We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all San Gil hostels

Reviews of Macondo Hostel

Hostel | Carrera 8 #10-35, San Gil, Colombia N/A

94.8% Overall Rating

22 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/05/2014)

"Very chilled out atmosphere, lots of comforatable space to socialise in and plenty of adventure activities, to sign up for, to keep a traveller busy. You can easily get in two activities for everyday you stay! The…"

Read all Macondo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Gil?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Gil

OPEN HOUSE HOSTEL
8.70 USD

Hostel 95.4% 5 reviews
Hostal Le Papillon San Gil
7.74 USD

Hostel 92.1% 39 reviews
Santander Aleman Terrace Vista
9.67 USD

Guesthouse 93.9% 7 reviews
Bacaregua Hostel
9.67 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Santander Aleman
8.22 USD

Hostel 89.0% 7 reviews
El Dorado International Hostel
8.70 USD

Hostel 94.6% 29 reviews
Sam's VIP Hostel San Gil
10.64 USD

Hostel 94.2% 22 reviews
Hotel Terrazas de la Candelaria
14.99 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.8%

Overall Rating

22 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Macondo Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.5%
Location
96.4%
Facilities
96.4%
Cleanliness
90.9%
Staff
95.5%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.5%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very chilled out atmosphere, lots of comforatable space to socialise in and plenty of adventure activities, to sign up for, to keep a traveller busy. You can easily get in two activities for everyday you stay! The staff are very helpful. Shaun (the owner) made great efforts to help me plan out some paragliding lessons in the next leg of my Colombian trip. I've stayed at this hostel two times and would def recommend it to anybody coming to San Gil.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure. Good outdoor space.

Disliked: A lot of ants! (But they say that is common here?) bed was not comfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare Bourke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2014 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: Shaun the owner is so helpful. We were planning on travelling on Thursday before Semana Santa and he prewarned us that buses probably wouldn't be running so we could change our plans in advance. He ordered the bus tickets we wanted meaning that we didn't have to go out to the terminal in advance, and when they couldn't find our tickets on the reception desk just before we left he called the company to explain the situation and drove us to the terminal himself to endure they'd give us the re printed tickets. Above and beyond what we'd expect from staff in a hostel!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very chilled place and perfect to relax after an adventurous day! People who come her are layed-back, mingle in the commom areas, which I enjoyed very much. I especially liked the very friendly and always helpful staff - they have tons of information on activities, places to eat and places to have a massage!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike about Macondo!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james luck

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2014 james would recommend this property

Liked: Shaun and his team are the main reason to stay here. They offered excellent, unbiased advice about the many activities in San Gil and booked them all for us, free of charge. They organised the Tuesday night game of "Tejo"- a chance to drink beer, meet other travelers and throw heavy things at explosives. Awesome. When we came to move on, they were able to book our bus tickets on the most comfortable bus available and when we were delayed, Shaun himself phoned ahead to stall the bus and then drove us himself to the station. I have never met someone so dedicated to helping out their customers. Throw this is with a great bunch of people constantly coming and going, an outdoor hot tub, cheap drinks, a sense of security and a good central location, I would urge anyone who wants to come to San Gil to stay here.

Disliked: The showers were often cold but this really wasn't a problem with the heat.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cornelis Ouwersloot

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Cornelis would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpfull staff and the jacuzzi is for sure a plus

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carol Kiecker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: Well run---staff very helpful, good location, nice and roomy facility

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alberto Maldonado

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 January 2014 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joanne Witt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Shaun, the owner and his staff take the time to make you feel welcome and are very helpful. It is a short walk to the square and the market. They will book activities and onward bus tickets for you, so no need to over plan. One my favorite parts of this hostel is the beautiful garden area with lots of birds flying around, a Jacuzzi, hammock and plenty of other seating next to it.

Disliked: I wish they would paid a bit more attention to the dorm bathroom, it can get dirty fairly quickly with 10 people sharing the space.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Boxleitner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 December 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, we'll equipped kitchen, very friendly staff and of course the jacuzzi! Thumbs up.

Disliked: Everyone can just enter the hostel during the day without any security measures. Own lockers would be nice, like this you always have to ask at the reception for your valuables.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Apoorva Shah

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2013 Apoorva would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff who offer great advice. Nice relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Apoorva left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice common areas, fairly quiet, laundry available, good trips offered. They even had spare old shoes for us to go caving. We had a lovely spacious private room with bathroom. Kitchen set up is also good.

Disliked: Internet was quite bad here. Constantly dropping off or extremely slow. one staff member seemed to be streaming videos constantly in the evening, possibly slowing it down. That wasn't good when trying to plan/book the next part of our trip.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The deluxe double with bath was spacious and comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Yan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best hostal i have ever stayed in. Shaun is fantastic resource on everything in the area. Kitchen is fantastic and everything is spotless. It made our stay in San Gil

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Westlake

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Macondo went out of their way to help us in every and any way possible. They have excellent knowledge of bus times (to anywhere!), local activities and sights, local restaurants and more. The hostel was clean, kitchen was great and just a really welcoming vibe to the hostel. The Australian owner is a legend and SO helpful - the most helpful hostel I've stayed in 6 months in South America!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Shaun and his staff made us feel so welcome and gave us loads of information about restaurants and things to see and do around San Gil. Shaun even shared a sample of fried ants with us - definitely an acquired taste. The hostel is beautifully set up, great kitchen, wonderful common areas including a jacuzzi. Everything is clean and well maintained. They seem to draw a really friendly group of travelers or maybe this is just a more laid back area of Colombia. Be wary of the Barichara hiking directions in their " Activities Book" - we followed all the directions and still managed to get lost. But we did have a beautiful day and a very memorable hike. If traveling to Santa Marta by overnight bus book through the hostel - they'll gladly do it and it's about the same price - or use only the busline they recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Macondo has one of the most welcoming, friendly atmospheres of any hostel I've experienced. The staff, and especially the owner, Shaun, make you feel at home in their hostel and in Colombia. They make getting involved in the area easy and Shaun even takes guests out every Tuesday night to the local Tejo bar to teach the local game -- definitely do it if you're in town! The hostel's located about a block away from town square and has great, simple dorms, a hot tub, a nice communal area with a television and book exchange, and a wonderful courtyard with a jasmine tree that makes the evenings smell magical.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Strine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff can help with everything you need to enjoy San Gil - great help and recommendations for tours, easy to sign up, very organized and knowledgeable. Vibe of hostel is set by the owner, who seems to really enjoy hanging out with his guests and he personally hosts Tejo Tuesdays to introduce travelers to the Colombian game of Tejo. Everyone while I was there was very friendly and sociable, and I believe this atmosphere starts with the management of the hostel. My dorm room had 4 beds, a powerful fan and 2 outlets per set of bunks. The bathroom next door is large and was cleaned frequently -- there was rarely a wait, even when the hostel was full. Kitchen is clean and coffee is always available. Location is about 2 blocks from the main square, and the staff takes the time to orient you and recommend restaurants. Shaun (the owner) obviously loves the town, the surrounding countryside and the adventure sports that it offers - it shows in how he and the staff share the information and help you get your activities sorted. Oh, and there´s a hot tub! I booked for 2 nights and ended up staying for 7.

Disliked: My mattress was a little thin, but then again, I was sick while there and stayed in bed for a full day, so any bed probably would have been uncomfortable for that length of time. Absolutely no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Kingston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: I do not normaly write reviews for hostels but this is one of my favourite hostels i have stayed at during my 7 months of travelling. The owner Shaun from Australia is a great bloke, who will be more than happy to have a beer with you in the jacuzzi ( did i mention the jacuzii!1!), help organise a days adventure activities (whitewater rafting, mountain bike riding, rapelling, caving, paragliding etc. or put on a BBQ.I woud highly recomend this hostel - gret location near centre of town, friednly owner and staff, comfortable beds, amzing jacuzzi and plenty of adventure activities to keep you busy near by! Stay herea nd you will not be dissapointed!

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Macondo is centrally located. They have hot showers and it's always very clean. the staff is extremly helpful and friendly and Shaun, the owner, has already done all the activities himself. He's not trying to sell the most expensive one and can give you all the information you need (also about the rest of Colombia). The location is good, just two blocks from the main plaza. There's a jacuzzi in the garden where you can sit and enjoy a beer until 10 pm. Don't miss the Tejo, the most popular game in Columbia. It's on every Tuesday night and won't cost you anything (except for the cheap beers at the venue). So much fun!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all San Gil hostels