We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Popayan hostels

Reviews of Park Life Hostel

Hostel | Calle 5 6-19, Parque Caldas, Popayan, Colombia 00000

92.1% Overall Rating

76 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2015)

"Best possible located hostel in Popayán. Nice atmosphere Cozy places to chill out (roof terrace, large common area on mainfloor). Friendly staff. Let US stay up late at the terrace. But best quality-price…"

Read all Park Life Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Popayan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Popayan

Hostel Caracol
8.63 USD

Hostel 91.8% 8 reviews
HostelTrail
8.63 USD

Hostel 92.8% 66 reviews
B&B Campobello Popayan
18.83 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

76 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Park Life Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 78 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best possible located hostel in Popayán. Nice atmosphere Cozy places to chill out (roof terrace, large common area on mainfloor). Friendly staff. Let US stay up late at the terrace. But best quality-price hostel in Popayán, as you will probably just stay here one night as mot much to do in town! More of a transit like city.

Disliked: No breakfast. Not extremely clean (kitchen, bathrooms).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elaine Byrne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2015 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Location is right on the square and the wifi is good.

Disliked: The bus times provided by the hostel are incorrect. It can be noisy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big kitchen and common area, nice private rooms, amazing location, good service (we arrived at 5am and could wait in the common area till check in)

Disliked: The bathrooms were pretty old and need an overhaul but it's no biggy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrea Bertossi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Well lit, lockers in dorms, nice kitchen, the best location in Popayán

Disliked: Could include breakfast with the price

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jie Zhou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2014 Jie would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is in a very central location by the main plaza. although the colonial building is beautiful.

Disliked: The facilities inside are a little antiquated like the building. Bathrooms are useable, some might consider them dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The athmosphere is great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top location Kitchen Spacious dorms Very helpful staff

Disliked: Nada

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great. it's a cozy place with friendly staff

Disliked: the bathrooms downstairs are very small. hit my head several times.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oliver Bauriedl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: central Location great staff

Disliked: wifi connection low bathroom very old

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just on the plaza grande

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Carol Kiecker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: location on the main plaza

Disliked: bathrooms were not working well, and they were kind of scarce

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lawrence Orgee

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Lawrence would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent position right on the main plaza. Staff really helpful and kind.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location on the main square, super helpful staff and nice common areas!

Disliked: Nothing!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The two owners are super duper nice. Location is almost beyond belief as it is literally on the square, next to the church. Cool vibe and you could do a lot worse than staying here. Not much going on in Popayan but this is a great place to break up your bus ride.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right on the central plaza. Good size kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with super friendly and helpful staff. 5 Star!!!

Disliked: Nada

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely common area. Kitchen well equipped. Located right on the main square and still a walkable distance to the bus terminal.

Disliked: The smaller dorm is super cramped. Not much space for 7 big backpacks if the place was full. Go for the 10 bed dorm - it's way bigger.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FLORENCIA SAVY

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013 FLORENCIA would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! the best hostel I´ve been in Colombia! Excellent location, the room, the bathroom, the common areas, wi fi, cheap laundry. The staff is very helpful at all times.

Disliked: FLORENCIA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. Walking distance from any site or restaurant in Lonely Planet, and my room was overlooking the park. The music available and played in the common room was awesome. The bathroom was very big.

Disliked: I always believe in including likes and dislikes, but dont really have dislikes so what I will mention, are things that are not really required by a hostel. There is wifi, but no computers with internet available (available for a fee) The movie room is small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Gordon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property on the park with good facilities and value for money

Disliked: Charles left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its really the atmosphere and the location of the hostel that is great

Disliked: The only bad point is that one of the dorm is not very sound proof exept that everything is great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Pollard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great - very friendly and helpful. The location could not be better. The hostel is literally right next to the church. All the sights are within walking distance.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hector Reid

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Hector would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful, friendly staff (Borja, Lulu, Kieran and Carlos) who are more like fellow travellers than anything else - we couldn´t work out who were the owners, volunteers etc. Characterful house in an incredible location directly on the central plaza, which I thought might be noisy but was quiet at night and a pleasant murmur of voices during the day. Good value at 42kCOP for a private with view of the plaza. Film room available for viewings of whatever you want, whenever you want (between 9am-9pm). They double booked our room and upgraded us to an ensuite family room for the same price. It was also my girlfriend´s birthday and they helped me find a cake, candles, and left a jar of flowers and a note in the room on the day.

Disliked: Hector left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gillian Gale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: Good is not enough to decribe the staff, they were excellent willing to help you with everything and full of good knowledge about moving around columbia, places to stay etc. Let us leave our bags whilst we went to san agustin for free. Private room was spacious and clean. excellent location right on plaza but its pedestrianised so no traffic noise. A warm welcoming and very friendly place. Has film nights etc to get people talking. good communal areas to sit in. Excellent value for money

Disliked: In the private room with bath, shower was a bit weak but getting used to that in columbia! The window to kitchen lets in smells and noise, but they told us when we left they were going to change the window to stop that anyway.


See all Popayan hostels