HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Drop Bear Hostel

Hostel | Carrera 21 con Calle 20, No 36, Santa Marta, Colombia N/A

86.4% Overall Rating

33 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2014)

Aengus Gormley thinks…

"Old Cartel house - make sure you do the house tour with Gabriel, the owner, on Sunday night if you stay here at the weekend. Great outside area with a big swimming pool, tables and deck chairs. Nice…"

Read all Drop Bear Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santa Marta?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santa Marta

Casa Del Ritmo
11.91 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 3 reviews
La Finca Del Tayrona
10.36 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Mango Hostal
10.36 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Dreamer Hostel
9.84 USD

Hostel 93.6% 72 reviews
Kayros Vivienda Turistica Backpackers
15.54 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 16 reviews
La Brisa Loca
9.32 USD

Hostel 83.2% 19 reviews
La Villana Hostel
12.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Candela Y Chocolate
9.32 USD

Hostel 84.7% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

33 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Drop Bear Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 30 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aengus Gormley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2014 Aengus would recommend this property

Liked: Old Cartel house - make sure you do the house tour with Gabriel, the owner, on Sunday night if you stay here at the weekend. Great outside area with a big swimming pool, tables and deck chairs. Nice kitchen to cook in and large tv room/common area.

Disliked: The size of the place maybe took away from the social atmosphere a bit (its very big and was only half full when I stayed). The bar is pretty good at night time but not the best.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Dsouza

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was huge! The attached bathroom was bigger than most dorm rooms that i've stayed in. The staff was friendly and helpful and they had a ot amenities, including a pool and a bar.

Disliked: A little far away from the center

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great pool, friendly staff, large rooms.

Disliked: Apparently a very safe area, but a couple of guys were mugged at knife point right outside the hostel during our stay. The next day on the tour of the hostel, the owner claimed it was the safest place on Colombia.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

15 January 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great house. Great staff. Great rooms. Great pool.

Disliked: Some of the bathrooms could do with a bit of renovation.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

scott billington

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013 scott would recommend this property

Liked: great host, friendly staff, possibly the best hostel in colombia, its good a good balance between chilled and partying

Disliked: the cat :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Allison Snyder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2013 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome concept for a hostel - former cartel boss' mansion! I used drop bear as my home base for about 2 weeks while I did various 1-4 day trips around the area and the staff was so helpful and friendly each time. They know a LOT about the area and provide lists of things to do all over the place. The common areas are the best - pool, big tv, pingpong table and a kitchen with the amazing cook, Willy, to fix you something if you don't have your own food. :). They even offer tours with old stories about the house and salsa nights with the whole staff. Buena gente! There are a variety if options for guests with varying budgets but you can sleep in non a/c dorms with public bathroom to a/c dorms w en-suite to suites. You can even sleep in hammocks if the place is full!

Disliked: Public bathrooms need to accommodate more people.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities in terms of pool, kitchen etc. location is a bus ride from Santa marta centro, but close to supermarket and cheap food, which is excellent. The rooms without aircon are quite cool and the dorms are a good size

Disliked: The heat of Santa marta makes it worth paying extra for aircon in my opinion. Bit of confusion about the free filtered water in the kitchen. It bought it was good for drinking, but some of the staff told me they don't recommend it whilst others said it was fine, so I ended up buying water from the supermarket - not a big deal, just wanted to know

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Nichola Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013

Liked: The staff, especially the lady Manager was lovely and super helpful. They had small lockers in the dorms and we were able to store our big rucksacks in the storage room for 7 days whist we did the Ciudad Perida trek/go to N.P Tayrona.

Disliked: The dorms were filthy and had one fan in the middle of the room, which didn't benefit anyone. The communal showers for those staying in the dorm,were filthy and you had to walk through a garage (it looked like a parking lot) to get to them.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome tour of old cartel house and the pool was great.

Disliked: Only one fan in the dorm rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Pool

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Bentley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Best place we stayed in all of Colombia! Don't even hesitate booking this place, it's amazing. Pool, movie room, ping pong table, bar, AWESOME STAFF, heaps of activities to do. Plus you're staying in an ex-cartel mansion, do the free house tour while you're there, it's great! We miss this place so much, it became a home away from home. Will definitely be back!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael ellis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is an ex cartel house with a lot of character, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, pool, bar, an abundance of toilets, large kitchen and TV room. It is also kept clean and has a great level of security. The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Gabe the owner, and there is plenty of information at hand on the surrounding areas and activities. Tours can also be easily booked from the hostel so take advantage. It isn't a party hostel so you can rest if you have just returned from a trek. The bar and pool area provides a great place to meet other travellers though and you can always go out after the bar closes if you do want to party. Don´t be put of by the location; it isn´t in the center but I prefered this to staying in the tourist trap areas. You will get a better local experience and everything is just a short taxi, colectivo or motorbike trip away. I originally booked for 5 nights and stayed for 10. Thank you Gabe and all the staff at the Drop Bear for making my experience in Santa Marta awesome.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is gorgeous - really large, full of character with everything you need

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe and the pool was a life saver given how hot it is in Santa Marta. It's a five minute walk from an Exito which makes cooking for yourself nice and easy. It's a bit far from town but only a 4,000 Peso taxi into centro. The bar is small and cosy with James making up mean drinks all night. Good travel board with tips on what to do in the area.

Disliked: Mary Poppins definitely needs to come through here and give it a good clean. Not filthy by any means but not the cleanest in the bathrooms (hair in drains, mold, etc).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying at the Drop Bear! In fact it was so nice, we went back there a second time just to chill out and relax by the pool. Like everything in the hostel our double room was ridiculously big (in the good sense) and had a very comfy mattress. The staff were super friendly (especially Saari and Miguel who worked at reception and Willy the cook) and helpful, and provided lots of useful information on Santa Marta and surroundings (Parque Tayrona, Minca etc). The kitchen was big and adequately equipped, so self-catering definitely is an option at this hostel, especially since there's a big super market within walking distance. The little bar is nice and stylish and has a good happy hour from 8-9pm. It's also a good place to meet nice people.

Disliked: During our stay the owner seemed rather moody. And the puppy -- despite being very cute -- can get incredibly annoying, since he likes biting peoples ankles, trousers, and everything else he can get his teeth on.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big spacious house, pool, very comfortable

Disliked: can be noisy at night, a little bit further out of town

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff (especially with booking tours and storing bags etc) ideal for sorting out trips to tairona or the lost city, awesome bar and nice pool too. Very interesting building.

Disliked: bathrooms not quite as good as rest of builiding.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Charalambous

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and not pushy at all.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen, great pool, great staff. Pretty much awesome all round.

Disliked: Happy hour is only an hour :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Paxton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely relaxing mansion set in a quiet suburb of Santa Marta. Really easy to get to Tayrona or Minca and a short taxi into town. Staff and volunteers are very helpful and informative. Nice pool and bar. Went back and stayed here again and would recommend to anyone.

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a very large hostel and so plenty of areas to chill out. Dorms are spacious with lots of room, comfy beds and the lockers are big enough for you to put your big rucksack in. We actually stayed another night in hamocks as well which was very comfortable and cheap. Internet was really fast and the kitchen is very well stocked (no oven jut hobs). Exito really close by and safe area around the hostel.

Disliked: Its a little far from the centre but if you arrrive by the door to door service then not really an issue. First night was a little tired and Music went on to midnight but it was Saturday night and it is a backpacker hostel so cant really complain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne Wright

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

18 March 2013 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved this place. Wonderful staff, interesting massive place with great facilities and pool. Great location for buses to surroundings. Used it as a constant base and also to relax - didn't want to leave.

Disliked: Nothing bad to say at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I dropped in for one night and ended up staying two weeks, it was so hard to leave but I´ll be back again asap. I love how they've preserved the original charm of the ex-cartel house (it´s amazingly huge and spacious), the original bar, great big pool to chill in, it´s in the safest neighbourhood in Santa Marta, minutes away from downtown and a perfect base for trips to Tyrona etc. The dorm I stayed in was very spacious, the biggest lockers I've ever seen and super comfortable beds. I loved the hammocks and cinema room to relax in and they do an awesome BBQ and outdoor movie every Sunday. It's managed by a great Aussie guy and his super friendly and helpful staff. I'm a flashpacker and can honestly say this has been my favourite hostel in South America!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Drop Bear Hostel is super chill. There is a lot of space to just hang out and chill, most notably aside the sweet pool on the property. The dorm room I stayed in was actually really big. Even with 10 beds, it didn't seem very crowded at all. There is a really nice breeze that runs through the house and helps with sleeping at night. There are also a bunch of hammocks you can rent, but they were always all booked the few nights I spent there! I ended up spending a total of three nights at the hostel. The owner is Australian and was throwing a big party for Australia Day on the day I had to depart. I was bummed to miss it but it looked to be a good time! Oh, lastly, since Santa Marta is a good spot to hit en route to Tayrona, the hostel staff is totally accommodating and will store your bag for you while you make the trek there - another really nice plus. :-)

Disliked: Nada.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just everything. Great atmosphere, great hostel. Definitely recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.