HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Macondo Hostel San Gil Hostel

Carrera 8 #10 - 35, San Gil, Colombia

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 94%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Gil?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 94%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic location, best activities to book in the area at great rates, clean and functional accommodation, endless good local advice from the staff, great beer available in the fridge to buy and a jacuzzi! What more could you want from a well priced hostel?

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location, hot shower (!!!) and very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The dorm that we have stayed in was n next to reception and common area and the doors were always open, which didn't give enough privacy for me. There were also no lockers in the room and the safety deposit was only at the reception.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is an exeptionally well run hostel with a real friendly vibe. The owner organises the various adventure sports well so yiu can just turn up, write your name on the board and he will find a place for you to go rafting/cycling ect ect. When i was there be also organised a 5 a side football game against the local police which was a lot of fun.

Disliked: The bed was a bit creeky but nothing serious

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff, location, rooms...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Good atmosphere. Great place to relax after a busy day of extreme sports in San Gill

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very chilled out atmosphere, lots of comforatable space to socialise in and plenty of adventure activities, to sign up for, to keep a traveller busy. You can easily get in two activities for everyday you stay!The staff are very helpful. Shaun (the owner) made great efforts to help me plan out some paragliding lessons in the next leg of my Colombian trip.I've stayed at this hostel two times and would def recommend it to anybody coming to San Gil.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Safe and secure. Good outdoor space.

Disliked: A lot of ants! (But they say that is common here?) bed was not comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Shaun the owner is so helpful. We were planning on travelling on Thursday before Semana Santa and he prewarned us that buses probably wouldn't be running so we could change our plans in advance. He ordered the bus tickets we wanted meaning that we didn't have to go out to the terminal in advance, and when they couldn't find our tickets on the reception desk just before we left he called the company to explain the situation and drove us to the terminal himself to endure they'd give us the re printed tickets. Above and beyond what we'd expect from staff in a hostel!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: A very chilled place and perfect to relax after an adventurous day! People who come her are layed-back, mingle in the commom areas, which I enjoyed very much. I especially liked the very friendly and always helpful staff - they have tons of information on activities, places to eat and places to have a massage!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike about Macondo!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability