HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Dorado International Hostel San Gil Hostel

Calle 12 # 8-55, San Gil, Colombia

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 91%

Location 100%

Safety 97%

Staff 97%

Value 97%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Gil?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 91%

Location 100%

Safety 97%

Staff 97%

Value 97%

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating


19 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Just great!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We really, really appreciated that we got a dorm to ourselves. The hostel was mostly empty and each travelling party got a dorm to themselves rather than cramming everyone in as few rooms as possible which most hostels would do. It was really easy to organise activities through them. Definitely do the El Dorado canyoning tour with Louis even if you don't stay at this hostel. It's a very chilled out hostel, very peaceful- don't stay here if you want to party, lights are out at 1030.

Disliked: It's pretty difficult if you don't speak Spanish, but that's our fault not theirs.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

sorry for the inconvenience, but Most of the staff speak fluent english. I would like also to thank you for your nice comment over the Canyoning, our staff work very hard every day to keep the our facilities at the best standards and make happy our customers. Hope to see you again soon.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big double room. Netflixs for guests use. Location near the square. Good wifi.

Disliked: Cold shower. Lights went out at 11pm and the door to the inside toilet was locked at this time.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The people were great. The staff was really friendly and helpful with booking arrangements and even invited a group of us to come play basketball with them. It's like a big family. It was easy to meet fellow travelers there and it had all the facilities. One thing I loved was that they gave people their own dorm rooms, so even if you were paying the dorm price, they put other people in separate dorm rooms to give them privacy, which is rare and nice. Great people and very helpful.

Disliked: Nada

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Gute Lage, Preis-leistungsverhaeltnis ist excellent! Nette Atmosphaere!!!

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This is a cosy hostel with a great staff. Fabio is excellent and knows everything you will need for a great stay in San Gil. He organized one of the caving, canyoning tours with El Dorado Excursions, and it was excellent. Luis, the tour guide, was wonderful and is very knowledgeable and respectful of the outdoors and the role of the indigenous cultures in the area. I highly recommend doing the excursions with them.

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely staff and brilliant location. We booked activities (rafting) through them and they were great. Comfy bed, well-equipped kitchen and a cute dog and kitten!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Excellent location. Friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: El Dorado International Hostel is one of the best hostels I have been in the last 14 years around 54 different countries. And what it makes the different is the staff, Fabio, one of the owners, Sandra, his girlfriend and Mari, his sister. They treated us as a family, they are all the time looking after all the guest, cleaning the beautiful place 3 times a day, recommending the best places, the best tours (they organize some of them).We booked a double room through hostelbookers, really good value, beds are very comfortable.Relaxing common areas and we could use the kitchen. The location is right next to plaza central but is so quiet during the day.I really recommend this hostel. I love the taste of music of Fabio, the right music on the right moment.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: A fairly nice, cheap but basic hostel in a good location right in the centre of town. The staff were helpful with organising tours such as the hour long paragliding over Chicamocha which was incredible!

Disliked: The showers definitely aren't hot by any stretch of the imagination.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sorry for the shower.The shower was repair from end of November and now is hot water, You was here 2 moths ago.

Check Availability