We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all San Gil hostels

Reviews of Hostal Le Papillon San Gil

Hostel | Calle 7 # 8-28, Santander, San Gil, Colombia 00

92.1% Overall Rating

36 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/11/2013)

Emma Linton thinks…

"This is a nice quiet hostel to base yourself whilst in San Gil, Staff are really helpful in answering questions, the garden is really nice to relax in. A short walk from the centre, the market…"

Read all Hostal Le Papillon San Gil reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Gil?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Gil

Macondo Hostel
8.78 USD

Hostel 94.8% 22 reviews
OPEN HOUSE HOSTEL
8.78 USD

Hostel 95.4% 5 reviews
Santander Aleman Terrace Vista
9.76 USD

Guesthouse 93.9% 7 reviews
HOSTEL SAN GIL
8.29 USD

Hostel 89.0% 7 reviews
Bacaregua Hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
El Dorado International Hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel 94.6% 29 reviews
Hotel Terrazas de la Candelaria
28.30 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
La Pacha
4.88 USD

Campsite 100.0% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

36 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Le Papillon San Gil'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014

Liked: not really

Disliked: compare the room the price is a little higher

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with great staff. I enjoyed my stay there.

Disliked: The two cats roam around the rooms at all hours of the day and night so you might get woken up by them.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The main area was nice and the kitchen was well equipped

Disliked: The location was a little far away from the centre.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emma Linton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice quiet hostel to base yourself whilst in San Gil, Staff are really helpful in answering questions, the garden is really nice to relax in. A short walk from the centre, the market (awesome fruit!!) and bus terminal to the waterfalls and curiti. Dorm was spacious with plenty of room for bags and comfy beds,

Disliked: Showers weren't hot.....but Colombia is a hot place so we never actually felt like a hot shower!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel: fantastic value for money, as well as being very clean. Spacious kitchen, and good TV. 5 minutes walk from the main square. The highlights of the hostel are definitely the owners: very kind and helpful, and they make fantastic bread. Through them, you are able to book various activities in the area, as well as bus tickets. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasper Bosch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Jasper would recommend this property

Liked: Owners are superfriendly and willing to help you out in any kind of way. Really pleased with the fresh fruit trees in the backyard.

Disliked: Nothing really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Torres

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: The Owner is awesome. He was very helpful, arranged all activities around San Gil and booked our tickets to the next destination. There was even fresh bread made.

Disliked: The showers weren't always very warm.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oded Fossfeld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2012 Oded would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Clean & comfortable rooms. Great kitchen! Good Value for money.

Disliked: Location is not that great. 5 blocks from center. Rooms have metal door which don't isolate the noise.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpfull staff, citycenter in walking-distance, very good kitchen, clean..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: muy tranquillo, nice character, cozy rooms, open layout, good-size kitchen, clean modern bathrooms, great backyard, HAMMOCK shelter, plenty of clothes-line space, chill and helpful owners, not right in the village sqaure but an easy walk away, as is station for all the local buses you take. loved my time there and stayed extra days. ***it rains many afternoons in san gil, start way early if you're doing an excursion. DEFINITELY go swim at El Pescaderito!

Disliked: if the hostel is crowded, can be very loud in the morning; all rooms open to the the kitchen or common area. the metal doors on every room are startling loud. they charge for using the hostel computer, i've never seen one other hostel in the world that charges for computer use, should be a standard benefit. *all that being said, i still loved the hostel and highly recommend it.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franck Romanet

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Franck would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked the welcoming of the staff, the situation of the hostel being close to a nice park, a little out of the main center but at the same time really close, which makes it a quiet place. Also, the kitchen is really well equiped with an oven and the owner sometimes makes homemade bread! Also, there is a common area with computer, and a TV with many DVDs :-) As well as a garden with hammocs to chill, the value for money is great!

Disliked: Nothing really, there are comments and reviews about noise ad kids. I have to say that is the doors are thin and there is a kind of locker which does make noise when you open or close. As fr the kids, they were some other people's children and are not anymore at the hostel so you can sleep easily!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2012

Liked: Very friendly couple that now run the place. Reasonably good location. Fantastic kitchen that is well equipped and is a good size. Really good wifi strength/speed for South America.

Disliked: The couple running the place have two young kids that wake up early (6:30) and you can hear everything through the walls/steel door. The doors are noisy, there is only one window and it opens straight to the living area. It is very hot with not A/C or fan. They don't offer breakfast or the fresh bread a lot of previous reviewers have mentioned (the management has just changed). The living area is taken up mostly by the children, the TV seems only for kids programs and kids movies.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful setting, great back yard with three covered hammocks to relax in, clean rooms, bathrooms and kitchen, beautiful indoor common area. Very friendly and accommodating staff who went out of their way to help us plan our stay in San Gil. We checked out in the morning although we were not leaving until late that night and the staff let us have full use of the place until we left. More mature crowd but still friendly and social. Best hostel I have stayed at in all of Central America and Colombia.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fabian eigenmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 fabian would recommend this property

Liked: We had a really nice stay. In the garden are hammocks to relax, the kitchen is very good and everyone is very friendly and helpful! They helped us with excursions and bought us bus tickets. Very nice location and welcoming family!

Disliked: fabian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

annabel church

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2012 annabel would recommend this property

Liked: really great atmosphere, beautiful, peaceful and friendly and in a great location. it is really clean, beds are comfy, and a very well equipped kitchen that includes an oven! staff are very helpful and have loads of info on the area and activities and the fresh baked bread is a lovely perk, at just 3,000 pesos for a baguette

Disliked: annabel left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great little place, peaceful and friendly. Family owned and run, fresh baked bread every day made by the owner!

Disliked: All the doors are made of steele, like shed doors, so very noisy to open and close and doesnt keep any sound out from the central common area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Early

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this place was great.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evelyn Priesch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Evelyn would recommend this property

Liked: It's really a very nice place to stay, with a very personal character. You feel, that the two owners really like what they do. The rooms are nice and clean, the showers hot, there is a friendly common area. It's just 5 min walk to the main plaza. We enjoyed the hostel very much. It's definity a very good value for money!

Disliked: We can highy recommend the hostel to you!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly friendly and helpful owners who are happy to help with anything, especially organizing activities around San Gil. They also make INCREDIBLE French baguettes! Free coffee in the morning, quick wifi, lovely communal areas and big kitchen.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly owner.gave us a double room even though we had booked a dorm. very thoughtful! good range of activities for the area. hostel is spotless.good kitchen and nice garden for relaxing. double room was basic but nice.definitely recommend!!

Disliked: seemed to only attract one other english speaking backpacker when we were there...everyone else seemed to speak french...not necessarily a dislike but obviously makes it harder to socialise. doors are a bit stiff and noisy at night to use

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andreas wittwer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 andreas would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, perfect kitchen, comfortable beds, good lockers in dorm, friendliest and most helpful owner i have ever met

Disliked: that i had to leave

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, very cheap.

Disliked: A bit far from the plaza. Not much atmosphere.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Davies

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: great people that run it and really nice room, good value

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Brown

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2011 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are both awesome. They help in whatever way they can with booking activities and buses. The place is exceptionally clean and it's really quiet for those of us who don't want to be around the party hostal crowds. I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Loved everything about my stay. Should I get back to San Gil, I will stay at Le Papillon.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: nothing


See all San Gil hostels