HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites San Andres Island Hostel

Avenida 20 de Julio Nº3A - 122, San Andres Island, Colombia

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 82%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 81%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2,000.00USD

Important Information

Please Note:

Children under the age of 18 are not allowed
Check in: 14:00
Check out: 11:00

Breakfast included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Andres Island?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 82%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 81%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It's in the centre, and beach and the airport, so it's really easy to reach anything you'll need.

Disliked: Staff needs to improve their skills. Security needs major improvements (our rooms did not have keys!). The kitchen was... disgusting.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I could walk to the diving Center I chose for my diving in San Andrés

Disliked: The kitchen is not very well equipped, the two fridges are completely full with indeed inky old stuff (disgusting), everything (balconies, TV room, kitchen etc) is locked from 1am to 8am (and it is very hot here, so you might want to sit on the balcony for a while at night, especially if the AC I your room is not working like in mine...), staff is not very willing to speak to you, let alone give you any valuable information. Bar on rooftop is very loud. Breakfast didn't even include any fruit or eggs as in all other South American accommodations. In my opinion the hostel is not a very good value as it is quite expensive.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I liked that the rooms were spotless and that breakfast was included.

Disliked: I didn't like that the staff were indifferent to customer issues, the hostel wasn't very sociable, kitchen lacked basics, wifi was non existent during my 4day stay. Bar music was so loud I could hear it in my room. You have to make your own bed. My initial booking was messed up which meant I needed to sleep on a different floor to my friend. I wasn't apologised to for the inconvenience this caused and ended up sleeping in a dorm that was a floor below the bar, meaning j couldn't fall asleep due to the noise. overall a non social hostel, but a very clean place to stay just don't sleep in any rooms above the 3rd floor.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Nice chilled out atmosphere

Disliked: Bar closed too early. Unreliable information about daily offers.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa

Liked: For San Andres its a cheap hostel, and it's only 10 minutes walking from the sea.there is air conditioning in the rooms and the hostel offers a lot of activities even if they are expensive.

Disliked: The staff at the reception was really unfriendly and unhelpful espicially the persons who work there in the afternoons and evenings. when we asked them something about informaton of the centre the don't give us information and reacted really unfriendly out of no reason!the wifi is really bad as well. Every few minutes you get kicked out. I stayed in some other 'el viajero' hostels in south america, too. And this is defenitely the worsest one of the hostel chain!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: its right downtown.

Disliked: the dorm itself was kind of dirty, especially the bathroom. i think cleaning staff should clean at least 5-6 times a day.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The location is very convenient. Close to the beach, to supermarket and to the airport also.

Disliked: No such thing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Shopping

Liked: "Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff" Decir BUENO, es muy poco!!!! Realmente se nota que TODAS y cada una de las personas que trabajan allí, se preocupan por los huéspedes. Es la segunda vez que voy y con el tiempo sólo hacen una cosa, mejorar! :)Está cerca de la playa, en pleno centro, hay un supermercado enfrente, y el bar/desayunador es un sitio perfecto.Te facilitan la contratación de muchas actividades y el hostel tiene las suyas cada noche.Amo este lugar. Nos vemos en mayo!!!

Disliked: Nada, me encanta!Tal vez, revisaría el tema del servicio de wifi en las habitaciones, pero con lo hermosa que es la isla, no vale la pena quedarse encerrado.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Se encuentra en un lugar muy central, solo 5 minutos andando a la playa principal.Staff bueno.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa

Liked: Most members of the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast is included, nothing special, continental hostel kinda breakfast. The hosel is located in the city, which is not really nice, but you can easily get out of there by renting a scooter, bicycle or golf car or taking a taxi or bus.The hostel is expensive for Colombia, but cheap for San Andrés, so I guess it's alright.

Disliked: The hostel is on four or five floors and on most of them are some common areas. This does not help for the overall atmosphere, I felt.Though having a private bathroom with shower in the dorm is a nice thing, it was pretty dirty at times.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability