HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal El Papillon San Gil Hostel

Calle 7 #8-28, San Gil, San Gil, Colombia

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 88%

Safety 98%

Staff 96%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Gil?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 88%

Safety 98%

Staff 96%

Value 94%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice hostel with great staff. I enjoyed my stay there.

Disliked: The two cats roam around the rooms at all hours of the day and night so you might get woken up by them.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The main area was nice and the kitchen was well equipped

Disliked: The location was a little far away from the centre.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: not really

Disliked: compare the room the price is a little higher


The property's response is

Hello,

Thank you for your review but, i think there is a mistake, you are speaking about a wrong hostel, we are cheaper than every hostel in San Gil (10000 pesos less than the other cheaper) and maybe we had a problem for comunicate, so you don't speak spanish, english or french and i don't speak chinese, when i look 60% for staff and cleanless, i don't understand, we allways try to help everybody and our hostel is very clean all the time, definitely you must speak about other hostel.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is a nice quiet hostel to base yourself whilst in San Gil, Staff are really helpful in answering questions, the garden is really nice to relax in. A short walk from the centre, the market (awesome fruit!!) and bus terminal to the waterfalls and curiti. Dorm was spacious with plenty of room for bags and comfy beds,

Disliked: Showers weren't hot.....but Colombia is a hot place so we never actually felt like a hot shower!!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel: fantastic value for money, as well as being very clean. Spacious kitchen, and good TV. 5 minutes walk from the main square. The highlights of the hostel are definitely the owners: very kind and helpful, and they make fantastic bread. Through them, you are able to book various activities in the area, as well as bus tickets. Highly recommended.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Owners are superfriendly and willing to help you out in any kind of way. Really pleased with the fresh fruit trees in the backyard.

Disliked: Nothing really.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The Owner is awesome. He was very helpful, arranged all activities around San Gil and booked our tickets to the next destination. There was even fresh bread made.

Disliked: The showers weren't always very warm.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly staff. Clean & comfortable rooms. Great kitchen! Good Value for money.

Disliked: Location is not that great. 5 blocks from center.Rooms have metal door which don't isolate the noise.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice and helpfull staff, citycenter in walking-distance, very good kitchen, clean..

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: muy tranquillo, nice character, cozy rooms, open layout, good-size kitchen, clean modern bathrooms, great backyard, HAMMOCK shelter, plenty of clothes-line space, chill and helpful owners, not right in the village sqaure but an easy walk away, as is station for all the local buses you take. loved my time there and stayed extra days.***it rains many afternoons in san gil, start way early if you're doing an excursion. DEFINITELY go swim at El Pescaderito!

Disliked: if the hostel is crowded, can be very loud in the morning; all rooms open to the the kitchen or common area. the metal doors on every room are startling loud. they charge for using the hostel computer, i've never seen one other hostel in the world that charges for computer use, should be a standard benefit.*all that being said, i still loved the hostel and highly recommend it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your comment, we are sorry if you were disturbed by noise in the morning, you did indeed have the room nearest to the kitchen, it’s the noisiest because is the busiest part of the house in the morning, however we generally warn clients who rent it, and only rent it as last recourse.
We have considered your recommendation and computer access is now free, as well as coffee, drinkable water, and our famous baguette bread that we offer when we make it (2-3 times a week).

Check Availability