It is a great place to start of your adventure in the surrounding area of Santa Marta and the hostel itself is beautiful. If you want to have a good time and don't plan on sleeping much, this is the place for you!

Kai Kalusa
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
94.3%
Kai would recommend this property 02 April 2013

Located in a colonial style house in the city center. Offers a pool and a bar with good atmosphere.

82.1%
16 reviews Book Now 
10

Kayros Vivienda Turistica Backpackers

Guesthouse
Calle 17 9-44, MAGDALENA, Santa Marta, Colombia 0000

14 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Kayros Vivienda Turistica Backpackers

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 91% Facilities - 78% Safety - 87%
Location - 71% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 88%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 17 February 2012

We stayed in a private room that was huge. We had a tv, fan, ac, and fridge stocked with cold drinks and beer.The shower was separate from the bath. Nicest private room we have stayed in. This is not a party hostel-very quiet and we only saw a few people during our stay. The kitchen is well-equipped and spacious. Small outdoor area with table and hammocks to eat and chill.

volker thiel
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
volker would recommend this property 22 December 2011

Really nice Hostel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Really warm and familiar character!

Santa Marta

16 Hostels from 9.32 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Santa Marta hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Santa Marta. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.