We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Dreamer Hostel

Hostel | Diag.32, Los Trupillos de Mamatoco, Santa Marta, Colombia -

91.4% Overall Rating

78 out of 79 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/05/2015)

Alex Sizer thinks…

"The pool and outdoor area were great. Such a great place to meet people. Great bar and bar staff but it still quietens down enough to sleep. The staff on the desk were just wonderful- Rodrigo…"

Read all The Dreamer Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

multiple nights stay we'll charge the first 2 nights

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santa Marta?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santa Marta

Mango Hostal
7.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Kayros Vivienda Turistica Backpackers
11.45 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 16 reviews
Mango Tree Santa Marta
9.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Candela Y Chocolate
7.63 USD

Hostel 84.3% 16 reviews
La Brisa Loca
9.92 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
La Villana Hostel
6.36 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Drop Bear Hostel
9.54 USD

Hostel 87.1% 41 reviews
La Guaca Hostel
9.54 USD

Hostel 91.8% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

78 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Dreamer Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 64 of 78 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Strategically located to be near all the attractions in santa marta

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Morven Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2012

Liked: The property is nice with a great pool side setting. Good if you want to be away from everything and want to get an early night. Staff are helpful and there are daily activites on offer.

Disliked: The hostel is away from the centre of Santa Marta and the only way to return in the evening is by taxi. So the money you are saving here compared to other hostel is irrelevant when you have factored a taxi fare in. The resturaunt is overpriced, its the only place near by to eat and they have certianly monopolised on this fact. If you are looking for an early night then this is the place for you, If you are looking for an atmosphere and a bar (using the term loosley, there was a choice of beers or 2 non descript spirits with a complete lack of mixers) that opens later than 12pm then stay in town. The staff seem to close the bar when they fancy going bed at 12ish and don't seem to care that people were still sat there and preceed to switch all the lights off. The rooms are what you usually expect but the air con was actually just 2 fans, if you are placed at the opposote side of the room then you won't be having a pleasant sleep that night!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisabetta Errico

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Elisabetta would recommend this property

Liked: This was probably the best hostel I've ever been ! The room was very clean, and so were the bathrooms and showers, the bed was comfy and the commun kitchen was spacious an very well-equipped.

Disliked: The staff is lovely and will help you whatever you need, the hostel has a really familiar and chilled atmosphere. Moreover the hostel is located in a strategic position to visit the Tayrona Park and the most beautiful beaches of Santa Marta. Great time there!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel - lovely pool, clean, great staff and loads of tips/tours available for the surrounding area.

Disliked: The fact that you weren't allowed to bring in your own alcohol to the hostel but to be honest the bar was pretty cheap anyway and they often turned a blind eye....!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabel Wester

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 June 2012 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very good. The hostel offers all kinds of tours you might want to enjoy while your stay. It is appropiate for meeting people. The swimming pool is a plus.

Disliked: The night we arrive we found out that they sold our beds to someone else and booked a room for us in another hostal that was extremely dirty. Not nice to hear after a long journey to Colombia. To put up with the damage we got breakfast free. I didnt have a problem with the drug use of some of the (long stay) guests at the hostel. But when we aware the staff about some of them being aggresive and screaming to other guests in the room all night they didnt mind to warn them The staff's character is welcoming but lacks of attitude in difficult situations. Some staff made up for others especially Fluvio.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Fordyce

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: One of the most buzzing places I've stayed. Super helpful staff and an amazing setting, it's like an oasis, I find it hard to think of anything that'd make it any cooler.

Disliked: Kitchen area is small for the number of people needing to use it so you need to be lucky to cook when you want to!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel we ever stayed at. Great Staff, pool, cool people! Not the kind of hostel that is full of young kids who only want to get drunk constantly. If you just wanna party, go to a place in downtown. Attracts people who like to enjoy their trip and stay. Great atmosphere! Had a wonderful time there! Thanks so much!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Have traveled all over the world and this hostel is above and beyond! From the second we arrived, the staff is so helpful and friendly. The rooms are comfortable, the grounds beautiful, fun to hang out in the hammocks and pool. Best food ever at a hostel! The ravioli is home made. Short cheap taxi ride to Santa Marta-much better to stay at Dreamer. They have trips everyday to the sights in the area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Derek Tomczyk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Loved meeting other travelers at the kitchen table... The rooms were spotless and modern... The location was convenient for reaching tayrona national park

Disliked: Some of the reception staff could have been friendlier but others made up for them... far to downtown

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Toulson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: The pool and gardens

Disliked: The shower was like a hose pipe

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heather Davis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was the best I have ever had at a hostel. The girl at the front desk helped me with very specific requests and I am so grateful to have had such great service.

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: many great trips in the Santa Marta erea but if you just wanna chill at the hostel its great to!!! Swimmingpool, pooltable, bar restaurant! Just perfect

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pool, communal kitchen is small but adequate, lovely hammocks around the garden to chill out in. Friendly and helpful staff, and decent size dorms with lockers.

Disliked: Insisting you buy alcohol from them only (at twice the price of the supermarket), charging for internet access on their computers (although wifi is free), 15 min taxi to town - although that's the tradeoff for having a nice pool to come back to, and well worth it to be honest!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruby Lucas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 January 2012 Ruby would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The fact that it's out of the main town of Santa Marta is to its advantage as it's in a nice, safe area.

Disliked: Nothing. My only issue with this place was to do with the doors in the toilets...but they fixed that while we were staying there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam campbell

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 adam would recommend this property

Liked: Well where do I start!!! After being warmly greeted by owners Fulvio and Esther, these guys take the time to show you around there outstandingly outlaid hostel.This place is home away from home, great location, excellent staff and I'd say without a doubt the best hostel I've ever stayed. These guys go out of there way to make your stay a comfortable one. If your looking at staying anywhere in Santa Marta,this is the place!! Esther is a great Spanish teacher and the meals from the restaurant are beautiful . Without a doubt I'm heading back there in 2012. :0)

Disliked: That I had to leave it:(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John McFarlane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: happy atmosphere

Disliked: location far from sea

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool area and communal area were great. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Toilets are rather small and cramped.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ashlee mcmillan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

07 September 2011 ashlee would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff were very friendly and helpfull, Rooms were very clean, Pool was amazing and it was a 2 min walk to a shopping centre. Highly recommend it to all travellers.

Disliked: Disliked nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a memorable expirience in this hostel, meet a lot of great travellers. very good location for Tayrona park and Minca, Clean and confortable room. also excellent restaurant onsite.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

glynn dean

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 glynn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are some of if not the most helpful that I have come across in my 9 months of travel (not to mention very attractive!) The pool is amazing and so needed as Santa Marta gets very warm! Great food in the restaraunt but also well equiped kitchen too so best of both worlds!!

Disliked: Could have been a little closer to town, however there is a supermarket very close for anything that is needed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Beaumont

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: From the moment we walked through the gate we relaxed! All the staff are knowledgeable about the trips and places of interest, helpful in making arrangements and always cheerful. The hostel is really well run, is exceptionally clean (sheets are changed every other day), the pool and hammocks are a wonderful bonus, plus a good restaurant serving great pasta. There's also a kitchen if you fancy cooking yourself which gets a little busy sometimes but has everything you need to cook up basic meals.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing to dislike - the place is brilliant

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sandro Natali

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Sandro would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a good neighbourhood and therefore safe. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. I can truly recommend this hostel! I'd go there again anytime.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, cool atmosphere. Pool and hammocks are nice. Nice place to chill out in general.

Disliked: All the rooms could do with aircon really. Kitchen could do with being a bit bigger. Fridges should be cleared out daily as they seemed to be always full, often with junk.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hostel very close to a massive supermarket/shopping centre with easy links to Tyrona NP. The rooms are all very nice and surround a nice clean pool and bar with hammocks all around. Very sociable, very friendly and helpful staff - all in all a superb hostel, we have been back 3 times now as we used it as a base to go to Tyrona NP and Taganga and they looked after bags free. Also organised diving for a cheap 110,000 pesos for 2 dives.

Disliked: If i was to comment on anything i would say It is not in the town of Santa Marta which didnt bother me at all as its 4000 fixed price for a taxi in Santa Marta. Wifi is a little intermittent but still good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is beautiful! I highly recommend it! It has a great swimming pool to hang out in. The restaurant serves really tasty Italian food. The staff are really friendly. Location is great-next to grocery store, ATM, shopping, bus and taxis. They run a bar too and have theme nights to bring all the travelers together. I had a blast and would definitely stay there again!

Disliked: Nothing!