HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Drop Bear Hostel Santa Marta Hostel

Carrera 21 Numero 20 36, Barrio Jardin, Santa Marta, Colombia

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 88%

Location 73%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santa Marta?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 88%

Location 73%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The pool was nice, but dirty. The tv room was huge, but stifling hot. We did get towels.

Disliked: Our private room was adjoining a 10 bed dorm and we all shared one bathroom with one toilet and one shower. Yikes. Our room had no air flow, one fan, and the entire place needed a good scrub. The sheets had dirty animal prints on them when we arrived.


The property's response is

Here in Colombia, in the Carribbean, it is hot and humid. Some people can handle the heat others not. That's why we have cheaper options like the room you reserved, DOUBLE ROOM WITH SHARED BATHROOM AND FAN and other double rooms with private bathrooms and aircon. We suggest you reserve your rooms according to your budget and adaptability. If you not you should probably not be BACKPACKING and not be staying in HOSTELS. Also, our pool is impecable and animals dont have keys to our rooms.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great hostel. The best I stayed at in Colombia. The staff are really friendly and the facilities are great. The large pool is a must for Santa Marta. The games and movie room is large and spacious. The aircon dorms are large as well so you don't feel cramped by your neighbour and stay cool until midday (unlike outside). The hostel is an old cartel house so it has a lot of character.

Disliked: The only thing you could complain about would be the location. But the hostel is only a quick walk from la liberator where it is easy to catch a bus or taxi to wherever you are going.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great pool to avoid the heat and fantastic facilities with a great selection of movies and tv shows, relation areas, kitchen where you can either cook to have food prepared for you. Freezing cold beers available in the bar and a choice of aircon and non aircon dorms, though aircon goes over well in this heat. Staff all super friendly and helpful. The owner does a great tour on the history of the hostel and surrounding region.

Disliked: Slightly high mark up on the cost of food and water , so just walk to the exito and get what you need there.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: lots of space in the dorm

Disliked: bathrooms were pretty dirtythey didn't give me the same price that I saw in the web.When I asked them they gave me the price.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The house is an ex-cartel house and that of course adds to the inherent character. But apart from that, there is a large pool that is almost a necessity for hot and humid Santa Marta, a huge game room with a large tv, tons of seating, and a ping pong table. There is also a poolside bar. The dorms were massive and very very spacious, and there were tons of hammocks and many different areas to chill. The staff was friendly and very knowledgable. One of the best hostels I've stayed at during the two months of my trip so far.

Disliked: The location is a little far from the down-town action, but a short 5-min cab ride will get you there (it is about a 10-min walk to a large Exito supermarket though).

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great atmosphere and friendly staff

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The building is very nice. The bar and the swimmingpool are beautiful.

Disliked: To much wind in the swimmingpool area. The room without air conditioning are too hot to sleep. The shower doesnt work very well.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything, by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Me and my girlfriend stayed in an air con double, it was huge! Everything was really clean, the pool is great and very necessary in Santa Marta. Gabriel (The owner) and his staff were really friendly and helpful. Recommend this hostel 100%

Disliked: Maybe it's a little bit far from Santa Marta's downtown, but the neighborhood is really nice, safe and quiet. A taxi to downtown is only 2.5 us dollars, so, is better than hostels downtown in my opinion.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A really great hostel based in a huge former cartel mansion, this might have been the largest hostel I've ever stayed at. The location is out of town in a safe, pleasant suburb and close to a large supermarket. This may be a problem for anyone who wants to be in the centre of the action but it is very ideally located for trips to Tayrona and beyond. We stayed a total of 8 nights between various trips around the area and never had a problem. If you are staying on a Sunday evening be sure to join in on the owners free 'house tour' he tells many fascinating stories about Colombian history and the hostel's past as a cartel mansion! Both dorms and private rooms are spacious and there are many bathrooms dotted around the house

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Old Cartel house - make sure you do the house tour with Gabriel, the owner, on Sunday night if you stay here at the weekend. Great outside area with a big swimming pool, tables and deck chairs. Nice kitchen to cook in and large tv room/common area.

Disliked: The size of the place maybe took away from the social atmosphere a bit (its very big and was only half full when I stayed). The bar is pretty good at night time but not the best.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for yor comments guy. Apologies for the atmosphere not being what you were after. It is the middle of low season so there aren't too many travellers around and most hostels are only half full.

Check Availability