HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all San Gil hostels

Reviews of El Dorado International Hostel

Hostel | Calle 12 # 8-55, San Gil, Colombia san gil

93.6% Overall Rating

28 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/05/2014)

Kwame Johnson thinks…

"This is a cosy hostel with a great staff. Fabio is excellent and knows everything you will need for a great stay in San Gil. He organized one of the caving, canyoning tours with El Dorado Excursions,…"

Read all El Dorado International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Gil?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Gil

Hostel Santander Aleman
8.75 USD

Hostel 89.0% 7 reviews
Bacaregua Hostel
10.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sam's VIP Hostel San Gil
11.66 USD

Hostel 93.9% 21 reviews
Santander Aleman Terrace Vista
10.60 USD

Guesthouse 93.9% 7 reviews
OPEN HOUSE HOSTEL
9.54 USD

Hostel 95.4% 5 reviews
Macondo Hostel
10.60 USD

Hostel 94.8% 22 reviews
Hostal Le Papillon San Gil
8.48 USD

Hostel 92.1% 39 reviews
Hotel Terrazas de la Candelaria
16.44 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

28 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Dorado International Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 28 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gute Lage, Preis-leistungsverhaeltnis ist excellent! Nette Atmosphaere!!!

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kwame Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2014 Kwame would recommend this property

Liked: This is a cosy hostel with a great staff. Fabio is excellent and knows everything you will need for a great stay in San Gil. He organized one of the caving, canyoning tours with El Dorado Excursions, and it was excellent. Luis, the tour guide, was wonderful and is very knowledgeable and respectful of the outdoors and the role of the indigenous cultures in the area. I highly recommend doing the excursions with them.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Judge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff and brilliant location. We booked activities (rafting) through them and they were great. Comfy bed, well-equipped kitchen and a cute dog and kitten!

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eduardo Lopez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2014 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: El Dorado International Hostel is one of the best hostels I have been in the last 14 years around 54 different countries. And what it makes the different is the staff, Fabio, one of the owners, Sandra, his girlfriend and Mari, his sister. They treated us as a family, they are all the time looking after all the guest, cleaning the beautiful place 3 times a day, recommending the best places, the best tours (they organize some of them). We booked a double room through hostelbookers, really good value, beds are very comfortable. Relaxing common areas and we could use the kitchen. The location is right next to plaza central but is so quiet during the day. I really recommend this hostel. I love the taste of music of Fabio, the right music on the right moment.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Paul Eustice

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: A fairly nice, cheap but basic hostel in a good location right in the centre of town. The staff were helpful with organising tours such as the hour long paragliding over Chicamocha which was incredible!

Disliked: The showers definitely aren't hot by any stretch of the imagination.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Jones

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 January 2014 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Stuart left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francis O'Reilly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people, made me feel at home!

Disliked: Francis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice hostel to stay in. I ended up staying 4 nights instead of the 2 I'd booked for. The couple who run it are really friendly and helpful. There's a relaxed common room with TV, games and a hammock, and there's also a really nice garden with some bunnies and a dog. The location is great - it's right next to the main square, which is where everyone goes for drinks and to hang out at night, and also near the bars and some good restaurants. The canyoning trip that you can book through the hostel is really good too. You can rent bikes too, which was a nice touch. The kitchen is good - there's a gas stove and plenty of utensils. I definitely recommend it as the place to stay in San Gil - if I'd had more time I'd have stayed even longer!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heather Fisher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hard working staff, gave us lots of information about the activities they have on offer (definitely recommend the level 1-5 rafting)! Nice quiet hostel, with lots of movies and games, and you can use the kitchen. They shut the main door at 11pm, but you can ring the bell and they let you in. Quite small, but I really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: There were only 2 showers (one warm and one cold) so there was sometimes a little bit of a wait if you wanted one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Necrici

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: The extremely friendly staff makes you feel at home rather than in a hostel. They also clean the place practically around the clock, it's one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed at!!! Plus there is one hot shower which proved to be pretty hard to find in Colombian hostels! ;-) The kitchen is very good equipped and the hostel also has a nice open air lounge where you can enjoy your home made meal or a drink. The hostel offers many day trips and activities, I would definetly recommend the canyoning tour, it's a MUST!!! The cute hostel puppy Fenix also made our stay worth while! In the evening you are only allowed to make noise until 23:00, so everyone can get a good night's rest.

Disliked: Nothing! Everything was perfect!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Floris de Ridder

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2013 Floris would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very help-full and friendly, if you would like to do activities they can arrange everything for you even bus-tickets for our trip back to Bogota. An other plus is that they can speak English and Spanish what makes the communication easier.

Disliked: Floris left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff, very clean and good coffee.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Room was extremely hot at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great location, really nice helpful staff. Did a great canyoning and caving tour - highly recommend. Staff can book tours and buses etc.

Disliked: Decor needs a bit of an update, feels very old. Not much atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Field

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I've stayed in during my Colombian travles. It's family run and the guys are amazing!!! Guillermo is SO welcoming and Fabio and Luis (his sons) are so much fun. It felt like a second home within minutes of arriving. On top of that they offer great activities! I went on their Antigua Cave trip and did about 6 different things in one day... Exhausting but fantastic! I would recommend this to anyone!

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and friendly staff and the kitchen had everything you needed, including a blender! Great location too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of the staff is very helpful and the canyoning trip is fantastic.

Disliked: Everything was fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

benjamin machell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 April 2011 benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location., main square is literally a few metres away at the bottom of the street. Staff very helpful and English speaking ran by wonderful family, TV-cable and free internet availabile. Great secure outdoor area to sit and relax.

Disliked: Private room perhaps a little small with open air roof section, but who spends much time in the room anyway when there is so much to see around San Gil!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

jan groenewegen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 jan would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff

Disliked: We had a double room. The room is next to the reception and it's very noisy, you can hear everything on the hallway exact. This goes on until 00:00 and starts when the first people get up. They have to isolate there doubles! The problem was very good taken care off by the staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Lynn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 March 2011 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful staff and good setup with a nice outdoor area to hang out. Easy to book rafting, paragliding, etc right from the hostel.

Disliked: Only 1 bathroom inside, the others are outside.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. You can book a wide variety of activities here or just relax.

Disliked: Nothing. But you guys should think about buying a coach infront of the tv ;-)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brian Leary

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2011 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: The brothers that own the hostel are great, and really into outdoors and sports. They were very helpful, and had lots of honest suggestions for the area.

Disliked: no dislikes to speak

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are real nice, great dogs and all is pretty cool. its right next to the main plaza. nice and clean, lovely big open building, plenty of light, real nice.

Disliked: could do with better lockers, but theft does not to seem a problem in this small town

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

urtzi lazcano

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

22 August 2010 urtzi would recommend this property

Liked: This place is awesome! The stuff is really great. Is owned by very friendly two friends that will help you in all you need. They organice a lot of amazing activities carried by very friendly guides. Don´t loose the oportunity of coming here!!

Disliked: urtzi left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Allan Beard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2010 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: Very fri

Disliked: very friendly staff and great location


See all San Gil hostels