We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Salento hostels

Reviews of Hostal La Floresta

Hostel | CARRERA 5 No.10 - 11, BARRIO LA FLORESTA, Salento, Colombia 63690

92.9% Overall Rating

37 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2014)

James Lee thinks…

"Staff were very friendly and helpful. The place is clean and just a short walk from the plaza."

Read all Hostal La Floresta reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salento?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Salento

Hostal Ciudad de Segorbe
19.52 USD

Guesthouse 95.4% 13 reviews
Hostel Tralala Salento
10.73 USD

Hostel 96.7% 12 reviews
La Serrana
12.20 USD

Hostel 90.4% 64 reviews
Hostal la Casona de Lili
10.25 USD

Hostel 89.2% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.9%

Overall Rating

37 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal La Floresta'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jeremy Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014

Liked: Outdoor hammocks had a great view of town. Easy to find.

Disliked: There is construction going on that we were not aware of ahead of time and it was conveniently going on right outside our window (private room #4) starting at 7am each day (more like 6:30 since the workers came in and talked very loud). Between that, the very thin walls inside, and every room connected to a common area that is overflowing with guests it was almost impossible to have any quiet what-so-ever. The worst part out of all of it was that the guests and construction workers who were smoking outside would do it literally right in front of our window. So it was either roast in a room with no fan or no air conditioning by having the window closed, or have it reek of cigarette smoke the whole day and night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: good staff, good location, awesome showers!

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful. The place is clean and just a short walk from the plaza.

Disliked: Not much of an atmosphere to speak of.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself is nice - well laid out, clean, with comfortable beds and a decent kitchen. But, what made the place stand out was the staff. They really couldn't have been kinder or more helpful - they were absolutely lovely and really help you make the most of your stay in this beautiful area. A real home from home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relly nice familly with a big heart!! Here is the exact location for those who have GPS. The location showing on hostelbookers is not right. Lat 4.63642 Lon -75.57328

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Effectively you are staying with the family of the hostess (along with a number of other guests). She did not speak a lot of english, so the ability to speak some basics in Spanish definitely helps, but we survived (the other travellers defintely helped and were part of making the atmosphere)! She was extremely friendly and bent over backwards to assist us, with organising travel and information about the area. The hostel offers mountain bikes for hire, which made visiting the surrounding area (including coffee plantations) a lot easier, and gumboots which were a necessity for the Valle de Cocora in wet season.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, the owners are the best people, really really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hostel! the staff is lovely and great atmosphere! and they have hot water :) excellent dorms! has very big beds !

Disliked: private room not very big, but for backpackers it should be enough :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Simon Bentley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff... we love Juan!!! Taught us Spanish and was good fun. Hostel staff very helpful with suggesting things to do in the town. It's a small house turned hostel so good area to meet other travellers

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet location on edge of town but close to centre to walk. Very homey atmosphere and welcoming owners.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family are super nice and their location town is great if you want to go out for dinner or a drink.

Disliked: You are staying side by side with the family so it's hard not to feel like you are intruding at certain times.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ryan McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious room and helpful staff. Nice outdoor hammock area.

Disliked: Kitchen was pretty badly equipped.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Cox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff, well-equipped clean kitchen, location good, spacious room and a lamp (seems to be a rarity in most hostels). Excellent information leaflet on local activities and a welcoming homemade lemonade! Nice firm bed

Disliked: This is going to sound fussy, especially as i am backpacking, but the bed sheets were the only negative thing about this hostel. The top sheet seemed to be made of nylon (not so nice to sleep in) and was barely wide enough to span the bed when no-one was in it, many cover fights were necessary :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ernesto and Eliana were super helpful and lovely. They organised tours for us and booked us a bus out of Salento. They sat us down and told us everything there was to know about Salento when we arrived. The hostel is clean, quiet, has lovely views of some of the surrounding valleys, has a fun atmosphere and the internet is good.

Disliked: It's a bit outside of the centre of Salento, but Salento isn't huge so it wasn't much of a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adalberto Gonzalez

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 March 2013 Adalberto would recommend this property

Liked: Buena atención, en todo momento estuvieron pendientes y prestos a darnos información sobre las cosas para hacer en Salento. La propiedad es muy bonita y limpia, es un lugar muy recomendado.

Disliked: Adalberto left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

GEORGIA TZELEPI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2013 GEORGIA would recommend this property

Liked: -Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff (feel like your home) -very nice location -best value for money -very nice people

Disliked: GEORGIA left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Leon Gomez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Leon would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a quiet area of the twon

Disliked: It didn't have a social area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nevena Pencheva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2012 Nevena would recommend this property

Liked: It is a lovely place! I really liked it, and the owners are just about the sweetest people I've met in Colombia. They were so helpful with suggestions, recommendations, and generally being very very nice. I loved my stay in the hostel

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic, really welcoming, helpful and friendly. The hostel is very close to the metro station so it is very easy to get around the city. Centro Medellin is nowhere as nice as Poblado but it is much cheaper.

Disliked: Breakfast is 2 pieces of bread and 2 eggs which you have to buy your own oil to cook. The instructions for getting to the hostel say that the south bus terminal and Poblado metro station are near each other, but they aren´t, and they neglected to mention how you get from one to the other.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karen Ives

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and good kitchen. The staff are welcoming and friendly.

Disliked: Only one shared bathroom - can get a bit busy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Harald Weber

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012 Harald would recommend this property

Liked: Great hospitality, you could feel like at home. Flow of useful information about Salento and surroundings, Free armona coffee.

Disliked: nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, nice rooms, free coffee, not too far from the center (about 8 minutes by walking), internet, cumfortable bed, ...

Disliked: Well, the rooms are not very well insulated, so we can hear everything that happens outside the room... and vice versa ! But it's kind of funny and there's no noise at all between 11pm and 7am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, owners are great and very very helpfull! always offering us coffee and juices. even free laundry, just needed to buy washing powder. i would go there again for sure. it was really clean and they make you feel home. thanks

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Spring

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Great value Very friendly and helpful staff and owners. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Disliked: The hot water wasn't working in our bathroom so had to use shared bathroom for a shower but wasn't a big problem.


See all Salento hostels