We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Popayan hostels

Reviews of Park Life Hostel

Hostel | Calle 5 6-19, Parque Caldas, Popayan, Colombia 00000

94.6% Overall Rating

71 out of 73 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2013)

"The two owners are super duper nice. Location is almost beyond belief as it is literally on the square, next to the church. Cool vibe and you could do a lot worse than staying here. Not much going on in Popayan but this…"

Read all Park Life Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Popayan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Popayan

Hostel Caracol
9.93 USD

Hostel 92.1% 4 reviews
HostelTrail
9.93 USD

Hostel 92.0% 62 reviews
B&B Campobello Popayan
24.81 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.6%

Overall Rating

71 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Park Life Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 73 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The athmosphere is great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top location Kitchen Spacious dorms Very helpful staff

Disliked: Nada

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great. it's a cozy place with friendly staff

Disliked: the bathrooms downstairs are very small. hit my head several times.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oliver Bauriedl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: central Location great staff

Disliked: wifi connection low bathroom very old

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just on the plaza grande

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Carol Kiecker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: location on the main plaza

Disliked: bathrooms were not working well, and they were kind of scarce

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lawrence Orgee

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Lawrence would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent position right on the main plaza. Staff really helpful and kind.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location on the main square, super helpful staff and nice common areas!

Disliked: Nothing!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The two owners are super duper nice. Location is almost beyond belief as it is literally on the square, next to the church. Cool vibe and you could do a lot worse than staying here. Not much going on in Popayan but this is a great place to break up your bus ride.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right on the central plaza. Good size kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with super friendly and helpful staff. 5 Star!!!

Disliked: Nada

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely common area. Kitchen well equipped. Located right on the main square and still a walkable distance to the bus terminal.

Disliked: The smaller dorm is super cramped. Not much space for 7 big backpacks if the place was full. Go for the 10 bed dorm - it's way bigger.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FLORENCIA SAVY

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013 FLORENCIA would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! the best hostel I´ve been in Colombia! Excellent location, the room, the bathroom, the common areas, wi fi, cheap laundry. The staff is very helpful at all times.

Disliked: FLORENCIA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. Walking distance from any site or restaurant in Lonely Planet, and my room was overlooking the park. The music available and played in the common room was awesome. The bathroom was very big.

Disliked: I always believe in including likes and dislikes, but dont really have dislikes so what I will mention, are things that are not really required by a hostel. There is wifi, but no computers with internet available (available for a fee) The movie room is small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Gordon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property on the park with good facilities and value for money

Disliked: Charles left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its really the atmosphere and the location of the hostel that is great

Disliked: The only bad point is that one of the dorm is not very sound proof exept that everything is great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Pollard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great - very friendly and helpful. The location could not be better. The hostel is literally right next to the church. All the sights are within walking distance.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hector Reid

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Hector would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful, friendly staff (Borja, Lulu, Kieran and Carlos) who are more like fellow travellers than anything else - we couldn´t work out who were the owners, volunteers etc. Characterful house in an incredible location directly on the central plaza, which I thought might be noisy but was quiet at night and a pleasant murmur of voices during the day. Good value at 42kCOP for a private with view of the plaza. Film room available for viewings of whatever you want, whenever you want (between 9am-9pm). They double booked our room and upgraded us to an ensuite family room for the same price. It was also my girlfriend´s birthday and they helped me find a cake, candles, and left a jar of flowers and a note in the room on the day.

Disliked: Hector left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gillian Gale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: Good is not enough to decribe the staff, they were excellent willing to help you with everything and full of good knowledge about moving around columbia, places to stay etc. Let us leave our bags whilst we went to san agustin for free. Private room was spacious and clean. excellent location right on plaza but its pedestrianised so no traffic noise. A warm welcoming and very friendly place. Has film nights etc to get people talking. good communal areas to sit in. Excellent value for money

Disliked: In the private room with bath, shower was a bit weak but getting used to that in columbia! The window to kitchen lets in smells and noise, but they told us when we left they were going to change the window to stop that anyway.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of the double rooms face the central plaza. Because the lights are left on all night and there is serious lack of curtains, it is very bright in the rooms all the time and noisy. Unless you have something to plug your ears and cover your eyes, find a different room. Everything else was very nice. Hot water, no breakfast, towels, and the best location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Don't hesitate to book here, it is a fantastic place to stay. Right on the main square, extremely helpful staff and resources to plan your onwards travel, lovely covered internal courtyard to relax in, and great WiFi. One of our favourite hostels so far on our 4 months of travel im South America.

Disliked: The double rooms at the front of the hostel looked onto the main square. Very atmospheric but a little loud if your planning an early night (before 10pmish) or sleep in. Minor point tho we would still stay here in these rooms (really nice big shared bathroom near.)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

clare osborn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 clare would recommend this property

Liked: central and clean. helpful staff. would like to have stayed longer but no time.

Disliked: the room needs proper curtains and not net ones as it looks out on the square which is bright at night and extremely sunny in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, atmosphere, vert. We coming and friendly staff

Disliked: matresses are really thin

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Geerdink

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel in Popayan located right on the main square. Kieran, Luiza, Borja, Paula and Carloa where amazing hosts... so much so I ended up working there for 3 weeks. Paula gave me Spanish lessons, Kieran, Luiza and I would go for an afternoon run and Borja would cook some amazing meals for us. Never mind some legendary nights out!!! This place did trually feel like my home for those weeks! Popayan in itself is a fantastic town and the hostel is perfectly located on the main square so no traffic noise, plenty to see and close to a big supermarket. The hostel itself has a relaxed vibe and easy to meet fellow travellers. I believe that they are also putting in a bar on the roof which will have some stunning views. In the end Popayan and Park Life was a great start to Colombia for me! Thanks!!!!

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.


See all Popayan hostels