HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Dreamer Hostel

Hostel | Carrera 51, 26D-161, Diagonal 32 Los Trupillos, Santa Marta, Colombia -

93.5% Overall Rating

73 out of 74 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"Located right by a large grocery store and shopping plaza. Facilities at the hostel were great. All the staff are very friendly and helpful with tours and getting taxis for you. Loved our stayand wwould most definitely…"

Read all The Dreamer Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

multiple nights stay we'll charge the first 2 nights

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santa Marta?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santa Marta

Mango Hostal
10.60 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Kayros Vivienda Turistica Backpackers
14.85 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 16 reviews
La Finca Del Tayrona
10.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Kayros Hostel
13.26 USD

Hostel 61.6% 7 reviews
Hostal Candela Y Chocolate
9.54 USD

Hostel 84.7% 14 reviews
La Brisa Loca
10.60 USD

Hostel 83.7% 21 reviews
La Villana Hostel
13.26 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Drop Bear Hostel
9.54 USD

Hostel 87.2% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

73 out of 74 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Dreamer Hostel'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 73 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel - lovely pool, clean, great staff and loads of tips/tours available for the surrounding area.

Disliked: The fact that you weren't allowed to bring in your own alcohol to the hostel but to be honest the bar was pretty cheap anyway and they often turned a blind eye....!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabel Wester

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 June 2012 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very good. The hostel offers all kinds of tours you might want to enjoy while your stay. It is appropiate for meeting people. The swimming pool is a plus.

Disliked: The night we arrive we found out that they sold our beds to someone else and booked a room for us in another hostal that was extremely dirty. Not nice to hear after a long journey to Colombia. To put up with the damage we got breakfast free. I didnt have a problem with the drug use of some of the (long stay) guests at the hostel. But when we aware the staff about some of them being aggresive and screaming to other guests in the room all night they didnt mind to warn them The staff's character is welcoming but lacks of attitude in difficult situations. Some staff made up for others especially Fluvio.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Fordyce

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: One of the most buzzing places I've stayed. Super helpful staff and an amazing setting, it's like an oasis, I find it hard to think of anything that'd make it any cooler.

Disliked: Kitchen area is small for the number of people needing to use it so you need to be lucky to cook when you want to!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel we ever stayed at. Great Staff, pool, cool people! Not the kind of hostel that is full of young kids who only want to get drunk constantly. If you just wanna party, go to a place in downtown. Attracts people who like to enjoy their trip and stay. Great atmosphere! Had a wonderful time there! Thanks so much!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Have traveled all over the world and this hostel is above and beyond! From the second we arrived, the staff is so helpful and friendly. The rooms are comfortable, the grounds beautiful, fun to hang out in the hammocks and pool. Best food ever at a hostel! The ravioli is home made. Short cheap taxi ride to Santa Marta-much better to stay at Dreamer. They have trips everyday to the sights in the area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Derek Tomczyk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Loved meeting other travelers at the kitchen table... The rooms were spotless and modern... The location was convenient for reaching tayrona national park

Disliked: Some of the reception staff could have been friendlier but others made up for them... far to downtown

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Toulson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: The pool and gardens

Disliked: The shower was like a hose pipe

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heather Davis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was the best I have ever had at a hostel. The girl at the front desk helped me with very specific requests and I am so grateful to have had such great service.

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: many great trips in the Santa Marta erea but if you just wanna chill at the hostel its great to!!! Swimmingpool, pooltable, bar restaurant! Just perfect

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pool, communal kitchen is small but adequate, lovely hammocks around the garden to chill out in. Friendly and helpful staff, and decent size dorms with lockers.

Disliked: Insisting you buy alcohol from them only (at twice the price of the supermarket), charging for internet access on their computers (although wifi is free), 15 min taxi to town - although that's the tradeoff for having a nice pool to come back to, and well worth it to be honest!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruby Lucas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 January 2012 Ruby would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The fact that it's out of the main town of Santa Marta is to its advantage as it's in a nice, safe area.

Disliked: Nothing. My only issue with this place was to do with the doors in the toilets...but they fixed that while we were staying there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam campbell

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 adam would recommend this property

Liked: Well where do I start!!! After being warmly greeted by owners Fulvio and Esther, these guys take the time to show you around there outstandingly outlaid hostel.This place is home away from home, great location, excellent staff and I'd say without a doubt the best hostel I've ever stayed. These guys go out of there way to make your stay a comfortable one. If your looking at staying anywhere in Santa Marta,this is the place!! Esther is a great Spanish teacher and the meals from the restaurant are beautiful . Without a doubt I'm heading back there in 2012. :0)

Disliked: That I had to leave it:(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John McFarlane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: happy atmosphere

Disliked: location far from sea

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool area and communal area were great. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Toilets are rather small and cramped.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ashlee mcmillan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

07 September 2011 ashlee would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff were very friendly and helpfull, Rooms were very clean, Pool was amazing and it was a 2 min walk to a shopping centre. Highly recommend it to all travellers.

Disliked: Disliked nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a memorable expirience in this hostel, meet a lot of great travellers. very good location for Tayrona park and Minca, Clean and confortable room. also excellent restaurant onsite.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

glynn dean

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 glynn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are some of if not the most helpful that I have come across in my 9 months of travel (not to mention very attractive!) The pool is amazing and so needed as Santa Marta gets very warm! Great food in the restaraunt but also well equiped kitchen too so best of both worlds!!

Disliked: Could have been a little closer to town, however there is a supermarket very close for anything that is needed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Beaumont

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: From the moment we walked through the gate we relaxed! All the staff are knowledgeable about the trips and places of interest, helpful in making arrangements and always cheerful. The hostel is really well run, is exceptionally clean (sheets are changed every other day), the pool and hammocks are a wonderful bonus, plus a good restaurant serving great pasta. There's also a kitchen if you fancy cooking yourself which gets a little busy sometimes but has everything you need to cook up basic meals.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing to dislike - the place is brilliant

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sandro Natali

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Sandro would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a good neighbourhood and therefore safe. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. I can truly recommend this hostel! I'd go there again anytime.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, cool atmosphere. Pool and hammocks are nice. Nice place to chill out in general.

Disliked: All the rooms could do with aircon really. Kitchen could do with being a bit bigger. Fridges should be cleared out daily as they seemed to be always full, often with junk.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hostel very close to a massive supermarket/shopping centre with easy links to Tyrona NP. The rooms are all very nice and surround a nice clean pool and bar with hammocks all around. Very sociable, very friendly and helpful staff - all in all a superb hostel, we have been back 3 times now as we used it as a base to go to Tyrona NP and Taganga and they looked after bags free. Also organised diving for a cheap 110,000 pesos for 2 dives.

Disliked: If i was to comment on anything i would say It is not in the town of Santa Marta which didnt bother me at all as its 4000 fixed price for a taxi in Santa Marta. Wifi is a little intermittent but still good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is beautiful! I highly recommend it! It has a great swimming pool to hang out in. The restaurant serves really tasty Italian food. The staff are really friendly. Location is great-next to grocery store, ATM, shopping, bus and taxis. They run a bar too and have theme nights to bring all the travelers together. I had a blast and would definitely stay there again!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool and staff.

Disliked: Bathroom facilities - toilets really small and showers there is no room to put your things in there. And they are not private seeing as they are joined to the male bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Welsh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel - one of the best! nice pool, great facilities, and nice rooms. staff were very helpful and the atmosphere is wicked. there is a super market close by - the hostel is not in the town centre, however it is easy to get there, and the location means it is easy to do day trips to other places in the area - tuganga etc.

Disliked: nowt

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick harvey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

16 May 2011 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: This place is by far my favourite hostel that I've stayed at on my travels! It truly is a little oasis of it's own with a beautiful garden & plenty of hammocks to while the day away next to the pool / bar. Met some great friends here, I highly recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing.