We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Dreamer Hostel

Hostel | Carrera 51, 26D-161, Diagonal 32 Los Trupillos, Santa Marta, Colombia -

91.4% Overall Rating

78 out of 79 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/05/2015)

Alex Sizer thinks…

"The pool and outdoor area were great. Such a great place to meet people. Great bar and bar staff but it still quietens down enough to sleep. The staff on the desk were just wonderful- Rodrigo…"

Read all The Dreamer Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

multiple nights stay we'll charge the first 2 nights

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santa Marta?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santa Marta

Mango Hostal
7.94 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Kayros Vivienda Turistica Backpackers
11.91 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 16 reviews
Mango Tree Santa Marta
7.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Candela Y Chocolate
7.14 USD

Hostel 84.0% 15 reviews
La Brisa Loca
10.32 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
La Villana Hostel
9.92 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Drop Bear Hostel
9.92 USD

Hostel 87.1% 41 reviews
La Guaca Hostel
9.92 USD

Hostel 91.0% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

78 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Dreamer Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 64 of 78 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Sizer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2015 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: The pool and outdoor area were great. Such a great place to meet people. Great bar and bar staff but it still quietens down enough to sleep. The staff on the desk were just wonderful- Rodrigo especially. We loved The Dreamer, there was no desire to leave its' four walls!

Disliked: Nothing, but do yourself a favour and book an air conditioned room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andres Doblado Maldonado

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2015 Andres would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever been to (around the world). Staff is super friendly, food is delicious, cocktails are awesome, the atmosphere is unique, rooms are clean, and the activities they plan are also great!

Disliked: Andres left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alex Guzman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are big!

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dmitry Price

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

18 August 2014 Dmitry would recommend this property

Liked: Storage locker for overnight trips, friendly staff, good food and nice room.

Disliked: Dmitry left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are great- very helpful Had a great stay- stayed for extra nights

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located right by a large grocery store and shopping plaza. Facilities at the hostel were great. All the staff are very friendly and helpful with tours and getting taxis for you. Loved our stayand wwould most definitely go again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Jamilis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 February 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful employees. Very clean and it has a great swimming pool

Disliked: Nothing. In fact, I've stayed more days

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

James Wiper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Nice areas to relax and served good food, by the swimming pool. The rooms were nice but quite expensive as they were quite basic, eg. no air con. The location is a bit out of the way but has everything you need if you want to relax, eat and party! The staff were excellent, my girlfriend had left her kindle on the plane and the lady at the desk did everything she could to help us retrieve it, including sitting on the phone for at least an hour, as well as helping everyone else.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was always friendly and tremendously helpful. Beautiful pool, social atmosphere (without being noisy). Delicious food for those days when you're too hung over to cook for yourself! Arguably the best hostel I've stayed at!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Eustice

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time at The Dreamer, the pool table is good, the bar is cheap and the common areas are great for meeting people. They balance the social side with no noise after midnight so you can party and meet people but still get some sleep. The air con rooms were a godsend and the pool is beautiful in the heat! I need to say a special mention to the staff who were incredible. My girlfriend and I both got Dengue fever and the staff provided us with free soup, helped with translation at the hospital and even got one of their family doctors in to check us over. The food was fairly good and there is a big mall, supermarket and cinema just 5 safe minutes walk from the hostel. All in all a great hostel and you shouldn't need to consider anywhere else!

Disliked: The shared showers were missing showerheads and this is a small problem that could be fixed easily. They do have good pressure though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caroline Dreßen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 December 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very nice! and the bar/pool/restaurant. we met nice other travellers.

Disliked: Caroline left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, quietness and friendliness of stuff

Disliked: The hostel is quiet far from all beaches, the city center etc. so you have to take taxi or public transport every time you want to go somewhere. It's overpriced considering that breakfast is not included and no restaurants are close by. So you either have to cook for yourself, take a cab or have breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hostels restaurant. The showers have only cold water and no real stream of water.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere created here. The staff were really good and the food in the restaurant is great. Also stayed in their sister property in Palomino which was fantastic! Great pools in both properties!

Disliked: The showers are really poor. A dribble of cold water. This is disappointing especially when many people here have just come back from the Ciudad Perdida trek and would really welcome a good shower. It's also a little far out from Santa Marta city but this was not something that bothered me!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dreamer Hostel is absolutly the best place to stay in Santa Marta. The reception and the volunteer are extremely helpful and friendly and go out of their way to create a warm and fun environment in which people make friends instantly. If you want to meet new people, see a more authentic Santa Marta and experience Columbia culture then Dreamer Hostel is the place for you

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool and atmosphere are great! And the rooms are really big so you don't feel cramped

Disliked: It didn't seem particularly easy to get anywhere without a taxi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, love the pool and the relaxed space the hostel creates. Good location at the crossroads of everything - not in Santa Marta centro, but equal distance from it, Taganga and right on the road to easily get to Tayrona, Palomino or places east along the coast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Georg Plavec

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2013 Jan Georg would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the atmosphere there, it was a mix of backpackers and couples. Location is fine for Tayrona, they offer tours and everything is very well-kept.

Disliked: Wi-Fi didn't work after heavy rainfalls, but that was not the hostel's fault.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sinead Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere with a really good area to hang out and meet people. All the facilities are well equipped and its nice and clean. The staff are super friendly and willing to help.

Disliked: Sinead left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vinicius Almeida

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2013 Vinicius would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and helpful staff. The hostel was built for this purpose, so all facilities are perfect for the travelers' needs. Swimming pool, free wifi and towels were such a plus!

Disliked: There are no hot showers and the breakfast is not included in the price.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a problem, the staff sorted it out

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Johnson

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere, great place to chill or get meet others with nightly activities. The restaurant has good food for a reasonable price and the bar is well stocked including wine by the glass or bottle.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Ives

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING. The Dreamer Hostel is the best hostel in South America we have stayed in so far. We have been travelling for 3 months and this hostel has everything you could need. We booked for one week but stayed for two. The staff are helpful, the facilities are always clean, the guest kitchen is great but if you don't feel like cooking they have a restaurant with GREAT food at reasonable prices. The pool is really nice to lounge around for a lazy day but there is plenty of activities practically at the door step if you feel adventurous.

Disliked: The showers are cold - not that the weather really requires a hot shower but a little warm warm water to take the edge off would be good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: The Dreamer hostel is quite frankly one of, if not, the best hostel I have ever stopped in. The atmosphere was phenomenal, sitting in the pool with a beer whilst watching the Champions League...what more could a guy want! ;) It has something for everyone, if you want to chill out, hammocks surround a pool area where people often lay back, soak up the sun and grab a book. If you want a party, there are plenty of party people at the Dreamer, and you're only 15 minutes taxi away from the lively Taganga and 5 mins taxi from the centre... The location is perfect, as the centre doesn't have alot (bar nightlife) and the Dreamer is close to all the Caribbean beaches, Parque Nacional Tayrona and the phenomenal Lost City...basically everything worth doing in Santa Marta. The staff were so helpful...and they also helped me out when I had a mix-up with my Lost City booking (wasn't their fault at all). Whenever I entered/exited the hostel they always had a chat with me and made me feel really welcome. (Thank you Esther and Gina!). Even banter with the cleaners was to be had! You have your own lockers, so security is not an issue... Had the time of my life here...didn't want to leave!

Disliked: Not alot. Yes the restaurant is a little pricey (tasty though!), but there are many cheap "almuerzo" restaurants right around the corner on the main road...so not a problem at all. The dorms were hot at night with only one fan in the middle...but I didn't need to go to reception about it, a cleaner just noticed that it was pretty hot and suggested to reception an extra fan for the dorm...which made all the difference! So yeah...basically disliked nothing...oh maybe one thing...it put me behind my travelling schedule as I didn't want to leave and it took me an extra 2 weeks to leave the place than planned!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amalia berastegui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 amalia would recommend this property

Liked: The pool s great, chill out atmos, great WIFI, Air con (specially coz Santa MArta is f hot)

Disliked: Its a little far away from the city center

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Damien O'Reilly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2012 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: The pool is great. The restaurant is nice and in general it's a very relaxing place with lots of hammocks available. The organised trips are fun and the mall close by is useful for stocking up.

Disliked: The main negative was the lack of AC in the 10 bed dorm. One meagre little fan meant it was very hot. Some of the other rooms had AC. Also the board in reception did not accurately reflect the trips that were happening, however the front desk staff were very helpful.